Galveston house rental - Built In 1886 But All Modern Ammenities
Built In 1886 But All Modern Ammenities
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Galveston House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

GALVESTON HISTORICAL FOUNDATION 2009 POST IKE RECOVERY RESTORATION AWARD WINNER!

ONE OF THREE HOMES FEATURED IN THE NOVEMBER 2010 ISSUE OF THE GALVESTON MONTHLY MAGAZINE

This Beautifully Restored Home located In The Heart Of The Lost Bayou Historic District Is Available For Your Vacation, Weekend Getaway or Special Occasion Enjoyment!

Built in 1886 By Mr. Thomas Hawley, This Historic 1900 Storm Survivor Home Is Located Just Six Short Blocks Behind The Historic Galvez Hotel On The Seawall And Seven Blocks To The Strand.

This is not a bunkhouse. The home was furnished to provide our guests with the experience of a family in A Bygone Era. Please scroll down to see the tastefully decorated rooms. Although the house has been updated with modern amenities, all guests have commented on the tranquil atmosphere that exists when they walk thru the door.

45 Reviews of Property 238237 in Galveston, Texas

Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
average rating of 4.977778 based on 45 reviews
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Award Winning Home For A Award Winning Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We rented the home in March for a GIRL'S WEEKEND! As elementary school friends for over 60 years, we kept postponing our weekend together. We were so pleased for having picked this rental. The home was more like our personal home and not just a rental.

We enjoyed our time with each other. Having such a warm, comfortable and inviting home was such an added plus. Having menus from various restaurants in the area was greatly appreciated. Visiting the restaurant across the street was very convenient.

We were excited to meet Dawn and learn the history of the home. The printed email with all the do's and don't was so very helpful.

We look forward to visiting again....maybe next year! Thanks Dawn for making us feel so WELCOMED!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! It was a pleasure getting to visit with you. I don't often get to visit with guests. Hope that you are able to return next year or even sooner!
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The house was exactly as described - beautiful victorian home which has been kept true to its period, with plenty of little touches of antiques around the house (although it did mean we had to keep an especially close eye on the two younger toddlers we had with us so they didn't break anything valuable). The location was perfect, close to everything we wanted to do in Galveston - a few mins from the beach and Pleasure pier, a few blocks from the Strand, and 10 - 15 mins from Moody Garden. And the playground across the road was an amazing bonus - it was huge, with loads of space for the kids and dogs to run around. It had several different playsets making it suitable for kids of all ages. Our kids LOVED it!

The house was generally well equipped (including the sand castle kit and beach tent which came in very handy for our beach outing). The only things I would perhaps suggest is a kettle in the kitchen would be helpful, as well as a lid for the garbage bin.

Dawn and her husband were very helpful with all our questions. We especially appreciated the flexibility with the check-in and check-out times, helpful indeed when travelling with young kids.

We would definitely come back and stay here again. In fact we were so pleased by our stay we wanted to come back for the July 4th weekend but saw the house was already booked. We'll have to make sure we plan further ahead next time so we can stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! The park is like having your own private playground, it is so seldom used. Glad that your children and dog enjoyed it. Will attend to having a tea kettle and garbage can with a lid. Guests have previously left the tea kettle on the stove (even with a whistle) and burned two of them. So I was a little leary of purchasing another because of fire hazard. Will try again, I apologize for the inconvenience. Hope to see you again soon.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Home Away From Home and So Much More

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our first experience with Home Away From Home was awesome!!! The photos of the property were exactly the way the home was--there were no unpleasant surprises! We felt it both an honor and a privilege to be able to stay in such a lovely historical home! This is the kind of home that you would pay to tour and yet we were actually able to have it as our home for a few days! The customer service provided by Dawn was awesome! In planning our stay, she answered all of our questions! We even received a courtesy call from her on the evening we arrived! Our family enjoyed the home very much! We would most definitely recommend this property to others!
Owner's Response: Thank you! We work hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our home. She is a great house. You were also awesome guests and I very much enjoyed our brief chat. Hope you are able to return.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Boulder, CO
5

Beautiful home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We managed to book and stay in this wonderful home with very short notice due to a cancelation. It was our lucky day! This home has been beautifully restored with the utmost attention to detail and respect for the period, all while providing all the comforts of today. It was clean and comfortable for the 4 of us, and could have easily accommodated several more. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine during the rainy days. Remember the mosquito spray! Oh, and go to Misquito Cafe for breakfast, Sonny's for dinner and Sunflower for lunch. Thanks Dawn for maintaining such a wonderful vacation home!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Arlington, TX
5

An Oasis in the Summer Sand and Sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed for a week in Galveston with a teenager and a two-year-old. It was a whirlwind tour of beaches, waterparks, playgrounds, cookouts, and everything that could possibly wear a grandparent out. I might never have survived if it had not been for the refreshing feeling of stepping "home" into this INCREDIBLY LOVELY house each day. The other reviews and the photos barely do this house justice, in my opinion, because they cannot capture that feeling of comfort and ease. The house is a vacation in itself, located near so many historical sites. It is also right across the street from both a city park and a must-see local hangout. I will admit that, on the drive into the city toward the house, I was a bit nervous: many of the older homes have not yet been restored since Ike, and as a result parts of the district can seem a bit "sketchy." But as soon as I stepped onto the porch and opened the door of this house, I knew that we had rented the best vacation home in Galveston. It manages to strike a balance between historic beauty and comfort. I highly reccommend this home and plan to stay there again and again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family and I traveled to Galveston for my brother's wedding. We were thrilled when we arrived at this beautiful home. The house was absolutely gorgeous and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our favorite rental in Galveston by far! We are hoping to stay here again for another family member's birthday next month!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
OK & TX & MA
5

Family reunion gathering.. OK & TX & MA

Family reunion gathering.. OK & TX & MA
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were able to maximize the reunion time we had together whether we were staying in or going out! Perfectly located between the Strand and the Seawall, the historic structure is a lovely, well appointed home away from home. The owners have anticipated everything to assure a comfortable and relaxing stay. In 5+ days we did not even come close to exhausting places to walk, interesting things to see and do, or the tempting variety of places to eat.
We are all ready to return to Galveston to take up where we left off and explore the abundant opportunities for food, fun, adventures and family time within a comfortable walk from an exceptional home provided by Dawn and her family!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great place to stay, very nice and helpful owner, definetly the perfect place to spend holidays! The house is beautifully restored and the location, a few blocks from the beach and downtown, is perfect. We stayed 12 days with family from France, and they enjoyed this historical house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
La Porte, Tx
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Great location and beautiful home. 7 of us spent 3 day weekend here. We were all pleased with our stay and would definitely return. The owner is very helpful and quick to respond to inquiries. The home is well maintained and just as pictured. The beds are little firmer than what we're used to but after busy day, slept well. We enjoyed sitting on porch and experiencing the neighborhood. Good price for so much space.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Award Winning 1886 Family Home Close To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238237
281 324-6252
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Azle, TX
5

Blast in to the past!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We are group of radiologic technology students that came down for a convention in The Woodlands and to spend the rest of our visit in Galveston. We couldn't have asked for more in a vacation rental. Staying at this home was absolutely wonderful. Dawn and her family have the house stocked with any and every thing one could think of. The antiques and knick-knacks placed around the house were so neat. We only got one day of decent weather and spent that walking around the neighborhood and down the the beach. That was the high light of our vacation. Will definitly be coming back again and will recommend to any one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1