Gardiner cabin rental - Front view of cabin
Front view of cabin
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Gardiner Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom Cabin with Mountain Views

Our cabin is nestled in the majestic mountain terrain of Gallatin National Forest and is just twelve miles from Gardiner, a year round gateway to Yellowstone National Park.

The cabin is adjacent to Cinnabar Creek, which is great for trout fishing, and has a magnificent porch with Adirondack chairs to enjoy the beautiful mountain view.

There is a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, pull out sleeper in main cabin and a Tulikivi Fireplace.

The city of Bozeman is 90 miles west with numerous restaurants and shops.

Cooke City is 63 miles away and Livingston is 60 miles away.

This is a mountain cabin in the heart of Montana’s wilderness. While it has most of the amenities of home, it is still a rustic cabin. We have books, travel guides and games in the cabin, along with wireless internet (due to the cabin's remote location the speed is slow). There is no TV or phone in the cabin. You will also not get reliable cell service at the cabin (there is also not cell service in most locations inside of Yellowstone National Park).

Paul and Emily purchased our property in 1994 after looking for a number of years. Emily's great grandfather had owned a general store next to the Crow Indian reservation in the 1890's. Her grandmother grew up in Anaconda, Montana. We have always enjoyed the landscape and dry mountain air of Montana. Paul and Emily had vacationed for many years in Yellowstone National Park before we purchased the LazyM. Day to day operation of the LazyM is done by Paul and Emily's daughter Laurel

Emily Sherman, Paul & Laurel Koller purchased this cabin in 1994

We choose this location because of it's proximity to Yellowstone Park and the beautiful scenery of Paradise Valley while allowing us quiet seclusion when needed. We enjoy hiking, fishing and both downhill and cross country skiing.

Sitting on the porch or deck you have a wonderful view of Cinnabar mountain. At night you can sleep with the sound of the creek flowing by and enjoy the fresh mountain air. Our cabin was built in the 1950's and we have tried to preserve it's original charm. We have white pine floors in the main cabin and rustic kitchen cabinets.

19 Reviews of Property 238139 in Gardiner, Montana

LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
average rating of 4.111111 based on 19 reviews
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Very close to Yellowstone's Northwest entrance!

Very close to Yellowstone's Northwest entrance!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The cabin is located in a narrow valley that feels quite remote although it's close to the small town of Gardiner. A few other cabins are located nearby offering a sense of "peace of mind" should one need help. In late October the days are short, so we spent most of the daylight hours in the park rather than sitting on the porch. Each morning and evening four mule deer fed on the tall grass in the front yard and seemed almost tame. The cabin is warm and cozy and has all the amenities one needs for a comfortable stay. No TV meant reading and conversations in the evening. We particularly enjoyed reading "Death in Yellowstone: Accidents and Foolhardiness in the First National Park". There is a ranch up the road that offers trail rides. It's a beautiful setting offering wonderful views of the sunrise over the mountains. We recommend this cabin to anyone coming to the area for outdoor activities or to visit Yellowstone National Park.
P.S. The owners allowed us to bring our dog with us!
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
4

Cozy!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lazy M. The cabin is pretty rustic, yet still has the comforts of home. Yes, there are a few houses around but unless you can afford to stay in the equivelant in the middle of no where, you cannot beat the Lazy M. The owners have done well with creating privacy panels on the side of the cabin so that while you are casually enjoying your stay, you don't feel like the neighbors are nearby. Yes, if you look around the privacy walls and walk the entire property, you will see that there are nighbors. We wanted that cabin feel while vacationing in Montana. We were perfectly happy with the wood floors, fluffy bedding, comfy furniture, wonderful front views every morning and evening, great variety of books and a very nice extended patio that over looks the creek right beside the cabin. The cabin was clean and very well taken care of. Maybe a 15 minute drive to Yellowston. Easy but would recommend snow tires once the ice and snow starts.
Wonderful place!
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Great little cabin outside of yellowstone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cabin. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay outside of Yellowstone, this is it!
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
Blue Springs, Missouri
4

