St. Joseph cottage rental - Sunset at the bluff
Sunset at the bluff
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

St. Joseph Cottage Rental Photos and Description
one bedroom + other, one bathroom, sleeps 4

Walk on the white sand, private Lake Michigan beach for miles. Come back to a gorgeous Cottage with a complete stainless steel gourmet kitchen, cozy custom furnishings, and two porches. For chilly nights, there is a Vermont castings woodburning stove (wood and starters provided). Located in the middle of Michigan orchard country with several local winemakers (and a 'wine trail') as well as many art galleries, Lilac Cottage is the perfect base for explorations. Nearby St. Joseph boasts a top-notch small art museum, Children's Museum, and lovely restaurants. Benton Harbor has its own microbrewery along with a public access glassblowing studio. Only a few miles away is Sarett Nature Center with cross-country ski and nature trails. If you want fresh, local food products, the Saturday Farmers' Market in St. Joe is where you go. There are many local berry farms (u-pick or pre-picked) close by--guaranteed to be the best berries you've ever tasted! When you make your reservation, you will get Morrison and David's 20 most favorite things to do in the area--guaranteed to have something for everyone!

Lilac Cottage, named for its large lilac tile painting by a local artist, is located on a bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. It is reminiscent of the summer resort cottages of your youth--but with modern conveniences. After entering the lace curtained front door, you can relax or change into your bathing suits to walk down the stairs to the private, white sand beach of the southeast Lake Michigan shore. Sunbathe, swim, kayak, or take a leisurely stroll on the sand for miles. There are two kayaks and multiple beach chairs available. On a clear day you can see the St. Joseph lighthouse. Spectacular sunsets are on view from a double swing on the bluff or from the firepit patio.

Cottage Furnishings: The Cottage itself is comfortably furnished with oriental rugs, William Morris custom curtains, a rocker, a wicker sofa, and several comfortable chairs. A sleeping niche, complete with curtains to 'cabin' it off, has a day bed and trundle bed. The bedroom, with French doors that can create a private space in the open floor plan, couldn't be cozier with its own CD player and TV/DVD player that can be rolled into the living room. Satellite TV and a video/DVD library are available. A wide selection of reading materials, along with numerous board games, are also provided. A port for IPod or MP3 player is supplied. For those chilly evenings, a Vermont castings wood-burning stove provides warmth. There is original artwork everywhere.

Cook's dream kitchen: The Bulthaup stainless steel kitchen is a cook's dream. It is fully equipped, from a stove top espresso maker to blender. You can choose from an electric drip coffee maker or a cafetiere (French press). A 5-burner gas cooktop and wall oven encourage fabulous meals from local fresh products. You are encouraged to pick fresh herbs from the main house next door. A Webber gas grill is on your south porch, with dining table and chairs under the cover of the east porch where a double hung swing is located to wile away the hours There is a dining table and four chairs indoors, too. Calphalon pots and pans, and a pasta pot, are provided. There are plenty of plates, glasses (wine and martini, too!), flatware and serving pieces to go around.

Gardens and Yard: There is a very large 'pasture' on the east side of the Cottage which is perfect for horseshoes or croquet (provided) or just playing catch with Fido. Yes, we do permit well-behaved dogs. There is a daylily garden surrounding two sides of the Cottage and a wall with trellises bursting with climbing hydrangeas and clematis on the north. We have a hose at the front door to wash off beach sand.

Lilac Cottage shares the property with the main house, Lavender House, homeaway.com, # 357258. The houses are on 1 1/2 acres and maintain privacy although they do share beach stairs, kayaks and beach furniture, and the beach. The bluff, with its firepit and benches and a double swing, is available to both houses, but Lavender House is limited to five renters. It is 120 stair steps to the beach, with small landings every 20 steps.

