Porters villa rental - patio and small private pool
patio and small private pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Porters Villa Rental Photos and Description
Brand New, Immaculate, Fully Equipped 2 Bedroom Villa small private pool tennis

Located just minutes walking distance from the beach ( 600 mt) , Holetown (1 km) and Golf Courses (2km) you will enjoy your stay in our townhome. We have everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The ground floor leads out to a beautiful patio, with outdoor dining and living area, complete with sofas and garden lounge chairs, and a small private pool. The modern Italian kitchen has every convenience: granite countertops, microwave, oven, coffee maker, dishwasher, pots, pans, dishes making it enjoyable to stay in for any meal.

Relax in our lovely living room, with A/C, LCDtelevision, DVDs, CABLE TV, books, and games for adults and children.

Upstairs there's a master bedroom with king-size bed, balcony, and bathroom with a jacuzzi. The second bedroom has twin beds, which can be pushed together to make a king size, balcony, and a bathroom with a walk in shower. Every room has plenty of towels, beach towels, shampoo, soaps etc. You will feel right at home in this wonderful vacation house

Please, note that this house is really CHILDREN FRIENDLY. You can find a special children's set with their own towels and crockery, changing set, highchair, floatings and toys.

For your children's safety, the two french doors downstairs (with the pool access) are protected by iron bars that can be totally opened and disappear, allowing the guests to have the breeze coming in the house.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 237357 in Porters, Barbados

Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
average rating of 4.65 based on 20 reviews
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
5

Absolute Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our tenth holiday in Barbados and our third villa holiday, Arileo surpasses all others.
The location, just up a quiet drive off the main coast road, between Colony Club and Fairmont Royal Pavillion, within easy reach of Holetown and Speightstown in a peaceful, gated, secure small community of 26 villas with a nice size shared pool (which we saw nobody but us use).

The villa itself, as previous reviewers have said, is more stunning than the photographs portray. The furniture and fittings are of high quality and tasteful; this is not your usual basic, bland and hardy rental property with bare minimum everything... It has everything! From soap to cleaning stuffs to towels to pool toys to the biggest jacuzzi I've ever seen to the coolest fridge/freezer! Full complement of plates, cups, glasses, cups, utensils....everything!

The patio gets sun all day until about 3pm and relaxing & dining on the outdoor patio is beautiful.

A real taste of luxury. I cannot recommend this enough.

Alessandra and Claudia, thank you both for making us so welcome. I sincerely hope that we will be able to return.
Owner's Response: Dear Lindsay, thank you very much!!! I really hope you could come again in Barbados and, why not?, in Italy!!!!! See you soon
alessandra
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
5

Just Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
As others have said you can only really appreciate this property when you get to it - the photos don't do it justice !!! It has a lovely homely feel with some great decor and instantly makes you feel relaxed, Alessandra and Claudia did a great job !!! Everything is as you would expect it to be - clean and working ! The booking process was easy and Claudia made us feel at ease with the transactions etc.

I can only reiterate what others have said and agree that this is a fabulous place to stay when visIting Barbados - we will undoubtedly return !!!!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Adrian,
it's me that I have to THANK YOU.
Thank you to be my guest, thank you to be so easygoing, thank you to be so kind.
Claudia told me you were a real gentleman and I always hope to meet a guest like you.
I hope you could come again to Barbados (or to Italy and visit me) and I'm happy you loved our Island.
Thank you very much again and see you soon
alessandra
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
5

FEELING AT HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
When we walked through those doors upon our arrival, we were pleased beyond our expectations. Photos could never do this place justice.

The living room area is large and comfortable. The decks and private pool absolutely great. LOVED the main bath's jacuzzi and large bathroom. Lovely bedrooms and mattresses so comfy that we slept way too late most days.

Also, Alexandra, your decorating style is lovely. So many extra tasteful touches.

