Harlem townhome rental - Garden
Garden
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, kitchen, living room, sleeps 3

If you wish to spend your time in New York City a short metro ride to Time Square and Downtown Manhattan but also stay in an authentic neighborhood of the city, you can't beat this apartment in Harlem with its authentic local flavor. Harlem has some of the most fascinating history in New York, and one that is constantly changing and renewing itself. From its Dutch past, through economic boom, its rich history, culture and music, all are palpable today. See music at one of the areas legendary venues,The Apollo Theatre or Lenox Lounge. Feel the spirituality in the gospel music of one of the many churches in the area at Sunday services. Enjoy the local cuisine which makes Harlem so unique at one of the gospel or jazz brunches on Sunday and Saturday.

This cozy and attractive apartment sleeps a total of 3 people. It is located in a typical Harlem brownstone where you can experience the city like a native The flat has a bar style kitchen for self catering and a dining table for 4 people.

17 Reviews of Property 238022 in Harlem, New York

Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
California
5

Wow! Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
While searching for a hotel for a week in NYC, I came across rentals and found Milton. And what a find he was! My husband and I stayed at his lovely brownstone while visiting our daughter who is at Columbia University. He is delightful and so willing to help make a visit perfect in every way possible.

Since we arrived late in the evening, we especially appreciated the quart of milk in the fridge the next morning, as well as the other goodies that he provided for us. We did not cook a lot but found that everything we needed (and a lot more) was provided when we did. The bed and bath linens are fresh and clean, the bed very comfortable, plenty of storage space to unpack during your stay, and fluffy towels were replaced several times during our stay.

The location was very convenient for us, both to Columbia and to the Metro stop. Taxis were easily hailed, too. For those of you wondering about staying in Harlem, we felt very safe walking, even in the evenings, along 125th and 126th Sts. and to the University.

I would definitely stay here again, regardless of what part of Manhattan I wanted to visit during the day. Especially for more than a day or so, having the kitchen and living space is so much nicer than being in a small, expensive hotel room. And besides, Milton's warm welcome made us feel like family! There are not enough stars on this review to adequate describe how much we enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Ireland
5

A perfect place to explore NYC from!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The place is absolutely fantastic, very close to the subway lines 2, 3. It is well equipped and spotless. The back garden is lovely too. The owner is a real star! As we arrived late, he had bought us yoghurts, an iced tea and some water. Simply put, this place with such a fabulous owner is second to none in New York City. If I ever plan a trip to NYC, this is definitely the place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
5

Awaeson Vacation from June 10 -19, 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The apt. was impeccable. Is identically what you see in the photos. You have there everything you need. Having a kitchen was the best. We went 2 times to Chinatown and buy some Lobster and we made it there. It was the best. It is accessible to all trains. One minute away from trains 1, 2 , and 3. The 2 and 3 trains take you to Times Square in 15 minutes (the 2 train) . In the other side 8 minutes walking are the A,B,C,D trains. The D train takes you to Yankee Stadium in 15 minutes, and also to Chinatown in 25 minutes. Everything was accessible. If you are a little concern that this is in Harlem, forget it about. Every thing has change. Harlem now is very secure and safety. We have no problem in getting around. The people in the neighborhood is very friendly and polite.
And the best was the owner Mr.Wilson. He was very helpful and a gentlemen. Thanks for all, we appreciate you. i highly recommended this apt. to anyone who what's to spend a vacation in NY lilke a real newyorker. I hope we will be there next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Scotland
5

The best place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
I have to admit I was sceptical at first about staying in Harlem but as soon as I arrived at the apartment and met Milton I knew we were going to have a great stay. Milton is the nicest man I have ever met and made my husband and I feel so welcome, he could not have done enough for us, he even took us round the area when we arrived showing us where the shops, subway, etc were and was so patient when we were always asking for directions and always made time to talk with us. The apartment is exactly the same as in the photos on this website-have been to places before that look nothing like advertised but not this one. it is on the ground floor and has the comfiest bed and a full kitchen and cosy sitting area and has a beautiful garden out the back. The apartment is so central for everything, the subway is a two minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants and shops just round the corner, including Sylvias- a fabulous soul food restaurant, the famous Apollo theatre is a ten minute walk and so many other amazing places close by and everyone we met was so helpful and nice to us. I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone and I would not stay anywhere else when visiting New York.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Madrid/SPAIN
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Last December my boyfrind and me spent a week in New York, and this apartment was our home. It's in a perfect area ( everything is close: restaurants, shops, vibe!!!!), and the quality of the place is the best! We really enjoyed and we really recomend to everyone to try to get it for its stay.

Thank you Mr. Wilson for giving us a home out of home!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Montréal
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We had a wonderful time in Wilson's appartment. Everything was perfect and well organize.

The owner Milton is very kind and attentive. We spend 2 weeks for Christmas there and after that we feel really like home. Milton is full of advises wich I'm sure will give to our holidays a taste of New Yorker.

We recommend this place to everybody and I will tell my friends for sure.

Moreover the apartement is located 5 minutes on foot from 2 lines metro.

Thank you very much for everything and if we return to NY we will definitively come again.
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Montréal
5

2 weeks for Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We had a wonderful time in Wilson's appartment. Everything was perfect and well organize. The owner Milton is very kind and attentive. We spend 2 weeks for Christmas there and after that we feel really like home. Milton is full of advises wich I'm sure will give to our holidays a taste of New Yorker.
We recommend this p...lace to everybody and I will tell my friends for sure.
Thank you very much for everything and if we return to NY we will definitively come again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Vienna, Austria
5

Perfect 1st trip to NY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
When we arrived late in the night our landlord Milton was waiting for us and we had a warm and very friendly welcome. What we found upstairs was more than we expected - a spacious, clean and warm apartment decorated with flowers and candles and Milton also surprised us with coffee and softdrinks - a perfect arrival!
The brownstone is situated in Harlem - really close to the red and green subways, the surrounding is full of life and you can find everything you need - cafes, restaurants, groceries, shopping centres,.... People are very friendly and helpful - we always felt safe and comfortable and we only took the subway! We can recommend this apartment to everybody who prefers an "authentic" trip to NY instead of staying in an expensive hotel in Manhattan. And we can say that Milton is one of the most friendly and helpful persons we ever met!
In summary, our first trip to NY was perfect and if we'd ever come again we will of course choose Milton's apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
South Wales
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
The apartment was immaculate, it was just what we were looking for my daughter and I (just perfect), It was beautifully decorated. After a long day sightseeing you can come back to the apartment and just relax in the beautiful garden or have a BBQ. Milton was kind and helpfull answered all of our questions totally enjoyed chatting with him.We will definitely stay there again.
Claudine&Carline
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern Apartment with a spectacular Garden in Historical Harlem
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238022
+1 9172171352
Harlem Manhattan
Lithuania
4

Perfect stay in NYC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
The appartment was exactly what we expected. Even better. Warm, clean, spacious. Good location: nearby subway station (3 min walk, 10 min to Time Square), perfect breakfast at Sylwia's restaurant (3 min walk), jazz events in Lenox lounge (5 min walk), shopping. Very kind and attentive host. Met no problems at all. Would come back once more for sure.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3