Lost River cabin rental - Welcome to Lost River: stunning private views of George Washington National Park
Welcome to Lost River: stunning private views of George Washington National Park
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lost River Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4-5

You will absolutely love exploring Lost River, West Virginia. Nestled between the gorgeous and expansive George Washington National Forest, the Lost River State Park, and miles upon miles of country roads and beautiful farm valleys, the Lost River area attracts visitors who love hiking, biking, horseback riding, canoeing, fishing, skiing (Bryce Resort), antiquing, and getting back to nature. This is the perfect weekend escape from Washington, DC (2 hours), Baltimore, MD (3 hours), Richmond, VA (3 1/2 hours) or Philadelphia (5 hours).

Escape to the inviting West Virginia mountains!: 'Lost River Cabin' has been our personal escape from hectic city life. You will absolutely disconnect, unwind and breath deeply in this mountain top retreat. Spend the weekend reconnecting...solo, with a partner, with a friend(s), with nature - this is the perfect spot for a quick weekend getaway or a week with the family.

For the food lovers...: The kitchen is very well-equipped. Calphalon and Le Creuset pots & pans, spices, basic ingredients included (flour, sugar, baking powder, etc.) so you can spend your day cooking up a storm. For those winter nights, treat yourself or your family to a full Raclette; perfect open deck for grilling, enjoying a bottle of wine (or two!).

For the adventurous at heart...: Lost River boasts an array of outdoor activities, from exceptional hiking in the George Washington National Forest, to cycling the winding country roads - you can definitely work up a sweat or take in nature at your own pace. Hiking, horseback riding, canoeing - pick your pleasure and enjoy the scenic mountains of West Virginia!

More Details
Hide Details

We bought Lost River Cabin a few years ago as an escape from the stresses of city living in Washington D.C. What we did not realize is how much at home we would feel in the gorgeous West Virginia mountains. Time spent hiking, cooking up a storm on a Saturday, long dinners that blend into star-gazing evenings on the deck - time seems to stand still up in the mountains and provided us with a better sense of place, relaxation and wonderful memories with friends and family.

My partner and I recently moved out West for work, and so have decided to open up our home to guests looking for the same escape! Whether you are in for an adventurous weekend filled with hikes, horseback riding and exploring the State parks, or in need of R&R with a good book, a cozy fire, and a lazy hammock afternoon, I hope you enjoy finding what you are looking for in Lost River, West Virginia. - Dave & David

Dave Schacht purchased this cabin in 2007

We bought this cabin in Lost River for a few reasons:

* proximity to Washington D.C. - an easy 2-2 1/2 hour drive; first half is an easy straight shot on 66W, then a gorgeous drive up into the mountains off 55W.

* proximity to and views of George Washington National Forest and Lost River State Forest - an incredible resource filled with hiking trails galore

* rural mountain settings - we specifically did not want to go to a highly-touristed area like Berkley Springs. There is nothing like the stars at night here with no "light pollution" and just the sound of nature.

51 Reviews of Property 237995 in Lost River, West Virginia

Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
average rating of 4.9607844 based on 51 reviews
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
Oakton, VA
5

Unforgettable getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
The quiet and cozy Lost River Cabin was the perfect setting to rest, recuperate, and reconnect with my husband.

The cabin is outfitted with everything you could possibly need, and truly felt like a home away from home.

Fun adventures included hiking at Lost River State Park, a visit to Smokehole Taverns, and dinner at the Guest House where we were treated like a King and Queen.

We would recommend this cabin to anyone needing a break from it all. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you had a relaxing time up at our home in Lost River. Great to hear that you were able to get out for the wonderful hiking, fun adventures like the Smokehole Taverns, and get to know the wonderful restaurant at the Guest House! Best regards, David - Property Owner
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

We loved everything about the cabin.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The views were amazing. Though it was cold out it was just still so nice. Felt very welcoming and relaxed. Though I won't be returning next year with my hubby. I hope to take my kids.
Owner's Response: Lauri, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Lost River Cabin. We love it up there when it is cold outside, sitting by the fire and enjoying the view. You are welcome to return any time. All best, David and Dave
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Ideal Snowy Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our stay at the Lost River Cabin was exactly the snowy weekend getaway we were hoping for as a pre-Christmas vacation for two. The cabin is beautifully decorated and completely outfitted for comfort and convenience. While off the beaten path, the cabin was an ideal location for us to meet coming from Charlottesville, VA, and Germantown, MD.

Waking up in the loft to snow covering the valley was the perfect morning view. We made the most of the den with the wood fireplace and the outdoor charcoal grill and enjoyed taking a hike along the ridge in the snow.

Dave and David have created a lovely retreat in eastern West Virginia, and, in addition to sharing their cabin, they have taken extra care in providing good linens, a fully equipped kitchen, and recommendations for enjoying all the area has to offer. They even made sure plows kept the roads clear up on the ridge given the snowy weather!

The Lost River Cabin is a great way to enjoy natural views, cozy surroundings, and each other.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

A wonderful location for our Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our visit was great! We arrived late on our first day, so we weren't able to fully enjoy the gorgeous views. The next morning, however, we couldn't stop looking out the windows!

