Crystal Lake house rental - Home front late July
Home front late July
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Crystal Lake House Rental Photos and Description
1750 sq foot, 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths sleeps 8 very comfortably.

Remodeled in 2007, this 1920 craftsman style home is built on a bluff overlooking beautiful Crystal Lake on a 70 foot high bluff providing both privacy and the quiet most people want on their vacation. Take a short 1 mile drive down to the beautiful sandy public beach to enjoy a swim in the crystal clear lake or go out fishing and watch the fish 12 feet down bite on your hook. Your family can play on the public beach one mile down the road while you watch from your warm sunny perch on the 175 foot wide beach or in the shade from the picnic area. The beach has bathrooms, picnic area, boat launch and pavilion.

Our home is custom built for artists with custom trim, maple floors and cabinets with many built-in storage cabinets, stone gas fireplace, inlaid stairs, three decks, and a gourmet kitchen. The owner utilized many unique pieces of wood in the custom interior decor. The home has 45 acres of woods with trails. for your hikes. Enjoy deer and other wildlife visiting the artisan well and stream. Guests can visit nearby Sleeping Bear National Park, Crystal Mountain, artists' shops, take a charter boat ride on Lake Michigan and fish fish fish!. One can also hike or bike (we have five bikes) on the Betsy Valley Trail, or visit any of the 8 golf courses within a 30 minute drive.

World class fishing: The world record Brown Trout was caught in Betsy Bay in Frankfort in 2008. Lake Michigan and Crystal Lake fishing are always productive for a wide variety of fresh water species including Coho Salmon, Lake Trout, Rainbow Trout, Perch, Brook Trout, Steel Head Trout, Bass, pan fish, and other native fish.

World class golfing: The Frankfort area offers 8 golf courses within 25 minutes. Arcadia Bluffs has been rated as one of the World's most scenic and best courses in the world. Crystal Mountain's three courses are unmatched in beauty and will bring the most capable players to their knees. Crystal golf course provides wonderful views of Crystal Lake and challenges to the best golfers. Other courses are very playable and offer their own challenges and views. Golf pros are available for private lessons at several of the courses. Crystal Mountain offers a health spa, swimming pool and other activities for children and adults as well.

More Details
Hide Details

Jill is employed as the Title One Director with the local school system. Richard is a retired construction trades teacher/builder having taught as an adjunct at Eastern Michigan University and retired from teaching Building Trades at the local school district. Jill graduated from Eastern Michigan University in Elementary Education with a minor in art. Jill's art background and interest has melded with Richards craftsmanship to transform a 1920 cottage into a beautiful year around home.

Richard or Jill Lutz purchased this house in 1983

Guests enjoy Jill's mother's artwork as well as Jill's handcrafted ceramics. Richard's craftsmanship is obvious throughout the home from inlaid maple stairs to utilizing wood pieces they have gathered from all over the United States. The home is many steps about the standard rentals in the area. One feels like they are truely welcome in this lovely home made with much pride and tender loving care!

When Jill and I first traveled in this area and rented a nearby cottage, we instantly fell in love with the beautiful wooded lake views and above all the quiet. To fall asleep at night listening to the waves gently washing ashore is a dream in itself. Our friend who owns a home nearby called us letting us know his cousin was selling this cottage. We drove up in the dead of winter, walked back to the cottage and we noticed a sign hanging next to the door. 'Greenwood' We looked around and our view was the many 100 foot tall pines standing out against the beautiful white snow covered lake. We were in love and immediately made a call to purchase what was soon to be our home.

