Dingle Peninsula house rental - Home Overlooking Smerwick Harbour & Atlantic Ocean
Home Overlooking Smerwick Harbour & Atlantic Ocean
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps14
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Dingle Peninsula House Rental Photos and Description
House, 7 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths (Sleeps 14)

Failte/Welcome!

Come and enjoy this brand new, yet traditional-feel ocean front thatched luxury home. Smell the ocean air, the turf in the fireplace, and enjoy the beautiful seaside location of this tastefully furnished and appointed seven bedroom home.

Dingle town itself is only 6 miles away and is home to many shops, cafés, restaurants, art galleries, sailing clubs, etc. Spend an afternoon exploring the town, browsing in the shops, enjoy lunch on the marina, take a boat trip to see Fungi the Dolphin, Dingle's most famous resident and at night time visit any one of the numerous pubs to enjoy a session of traditional Irish music.

These are only a few suggestions for you on your Irish holiday and certainly this is only a taster of all that awaits you in Dingle/Ballydavid!

Conservatory: Just off the living room, enjoy a quiet cup of tea in the Conservatory where there is comfortable wicker seating. It boasts three walls of windows – two with ocean views and one with a view to Brandon Mountain (second highest mountain in Ireland at 3,100 ft.).

Dingle / Ballydavid Area: Ballydavid (Baile na nGall in Gaelic) is a small West Kerry fishing village situated on Smerwick Harbour facing 'The Three Sisters' mountains. It is one of the few remaining Gaeltacht (Irish speaking) areas in Ireland so try your cúpla focal in the local shops and pubs. The Dingle Peninsula was voted 'the most beautiful place on Earth' by the National Geographic Explorer.

For those of you who enjoy an active holiday, there are many different walks for you to try and for the very serious hikers, how about climbing Mount Brandon (3,100 feet). Take a trip to the Blasket Islands, an amazing experience of beautiful landscape which was the source of inspiration for great writers and artists. Golf is also available at Ceann Sibéal links course which is approximately a ten minute drive from the house.

For those of you who enjoy an active holiday, there are many different walks for you to try and for the very serious hikers, how about climbing Mount Brandon (3,000 feet). Take a trip to the Blasket Islands, an amazing experience of beautiful landscape which was the source of inspiration for great writers and artists.

Also, there are many archaeological sites within a stone's throw - Gallarus Oratory, one of the best preserved examples of dry-stone built early Christian churches in Ireland, dating back to the 9th century. Cill Mhaolchéadair is another example of early Christian churches in the area and a little further afield near Ventry, beehive huts.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 240186 in Dingle Peninsula, Ireland

Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Westford Ma
5

Wonderful home in Ballydavid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family had a wonderful time at the McGrath home in Ballydavid. The house is absolutely beautiful as are the views from just about any window. The kitchen area is perfect for gathering as a family and sharing the events of the day. The Dingle area has so much to offer. The town has terrific pubs and restaurants. Highlights of our trip included horseback riding at Dingle Stables and a tour of the breathtaking Slea Head which is practically in the house's backyard. What a magical place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Ct.
5

Charming waterfront Thathed Roof Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
my family and I enjoyed the beautiful, well equipted home and the water views, the cows grazing in front. The location was great. Some played golf, most hiked almost every day, the grandsons surfed at nearby Inch beach a couple times. We shopped in Dingle, ate a lot either there or in the local restaurants. And most of all enjoyed family time playing games in th evening. Another highligHt was going to Dublin for the Notre Dame vs Navy football game. A good time had by all. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
5

50th Anniversary Gift and Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family gave our parents one week in this beautiful home on the Dingle Penninsula as a 50th Anniversary Gift. We could not have chosen a better present. We all loved the home and the location. The countryside is absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed touring through Connor Pass and the drive out to Slea Head. The town of Dingle is full of interesting Art Galleries, pubs and restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed visiting. We had two celebratory meals out...one in the local BallyDavid pub and another in Dingle town. The rest of the week we prepared our own meals in the very sizeable kitchen. We were grateful to the owner for her many suggestions of "places to go and things to see". All in all we spent a very enjoyable week together in a very beautiful part of the world.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Fayetteville, AR, USA
5