My husband and I enjoyed being in the cabin for our honeymoon, and we keep wishing we were back there again! Everything in the cabin was great - there were enough pots, pans and dishes for everything we wanted to cook or bake. There were lots of herbs, spices and staple items in the kitchen - next time we won't have to bring all the herbs we brought with us! Our only complaint is that all of the knives are serrated - so if you're a foodie, bring your 10" chef's knife.

We loved exploring the area - we met a couple and their son, who were renting a house down the road and saw them again, later in the week, at the Lost River Brewing company. The area has a wonderful small town feel to it, and we felt right at home. We enjoyed a late lunch at the Lost River General Store one afternoon, and the owners even treated us to free scoops of ice cream since we were on our honeymoon.

Being October, it was a little chilly for some things, but we enjoyed staying warm and cozy in the cabin on the coldest days. We did venture out to Lost River State Park one afternoon for a trail ride at the stables on Park property. My husband had never been on a long trail ride and we both want to go for another ride soon.

The night skies were not to be rivaled! We could see so many stars and constellations. We could even see the Milky Way. We're used to so much light pollution at night, that we don't get to see many stars most nights.

We spent some afternoons reading on the lovely deck, and our dog wanted to be out there most days to catch some rays during his many naps.

We will definitely be planning another visit sometime soon! Can't wait to return!

-Jessica & Jon (& our Retired Racing Greyhound, Sisu)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Clean, quiet, great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house was clean and had everything required for a comfortable stay. The views off the deck are spectacular. Travel time from Bowie, MD was a little over 3 hours. Will be returning to use the deck for astronomy work.
Owner's Response: Jim - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Lost River Cabin. We also love the stars at night on the deck as one of our favorite things to do is to watch for the (many) shooting stars. All best, Dave + David
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Nice Weekend! Enjoyed the views!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I just returned from a very nice weekend at Lost River Cabin. We found the cabin to be very clean and comfortable. It's well equipped with nice linens, cookware, and non-perishables (flour, sugar, etc.). There are wonderful views in all directions and a very nice (private) deck off the back! It's situated along a ridge top road that I'd characterize as rural but not isolated (there are neighbors). As with any rural location, advance meal planning and shopping is necessary. We arrived late on Friday night, spent a leisure Saturday morning cooking up a big breakfast, hiked the ridge trails at Lost River State Park in the afternoon, barbequed dinner on the deck, followed by a sunset walk in the neighborhood (down the road). Our stay at Lost River was part of a longer tour of WV and the NC Smokey Mts. We really like the area for its natural beauty and proximity to some great hikes, only wish we had more time here! We've rented vacation properties all over the country and it's apparent that this cabin is cherished...thank you for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Stunning views at Lost River Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin this past weekend and didn't want to leave when Sunday rolled around. We stayed in the lofted bedroom where the views at all times of day were amazing (but really there isn't a bad view from anywhere on the property). We'll definitely be planning a return trip back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The views were incredible and the cabin was awesome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The spacious deck was great for relaxing and enjoying beautiful views.The loft bedroom was comfortable and romantic. We had 4 people and the cabin was more than spacious for us. We would rent again in a heartbeat!
Owner's Response: We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Lost River Cabin. We just had the deck redone and expanded this Spring so we are thrilled you were able to take advantage of it. Return renters are always welcome back as we have a lot of repeat renters each season. All best, Dave + David
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
Philadelphia, PA
5

Ideal spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed a week as a family of five (two adults, three kids) and really enjoyed the place. Our main criteria when selecting a place to stay are (1) privacy from surrounding homes, and (2) a beautiful view. We've rented four VRBO places (Vermont, PA, VA, and this one) and this was tied for first among those, with the edge going to this one since it was closer to home and most affordable. The house is situated right atop a long ridge in the ridge-and-valley region of WV, with views both front and back. We had plenty of room for sleeping and activities.

Only downside worth mentioning is the very limited availability of food and drink. Referring to groceries here -- we didn't explore the restaurant scene, which the guestbook suggested was nice. About 25 minutes from a convenience store, and 45 minutes to a real grocery (we didn't go, basing this on the guestbook comments). We brought all our own food, so this didn't matter (except for the inevitable few things we forgot), but something to keep in mind if you rent this wonderful place.

A++
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lost River Cabin - nestled on 5 acres with spectacular mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237995
Lost River West Virginia
5

Wonderful getaway in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our stay at the Lost River Cabin was one of the nicest getaways we've ever had. The cabin was adorable and we loved the fireplace and the new stone wall. The cabin was very clean and well maintained and the owners had a nice stock of common cooking necessities like salt, pepper, flour, spices and condiments. That was a really convenient touch as the cabin is quite isolated - which we loved.

We stayed 3 nights and I only with is could have been longer. It was perfect and peaceful. Sitting out on the back porch and taking in the "silence" was extremely relaxing and the view was heavenly. I'd highly recommend the Lost River Cabin to anyone looking to get away from it all. You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lost River Cabin! It is a special place for us, and we are delighted to be able to share it with others who are looking for a little respite from our otherwise hectic lives. All best, David
Helpful votes: 2/3