Northside villa rental - Veranda View to the East
Veranda View to the East
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Northside Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, sleeps 6, entrance on parking level

Enjoy your relaxing vacation in the gated Mahogany Run community . This 3 bedroom villa provides beautiful down island views of the British Virgin Islands, Jost Van Dyke and Tortola as well as the U.S. Virgins', St John. Enjoy whale watching and cruise ship watching from your covered veranda with a cool breeze and your favorite beverage.

The villa is well equipped for the gourmet cook but there are many nearby restaurants. The entrance, master bedroom, kitchen, living area and pool are on the same level as parking which is ideal for those with limited mobility (one step up from sidewalk to entrance).

Ideally situated on the north oceanside of the island with good breezes, Carefree is within short driving distance of shopping in Charlotte Amalie, Yacht Haven Grand and Havensight Malls. Magens Bay is 5 minutes away just past St Thomas Dairy's Ice Cream Stand, the 'Udder Delight'. Red Hook (catch the ferry to St. John) and the East End restaurants and shopping are 20 minutes away.

Discounts for less than 4 people in unit are available.

Discounts are also available depending upon our current bookings and the economy. Email us for the best rate. If you are on a budget for the rental fee, let us know what it is and we will do our best.

This northeast side of St Thomas has one of the most beautiful ocean views we have ever seen. It looks out at Hans Lolick island (no buildings) as well as a down island view of the British Virgins, Jost Van Dyke, Tortola, and St John as well as uninhabited Cays of both the US and British Virgins. Being in a gated community, Mahogany Run with a golf course and two very good restaurants was a plus. Convenience to Magen's Bay, Red Hook Ferry and Charlotte Amalie for shopping helped too.

Our home has three major advantages over comparable luxury villas on St Thomas.

1) The villa is almost all windows with screens so the views and breezes are emphasized.

2) The entrance to the house is on the driveway level so you do not have to carry luggage and groceries up or down multiple flights of stairs as you do at most villas on the hillsides.

3) The house is kept very clean, and in good repair with dehumidifiers running when the unit is empty.

4) There are Roku 3 units on all the TV's with Netflix and Amazon Prime accounts.

5) An airport greeter who will lead you to the house and point out grocery stores and sights is included in the rental rate

This is a great place to relax, kick back and watch the cruise ships, sail boats and whales, or to take advantage of the many activities on St Thomas: Day sails, duty free shopping, great beaches (Magen's Bay), Mountain Top Views with a banana daiquiri, Aquarium, beach bars, elegant dining, snorkeling, jet skis and other water activities. Magens bay Beach is 5 minutes away and is one of the best beaches in the world for both adults and kids..

Because of our regular and new renters that have treated our house responsibly like their own home, our villa remains very economically priced compared to other villas on the island. It has many amenities and is well stocked with staples.

More Details
Hide Details

We have vacationed in the Virgin Islands since 1980. While all of the Virgin Islands have their strengths, we finally bought property on St Thomas because of all the activities, resources, conveniences, the view from the property we purchased in 1996 and the wonderful people we met.

Rick Jelovsek purchased this villa in 1999

This property is in the gated community of Mahogany Run on the north (Atlantic) side of the island. There are always cool breezes from the trade winds on this side of the island even in summer, allowing us to build a home with a lot of windows to open while at the same time taking in the gorgeous down island view. It is in a peaceful setting and yet still close to the great water, shopping and dining opportunities St Thomas has to offer.

The main floor entrance is on the same level as the driveway so you do not have to lug suitcases and groceries up and down one to two flights of stairs which precede the entrance of many island villas. The well-equipped kitchen allows you to have as many economical meals in the villa as you want while at the same time there are two fine restaurants in the complex. You can just 'veg out' for you vacation or have a convenient respite after spending your day out and about the island or the waters of the Caribbean.

15 Reviews of Property 240307 in Northside, Virgin Islands

Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Marietta, GA
5

Can't get enough!

