Vashon Island lodge rental - View of Pine Log Lodge from Lower Yard - Sunny Southwest Facing Location
View of Pine Log Lodge from Lower Yard - Sunny Southwest Facing Location
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps18
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Vashon Island Lodge Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms + loft, 2 full baths, Pricing for 2 - 18 guests

Please contact owner for High and Low Season Rates

I charge by the total number of bedrooms/beds you use during your entire stay.

Rates from $175/night for 2 guests to $475/night for 14 guests.

High Season Rentals (June 15 - Sept 15, 2014) are weekly only with Sunday arrivals/departures. Weekly stays from $2450 (4 bedrooms) to $3500 (7 bedrooms)

Beauty, Charm, Comfort, Historical Tradition and Fun.

Bayview Retreat offers the perfect location for your next vacation or weekend getaway. Its central Puget Sound location is easily accessible from Seattle, Tacoma, the Kitsap Peninsula and SEATAC International airport.

This private water view retreat is a great place to unwind and relax after exploring the many splendors of Vashon Island and affords you the opportunity for day trips to Mount Rainier National Park, Olympic National Park and Mount Saint Helens. You could choose a sterile hotel or you can experience the charm and whimsical character of this picturesque property. The sunny southwest-facing 1.62 acre site has abundant wildlife, mature landscaping, many flowers, an organic garden and a large lawn for family games and outdoor events. It's a comfortable place to stay any time of the year.

Available year-round, Bayview Retrreat was opened in the spring of 2009. The immaculately maintained three story lodge offers 3500 square feet of living space and a 1620 square feet wrap-around deck. (790 square feet covered) Four bedrooms and loft are configured to sleep 14 guests in beds (4 top floor, 4 main floor, 6 lower level.) Additional sleeping options are available with a maximum capacity of 18 guests. The spacious great room has twenty-two foot ceilings, a river rock gas fire place and comfy leather furniture. There's plenty of space for entertaining in and outdoors.

The lodge is located right on the loop of the highly-sought after Burton Peninsula. It's a popular spot for islanders who enjoy walking, jogging and socializing as they make their way around the 1.4 mile roadway. Prime beaches and a 67 acre park with woodland hiking trails are less than two blocks to the west. A waterfront park, boat launch and kayak/canoe rentals are four blocks to the east. The historical waterfront town of Burton is four blocks to the west. At Burton, you'll find a marina, a country store, fire station, a popular espresso stand, marina, antique store, post office, church and many other unique island businesses. Just a few minutes by car north is the village of Vashon. There you'll find great restaurants, an art deco movie theatre, two supermarkets, a Saturday farmer's market and endless shopping opportunities. One guest wrote:

'It's one of the few places you'll find where you can watch bald eagles, deer and hummingbirds year-round from a private hot tub.'

This light and airy lodge has:

• 22 foot soaring ceilings

• Four large view bedrooms (sleeps 14 in beds on 3 levels (4 upper, 4 main, 6 lower). There's a queen-sized sofa sleeper in the loft. (max 18 guests allowed including children)

• Two large and conveniently placed bathrooms (easy access and they are separate from the bedrooms so anyone can use them)

• Water view great room with river rock natural gas fireplace (has comfy leather furniture and seats up to 10 - 12 and water view dining area for 10 - 12)

• Entry seating with leather chairs and ottoman

• Large loft area (has a comfy oversized sectional leather couch and chairs,TV/DVR/CD, many games/puzzles, video/music/book library and an additional sleeping space)

• Efficient and fully equipped gourmet kitchen with all stainless steel appliances -- Viking Range, new French Door Refrigerator and new dishwasher. (all kinds of small appliances, place settings for up to 20+ guests, spices, etc) Six work stations including the granite top butcher block. Bay window with orchids.

• The 1620 sq square foot wraparound deck (790 square feet are covered) has a natural gas Weber stainless steel grill, nine Adirondack chairs and water view dinner seating for sixteen guests.

Plenty of room for entertaining inside and out.

$250 refundable security/damage deposits.

I'm currently not taking reservations for weddings, dinner parties or similar events. Sorry no keg parties.

Parking is limited to three cars in the driveway due to fire codes. Additional parking is available to the west of the driveway on Bayview Drive for up to 10 cars.

Great location: A Big Toys playground structure was added in the lower yard in 2011. It is suitable for children ages 5 - 12.

This beautiful log home sits on a peninsula known as the Burton Loop. At Jensen Point, you will find a public boat launch, picnic area, kayak rentals, and a rowing club facility. Feel like a hike? Burton Acres Park has 67 acres of woods and trails. The main corner of Burton is located about 4 blocks away, a casual 10 minute walk. Here you will find a country store, post office, church, fire station, antique store, flower stand, service station, b & lodgings, Metro Bus stop and various other businesses. Burton is rather centrally located on our island with easy access to the Tacoma or Seattle ferries.