We loved our breakfasts outside each morning, listening the hummingbirds
---
I guess the best way to sum up our stay is to say that even though we knew that we were only guests of 17 Porter's Gate, we very quickly thought of it as "home" for the short period of time that we were lucky enough to call here "ours."

Come "home" at the end of the day was truly one of the highlights of our trip. We now know, for ourselves, why so many guests say that they will return here again

Best regards

Mark and Kate
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mark,
thank you so much!!!
Please, give a huge kiss to Carly and come back soon!!!
Have a fantastic summer
alexandra
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
usa
5

A PERFECT WEEK

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My girlfriend and I just spent a week at orter's Gate and I must say it was very relaxing and romantic. When we arrived at the airport, the manager Claudia welcomed us and took care of everything for us (renting the car at discount prices, dealing with a piece of lost luggage, etc). At the house we were welcomed by the maid who kindly showed us around the house. Everything was perfect, there was soap in the bathrooms and in the kitchen there was even detergent for the washing machine and the dishwasher (I hate having to buy a big supply when I'm just staying somewhere for a week!!)
The week went by really fast because there are so many things to do: we swam with sea turtles, played tennis at the courts in Porter's Gate (it's free), went to the beach and even played golf. Porter's Gate is very near to both Sandy Lane and Royal Westmoreland. Don't miss the Colony Club and the Fairmont Royal Pavillon beaches very near to the house."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Harvey and Jenny,
thank you very much to be our guests!!!
I know you enjoyed a lot because Claudia told us you are golf champions!!!
Yes, I agree, our house is very strategic for the people who love to play golf because the two most important Golf Clubs on the Island are very close to us.
The hotel you mentioned are very elegant, their restaurants are great (but not expensive at all) and their beaches are fabulous.
I really hope you can come back next year and I also wait for you as my guest here in Italy.
See you soon
alexandra
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
uk
5

GOING BACK SOON

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I went with my family to P.G. and I've already booked for next year because I'd like to take my parents there.

The house is very welcoming and extremely child friendly.
The owner made sure I had a complete set of necessities for my kids (I have a 3 year old and a 5 month old): towels and sheets for kids, a crib with runners, a changing set, highchair, a lifejacket and plastic toys for the pool, and even baby wipes!

A few days before leaving, I sent a grocery list and for a small fee had everything I ask for delivered to the house before my arrival.
I also really appreciated the iron grates on the windows - which can be unlocked and opened - in the living room area because I could relax on the sofa or cook without having to worry about my 3 year old getting out and into the pool by himself.
This is one of the main reasons I chose this house.

Just a few hundred yards from the house there is the Folkstone Marine Park, a beautiful nature reserve (the only one on the island) where you can swim, go snorkeling (there are masks and fins at the house) or just spend the day; there's also a shady picnic area for having lunch. I can't wait to go back next year."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sharon
thank you very much for your review and thank you very much to sending the pictures of your children in our pool!! They're so cute!!!
I've got two children too and I know what does it mean to travel with them!!!
I'm happy that you appreciated my "children set" because I chose everything thinking to my children.
Someone sent me a complain about the grates and your letter is very important for me because it gives a sense to my choice: I'm a mother and I need to be tranquil knowing that there are some children at our house that could be left alone for more than 2 minutes (it's a holiday for the mothers too, isn't it? Can we lie down and rest a moment or we always have to run?)
I'm anxious to know your parents next year and have you as my guest again (don't forget that for the "old clients" there are very special rates).
Take care, my dear, and have a nice day
alexandra
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
usa
5

A PLACE I WOULD RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Usually I don't take the time to write reviews, but I completely disagree with the negative comments posted here, because that was not the case for me at all. I went to P.G. at the end of March and the house was in perfect working order, very clean and everything worked, including the jacuzzi and the dishwasher. The owner had been very upfront with me from the beginning and said that they were doing some work on the house and offered me a discount. When I arrived, all the work had been finished, but the owner gave me the discount anyway! I was very happy to find that the ground floor windows had grates over them so in the evening I could enjoy the breeze without worry. These grates also open outward, so while in the house you don't even see them. The welcome I received was excellent and I was very satisfied with the availability of the manager who helped me rent a car and book a catamaran trip.