7 Reviews of Property 239233 in Crystal Lake, Michigan

Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
Toledo Ohio
5

Beautiful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Great cottage -- beautiful woodwork; great 'space' for community and privacy; nice hot tub and separate jucuzi bath; good access to the lake. It's not on the lake itself, but excellent access down a hill.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
5

When can we come back?!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed with our daughter and son-in-law for 3 days at this cozy cottage and didn't want to leave. It had it all...plenty of things to do, beautiful views and a gorgeous place to stay. The house is one of a kind! The kids were busy and we were relaxed...can't wait to do it again!
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
5

Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Jill and Richard's house is so perfect we could have stayed forever. It is very comfortable and they have thought of every little amenity to make the stay as easy as being home. We have been vacationing in the area for over 20 years and are thrilled to find this gem. Four adults and one five year old had a very memorable and relaxing time there. We could not have asked for more and heartily recommend it.
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a beautiful place for our family reunion! The home is first class with every amenity covered. I truly could have come with just my clothing and had everything I needed! The home will sleep eight, but we had six adults and found it a bit tight. I think it would be perfect for 4 adults and 4 children though. The lake is beautiful and there is a lot to do in the area. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who just wants to "get away from it all." Oh so peaceful!

The location of the home is up on a bluff so access to the lake is a bit of a challenge especially anyone with small children or older individuals not used to walking up and down hills.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recommendation! We try to furnish everything we would want if we were on vacation consequently, paper products soaps, toilet paper etc are all furnished. We are thinking about furnishing a golf cart to get down to the lake next year. However, there is plenty of parking room should a renter wish to drive down. Many renters choose to drive for those needing a fast trip back to use the bathroom.
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
4

Great Week of Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a great week of vacation at this house. The house was very nice and clean and well maintained sitting high up on a bluff above Crystal Lake. Nice large deck facing the lake, but with all the tall trees the lake view is limited. However it is very peaceful and pretty out on the deck. This house is not right on the lakefront. There is a trail off the back deck that leads down through the woods to the road and then a short walk to the lake. The lake is beautiful and crystal clear. The deeper parts of the lake are a beautiful deep blue. The only downside was that there were warnings to swimmers about swimmer's itch, caused by bacteria in the water from duck feces that causes an itchy rash, therefore we were reluctant to swim in the lake. We did use their kayaks and paddle boat though. Tried fishing but didn't have much luck. Frankfort is a quaint little port town with lots of small family restaurants and bar & grill type places and a lot of unique shops. Ate at the Smokehouse, Bayview Grill, Dinghy's, Papano's Pizza, and the Fusion. All had good food. There is a nice Lake Michigan beach area in Frankfort. No warnings on the Lake Michigan beach about swimmer's itch so we got in the water there, but the Lake Michigan water is pretty cold. Definitely take the short trip up to Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore and do the dune climb, take the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive and visit the Port Betsie Lighthouse. Played golf at Champion Hill and Pinecroft both nice courses and reasonably priced at $49 for 18 holes. The weather was magnificent with daytime highs in the mid 70's and nighttime lows in the upper 50's. The owners of the home were very helpful and easy to deal with.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed our home. You are the first renter who has mentioned swimmer's itch. We have not experienced this very often at Crystal Lake. We have researched this and were told that some bites can occur in very warm shallow water, but by putting on a lotion to prevent the bites (just like for sunburn lotion to prevent sunburn) no bites occur. Since the bites only occur at the water's edge and most people swim off the dock, this has not been an issue. Thank you again for spending time in our beautiful area! Sincerely Jill and Richard Lutz
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
Wichita Falls, Texas
5

July 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My wife, son and I rented the house for a week surrounding the 4th of July. The first thing we were treated to on the night we arrived was an awesome sunset on the lake and that set the tone for the rest of the week. The house was very relaxing, windows open, sounds of the birds, watching the squirrels and just chilling out on the deck. The amenities inside the house are all you need. Everything was there for us. We loved the small towns nearby, slipped away for a day of golf and massages at Crystal Mountain Resort. So, what makes the house great besides the house itself is all the things you can do around and in that area. We had a great vacation and did not have to worry about one thing in the house wich was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beautifully Remodeled 1920 Craftsman-Style Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239233
+1 2319204025
Crystal Lake Northern Michigan
South Bend, IN
5

We loved the House on the Hill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I rented the house the last week of June 2010. I was cynical when my wife made the arrangements. Once again, I had to admit my wife was right. The house is beautiful and clean. The care and craftmanship of the construction combined with the careful maintenance make this more than a rental cottage. Add to that the peaceful setting and the time spent on Crystal Lake made for a relaxing week that my wife and I needed and enjoyed. We will rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2