Huddleston cabin rental - Late summer/Early Fall view of lake and mountain
Late summer/Early Fall view of lake and mountain
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Huddleston Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 4, 2 bedrooms, private dock, Romantic Retreat

Cabins 1 and 2 are in a row of ten that rim the shore of a secluded cove on Smith Mountain Lake. The Cabin 1 is on the end, making it one of the most private of all. There are wilderness views of undeveloped forest and the lake, as well as Smith Mountain. The cabin is located on Witcher Creek, which is a no wake area. This feature makes swimming very safe, and a sense of peacefulness prevails that you will not find in other areas of the lake that experience more boat traffic. A private deep-water dock is shared by the two cabins, offering easy access for boating, swimming and sunbathing. Both cabins are two-bedroom, one-bath lakefront homes, with solid cedar construction, open-beam ceilings and hardwood floors. Silver Bay View Cottages are ideal for reunions. We can accommodate up to 24 people between four properties that include the Main House, the Cedar Cabin and Cabins 1 and 2. Be sure and check out these other properties as well.

Swimming: There is nothing more enjoyable than to stretch out on the dock with a good book, and then dive into the clear, warm water for a refreshing swim. The lake is one of the cleanest in the East Coast, and as you swim or relax, you are looking across to undeveloped wilderness.

Boating: There may be no better lake in the Mid-Atlantic region for boating. The 20,000 acres of Smith Mountain Lake and its 40-mile length make it a perfect place for water skiing, speed boating, canoeing, kayaking or sailing. Power boats and wave runners can be rented at several locations on the lake, including: Bridgewater Plaza Marina (Boats can also be picked up at the State Park), Parrot Cove (Parrot Cove also rents Kayaks), Parkway Marina (formerly knows as Saunders Marina), Mitchell's Point Marina or Virgil Naff Sea Doo (wave runners only). The closest boat launch and boat rental is Mitchell's Point Marina.

Fishing: Fishing opportunities at Silver Bay View Cottages are unbelievable. The properties are located on Witcher Creek where the stripers spawn every spring. The lake is regularly stocked with game fish, and contains striped bass, large and small mouth bass, muskies, northern pike, and an assortment of small game fish. Fishing guides are available to introduce you to the lake, including: Captain Bert's Fishin' Charters, Mike's Striper Guide Service, Rockfish Adventures.

More Details
Hide Details

Jim is an engineer/entrepeneur who, in addition to running Silver Bay, designs Arts & Crafts homes and advises emerging technology companies.

www.ErlerDesign.com

Catriona is a garden author/photographer/ speaker who has written 9 books and countless articles for national and international publications. See her articles in the Smith Mountain Laker Magazine (free at local businesses).

www.CatrionaTudorErler.com

Jim Erler purchased this cabin in 1993

Cabin 1 was the first of the Silver Bay View properties and was the inspiration for our name. While smaller than the Point View properties, it remains a very special place for a cozy escape.

Cabin 1 is at the Bay View location and offers a private setting overlooking the Silver Bay portion of Smith Mountain Lake with Smith Mountain above it.

20 Reviews of Property 238473 in Huddleston, Virginia

Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Cozy cabin with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wonderful Thanksgiving weekend experience for my family. Cabin was clean, nicely furnished, and had everything we needed. Loved the views of the lake from the deck. Kids and dog had a great time exploring around the lake. Owner was extremely courteous and responsive. Highly recommend this property.
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Just What We Needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As owner/operators of a long haul truck, our dog and I usually load up and take a working vacation each summer with my husband. This summer we opted to do something different, especially since we now have 2 dogs. This little cabin on the lake was the perfect get away and we were so blessed to be able to bring our two labs along. The listing description was accurate, the property was clean and well-maintained and the owner was very pleasant to talk to and very helpful. We spent a few days just relaxing around the cabin and swimming with the dogs each day. The gated deck was wonderful for the dogs to be able to be outside if they wanted. One day we took a ride to the Smith Mountain Lake Dam Visitor Center where we learned about the lake and the dam. Another day we rented a pontoon boat from Parkway Marina and spent the day checking out the surrounding area from the lake. We had an awesome vacation, plan on returning and would highly recommend the property. The only down/con of this property would be all the steps to get down to the dock.
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Kensington, Maryland
5

Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second year in cabin 1. There were many upgrades, furniture, bedding, tv, internet... A very pleasant cozy cabin for our family for a very reasonable price. The best part of all is that our dog Annie was welcome. We all enjoyed the cool, clean water and exploring the nature preserve from our kayaks.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Kensington, Maryland
5

Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second year in cabin 1. There were many upgrades, furniture, bedding, tv, internet... A very pleasant cozy cabin for our family for a very reasonable price. The best part of all is that our dog Annie was welcome. We all enjoyed the cool, clean water and exploring the nature preserve from our kayaks.
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Kensington, Maryland
5

Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second year in cabin 1. There were many upgrades, furniture, bedding, tv, internet... A very pleasant cozy cabin for our family for a very reasonable price. The best part of all is that our dog Annie was welcome. We all enjoyed the cool, clean water and exploring the nature preserve from our kayaks.
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Kensington, Maryland
5

Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second year in cabin 1. There were many upgrades, furniture, bedding, tv, internet... A very pleasant cozy cabin for our family for a very reasonable price. The best part of all is that our dog Annie was welcome. We all enjoyed the cool, clean water and exploring the nature preserve from our kayaks.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
North Carolina
5

Relaxing & Beautiful!

Relaxing & Beautiful!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I rented this cabin for our anniversary, and we had such a great, relaxing weekend! The cabin provided everything we needed, and the view was gorgeous. The lake is clean, clear, and great for swimming - right off the dock even! Even better, we were able to bring our dog, making the weekend a win overall. I'd highly recommend this cabin, and we'd like to come back in the future.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Beautiful and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Cabin 1 is very cozy, has a great view of the lake and you can swim right off the dock. This part of the lake has a no wake rule and is very quiet. You can hear the whippoorwills. We enjoyed Smith Mountain Lake State Park which is 10 minutes away and features the Turtle island trail and a swimming area with a sandy beach, lifeguards and boat rentals. 15 minutes away is an old fashioned Drive-In movie. Our host, Jim lives on the property and was very helpful. He arrived immediately when we requested help with the Dish TV.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
null
5

A lovely retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family of four-- mother, father, girls ages 9 and 3-- went up to Smith Mountain Lake for the weekend to attend a party at a nearby lake home. We found this cabin online, looked into it, and rented it. We arrived to find it "as promised," only better! It is on the far end of the short row of cabins, so it is quite private. It is cozy, comfy, clean, and spectacularly situated. The swimming dock is sturdy, and the long stairs down to the water are nice and safe. I am a distance runner, and I found the location suitable for a nice 7 mile run one morning- mostly on a main road, but it was still pretty peaceful. The cabin came with all the amenities for a great weekend get-away. We'll definitely be back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cabin 1 at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238473
+1 4349536747
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Cabin 1 Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Jim,
My wife and I had a wonderful time, and are already talking about our next visit. Our two new lab pups had a great time as well, and the fact that the cottages are pet friendly is just an added bonus. As I mentioned to you, the pictures on your web-site did not do it justice, the scenery could not be better. It is an amazing location, in this day and time to be able to walk out on the cabin deck and see no other structures in your view is amazing, just nature. My wife and I were also impressed with the cleanliness, and the up keep of the cabin.
The only suggestion I have for you is steel trash bins, I knew better, but I put our first full garbage bag in the back of my truck, and based on the paw prints, I had racoons as party guests and they had a good time. No harm done, I cleaned up the mess. I have no issue with hauling out my garbage, but would like to have a place to store it while there. I really did not want to have trash bags in your cabin, or leave it on the deck for another evening of fun for the racoons. I would not be surprised if you have had trash bins in the passed, and found other guests that did not haul away their trash, and ignored the rule of take out what you bring.
Again, we had a great time and look forward to our next visit.
Pat & Karen
Owner's Response: Pay & Karen,
You are correct about having had outside trash cans in the past, as well why we discontinued them. We do supply the kitchen trash bags with built-in ties that can be used to seal the odors in. The best solution is to leave them in the car or house until you go to the trash/recycle center up the road.

It was great to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1