Ocean View cabin rental - Kitchen
Kitchen
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ocean View Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

ALOHA,

We at Hawaiian Journeys offer unique and affordable vacation experiences, by using alternative structures known as Yurts.

Our Yurt, located on the big island of Hawaii, allows for more space and a vacation experience you'll want to share with others. The Yurt is fully furnished with queen bed, refrigerator, microwaves and more. It's like camping with all the comforts of home.

Welcome to Hawaiian Journeys....we invite you to join our Ohana for a vacation designed to be one you will remember for many years to come. Our accommodations are spacious, comfortable, unique and private. Invented over a 1000 years ago, a yurt is a comfortable, cozy building with great functionality.

We have modernized it, to include one bedroom, modern amenities and gorgeous views among cool and relaxing breezes. We are an eco friendly Inn. We recycle our gray water for plants and pineapples. Because of our location you will see more of Hawaii then if you stayed in Kona and you will sleep better. After all There is MORE to Hawaii then beaches and bars... and isn't a vacation supposed to be relaxing. Stay with us once, and I guarantee you will be back again. We have other one and two bedroom yurts available, please contact us for rates and details. To see pictures or our other yurts, go to our website.

Aloha from Al, Lisa, Donnie and Ohana of Hawaiian Journeys

Keywords: Yurt

More Details
Hide Details

I first came to Hawaii in 1970. Moved over in 1971 and built what is now the Blue Dolphin in Kawaihai and opened the first Italian restaurant on the Big Island. My 3 children were born here, and in 1985 moved back to the Mainland for family matters. Always with a mind to return back to Hawaii. I purchased property in Ocean View, HI in 2005 I've been building up the property in Ocean View the last 2.5 years and hope to be back living in Hawaii FULL time by 2011. Hawaii has ALWAYS felt like home, I love the people and the land and really look forward to coming home.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2005

After living on the island, and experiencing all the things there are to do, I realized you need to centrally locate yourself so you can see more in the same amount of time. Ocean View is a great location for doing just that. No matter where you stay in Kona, you still have to come by Ocean View to see the Volcano, Southpoint, Greensands Beach etc...

All the comforts of staying in a hotel, but for less money, and more privacy. We have Snorkeling and Boogie Board Equipment. Big views, Clean Air, and a good nights sleep.

8 Reviews of Property 238104 in Ocean View, Hawaii

Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
oregon
5

Beautiful, Peaceful, and Clean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Get away from the tourist hustle. The yurt was great. Super clean, and quiet. Great location away from the bugs, and noise in Kona. The perfect Big Island vacation would be a few nights here to see the Volcano, and South Point, and a few nights in the Waikaloa area(if you can afford it) for the snorkeling. The yurt is fun and inexpensive, and Al and Lisa the hosts are great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Knoxville Tn
5

Excellent value for Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My wife and I stayed in a studio for 2 weeks and were very pleased with the accomodations in the yurt, the great view and the owner/ hosts. The stars were spectacular at night. Our yurt had cable tv, a barbeque grill, microwave and refrigerator which all came in very handy. We shopped at some grocery stores and brought some food and fruits back for the evenings. Since we retired last year, we do a lot of camping and this accomodation was even less than tenting in some of campgrounds on the mainland. Hard to believe!!! The reason for the low price was that you right in between Hilo or Kona, about 60 miles from each. That meant we spent a couple hours each day driving. However, we split our time between the 2 so if you stayed in Hilo and drove to Kona seven days you would have driven the same amount. The toilets are incinerator type which require a little training but weren't a problem . We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Bellingham, WA
5

In July

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My wife and I took our nephew and niece to Hawaii this past summer and wanted a non-resort experience. We loved our yurt and found the hosts to be great people with helpful stories and advice on where to snorkel, swim, hike, visit, eat, etc. The yurt is clean and the view is absolutely beautiful. I loved the fact that the owners were doing their best to stay off the grid (electrical) by powering themselves with wind generated electricity. The bathroom is in a separate building adjacent to the yurt. It is spacious but basic and the toilet incinerates all waste so there is no need for septic. Learning to use it takes a minute and is a fairly easy system to get. I really like the low impact living situation the owners have created.

