Poipu condo rental - The Makahuena at Poipu from Captain Andy's Catamaran
The Makahuena at Poipu from Captain Andy's Catamaran
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Two Bedroom Two Bath Sleeps Six King, Queen and Sofa Sleeper

One of our favorite things to do at our home away from home is to walk down to the vista point at the Makahuena in the morning and watch the whales or in the evening with a glass of wine. This spot is only available to Makahuena owners and guests and it is truly remarkable, as you are at the southern most point of Kauai. The ocean and sea life are stunning.

We offer a nice peek of the ocean from the lanai and close enough to hear the surf. Out your front door, we are less than 106 steps to the gorgeous Pacific.

The Makahuena At Poipu. The most important vacation decision you will make is the condo. This is a great unit for two couples as it has two bedrooms with private baths. Listen to the Waves as you drift off to sleep in our Home Away from Home. Welcome to the Makahuena Resort on the Southern tip of Kauai.

BREATH TAKING: You will be staying right on the pacific. Perched upon a black lava rock, the Pacific and all its beauty will be right at your feet. World famous snorkeling Poipu beach is a short walk away. Shipwreck beach next to the Hyatt is 1/2 mile walk along bluffs over looking the Pacific.

Poipu Beach was recently named the fourth best beach in the world by Travel and Leisure magazine.

FUN CLOSET: WE OFFER THE FAMOUS FUN CLOSET

What is a 'fun closet'? It is where we keep all sorts of fun beach items for your vacation enjoyment. It is actually in a big pirate chest and some in the closet.

Items do change due to guests.

We also have a Play and Pak.

I am a licensed sales person with Century 21 All Islands. If your dream is to own a piece of heaven, please let me know.

Transient Accommodation Tax # W51928484-01

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 239449 in Poipu, Hawaii

$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Lake Oswego, ORegon
5

I Can't Wait to Go Back!!!

I Can't Wait to Go Back!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This awesome condo allowed my family and I to thoroughly enjoy our stay on Kauai! It has everything that we have at home, which makes it so easy to just pack and go. Even the kitchen had utensils that made eating in nice and easy! The beds were very comfy and the whole condo was very clean and spacious! Steve and Sheri (the owners) were great about making sure we felt right at home! The location was perfect for getting to the beaches and great restaurants, and yet secluded enough that you can go for a peaceful walk! My husband and I really put this condo to the test by bringing our mothers along! It went even better than we ever expected because of the space and relaxation the condo allows! We will totally be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/19
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
United States
5

Nice quiet condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a lovely condo, quiet, well equipped including boogie boards, aloe vera for our sunburn, and has that lovely spot to see the sunrise, sunset and in season the whales! Really nice pool, great hot tub, easy to drive to Poipu beaches, Waimea canyon, Port Allen for Na Pali boat trips, and not far from Lihue, and Kapa'a. We cooked, and ate out, great kitchen, wifi, nice lanaii, heard the wind and the ocean at night.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
texas
5

Very comfortable 2 bedroom 2 bath in Poipu!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I, along with our 18-year old niece and her friend, just spent a week at this very comfortable 2 bedroom 2 bath condo in Poipu! We really enjoyed the amenities of the condo, especially the full kitchen and washer & dryer. The complex also has a nice hot tub and pool that we enjoyed in the evening. This location is just steps from the point where we could watch the sunrise and the sunset. You will also not want to miss the lava bridge! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Hawaii
5

Mahalo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a beautiful site. We very much enjoyed to take a early morning walk to Hayatt Regency and back.
Thanks Steve to be kind and professional. Our stay in Kauai was a wonderful memory, I and my family from Japan had such a great time.
Aloha, Junko
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Yucaipa, CA, USA
5

Great value for the price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We recently stayed at the Makahuena for six nights. We went with another couple who, like us, were celebrating their 20th wedding anniversary. The condo was perfect for our needs. Virtually everything we needed (e.g., utensils, laundry detergent, beach towels, bodyboards, snorkel equipment, multiple ice chests, beach chairs, etc.) was provided at no extra cost. So the value we received for what we paid was really incredible (especially since we split the cost with our friends). The condo was spacious and there was more than enough room (to be honest, we and our friends could have brought our kids and we still would have had plenty of room).

The condo is in a GREAT location. The immediate area is wonderful (you really could walk to Poipu beach if you want to, great restaurants nearby, etc.) and the condo is within striking distance of virtually anything you want to see on the island, assuming you have a car (the furthest thing away we did was hike to Hanakapiai Falls, and it took us about 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to the trail head at Ke'e Beach). We like active vacations, so we did one major activity each day (i.e., biking down Waimea Canyon, kayaking up the Wailua River and hiking to the water fall, riding the tubes down the canals that were used to water sugar cane, ziplining in Princeville, and hiking the Napali coast to Hanakapiai Beach/Falls) and still had time to go to some spectacular beaches (Poipu, Hanalei, Secret Beach, Shipwreck Beach, etc.). So the location of the condo allowed us to do all this without any problem at all. At night, we could come back and hang out in the jacuzzi for a bit.

I honestly can't think of anything I would have changed about our accommodations. The owner is extremely helpful and accommodating, and he will provide you with everything you need to know via email and/or in the guidebook provided in the condo. I think you would be hard pressed to find a better value for your money than what we got at the Makahuena. Honestly, it was one of the funnest vacations I have ever been on, and the condo was part of that experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Idaho
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We just stayed 5 days and loved being in Poipu/Koloa area. The condo was very nice and clean with everything you need. Perfect for 2 families, very roomy and comfortable. Near a nice path for jogging by the ocean:)
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
San Jose, CA, USA
5

Had everything just like home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We arrived to a clean condo with all the amenities we could have asked for! It was like being in someones home. The fully stocked (even condiments and spices) kitchen was great. There were ice chests and pool toys and water shoes, snorkel gear, etc. We really didn't need to bring anything except our personal items. The walk to the vista point is wonderful for both Sunrise and Sunset! Easy walk to beaches and restaurants. The price afforded us a longer stay then we would have been able to enjoy with a higher priced resort. We would definately recommend to friends and famiy. Thank you Steve!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
5

Charlie and Bev

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Fabulous condo - everything we could need or want was here! We would absolutely come back here again in a minute! Great location - great amenities....Absolutely awesome!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Honolulu,hi
5

Best deal ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
If you lucky enough to get this room. Do it! This is the best room ever. And it comes fully equiped with anything you will need. The location is great. And the owner is super professional. We highly recomend the holoholo boat charters. We had the best anniversary ever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Haiku, HI
5

Expectations More Than Met

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
It was a perfect home away from home. The kitchen was very adequate for dining in and there are plenty of restaurants for dining out. We travelled during the day and came home to use the pool and hot tub in the late afternoon before an evening dinner. The accommodations were spacious, clean and pleasant. On the downside, I had difficulty with the WiFi and could not establish a video connection. There appeared to be cross interference. I didn't come to Kauai to work on the computer, so it was only a minor irritation. The location, in Poipu was great for travel to the West Coast especially with beaches, restaurants, markets and stores nearby. The price of the unit was more than fair in the surrounding area. We're from Maui and found this to be another paradise from the one we already live in. The owner was very responsive and I would recommend this to friends planning on a trip to Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2