Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental - Living room with fire place
Living room with fire place
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms with small loft, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4 to 5

This immaculate cabin has a knotty pine interior, fireplace, cathedral ceilings, large screened in porch and lake rights to private association beach. This is a great getaway for a romantic couple, small family looking to enjoy the mountains and lake or good friends who want to catch up and enjoy time together. Everything is here that you will need~your home away from home! Master bedroom has a queen bed, 2nd room has a custom built-in bunk bed with a double on bottom and single on top & small loft that sleeps one. Large screened in porch adds 340 sq ft. of outdoor living space in the warmer months & has a comfy patio sectional couch to watch the hummingbirds and wildlife, ADK chairs and a dining table. We are situated in a quiet hamlet that has a private assoc. beach that is just a short walk away, 20 minutes to X-country and 1/2 hr to Gore Mnt.. Scenic hikes to waterfalls, great fishing, fire pit, grill, wifi, netflix, free tennis and basketball courts in town and 2 kayaks and 2 sets of snowshoes.

Master Bedroom: The master has a queen bed, ceiling fan, antiques, Adirondack furnishings and a sliding glass door that leads out to the screened in porch.

All quilts, blankets, mattress and pillow covers are washed on a regular basis.

Bunk Room: The bunk room has custom built in bunk beds with a double on the bottom and a single on the top. They were built with more space between them so they are comfortable, extremely sturdy and have plenty of head room for teenagers and adults.

Treehouse Loft: The loft is for one older child or young adult. We call it the 'Treehouse' because it is like sleeping in one! You cannot stand in it and do have to go up a sturdy set of stairs.

Screened in Porch: The screened in porch is 340 sq ft. of extra outdoor living space and overlooks the gardens and beautiful pines. It has a special screen to keep out the Adirondack 'no see-ums' . There is a patio sectional couch that can be separated into 4 seats for your comfort, 2 Adirondack chairs, dining room table and hutch. We also have an outside patio table with umbrella. There are lots of hummingbirds in the spring and summer and birds who make their homes in our birdhouses.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been vacationing in Wells at my grandfathers cottage for my entire life. When I married my husband, he also fell in love with the town and we decided to purchased our own place and make it our own. I fell in love with Wells and the friendly people who live in this town. Lake Algonquin is clean and stunningly beautiful!

Jean Barbara purchased this house in 2005

We completely gutted this 1930's cabin and added on an addition. It took 4 years of weekends and vacations to finish but we had a blast doing it just love the results! Frank did all the craftsmanship himself and also made many pieces of the furniture throughout the cabin.

Wells is a quiet and peaceful town and is a great break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. This cabin is in a hamlet called the Jolie Montaigne Beach Association which gives us access to the lake. The beach is never overcrowded and has a stunning view of lake.

Lake Algonquin is a smaller lake so we don't get the high speed boats and lake traffic that many of the larger lakes get. Motor boats are allowed but it is also great for kayaking, fishing and swimming.

22 Reviews of Property 238397 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Adorably Decorated Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Loved this property. Decorated so nice. Very cozy. My 10 year old loved the loft bed area while my 16 year old enjoy nights on the screened in patio. My 19 year old was happy with the wifi. We all are happy which doesn't happen too often! This is a great place to stay. All the amenities are there for you. Pack your clothes and relax! Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your cabin!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cabin is beautiful and in a very peaceful location. Did some hiking, kayaking, and of course made a campfire! Alpine diner is close and has great food if you want a night out or else make sure to bring your food because there's only small convenient stores close by. The cabin supplies every utensil and appliance you would ever need which is great! Very comfortable place as our first night we stayed in and watched Netflix due to rainy weather. Can't thank the owner's enough for the wonderful place to stay and hope to visit again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Honeymoon Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed at the Barbara Cabin for three nights following our wedding and we could not have been more pleased. The cabin was clean, superbly stocked, romantic and idyllic. We brought our bikes and rode around the town, kayaked (for the first time) on the beautiful, peaceful lake, and snuggled on the couch to watch a movie from the fine selection in the hutch, and enjoyed nearly perfect weather....we were able to use fireplace and yet still sit out on the screen porch to enjoy the scenery! Thank you Jean for helping to make our short but sweet honeymoon so memorable! Can we come back for our first anniversary? :-)
Owner's Response: Frank and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had a memorable honeymoon! We would love to have you return to the cabin and do offer a 10% discount if you choose to vacation with us again. The cabin, Lake Algonquin and the town of Wells offer a different Adirondack experience with each of the 4 seasons....we still can't decide which season is our favorite ^_^ We look forward to hearing from you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Amazing time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had such a great time at the Barbara Cabin (if you can call it that...it's really a beautiful "house"). They redid it a few years ago (as you can see from the photo album on the beautiful stone fireplace) and put a lot of work into it. Well, it paid off. And it's the cleanest rental we've ever had the pleasure of staying in. They have thought of everything...right down to the frosty mugs in the freezer! My son LOVED reading in the loft and we all loved the screened in porch. Now we are spoiled and will always need a porch like that to view the beautiful Adirondack mornings/evenings. The private beach was a favorite also...loved fishing and swimming/kayaking in Lake Algonquin. This was the most relaxed we've all been in a while and staying in this comfortable home was much of the reason. The beds were so comfortable my husband and I had great nights of sleep the whole week! We drove a bit to Lake George, climbed Hadley Mountain, went rock hopping in the creek, rented a boat on Lake Pleasant, visited the Adirondack Museum, etc.
You will not regret renting this cabin. REALLY loved it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
null
5

Awesome stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family had a blast at the cottage. Everything was perfect... the kitchen was fully stocked, the living area was perfect, the screen room was great especially in the evenings when it was cooling off (it was mid-80's during the day, but cool at night). The beach was maybe a 3 minute walk from the cabin... which was no problem. We also really liked the Wells and Speculator town beaches. The scenery on Lake Algonquin was perfect... pictures can't do it justice.