The difficult part for us with two children was the distance we needed to travel each say to either get near Kona-Kailua or Hilo. By the end of the day we usually ended up driving at least 5 hours in the car which took its toll at the end of our second week. Besides that we enjoyed the friendly hosts and amazing views (3500 ft.). Plus if you are a star watcher you can't beat it - they were brilliant and the Milky Way was spectacular.

Thank you for the great yurt experience and sorry for the belated review
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Paris, France
4

Cute Yurt, Great Location, Excellent Value, Helpful Hosts

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The location is convenient for exploring the Black Sand and Green Sand Beaches, South Point, Volcano and the Kona Coast.

We stayed in the charming studio yurt and it was plenty large and well equipped. Everything was clean and comfortable.

Our host had a good sense of humor and was helpful in making sightseeing and restaurant recommendations.

We loved the amazing star-gazing! Which you can do outdoors or through the skylight in the yurt. Watching the turtles frolic in the water on the nearby Black Sand Beach was a highlight of our trip. Kayaking and snorkeling with dolphins in Kealakekua Bay was amazing!

My only caveats: when you are tired from a day's sightseeing it is challenging to learn how to use new kinds of plumbing. That being said, this place is a God's gift to budget and eco-travelers!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Grayson, KY
5

Wonderful accommodations on a budget

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
I stayed in the smaller yurt on this property for 3 weeks during a sabbatical for my health. I was very impressed with how cordial and accommodating the hosts were. I'd never before slept in a yurt, but found it very comfortable, even for such a long stay. On a clear day, there is a magnificent view all the way down to the sea and South Point. Ample electricity was generated on site via a wind turbine. Grocery stores are a short drive away for the budget-conscious traveller. I highly recommend them.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Auckland, New Zealand
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Great place to stay! For a person who's idea of roughing it is staying in a 3 stay hotel - it was great. :-)

I stayed in the studio and it was extremely comfortable, cool at night but not cold, (lots of screens for breeze thru in the day) super comfortable bed, and bathroom with toilet, gas hot water shower and basin. Soothing, easy decor. They actually feel like cosy wee houses. Really lovely feel to them.

Very peaceful, quiet and soothing place to be. At night you can see the whole of the milky way!

The manager is very easy and accomodating and the places are nice and clean and tidy.

Has a small full fridge, microwave, tv/sound system etc. It's all set up.

Very nicely done and worked well for me with my level of comfort I generally like. Thanks!! Great stay. Highly recommend!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
New Lexington, Ohio
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay in the Yurt Rentals at Hawaiian Journeys. This was a wonderful and comfortable experience. They have created the "feeling" of camping without giving up the creature comforts. The beds are very high quality pillow top queen size Sealy beds, the Incinolet toilets provide a whole new adventure in waste disposal without smell, the "kitchenette" though limited provides what is needed for basic food prep and the propane grill is of excellent quality and provided an easy way to grill our fish and steak. The wi-fi (depending on your computer strength) ranges from good to great but provides the ability to communicate via your laptop if needed, the location insures excellent cell signal and the view of Southpoint is amazing even when occasionally veiled by vog. The video library was a great surprise and provided an chance to see some great movies. Donnie, the manager, was great and very attentive. We highly reccommend Hawaiian Journeys!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Hawaii by Yurt Luxury for Less!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238104vb
(559) 696-7861 (California, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Frankfurt
5

tolle und besondere Unterkunft!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
In einer Yurte zu wohnen hat schon etwas Besonderes und dann noch mitten in einem recht jungen Lavagebiet phänomenal.
Der Vermieter war sehr nett und unkompliziert, alles super sauber und die Nähe zum Volcano NP wunderbar.

Man muss sich allerdings darauf einstellen, keine komplett ausgerüstete Küche vorzufinden, das Kochen erfolgt draußen am Gasgrill. Ist aber auch machbar.

Jederzeit sehr gerne wieder.

Barbara, Germany