More Details
Hide Details

27 Reviews of Property 237744 in St. Joseph, Michigan

Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
average rating of 4.962963 based on 27 reviews
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
4

A very interesting place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We found Lilac Cottage a very interesting place to stay, but we feel it needed more comfortable furniture in the main sitting room. Also sleeping in the "nook" area in the main room was rather difficult when the Freezer/fridge kept coming on through the night! Sharing the Bluff and the beach facility's with the adjoining Lavender House could be a big problem, it depends on who gets there first!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We have a Lloyd Flanders wicker sofa with double cushions in the sitting area along with 3 wicker chairs (that we find very comfy). There's also a rocking chair in the bedroom that you can move into the living area. We try to maintain the beach cottage feel and yet not sacrifice comfort. In terms of the refrigerator, the living area is an open plan. The sleeping nook has heavy linen William Morris curtains than can close it off. The refrigerator has a normal cycle with normal noise, but we are sorry if it disturbed you. We limit the number of people at Lavender House to 5, so that means a maximum of 9 people would have to share over 100 feet of private white sand beach. We have beach chairs/swing seats/chaises for more than 9. We do have only 2 kayaks, but surely people can share those. Renters do have to share the fire pit benches at the bluff, but it has never been a problem ....maybe because we have the best and nicest renters in the world!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Bangor, Wisconsin
5

Wonderful vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We rented the cottage as a "making memories" week with our 9 year old granddaughter. She loved her own private sleeping nook and the living space was large enough that no one felt cramped. The shady spot kept the cottage cool, even when the temperatures were in the 90's. We rarely had the air conditioning on. Tons od windows kept everything bright and cheery. Modern kitchen and appliances made cooking and clean up a breeze. The beach was huge and very private. Most days we were the only people anywhere on the beach. Trips into town to look around or down the road for pizza were easy access and short drives. Our granddaughter said she wished she lived there always! The rental did exactly what we wanted it to do...made wonderful memories she will hopefully remember forever.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

Gorgeous week on Lake Michigan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent a gorgeous week in Lilac cottage. The place is a real treat: the house is creatively decorated and furnished, the gardens are well kept and a very pleasant sojourn with nice trees, a lot of herbs and flowers and a wonderful variety of birds.
Most amazing however is the location itself. In the morning we spent our time at the private beach and in the afternoon we used to sip our drinks on the "bluff", overlooking the Lake.
We were very happy with our friendly host Sarah, who helped us enjoy our stay at this wonderful place.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

Delightful place on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We enjoyed our stay at the Lilac Cottage. The cottage has the feel of a converted barn (although in fact it was purpose-built as a cottage). The "great room" comprises the kitchen, dining area, and a cozy sitting area, as well as a sleeping nook . The main bedroom is off the great room. The laundry room and large bathroom are off the entry way - note that the bath is not directly accessible from the bedroom, so bring a robe!

The kitchen is very well-eqipped.

The stairs down to the beach might be a bit tricky for those with balance issues, as the "railing" is just a fairly loose rope with little support. The bluff is beautiful, and there is a large open lawn where our dogs enjoyed running around. The herb gardens were lovely, and the owners encourage renters to snip whatever is needed for cooking, if you so desire.

Together, the Lilac and Lavendar Cottages would be a great place for a family reunion or intimate wedding, as they are quite close together but still provide adequate privacy for each group.

St. Joe is just 10 minutes south, and South Haven less than half an hour north, so we found this location very convenient for restaurants and shopping and sight-seeing.