Can't get enough!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Rick, once again our family had an outstanding vacation in St Thomas & surrounding islands. This was our second, and hopefully not last, trip to Carefree. Thanks to familiarity and additional coaching by Rick, we were able to accomplish more in our 7 days than previous trips.

Per your advice, ordering take-out lunch from Cup & Cork daily was a great idea. It's 10 minutes away, delicious & saved time and expense of packing lunches every day.

Thirteen was a fantastic restaurant. A couple of the old Craig & sally's folks are there, it was our previous favorite; Thirteen has replaced it!

Lindquist Beach is undergoing some renovations & upgrades. I expect the next time we're there, it will be on par with Megan's? Unfortunately, the public access to Sapphire is closed, we used to really enjoy that beach.

We were lucky enough to get a "10" weather day for our trip to BVI & Jost. The snorkeling was fabulous, end everyone had a fantastic time at Norman's and Jost.

Lastly, Rick, I appreciate your attention to detail & follow-up to our questions and concerns. We tell all of our friends about Carefree--they all want to displace our kids on our next visit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
5

Paradise at its finest!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rick, I wanted to thank you and Edythe for helping make our honeymoon stay in the St. Thomas a dream come true. The description and pictures of the place are accurate, but so much better when you arrive. The villa was very clean and the views are incredible. The privacy is exceptional too. The kitchen is fully stocked, perfect for making you own island icy fruity drinks and relaxing in the afternoon. The house is very roomy and the TV is stacked with movies and there's a bunch of really good books and games too if you're into that. Edythe picked us up at the airport when we first arrived and helped us get through the maze of people that build up after exiting the airplane. I'm telling you, this small detail saved us hours. And its those little details that will make your stay at this villa and in St. Thomas so much better. Rick and Edythe truly went above and beyond to help make our stay exceptional. Also wanted to mention that their recommendations and guide book that you will find in the villa is on point for restaurants, tours, activities and places to check out. While your there make sure you don't miss out going to St. John's on the ferry and stopping at Cinnamon Bay. Most of the tourist stop at the first couple of beaches, but Cinnamon Bay was amazing. Rent an off road vehicle too if you plan on going to St. John's that there are few off road trails that you can take. You don't need an off road vehicle on either of the islands and the roads are safe, but just a recommendation if you're the adventurous type. Driving on the island was a little challenging at first since its on the left, but so much fun at least for me once you get a hang of it...not so much for my wife! Megans Bay is a short drive from the villa and it is a breath taking site, in my opinion the best beach on St. Thomas. Banana Tree Grille, Havana Blue, FishTales in Red Hook were the best...don't forget to order the lady's a BBC drink too, very tasty. The villa is also in a very secure golf course community. All in all I highly recommend staying here for your trip to St. Thomas. Whether its with the wife and kids, a group of friends or if you're looking for the perfect romantic getaway. Take my word for it, look no further, this place is perfect!!! I look forward to going back soon and staying at your place Rick. Thank you again for helping make our honeymoon a dream come true.

Pedro & Vanessa T.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Marietta, GA
5

Our week at Carefree St Thomas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The pictures of Carefree don't come close to the beauty of the home and location; it was outstanding. Carefree was immaculate and well maintained. Almost every item you could ask for was provided.

Rick was most helpful with local advice, as was our greeter. We simply followed her to the house from the airport.

I highly recommend this property, we will be back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
5

"Care Free" and More!