Wonderful Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
13 travelers from Arkansas, Missouri and Virginia, ranging in age from 20's to 70's, found the McGrath Estate, and the Dingle area, to be just the place for a truly wonderful visit. The house offered all we needed as a base for our daily adventures; the local pub was a daily stop; the seafood was to die for. Caretaker Tony was helpful and became a friend. We checked out several local resturants on Cathrine's recommendations, and agreed with her thumb's up!
On a scale of one to ten, we would give the house, the area and the experence a solid twelve!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Gaithersburg, MD USA
5

Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Catherine,
We had the most fabulous time and your lovely home was the highlight of our trip. The photos do not do it justice! Your home is spectacular and the views amazing. We took many walks on the hiking path and eight of our group climbed to the top of Mt. Brandon (on a rainy and cloudy day but still quite an experience!) We ended up at T.P.'s every night and they took care of us. Our best meal was at Ida's Restaurant and we also had a great dinner at the Old Pier Restaurant. Breege cooked for us the last night, her lamb stew dinner, which was also delicious.

We can't say enough about our time in Ballydavid -- we will be returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Prior Lake MN USA
4

Lovely Home in Authentic Ireland

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family - my husband and I, three teenagers, and my husband's parents - stayed in the home for 4 days enjoying home-cooked meals, visiting the local sites and pubs, and golfing, hiking, fishing, and shopping. The home and area are beautiful, and it's a treat listening to the Irish spoken in the pubs. The home has a large lobster-pot perfect for a family lobster boil, and the fish markets in Dingle provide ample quantities of fresh fish, including live lobsters. There were plenty of bedrooms, each with an ensuite bathroom, which is a nice luxury when travelling with a large group for 10 days. The only disappointing experience was the sour "greeting" we received from the housekeeper / cook when arriving at the house - and unfortunately first impressions are lasting. Although we texted her with our arrival time as instructed, which was supposed to be "after 3PM" (we arrived at 7PM), our texts were never returned and she scolded us for not arriving "at 3PM," including a lecture about how we were interrupting her work followed by a very fast and rude tour of the home. For this reason, I would not stay at the home again unless someone else was the local contact and was there to greet us - and it is the only reason I haven't rated the stay as excellent. However on the contrary, the owner was always incredibly responsive and gracious, and we appreciated the opportunity to build great family memories in her family's beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Pennsylvania
5

Duffey Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Catherine,
Our stay was all we had hoped for and more. The house was great and appropriately sized for the crew. Our grandchildren as well as the adults enjoyed the five sheep which took up upon the lawn and their jousting with the chairs.TP's was wonderful and I was given a fast exit in Snooker by the locals.The area is perfect for a truly memorable life experience to be treasured all our days.
Roger and Teresa Duffey
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Birmingham, ALabama
5

Awesome Stay in Ireland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I took a small group of friends with me to Dingle and we stayed at the McGrath Cottage, I must say it was an amazing week. The cottage helped with our enjoyment of it. Beautiful and fresh, it was just the relaxation we needed after a long flight from the states. At the time there were only four bedrooms upstairs and a studio with a fold out bed that I slept on. I hear they've upgraded it. That's great. It was already lush with a huge den where we spent hours playing music in front of a warm fire. The kitchen and dining room were enormous. Far larger than the 5 of us needed. We took long walks along the cliffs and chatted with locals in fishing boats. We watched Irish football at the pub as Ciarri kicked butt. It was about a 15 minute winding drive to Dingle, which was longer than I would've liked, but we had a great time there, found great restaurants and music. All in all, this was a magical weekend. What a great place! I really hope I can go back again one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Birmingham, ALabama
5

Loved This Cottage, Though Not for 14 People

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I stayed here a couple years ago. It was absolute bliss. I really long to go back. The location was wonderful. There's a great pub just up the street, and walking trails overlooking the ocean. Just gorgeous.

That said, do not expect to get 14 people there unless you're don't mind fold out beds and what not. There are four real bedrooms, plus a Great Den and sitting room. There's an additional office with a fold out bed that needs curtains, but I did okay sleeping in that room. I'm not sure where the other bedroom is supposed to be... I guess the den could be sued as one.

All in all, this is a magical place though. GO THERE!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Thatched and Stone Luxury Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240186
+1 203 438-7494
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Latham, NY, USA
5

A "Peace" of Heaven on Earth

A "Peace" of Heaven on Earth
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Our stay at the McGrath Cottage could not have been more pleasant. Truly it was everything we wanted, peace, quiet, beautiful scenery, and an Irish setter (Rhoo) who adopted us for long walks along the strand or cliffs. This is the place to renew yourself in creation, Irish charm and culture. The house is just lovely, spacious and the kitchen is to die for!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/4