The beach near the house is very nice, safe and relaxing because it is not so famous; I don't think it's necessary to waste time and money going north when the beaches in Holetown are so close and so beautiful. This vacation left me with nothing but fond memories and I will definitely recommend it to my friends."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Rose,
thank you very much for your review, it really warms my heart!!!

My manager and the maid said that you and your husband were very kind and I really thank you because when you left the house it was perfect.

It's not so usual that the guests have this respect for my home and I want to tell you that I appreciated it a lot.

I would be honored to have you or your friends next year as my guest and I wait for you here in Italy to have a fantastic italian dinner all together!

Thanks a lot again!

alessandra
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
USA
1

Agree with Never again

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Ashley, your assessment of the place was exactly what we experienced. In fact, we may have been the guest prior to you in March. The house was filthy (hair, dirt, unclean toilets). The jacuzzi was broken and we were given the same story that the prior guest broke it. The dishwasher was also broken and the dishes were dirty. We spent the first day sanitizing dishes, moping floors and cleaning bathrooms. Not exactly a relaxing start to a vacation.

We did contact the owner and she offered us dinner and to have the cleaning lady return. We found the whole scenario frustrating. The cleaning lady was there when we arrived and shortly left without finishing. She came back to clean the place after our complaint although we explicitly said we had cleaned to our satisfaction and didn't want to be interrupted. On the day of our departure, she arrived early in the morning, although we had we had an noon departure and were told there were no check out times. We don't think the owner books enough time for a proper cleaning. We were also conscious of the fact that the cleaning lady told us she would be fired if she had complaints and mentioned several times that she is a single mom, the expense of living in Barbados, and Claudia's wrath. We did appreciate the cleaning lady putting money on the phone. Although we were given a phone, it had no minutes. Not being familiar with lime and a "top up" we had no idea how to get the phone to work. We gave the cleaning lady money to top it up as we thought a phone in the house was important.

We were informed Claudia would meet us at the airport, but a gentleman with a sign was there instead. He had the key to our place and had we not complained we would not have heard from Claudia.

In all, we were looking for a relaxing vacation but involuntarily became far too involved in the lack of the management and service.

Regarding the location, the beaches in walkable distance were not ideal but taking a bus (10 minutes north) was a better solution. Town was in walkable distance, but once off main road, getting into the complex was remote and not well lit. Not recommendable to walk at night. The photos are accurate but everything is a lot more tired than the photos show. One interesting note, not shown in the photos, are the security gates (jail cells) on ALL the downstairs windows and doors. They are closed with padlocks. That is the security system.
Owner's Response: Dear Stacy,

The day of your arrival, the manager was not able to make it to the airport, but the "gentleman" who met you is our favorite taxi driver who gave you for sure a lot of information along the way. At your arrival, since you were late, the maid decided to press something and when you got to the house, she left because she had finished her work.
When I spoke to you and you told me about the house not being clean, I got alarmed and I immediately asked the maid to come and check the day after and when I asked you if you wanted to see me, you said that you wanted to be left alone and since then, I never heard from you again.

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your staying at our place, but as you can see from many other reviews, a lot of guests were extremely happy, so I have to say that our property is not ideal for your needs.

I also would like to explain that the iron bars we have on the two doors downstairs where added for security especially for families with young kids. They can totally open and disappear, but they allow the guests to have the breeze coming in the house.