"Care Free" and More!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned to Minnesota from a 10-day stay at the Care Free villa in Mahogany Run and were more than satisfied with our stay. This was a family holiday get-together that brought together my wife and I, our oldest two sons, and our youngest son and his wife. We selected the "Care Free" villa after an extensive search of VRBO options in St. Thomas and final review by one of our sons who is currently living and working on St. Thomas. We will definitely come back in the future! First of all, the actual villa lived up to the beautiful pictures on the website - It is a beautiful, spacious, well-kept, and fully-supplied villa for our family of six. Eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean every morning was "other worldly" with 180 degrees of ocean and island viewing. The villa was our base everyday and we had breakfasts, some lunches, and several dinners there. Owner Rick Jelovsek was very accommodating and provided many ideas of things to do during our visit. We traveled to the beaches (mainly Cinnamon) on St. John and to the British Virgin Islands of Virgin Gorda, Tortola, and Jost Van Dyke. We dined at several St. Thomas establishments...Iggey's; Fat Turtle; Hook, Line and Sinker; and the North Side Bistro. We toasted the sunset high above Charlotte Amalie Harbor one night and had an early-morning toast at another peak overlooking Magen's Bay on the north side the next day. This vacation stay was like a dream!
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Johns Creek, GA
5

“Wonderful vacation at a beautiful home”

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My husband and I and our son and daughter-in-law just spent a wonderful week at Carefree. The views are spectacular. The pictures are exactly what Carefree looks like. Rick arranged for us to be met at the airport and guided back to the house. He also sent us a lot of helpful information prior to our departure and kept in touch while we were there to be sure everything was OK. We took advantage of the grill and cooked out a couple nights. We highly recommend getting steaks at the Marina Market in Red Hook across from Fish Tails if you want to grill. Carefree is great for families and even better if there are two or three couples, as each would have a king size bed and private bath. The beds were very comfortable. Nice views from every room. The property is very clean and well maintained. The day we arrived, we ate at the Mohogany Run Golf Grill. Very good. We went to Coki Beach, Megan's Bay and Sapphire Beach. All within 20 minutes or less of Carefree. The best day to be on the beach is when there are only a few cruise ships in. None is much better. We did a day sail on High Pockets to Cinnamon Bay on St. John's island where we snorkeled with sea turtles and rays. Terrific day. We took the ferry to St. John for dinner at The Beach Bar. Had a great time! In Red Hook we ate one dinner at Fish Tails and another at Iggies at Bolongo Bay (both about a 25 minute drive). All dining experiences were positive. Even with a few sharp turns, the roads were no problem. Coming back to Carefree after our days activity was like coming home, only better. We highly recommend staying at Carefree and hope to return again. David, Karen, Tom and Pam
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
St. Louis, MO
5

Mesmerizing Views at Carefree!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We just returned from Carefree Villa, had a great time there, and would heartily recommend this property! It is clean, well-equipped, and well-located. The views from virtually everywhere in the house were beautiful.

Rick, the owner, happened to be on the island, so he met us at the airport and took us to Carefree. He was very helpful in answering a number of questions that we had about St. Thomas, as we had never stayed there before even though we have traveled in the VI fairly extensively. He also was kind enough to purchase a high chair for our use, as we brought our 9 month-old grandson.

The house was very clean and well taken care of on the inside, with many amenities. The kitchen was quite well-equipped, as we cooked many of our meals there. Rick has a wine cooler with a nice selection of wines for purchase, which was very handy. The layout is good in that the master bedroom is on the main floor and the other two bedrooms are down a short inside staircase. Each bedroom has an en-suite bath, which was nice. The beds were very comfortable. The bedrooms have air conditioning, but we never used it, as the sea breeze and ceiling fans kept us comfortable.

The outside areas are wonderful, with both covered and open patio space. The pool is small but quite clean and refreshing. As I said, the views are incredible, with an 180 degree view of the whole north side of the island, looking toward the BVI. The house is very open, with a lot of glass, so you appreciate the views from almost every spot in the house.

We liked being on the north side of the island, as it is quieter and less crowded. The Mahogany Run community is nice and secure, with a gate manned 24 hours/day, and the Grill at Mahogany Run has great food and is very handy. You are close to Magens Bay, which is the nicest beach on the island. We didn't go into Charlotte Amalie much, spending most of our time north and in the Red Hook area, a short 20 min. drive away.