More Details
Hide Details

I've been living on Vashon Island for the last 23 years. In 2000 I completed building Bayview Retreat. I'm a semi-retired advertising art director. Things I enjoy since moving here include: salmon fishing, boating, gardening, mushroom hunting, beach combing, painting watercolors and traveling.

Bryan purchased this lodge in 2000

Bayview Retreat is located on the sunny southwest side of the Burton Peninsula, a very desirable location on Vashon Island. Besides the great Quartmaster Harbor views - there's a tremendous amount of wildlife. It's located within blocks of a general store, coffee stand, post office, restaurant, art gallery, a 67 acre woodland park, miles of walkable beaches and a bus line to Seattle and Tacoma.

The property is 1.62 acres and very private. There are great sunsets and you can sit on the deck and watch the boats coming and going out of the harbor. Bald eagles, osprey, hummingbirds and deer are frequent visitors.

Central location

Bayview Retreat is located on the highly-desired Burton Peninsula of Vashon Island. The lodge is centrally located with easy access to the Tacoma (10 minute drive south) or Seattle ferries (20 minute drive north).

A few blocks to the east is Jensen Point. You will find a public boat launch, picnic area, kayak rentals, and a rowing club facility. If up feel like a hike Burton Acres Park (67 acres of woods and trails) is located across the street. The Burton Peninsula, also known as the Burton Loop (1.25 miles around) is a popular place for joggers, casual walkers and energetic pet owners.

The town of Burton sits (just a few blocks west) at the isthmus between Inner and Outer Quartermaster Harbor. It is a historic waterfront residential area.

The town was named in 1892 by Mrs. Miles Hatch after her home town in Illinois. In that year development began in Burton with the Vashon College and the Burton Store. Burton businesses at that time included tourism, logging, shingle manufacturing, fishing and brick making. Today you will find a country store, coffee stand, post office, church, fire station, art gallery, restaurant, bed & breakfast lodgings, public marina, a lavender farm and various other businesses.

A 10 minute drive north of Burton is the village of Vashon. There you'll find more art galleries, great restaurants, an art deco movie theater, antique shops, grocery stores, banks, a quilting supply store and many other unique island businesses. There is a Saturday farmers market and lots of seasonal activities.

51 Reviews of Property 237706 in Vashon Island, Washington

Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
average rating of 4.975 based on 51 reviews
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Nice place to kick back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had my mom and dad's 50th wedding anniversary at Bayview. First impressions were as advertised. Brian was there to greet us and walk thru the property. We had a total of 17 people which is about the max since there are only two bathrooms.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans. No problems preparing large dinners. The deck was awesome although we could not enjoy it since it was unseasonably cold.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway I would recommend Bayview.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Incredible home, with beauty everywhere you look.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Only home we've ever rented where the reality is better than the website pictures. Our 3-generation, 6 adult and 6 children group had so much fun here! The furnishings are so comfortable & luxurious; and the house had everything we needed for our stay, including a really well-equipped kitchen, brochures for day-trips & ferry schedules; ample linens and paper products; and plenty of pots & pans & dishes. We loved the Viking stove, and the kids used the volleyball court every day. Fresh flowers to greet us were a lovely touch; and Bryan greeted us with homemade blackberry jam, and later fresh-caught salmon. All in all, a wonderful experience.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Just as beautiful, or better than the pictures!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our 3-generation family trip had 6 adults and 6 kids between the ages of 9 and 16. This property has something for everyone. Games & DVDs in the upstairs loft; volleyball court; lots of brochures with tourist info. The house is so spacious, with first-class, super-comfortable couches and beds and Viking appliances. We spent most evenings on the wrap-around deck sharing stories & wine & beautiful views. Everywhere you look in this place there is beauty - antique furniture, handmade quilts, stained glass and other art, and the lush gardens & hummingbirds which surround the place. One time the owner called to say he was going salmon fishing and would we like some fillets. Of course, we said yes; and it was the freshest, most delicious salmon this Chicagoan has ever had! A most enjoyable stay for us.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

FAMILY GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We found the Lodge on Vashon to be everything advertised and more. Our family group of 9 adults and 6 children were well accommodated and the kitchen well-suited and stocked for cooking for a group of 15. We found the owner, Bryan, to be very helpful and easy to work with. The house was beautifully decorated and the personal touches were thoughtful and welcoming.

