Marathon villa rental - Sunrise on patio overlooking Nature Refuge
Sunrise on patio overlooking Nature Refuge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Marathon Villa Rental Photos and Description
2BR/1BA/Sleeps 2-4

Relax in this peaceful, open-water, bird and wildlife sanctuary with private views of the State Park. From your living room sofa, only 9 feet from water's edge, you can watch fish swim and birds fly, or if you prefer, you may simply sit and enjoy the ebb and flow of the tide. In these environmentally friendly surroundings, you can observe, in a way you never have, marine life and native birds in unobstructed waters. Just off the property you can find nature trails leading to quiet beaches. The patio offers views of a back yard aquarium and the spectacular beauty of the Florida Keys. Launch our canoe or kayaks into this ecological paradise and paddle your way along easy-to-follow, marked mangrove trails. You will be very comfortable is these extremely clean and well-appointed surroundings. iPad 2, wireless internet, 2 flat screen TVs with all premium movie channels and NFL Sunday Ticket, new Sealy Posturepedic beds, new linens/towels, new stainless appliances and granite counter tops.* Includes canoe, kayaks & binoculars.

*Idyllic Setting For Quiet Getaway : You will have the opportunity to relax in an open water nature preserve, offering private views of the State Park. From your sea wall, watch the annual migration of east coast sea birds. From the patio watch spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic Ocean. Later in the day walk across the street and watch a breath-taking sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. Or just hang out in the hammock and immerse yourself in the tranquility of this ecological paradise. Take morning or afternoon walks through the nature trails in the State Park and comb the beaches in undisturbed tranquility. Open your windows and enjoy the cooling ocean breeze. In the picnic area there is a tiki hut, barbecue and hammock.

* All wildlife and scenic photos were taken off back patio.

*Vacation Rental Amenities: Amenities include: iPad 2, wireless Internet access, two flat screen TV's with all premium movie channels and NFL Sunday Ticket, new state of the art washer and dryer, canoe, kayaks, binoculars, beach chairs and umbrella, beach mats, tiki hut, new Weber stainless barbecue gas grill, hammock, picnic table, outdoor furniture, yoga-stretching mats, books, snorkel/mask and fins, fishing poles and light tackle, bait freezer, A/C, two queen beds, fold-out sofa, ceiling fans, refrigerator, ice maker, oven, microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, hair dryer, clothes iron, lobster pot, tea pot, dishware and cooking utensils, spices, coffee, cream and sugar, all paper products, linens and towels.

*Activities and Attractions: Activities include: fish and bird watching, reading and relaxing, wildlife photography, canoeing, kayaking, beach combing, snorkeling, scuba diving, fly fishing, deep sea fishing, sailing, power boating, hiking and exploring nature trails in the State Park.

You can take day trips to the Everglades National Park, visit John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, The Turtle Hospital and Museum, Dolphin Research Center, The Theater of The Sea, Bird and Wildlife Nature Center, World Wide Sportsman, art galleries, enjoy fantastic seafood and watch the sunsets.

More Details
Hide Details

In order to maintain the excellence of our accommodations and insure that all guests share this ecological experience, we ask that you adhere to the following regulations:

* All guests must be a minimum 21 years of age - valid I.D. required.

* Accommodations are for up to 4 adults - no overnight guests allowed.

* Smoking is permitted outside only.

* Sorry, no pets allowed.

* Please note this is a wildlife refuge, we recycle plastics, glass

and newspapers.

* The fish are our treasured residents, so we ask that you not fish off the sea wall.

* There is a no disturbance policy after 10:00 PM.

* Payment in full is required upon arrival.

* The property and its contents should be returned to its

original condition. Except for the laundry.

10 Reviews of Property 237766 in Marathon, Florida

Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Bastrop, Texas
5

Great Place and a Better Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wow! What a place, we loved it. The listing was very accurate and the amenities were more than we could ask for. It had everything we needed and then some....whether it was kayaks, snorkeling gear, beach chairs, fishing gear, beach umbrellas, etc, this place had it. It was very secluded, quiet, and convenient to Marathon and Islamorada. The property was very clean and well maintained. Jerry could not have been a better host with all the details when we started our stay. The pictures are nice on the website, but up close and personal the views are even better! We would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys seclusion, but also enjoys being close to so many activities. Thanks, Jerry and we plan on returning in the near future!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

Honeymoon Happiness

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My new husband and I chose this gorgeous villa for our honeymoon and loved staying here. The location could not be any more convenient and yet it seemed so secluded and private. Beachfront accommodations abound in the Keys, but being on the water in an inlet provided a view of nature that was breathtaking. Enjoying my morning coffee while watching the fish, crabs, birds, rays, etc was a treat I will never forget. Even better was the opportunity to get even closer and kayak. The inclusion of the kayaks is a fantastic perk, as well as the other included supplies. Flying in, we did not bring beach chairs and a cooler, but there is a storage shed with everything you will need to go enjoy a day at the beach. Speaking of inclusions - the iPad is a fantastic one, we were able to leave our laptop at home!
The beds are comfy and the place has a lived in, but very clean and well cared for vibe. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others going to the Keys. Jerry, the owner was very nice and knowledgeable.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

OMG......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
After a 'mad' week on South Beach Miami this was the perfect place to unwind. From the well equipped appartment to sitting on the dock watching Ospreys, Rays, Manatees etc etc. Kayaking around the waterways off the patio was briliant. Thanks Jerry for your hospitality.
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

wonderful scenery

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house is reasonably maintained, it is not made ??yesterday, and yet it is in good condition. The location of the air condition is not optimal but finds functional.

