New Town apartment rental - 1st Floor, 55 Cumberland Street (blue door).
1st Floor, 55 Cumberland Street (blue door).
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

New Town Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

This beautiful, elegantly and very sympathetically refurbished 1st Floor Apartment, offers everything you could want to make your stay in Edinburgh just perfect. The apartment still has original Georgian fireplaces and beautiful cornicing all shown off perfectly by the light streaming through the large Georgian windows.

There is a spacious hall - off which is

: the kitchen/dining which is bright and sunny and well equipped. Off the kitchen is a fully equipped utility room with washing machine, drier and freezer.

: a large double bedroom.

: a lounge with large comfortable leather couch and leather chairs. There is also a large flat screened TV with DVD player.

: Bathroom with bath/shower.

: Twin bedded room with en suite shower.

: Toilet/cloakroom

Due to Cumberland Street being relatively narrow, it is very quiet with very little traffic making it the perfect location for resting after a hectic day in the city.

34 Reviews of Property 237302 in New Town, United Kingdom

Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 34 reviews
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
5

Fantastic flat in the heart of Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our first experience using VRBO and we were thrilled with the experience. The flat was every thing and more than we expected. The flat was spacious with plenty of room for the three of us. It was clean and nicely decorated.
The location was great. It is in a residential area so nice and quiet. We walked everywhere….. to the castle, St. Giles Church, the Royal Mile and Arthurs Seat. No need for a car. There are lots of great restaurants and pubs nearby. There is also a nearby grocery store which we used for breakfast foods, drinks and snacks.
What a great vacation and we would look forward to staying in Di's flat again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Georgia, USA
5

Gorgeous Classic apartment - Perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Di's apartment was wonderful for our family of 4. We found the location to be perfect. It's on a quiet residential street in the heart of Edinburgh's newtown, a 2 min stroll to groceries, restaurants, bars etc. We did all our exploring of the city on foot (old town and new town) as the location was so central.
We had a midnight arrival & Di not only made it easy for us in terms of access, she also gave us some supplies to get us started in the morning which was very considerate.
The beds were extremely comfortable (lovely bedding etc) and the apartment lovely and warm.
There were many travel leaflets, maps & restaurant, walking tips etc to help us plan our days. Also a good selection of DVDs and books. We could not recommend highly enough. We don't just want to visit again, we now want to live right there!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Belo Horizonte
5

Pequenos detalhes fazem a diferença

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Adoramos estar no apartamento de Di. Sempre foi muito atenciosa, desde os primeiros contatos por email. O apartamento é bem localizado, silencioso, muito bem montado, com tudo que precisamos para uma estadia agradável. Estava tudo muito limpo. Di é muito caprichosa e organizada. Deixou uma pasta com todas as indicações para um turista e orientações sobre o funcionamento do apartamento que nos foram muito úteis. Gostamos muito de estar em seu apartamento e certamente o indicaremos e se tivermos oportunidade voltaremos.
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Fort Collins, Co
5

Edinburgh Flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Di and Watti's flat was absolutely perfect for our family of 4. Lovely kitchen and living areas, and 2 bedrooms for us to spread out in. It was centrally located within walking distance to everything we wanted to do, and yet in a great residential area not too crowded with tourists. Di was wonderful to deal with and everything was perfect.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
5

Old world charm with modern conveniences!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This flat was perfect for our family trip (4 adults) to Edinburgh. The flat itself is nicely located in a residential area, and within walking distance of shops, grocers, restaurants, bus stops, and even Old Town, if you’re up for a nice stroll. Most of the historical features of the flat have been preserved (crown molding, hardwood floors, window shutters), while a modern kitchen and TWO bathrooms have been updated. The beds were very comfortable. The décor was tasteful and all appliances worked as expected. There was even a collection of brochures of local “things to do” and included restaurant reviews. Be certain to check out the farmer’s market on Saturdays for fresh foods, flowers, and unique gifts. Di was a gracious host and was flexible when we had to change around our arrival and departure dates. In all of my VRBO experiences, this was by far, my favorite and I hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Winnipeg, Canada
5

Thank you Di.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Spacious, gracious home,
magazine picture-perfect,
fit for a royal visit -
Our needs - all anticipated.

Here we are held, nurtured
by one who knew, not only
to satisfy, but delight,
every sense gloriously alive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Chandler, Arizona, USA
5

A wonderful home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We absolutely loved the flat. It was most comfortable with everything we needed. Such a lovely place to come home to at the end of our busy 12 days in Edinburgh. The location is superb, a very short walk to shops, restaurants, pubs, and the bus. The nearby little grocer had everything we needed to get started. A short walk to the end of Cumberland Street is The St. Vincent Pub, the closest place we found for wi-fi service. Further along on the walk to Stockbridge are a couple terrific pubs, with roaring fireplaces, called The Bailie (great haddock and chips) and The Last Word. We found some great cheeses at the Stockbridge Sunday Market - it's a good place to stock up on unique eats for the flat. Di was excellent to work with, great communication from start to finish. We highly recommend this flat and I would love to stay here again sometime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
charlottesville, va. USA
5

Shirley (Virginia USA)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The flat was exactly as pictured. Some rentals use older mismatched furniture but this was like walking into someone's comfortable home. Di was wonderful to work with and answered all questions promptly. Great location-if you walk up to Princes Street be sure to zig zag from Dundas St.. The buildings and their gardens on the way are beautiful and it is an easier walk. The STANDARD on Howe St was excellent but there are so many good restaurants within walking distance. Catch a bus at the foot of Dundas St to take you to Ocen Terminal and the Botanic Gardens are a nice walking distance. Big Tesco on Broughton St is a short walk too. The flat is in an excellent location and has everything you need. Wonderful washer and dryer.
All in all a good experience and I would certainly return. Some extra bath towels would have been a plus but the washer is there if needed.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Iowa
5

Iowa USA Visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I highly recommend 55 Cumberland!! Planning the rental with Di and Wattie was handled so efficiently. The apartment was a perfect location...so well kept...quiet...secure...spacious...with so many ammenities...including a hair dryer! We spent eight days in Edinburgh and were able to walk to so many of the sites. Loved the neighborhood spots too....The St. Vincent Pub, Beanery, Stockbridge Sunday market, and the restaurants on Howe and nearby streets. Highly recommend The Mussel Inn on George Street for good seafood. Central Cab was very reliable to/from the airport. Also, thanks to Di, I was able to book a day trip with Helen from Afternoon Tea Tours and we went to the northern countryside. Very enjoyable! I'd definitely book this apartment when we return to Scotland again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Denmark
5

An peaceful gem in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We - a family of 4 - have just spent 4 days in Edinburgh in Di and Watties apartment. An absolutely fantastic apartment - well situated within walking distance to all the interesting tourist attractions and at the same time in a very quiet area - ensuring a good night's sleep!
The apartment is superbly decorated and very well equipped - and everything is so nice and clean! We loved spending time in the apartment after a "busy" day exploring Edinburgh!
We highly recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Edinburgh - and will certainly stay here next time we visit Edinburgh - if available.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1