Beautiful cabin in a peaceful location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a spotlessly clean cabin, inside and out. The cabin is quiet, with only a couple of nearby cabins, and a peaceful stream just outside the bedroom window. The porch, at night, is a great place to unwind. The shower needs some modernization and a bathroom sink added (instead of only having a kitchen sink) would be some strong additions. But other than that, we had an excellent time at this cabin, which had more than enough pots, pans, dishes and condiments to eat every meal there. Thank you for letting us stay there.
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
4

A cute and cheerful little cabin.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an amazing time staying at the Lazy M Cabin. This charming cabin up in the mountains was a perfect for our family of 4. The cabin is an easy drive to the North Entrance of Yellowstone; so you have access to the park but don't have to deal with the crowded camp areas. You also have Gardiner, a fun little tourist town with shops, bars and restaurants. The cabin is clean and maintained. The kitchen is well stocked. They had some cookware I don’t even have in my own kitchen! The cabin is on a long winding road and takes a good 10+ minutes to reach it from the highway (if you are following the speed markers); however, it was one of our favorite parts of the day. There is no phone or T.V; Internet was advertised as available, but we had trouble getting it to work. I know the kids were a little shell-shocked from the lack of technology, but it made for a nice relaxing week for the adults. The scenery is amazing and there is evidence of wildlife is all around. They also have activities just up the road, like horse trails and zip-lining. Some have commented on the neighbor and his camper’s proximity to the cabin. While it is close to the cabin, the property owners have made efforts to provide more privacy for the renter. Additionally, the family was very nice and it provided us with a sense of comfort knowing others were close; should we need them. Also, yes the grass is long but I think it only adds to the beauty of the property (Not a single tick spotted). It didn’t slow us down from playing and exploring the area and I couldn’t imagine mowing it; it just wouldn’t fit into the scenery. Only suggestions would be a fan or two for the cabin and maybe some more towels, we brought our own as suggested, but with swimming and all the activities we could have used some more. This is a cabin in the Montana Mountains; it’s got rugged terrain, dirt, tall grass, and wildlife. If you like the outdoors this is the perfect cabin and I assure you that you will want to stay longer. If you get freaked out about tall grass, this isn’t the place for you and I would suggest a hotel.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
Missouri
5

Cozy and comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cabin was perfect for us. We were there to visit Yellowstone and traveled out every day to the North Entrance. That drive did take about 20 minutes or so to the North entrance, but the quite solitude was well worth the drive time. The road into the cabin was absolutely beautiful, from the massive rock faces on both sides to the little river that runs along the road. The cabin was a nice little retreat from all the hustle and bustle of Yellowstone. The cabin was well furnished and the bed was nice and comfortable. The pullout sleeper couch was very nice as well for our daughter. Probably the most comfortable sleeper couch I've ever seen. There is no tv, but that's not what we went on vacation for anyway. The WiFi had a very weak signal so we did have some issues with that while trying to plan out our day, but we were able to work with it. So here's the deal, if you are expection a 5 star resort, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for quite, solitude and a nice and clean place to stay, this cabin is great. If you are afraid to get your lexus dirty and have never driven on a gravel road, than this is not for you, but if you love nature and beautiful scenery than this place is for you. The yard is not cut and is left in a natural state, that means it is tall native grasses, if you look around you will not find "cut grass yards" anywhere around this area. If that bothers you, than again this may not be for you. For us, it was perfect but we like that type of setting. I'd much rather spend my time at a place like this than the most plush hotel in downtown anywhere.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
4

LazyM cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This cabin is in the town of Corwin Springs, just a few miles from Yellowstone and very convenient to the park. The directions that we were given to the cabin were good and it was easy to find. There is a long, winding gravel road that leads to the cabin. The road is well maintained, but there are many blind curves, so beware of people coming way to fast on such a narrow road. Though the temperature outside was cool to cold (frost on the grass one morning) the cabin was warm and comfortable. The setting is beautiful, with mountain stream running next to it. It is clean and well furnished. There is no sink in the bathroom, and just a shower (no bathtub). The cabin has internet service but no cell service. Buy any groceries you will need in Gardiner. There is not much in Corwin Springs.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
4