I would also recommend Havana Blue, at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef, for dinner, and Big Bambooz in Red Hook was good. We also had lunch one day at the Ritz Resort, and that is worth seeing. Snorkeling at Sapphire Beach was great!. It is nice to make a day trip to St. John: the car ferry is an easy way to go if you have a rental car.

Our experience on St. Thomas was wonderful, mostly because of our home base of Carefree Villa! It is very nice, comfortable, and we recommend it highly!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Jonesborough, TN
5

Carefree Again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This visit marked our third stay at Carefree. The house itself is charming, well designed for the privacy of each guest/couple, and extremely well-maintained.The decor is light and airy just like our image of Caribbean itself.

The kitchen is equipped for gourmet cooking. We highly recommend at least one romantic dinner on the deck overlooking the ocean, the island of Hans Lolick, and the lights of Jost VanDyke and Tortola. Take advantage of the wine refrigerator. The owners stock diverse wines (for purchase or replacement), something there should please you and go with your meal.

The temperature (we've been there in February) is always conducive to outdoor living and dining. The view is absolutely spectacular.
A special treat is a sail that takes you past the house for an ocean view, then over to the British Virgin Islands.

The pool is right-sized for exercising. The breeze at night makes sleeping with the roar of the ocean through open windows a real delight.

We are golfers and love playing Mahogany Run-usually twice in a week. Bring lots of golf balls....or plan to buy a bunch. The Grill at the Mahogany Run Club House is a fun and tasty place to eat. Seems like a lot of locals eat there, too.
Dinner at the Great House was excellent. Touring the house and gardens before dark is well worth it, too.

Highly recommend Coral World to learn about the inhabitants of the ocean, if you have any scientific
bent. Great activity for children, too
All in all, St. Thomas is a fabulous destination and Carefree is our "just right" home base.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Houston,Tx
5

Carefree rental was a beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We recently spent 10 days @Carefree Villa and it was awesome! I have rented houses in different locations, and this one toped the list. The views off the deck of the villa were just beautiful and so relaxing and very spacious for several people. The deck was great for laying out to read or laying in the sun. The villa has everything and anything you would need, espically in the kitchen. Rick was very helpful in sending information on places to go in St Thomas and answered any question I had. He even sent a driver to meet us at the airport and take us to follow to the villa. We came in after dark in the rain, so the driver was a life saver and also helpful with information. It was a wonderful week and I would recommend this georgous villa for anyone. While you're here, check out Maegan's Beach, Udder Delight rum shakes and Coki Beach! It was a fun week at Carefree!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Lincoln University, PA
5

Love, Love, Loved this villa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family and I stayed at Rick's villa 4/18/-4/25/11. It is nestled into the hillside at Mahagony Run, it takes a few minutes from when you leave the main road to reaching the villa but it is worth the view you come home to. The villa is quite beautiful and squeaky clean. All the comforts of home are there and the beds were extremely comfortable. We loved coming "home" after a busy day, we would go out on the verandah and were simply amazed at the views, it sure did not get old. The week passed much to quickly and we hope to return "Carefree" soon, do not hesitate to book with Rick directly, he is very knowledgeable and will answer any question you have in a timely manner. Thanks Rick for sharing your beautiful home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax with a view in sunny Caribbean breezes in a clean well located villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240307
+1 423 367-5333
Northside St. Thomas
Frederick, MD
5

Exactly as advertised!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Just returned from Carefree on St. Thomas. I'm often skeptical of the write-ups of rental properties, however, this one is spot on. It has everything you could possibly need, a great location (IMHO), and we could not have had a nicer place to stay. The pictures are exactly what we had at our disposal, the owner very responsive prior to and during our visit. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to visit St. Thomas. It is not near the major "cities" on the Island, but anywhere you go is a short trip. Red Hook was 15 minutes, Charlotte Amalie less than 15, and the several beaches we visited were no longer of a drive. And returning to the house, pool and accommodations made it difficult to leave.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1