This is a facility we would definitely use again and recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and scenic getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Christmas at Bayview Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A beautiful home that was able to comfortably accommodate 11 adults and twin one year olds. The description and photos of the house were completely accurate and allowed us to determine sleeping arrangements before arrival. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, including a real 12-foot tree that was absolutely gorgeous, a huge poinsetta, lights on the wrap-around deck, and several other holiday touches. We are a family who loves to cook and really enjoyed the Viking range. Prime rib roast on Christmas Eve and two turkeys on Christmas -- one in the Viking and one on the Weber Genesis grill. The younger group of adults enjoyed trips into Seattle and all of us enjoyed walks around the island, the unique shops in Burton and Vashon, and various sites on the island. The twins particularly enjoyed the multiple hummingbirds on the property and two bald eagle sightings. Bryan was very helpful and extremely easy to work with. We would love to come back during the summer to fish and experience a different season on Vashon Island. We highly recommend Bayview Retreat.
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Amazing property in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this house for a double birthday celebration weekend. And the place was amazing! It is an absolutely gorgeous property. There were 10 of us and there was tons of space for everyone. We spend hours in the living room with its super comfy furniture and warm fire. We all did a big potluck dinner and found everything we needed in the well stocked kitchen. Every part of the house is immaculately maintained. And the hot tub was fantastic! We enjoyed the deck that runs all the way around the house and the many hummingbirds that come there to feed. The house is just minutes from town where there is a wonderful Thriftway grocery store, a liquor store and plenty of restaurants. Bryan is super nice and easy to get along with and does everything he can to make sure that you have an amazing and fun vacation. I would recommend this property to everyone!
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Calfornia
5

Bayview Resort Family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A great place for our family to reunite and spend time together.

Of 8 siblings, 5 of us were able to come to Bayview Resort.

The facility was top notch, clean and accommodated us well, it looked exactly like the photos posted on the website.

All of our needs were taken care of by owner, he gave us a walk through, informed us of the facility. He did check back with us after a day or two to insure we were taken care of.

Some in our group explored the island, some went to Seattle during the day.

There was plenty of grassy area for young one's to expend energy below the lodge where parents could keep an eye on them.

I would recommend Bayview to anyone that wants a quiet comfortable place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Tacoma, WA
5

FANTASTIC vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
About 10 of us celebrated our 10 year reunion from college graduation together at Bryan's house. It was an incredible treat to stay there. We spent a lot of time watching the hummingbirds and the sunshine enabled us to spend much time playing in the lawn and dining outside. The kitchen had everything we needed and nothing beats a hot tub! I'm recommending this place to my friends and acquaintances and hope I can find another time to visit. The immaculate grounds and inviting home helped make time with old friends even more special than expected!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
United States
5

Nice place for group of 12

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed here for two nights with a group of 12 people. The house is 3-stories and quite roomy so there's plenty of room for 12 people to be at the house without tripping over each other. I wouldn't have wanted more than 12 (maybe 14) people due to sleeping arrangements and only having two bathrooms. Each room has plenty of furniture to seat a lot of people, but the kitchen is a bit too small to have more than a few people cooking at one time. There are quite a few rules posted by the owner but they keep the house clean and well-maintained. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family, and would stay here again next time I am on Vashon Island with a group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Bayview Retreat-Distinctive Country Pine Log Lodge-Dramatic Bay Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237706
+1 2067131416
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

SUPERB getaway for all ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We just spent three nights at this home with four couples and the 84 year old matriarch of the family.

We were slightly concerned about the whole experience as the rental contract included lots of rules, an extra fee or two for optional add-ons and the mention of security cameras. We also read in other reviews that the owner lives on site.

Let me just say that NONE of our concerns materialized. We had a FABULOUS time with all the privacy and freedom one expects from a quality vacation rental.

The photos, particularly of the grounds, do not do the home justice. Bryan ought to be considered a "Master Gardner" (maybe he actually is one). I felt like the home was in the middle of a blooming paradise. Even the back bedroom had multiple windows full of greenery and color.

The interior was very nicely decorated (including some original art by the owner) and we were entrusted with his multiple blooming orchids and aquarium fish. So fun!

The living space and furnishings were perfect for our group. The dining table sat 8 easily and there were patio tables/chairs for at least 20. And I'm not talking cheap plastic chairs. These were nice chairs with cushions. There were also about a dozen really comfortable adirondack chairs with cushions on the deck overlooking the grounds.

The bedrooms were large and included a comfortable chair and the linens were quality (my sheets were Ralph Lauren 100% cotton). The "social" area upstairs was complete with flat screen tv, sound system, card table and multiple sofas. The daylight basement had enough beds to satisfy David Koresh.

The kitchen appliances were modern (fabulous professional gas range) and had PLENTY of dishes for a large group not to mention every gadget known to human-kind. I believe we used a tart pan while we were there. We didn't get to the waffle maker unfortunately. :-)

The only "major" thing we wish this home had was a third bathroom. But we KNEW it only had two bathrooms before renting and decided to deal because the house looked so fabulous. We were not disappointed. (I'll add that there are two hot water tanks and we never ran out of hot water even with 8 people showering).

I am not a good sleeper, but I slept well here! The quiet, peace, space, comfort and beauty of this vacation home is virtually unrivaled.

Even if it's more than you want to spend, I encourage you to stretch your budget a bit. You won't regret it!
Helpful votes: 15/15