Regards
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
usa
5

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our holiday at Porter’s Gate was fantastic - it is the perfect destination for combining relaxation by the pool in unbelievably beautiful surroundings. We would highly recommend staying at this charming villa which was exactly as described in the listing. The villa is beautifully decorated, the patio very enjoyable to spend time on, the furniture and beds very comfortable, the unit is fully stocked with everything you'd need, and we found it enjoyable in every way. Location was excellent, walking distance to town and beach made it ideal for us.
The house itself was very clean upon arrival and had everything we required for a perfect holiday. THANK YOU!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks to you, dear Steve!!! I'll wait for you next year!!! Alexandra
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
Austin, Texas
2

Never again!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My boyfriend and I split our trip to Barbados between the south and the west coast. Knowing that the west coast is more pricey, we chose to stay at Porters as our "luxury" part of the trip. I wish we hadn't wasted the money. Upon arrival, we were informed that the air conditioner and the jacuzzi tub were not working. These are two amenities that were crucial to us seeing as it was our romantic getaway. They informed us that the previous couple had broken the jacuzzi tub and they didn't have enough time to get it fixed. I completely understand that, but they didn't even offer anything in place of it being broken. Once I got home, I informed the owner Alessandra of the situation, and she told me all that they could have done was give us a free dinner but that it was too late and she would have needed to know that while we were still at Porters. We never met Claudia the manager or Alessandra the owner, so I'm not sure how I was suppose to go about that. This is the worst customer service that I've ever had and I have worked in the industry myself for over ten years. She eventually just stopped responding to my emails and I'm left with a terrible taste in my mouth from this whole experience. The place isn't really close to anything. It's quite a walk to the store and bars/restaurants. The place also wasn't that clean. I found hair from previous people all over the bed, bathroom, floors etc. Not to mention that since the air conditioner didn't work, we got bitten by tons of mosquitoes. I will never stay in Holetown again and if for some reason I had to, I would NEVER stay at porters again.
Owner's Response: Dear Ashley, this is Claudia, the manager of the house. I was very surprised in reading your review because during your staying at the house (3 nights only!!!), in spite of the fact that you were given a local cellular phone, you never contacted me to make me aware of your unhappiness. The reason why I didn't come to visit you and your boyfriend, it's because you were only staying for a very short time and not hearing from you for me it was a clear message that everything was ok.
It is our habit to make sure that the clients are happy, but if the clients don't tell us about their problems when they are on the island, there isn't much we can do later!!

Regarding the house, the air conditioning was not broken, it clearly states in the website that there is no air conditioning in the living room area, only in the bedrooms, and it works fine in the areas in which we have it.In the living room we have ceiling fans and also we get the natural breeze from the doors. Unfortunately this year we are experiencing a very hot climate, but there is nothing I can do about it!

As you can see from other reviews, we had many happy clients and we are very sorry that you came when the jacuzzi had a problem, which is now totally fixed. My impression, though is that you really liked the South Coast better then the West Coast........it's a matter of opinion and we have many clients who are specifically looking for our area because of the calm sea and the lack of wind.......and maybe this is not your case!

The reason why the owner didn't contact you before you came back to home is because she doesn't live in Barbados, but I do and my way of operating is to be available every time the guests need me, but if i don't hear from them, I have to assume that everything is ok.
We also work with a very nice helper and if something was wrong with the cleanness of the house, she would have fix it immediately if only we knew! I think that it's better to think twice before blaming a very honest person who is working for living and certainly can risk of losing her job! And why blaming her and myself after you left the property?

I'm very sorry for the inconvenience, but I honestly don't think that we did anything wrong and it is the first time that we receive such a review.

Regards

Claudia & Alessandra
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Platinum Coast Villa -Your Home Away from Home with small private pool tennis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237357
+011 39 051261556
Porters St. James
ontario, Canada
5

even better than the pictures!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My family stayed in this villa in March 2011 and didn't want to leave. I have two small children and there was lots of room for them to play and the pool was great for us to have. We loved that you could lock the doors to the back by gate so we didnt' need to worry about the kids when we weren't going outside. The house had everything you would need for a vacation and then some. Very clean and beautiful furniture as well. I was pleasantly suprised when we arrived as the villa looked even better than the pictures. Claudia was great and arranged a rental car for us at a good price which met us there on arrival. It was also very handy to have the use of a cell phone. Location was excellent and we will for sure be staying here again in the future!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2