You will probably not find a house with a better location if you want a quiet holiday with good scenery.

In the house there is a range of facilities, among other kayaks, the kids always have something to do and were therefore also closer to nature.

The owner was responsible for the transfer and was extremely flexible in terms of arrival. With the transfer came a very committed introduction to other facilities in the local area which then was a great joy for the whole family

All in all a wonderful resort that I will always recommend to others.

Johnny Jorgensen, Denmark
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

A quiet oasis of tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent the last week in July at Jerry's place and with such an accommodating and informative host you could not fail to chill from the moment you arrived. Plenty to do if you want to be part of the Keys, but an idyllic oasis to come back to and wake up in or just while away the hours. A haven of wildlife, sunsets and peace. Really useful and thoughtful items included were kayaks, life vests, snorkelling kit, torches, binoculars, shampoo and a whole lot more! Great laundry room too.

As Jerry had explained before we arrived the summer is much more about the marine life and the winter months about the birds, but we were still treated to an array of birds including a beautiful osprey as well as turtles, sting-rays and many species of fish. Our fellow residents next door also spotted a sand shark! Must visits are the not for profit Turtle Hospital and Dolphin Research Centre - very worthwhile contributing to their causes and a trip to Robbies is fun for fishing, eating or just hanging out with a beer!

ENJOY - you can't fail to........
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Apopka, Fl.
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
You will not be disappointed with your stay here! Jerry is a great Landlord/host! I stayed for one week and had an excellent experience. What fun to see the "creatures" right off of your porch! Morning coffee this way could not be better! The accomodations were clean and welcoming! If you need anything, there is a storage room where you just go get it! Make sure you kayak...Jerry provides these at no charge! Cook out under the pavillion and get to know the others staying at the cottage! The location is perfect! You can go all the way to Key West for the day or just stay close by. Long Key State park is next door...bring your bike and bike over to walk the beautiful trail. Again, I highly reccomend this vacation cottage...have fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
herts, England
5

Spring 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
All the preceding reviews have covered my thoughts about this holiday venue. A rare opportunity to relax... unwind...chill out... learn... eat.. etc... Our host Jerry is so laid back, helpfull and knowledgeable. He immediately helped us to really enjoy our time. offering helpfull advice on restaurants... (take it). Just enjoy sitting on the deck... sip a cocktail, whatever.... and watch ospreys in the trees opposite, diving for food. it doesnt get much better for this type of holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
United Kingdom
5

Absolutely Stunning Holiday!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We stayed here November 2010 for the first time and simply cannot put into words how incredible this place is!! Paradise! We travelled from the UK and were unsure if it would live up to the website photo's - but it does, and more! Its a nature-lovers paradise, a perfect location to chill and relax, practice the art of photography or to explore on the Kayaks. It is also an ideal base for exploring the rest of the Keys - Key West is just over an hour away and we were also able to visit the Everglades National Park.

We spent plenty of time exploring the waters on the Kayaks and although we did not spot any Manatees, on our last day we were lucky enough to see a huge Loggerhead Turtle swimming beneath our Kayaks and coming up for air!

We loved the place so much we were reluctant to write a review as we wanted to keep it to ourselves! ;-)

We would like to thank Jerry very much for his fantastic help and tips on where to find things (wildlife, restaurants, places of interest, etc.).

The place is extremely clean and well equipped and we cannot fault it. Towards the end of our holiday we simply spent the days relaxing and exploring from the villa. There are some great local restaurants to the tried in the area!

We would highly recommend it and will be returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Chicago
5

couldn't ask for more!

couldn't ask for more!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Usually when you book a place online, the photos and descriptions have oversold the actual unit and you end up paying too much and being disappointed. Jerry's spot is the exact opposite. I mean, the photos he has of the unit and how it opens up to the wildlife sanctuary off Long Key State Park are great, don't get me wrong. It's just impossible to encapsulate all that's right outside your door here in a website photo. This cozy 2-bed unit was clean, comfortable, and completely up to date. The owners have thought of everything.

And there's another thing you'd never know from just the website, and that's how accommodating Jerry and his wife are. I checked into my unit at 3:00, and they had me in a kayak for a personalized 2-hour tour by 3:15, and were happy to do it. Not saying every tenant would get this lucky, but the timing was there and they took advantage of it, no questions asked. A great surprise. I would undoubtedly stay here again.

Dinner around the corner that night wast great too, you guys! Thanks again, Jerry!

--Joe

P.S. The only thing I would tell first-time travellers to the Keys is to check a map and make sure you know where Layton is in proximity to whatever you may want to explore on the Keys. I've been several times, so I knew exactly where it was, and it was a desired spot for me.
Helpful votes: 16/17
business
Quiet Open Water Hideaway Overlooking Wildlife Preserve
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237766
+1 305 815-2865
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Dania Beach, Fl
5

Hide away over looking Wild life preserve

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I spend our time relaxing and enjoying the amenities during our visit in July of 2009. The propriety exceeded our expectation as far as the fabulous experiences swimming with the manatee mother an pup every day, kayak trips viewing the abundance of natures fish, fowl, fauna, and flowers. We had a spectacular star show every night. We also had the pleasure of a sensational sunset while in the kayak with colors reflexing all around us. The property was clean and well maintained and Jerry made us feel we were at our home away from home. One note of warning regarding protecting skin from the intense sun this time of year is imperative. We look forward to enjoying the property during the winter months also.
Shirley and Tim
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/14