Lazy M cabin in Montana

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just returned from spending a week at the Lazy M cabin outside of Gardiner, MT. Agree with the positive comments made by others: very clean, well equipped cabin, comfortable bed, nice mountain view, beautiful creek, very quiet, never heard the neighbors even though they are very close. That was the one of two downsides for us (they might not be for you). We were under the impression that the cabin was remote; it is not. Although it sits adjacent to the creek, it also sits adjacent to the gravel road on the other side. Many homes/ranches in the surrounding neighborhood. We got to wave at everyone from the front porch as they drove past. The second downside, for us, was the gravel road itself (The road is not the owner's fault, but is a result of the prolonged drought). I mention the road because we have a brand new car and negotiating the road was like driving over a washboard and knocking out a few fillings along the way. It normally took us 15-20 minutes to cover the 3 1/2 miles up and back. Otherwise, we enjoyed our week, loved visiting Yellowstone, appreciated not having the distractions of TV or phone, and just relaxed. BTW, no bugs, no ticks, no problems with the grass or using the kitchen sink.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

A quiet cabin away from the crowds of Yellowstone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved this cabin! Yes, it is rustic and yes there is only one sink and a small bathroom, but after fighting the crowds of Yellowstone all day it was so wonderful to come home to the cabin, sit on the front porch and listen to the stream not more than 5 feet away. Very relaxing! An additional porch and screen have been added to the side of the cabin so that you cannot see the property that is immediately to the rear; we also never heard them. We loved that there was no TV or phone, but if you do need to stay in touch with the world there is internet. If you want a totally relaxing hideaway in the forest then this is it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LazyM Mountain Cabin- A Cozy Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238139
+1 (406)848-1714
Gardiner Yellowstone
1

Definitely not what I was expecting!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The picture is a bit deceiving! It makes it look like you have the whole 5 acres to yourself in this wonderful setting... but if you look really close there is a camper trailer just outside the bedroom window and unless you want to walk through knee high grass nothing is useable. There is no a/c (which is very aggravating because I was told there was one in the bedroom), so it gets pretty hot inside the cabin. The biggest problem we had was there was no phone and no reliable cell service! SO my husband who had planned on fishing in Yellowstone couldn't because he was not comfortable leaving his family with no way to call for help if necessary. Very disappointing since it has a cabin phone number on the check in info. The bathroom is very small with no sink so you have to wash hands, brush teeth in kitchen sink. The cabin was clean and well stocked, and the creek that ran right beside the cabin was nice. I would not stay here again.
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we did not have control over where our neighbor put the trailer after there was a fire at his cabin. We have done our best to minimize the effect it has on our guests stay. There are curtains on all of the windows and we are growing trees next to the porch where the trailer is visible. There is AC in the bedroom, it is connected to the heater. However because the cabin is at almost 6,000 feet, where at night the temperature gets down to around 50 degrees, there is little need for AC, even on the hottest days of the summer. There is almost always a cool breeze off the creek and by mid evening with the windows and doors open the cabin cools off to a very comfortable temperature; some nights in the summer you may even need to close the windows because it gets too chilly with them open all night. We do not have a phone at the cabin, and because of the remote location there is not cell service; there is also not cell service in most locations inside of Yellowstone. The number we give out in our confirmation letter is the number at our cabin we live in as the owners, so if there is a problem with a guests arrival they will be able to reach us. The bathroom is small, but if we were to put a sink into the bathroom it would cut down greatly on the space inside the cabin. As we have said before this is a mountain cabin that is well stocked and has many of the amenities of home, including wireless internet, it is still a rustic cabin. If you are looking for a place with high speed internet, phone, TV or an over manicured lawn, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet mountain cabin next to a small creek, to get away from the crowds of Yellowstone, then this is the perfect place for you.
Helpful votes: 5/5