We would definitely stay again. This place was a real find, secluded country living but just minutes from city amenities, and very easy access to the M-63 and I 96.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed a full week at the Lilac Cottage. Our hosts were wonderful, interesting to talk to, and very helpful. Our stay was relaxing, the cottage was spacious, clean, very well appointed, and was well stocked with books, DVDs, and games. The view was beautiful, as was the private beach. The cottage location was close enough to St. Joe for any trips downtown, but far enough away to stay away from any hustle and bustle for a completely peaceful getaway. Our hosts were able to recommend activities and trips to surrounding areas, and we found the recommendations very helpful. There were many nearby destinations that were interesting and charming, including the quaint town of Coloma (we liked the Friendly Tavern), the Coloma theatre, the Contessa and Karma Vista wineries, The Chocolate Garden (handmade truffles), and a great used book store called Lakeside Books. We highly recommend the Lilac Cottage.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
McHenry, IL
5

WOW

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We spent a long weekend at The Lilac Cottage. Everything was just perfect. The owners were very cordial and helpful. The cottage was immaculate. We had a very peaceful time of rest and relaxation. While there is plenty to do around, we were just as content to stay around the cottage and enjoy the surroundings. The kitchen was absolutely wonderful to cook in. There are a lot of places to eat nearby but we chose to cook almost every meal there. The beach was beautiful and the stairs down to the beach were quite an experience! We loved watching the sunsets over the lake from the swing in the yard.

We will definitely return in the future if the opportunity allows. We didn't lack for anything while we were there.

Thank you for sharing your home with us~
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Beach, Clean, Neat, New, Quiet, Friendly hosts= Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My wife and I stayed at the Lilac Cottage for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The setting is private and quiet. The cottage is clean, new, and well kept. It has everything you need for an enjoyable stay (tv, dvd, ipod dock, fireplace, towels, linens, basic kitchen necessities, beach chairs, etc), all you really need to bring is your clothes, beach umbrella, and a trip to the grocery. Most importantly it has a reasonably comfortable queen size bed! The hosts were very accomodating and interesting to talk with. The beach is private and clean. Amazing sunsets from the bluff. The stair case down to the beach is long and steep, kids or elderly should not attempt these stairs. Everyone else will get a workout!

St. Joesph is less than 10 minutes south with restaurants (I reccommend Silver Beach pizza & their 18oz Stella Artois in an ice cold mug). South Haven, Saugatuck, & Holland are also nearby for shopping and eating.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We just returned from a week at Lilac Cottage. It was magical. Lovely owners, amazing cottage that is "fully loaded" with everything you need, just like at home, but better! We walked for miles along the shore and were perfectly content to spend the whole week right there--no need to leave such a serene and special place. We miss it already!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Bourbonnais, IL/Midwest, USA
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I was looking for a peaceful retreat near the beach where I could recharge for a few days and this place was perfect! The cottage was situated so there were beautiful views out the many windows. I could not see the beach but instead saw big trees and lots of flower gardens. Out on the bluff which was just around the main house the views of the lake were spectacular! There was a bench swing that I really enjoyed sitting on and looking at the view!
There were alot of steps leading down to the beach, but they were sturdy and well kept. Once I got down there it was worth every step! I was there during the week so I had the beach to myself which was excellent! They already have chairs down there so you don't have to carry anything down but your beachbag! I loved collecting all of the perfectly shaped and colorful rocks from the shoreline too.
The cottage was impeccably done. There was everything I might need and way beyond. It was open and cozy all at the same time. I loved the book nook where I would sit to read at night.
The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. They pointed me to a store for groceries that had some local items which I enjoyed trying. They offered use of the herbs in their garden and even suggested I could borrow a small amount of anything I might forget at the store.
I really enjoyed my stay and am hoping to go back again soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lovely, modern cottage on Lake MI with private beach and fabulous bluff views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237744
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis
5

We loved it here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed for 4 nights this summer at Lilac Cottage. The owners are very hospitable, helpful, and gracious. The cottage itself is larger than it looks in the picture. We loved the way it was decorated. The kitchen is fantastic and has every little gadget you might think of. There were 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our party and we did not feel cramped at all. We also were able to bring our dog. It is very private, yet convenient to St. Joseph/Coloma and local stores. The grounds have beautiful gardens everywhere you look and a large front yard. The views of the lake and the sunsets are breathtaking. The private beach is incredible. There is a kayak available to use which was alot of fun for our family. We hope to be able to return to Lilac Cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2