Hopefully, we can get back again sometime soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

A Vacation Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
OUR TIME THERE WAS A VERY RESTFUL TIME MADE POSSIBLE BY NOT ONLY THE CABIN BUT ALSO THE AREA AND THE LOCALS. EVEN THE CHANGE FROM WARM TO COOL AND THEN COOL TO WARM WAS ACCEPTABLE. tHE UNIT WAS VERY CLEAN AND WELL EQUIPPED.
Owner's Response: Thank you Deacon Jim for your wonderful review and we also appreciate that you took such good care of our cabin! We love to have returning guests and do offer a 10% discount if you choose to vacation with us again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Perfect Romantic, Cozy Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My boyfriend and I spend an embarrassingly long time looking for the perfect cabin for our week vacation this February before finally settling on this one. We're a little tough to please, and we couldn't have been happier with this cabin. The interior was very cozy, clean and beautiful. We cooked a lot, and the kitchen was great, very easy to use. Also it had all the pots/pans/implements we needed, even down to the pie dish. And we loved little touches like the gas stove and the charming green cabinets. We ended up not leaving all that much, only for a few meals out and some hikes in the neighborhood and nearby wood. We needed a week away from the city, from people, from hustle and bustle. And we definitely got it here.

What we loved:
-privacy (there are nearby houses, but they seemed mostly empty in the winter when we were there - and they were far enough away to still have plenty of privacy even if occupied);
-romantic, cozy fireplace. This was an important feature for us, and we definitely had cozy days/nights by the fire.
-high-quality, attractive, comfortable furniture. Especially the lovely cozy couch and the beautiful four post bed (the bunks and upstairs "nook" were nice too but we didn't use)
-great kitchen, as mentioned above
-lovely natural surroundings - you're really in the center of the Adirondacks up here. Our cell phones didn't work (which we loved), though the wireless did (also loved).

What wasn't strictly perfect:
-As mentioned above, the cabin is in a neighborhood, so it isn't totally secluded, meaning that you can see other houses from each of the windows (though they are not close and spaced decently far apart). Walks out the front door were in the neighborhood - we had to drive to get to nature trails.
-Because you're in the center of the Adirondacks, you're pretty far away from larger towns/cities. Though there are a few small towns nearby, there really aren't any excellent and/or cozy restaurants or similar that you might have in another area, such as the part of southern Vermont we went to last year. Of course, this could easily be seen as a plus, since we did a lot of cooking and relaxing in front of the fire instead. But useful to know that while there are restaurants (and we went to two), the towns are small and pretty sparsely populated in the winter (this may be different in the summer).

Both these "cons" were pretty small, and we'll be back to the Barbara Cabin. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Beautiful Cabin - Lovely Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful time at Barbara Cabin. Without question, the description of the cabin was accurate in all respects. Indeed, it was far more than we expected. In addition to being meticulously clean, cozy and romantic, the cabin was fantastically stocked with pots, pans, dishes, utensils, glasses, etc. The appliances were beautiful – There were spices and oils and plenty of things to get you rolling. While there, I unfortunately found myself in need of an emergency dentist and the Owners went out of their way to help me to find a dentist that might be able to help me on New Years eve no less! The Owners went to extremes to make certain they were available to us should we have needed anything. We spent a great deal of time at Oak Mountain snowtubing and having a ball with our little one - our only regret was that we did not have more time available to us to spend at the cabin. Hopefully we will get back there in the near future. There was plenty of information in the cabin to help us plan our days with hikes, meals, etc.
This cabin is lovely for adults and was very fun for our little girl as well! This was an all around wonderful time. In our opinion this is a special little slice of heaven and the Owners are delightful to deal with.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

A lovely getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was a lovely retreat for the two of us, the cabin was clean and cozy. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to cook inside on the rainy day and barbecue outside when it was sunny. We loved drinking our coffee each morning on the screened in porch and seeing the hummingbirds and butterflies around us enjoying the view as much as we did. It was clear from the moment we arrived that the owners had thought of everything and love this cabin. We were very pleased with the hiking nearby and took the kayaks out on the peaceful lake. I have always loved the Adirondacks and was so happy with the mountain view from the lake. There was more than enough room we didnt even use the 2nd room or the loft space. It was nice to have access to the laundry right there in the bathroom. It was refreshing to be away from the cell service and not have to worry about answering phones or what time it was. We definitely will be returning to our serene escape from the every day stress. I can not think of a better way to spend a week.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic ADK Getaway~Lake Rights,2 Kayaks, Wifi! - 2 Summer Mon-Fri's Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238397
+1 8457971097
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Oxford, PA
5

Secluded winter retreat--with all the amenities!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We enjoyed our stay very much. This was a perfect, secluded winter retreat without missing a beat in terms of amenities. Everything was so quiet and peaceful. Please know that everything was just perfect, and in our 15 years of marriage, this might have been our favorite vacation ever.

We really, really appreciated the attention to detail that was evident throughout the house--the use of space, colors, decor, furnishings, carpentry, provision of little "extras" that saved us time and space in packing and the trek to Northville....also, the cleanliness, and no-smoking/pets policies. YAY! Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our yultide gay!

We are delighted to recommend this place to any and all who would appreciate a restful time in the beautiful Adirondacks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3