Lajitas house rental - An Evening View from the West Porch
An Evening View from the West Porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Lajitas House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Lajitas House is in the historic Lajitas Resort area just an hour from the beauty of the Big Bend National Park and 1 mile from the Big Bend Ranch State Park. Both parks have a variety of hikes and some truly spectacular scenery. Be sure to visit the local Barton Warnock Environmental Education Center on the east side of Lajitas for information and interesting exhibits.

Afterwords, relax in the shade of our front porch, enjoy the pristine view out across the shimmering Rio Grande River into the majestic mountains of Mexico or walk down the hill and sit by the river. Stroll through the tree-lined bird sanctuary and enjoy a picnic at the tables provided in a charming river side park. Enjoy the peacefulness that underlies the Lajitas experience.

Lajitas House is within walking distance to the Lajitas boardwalk which offers shopping and a full service spa.

Lajitas House is within walking distance to the Lajitas boardwalk which offers shopping and a full service spa. Walk to the historic Lajitas Trading Post, which includes a deli, or to the Candellia, an excellent restaurant on the boardwalk where you can enjoy a meal in rustic elegance outdoors or in. The Thirsty Goat Bar offers a variety of libations in a comfortable and richly decorated environment.

A twenty minutes drive east and you are in the historic Terlingua Ghost Town. The world famous Chili Cook-off Championship occurs annually early in November. In Terlingua you can enjoy dining at The Starlight Theatre Restaurant and Bar and shopping at the Trading Post.

An hour’s drive west from Lajitas House on the spectacular River Road (Texas 170) takes you through the magnificent vistas of Big Bend State Park and past historic Fort Leaton to the official border crossing at Presidio. On the Mexican side is the city of Ojinaga, site of the historic Battle of Ojinaga between the rebel soldiers of Pancho Villa and Mexican Federales.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 236860 in Lajitas, Texas

Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
Houston
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Lajitas House was exactly what we were looking for! Great accommodations with unbelievable views. Great location. I look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: David,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are always happy when our house meets our guests' expectations. Please consider us again when you return to vacation in the Big Bend area.

Judy
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Spring break in Big Bend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The property had all the amenities we needed, and location to BigBend Park was perfect! We enjoyed cooking breakfasts at the house, and had dinners at local restaurants like Starlite Theater and la Kiva, in Terlingua and Study Butte. It was very quiet in Lajitas and we did hike one day in nearby Big Bend Ranch State Park which was beautiful. The views from the porch were amazing, we hope to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Michelle,

I am really happy that you and your guests had a good visit to the Big Bend area. Especially I am pleased that you found the accommodations at Lajitas House convenient and comfortable. Of course, we think the sunset view from the west porch is the best thing we can say about our house. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. And please come and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Judy Balch
Managing Partner
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Clean, Comfortable, and Remote

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The Lajitas House was the perfect home base for exploring Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park over the News Year's holiday. The house was clean and very well equipped, as well as spacious, and had great views of the mountains and across the river into Mexico, right from the front porch.

The attentiveness of the management was impressive as well. We had a problem with the heater, and because repair services can be little slow in this remote part of the world, the caretaker came over while we were out and set up space heaters in every room, which worked out great.

The location is between the national and state parks, which makes it ideal for people interested in hiking and/or cycling in both places. Just be prepared to drive a little to get to anything, and make sure you have plenty of gas. This is West Texas, after all.
Owner's Response: Mark,

Thank you for your response. And thank you for pointing out a problem with the central heat. We had a new thermostat installed and that seems to have solved the problem. And yes, because we are in a very remote area, it sometimes takes a while to obtain services. But we think the remoteness is also a great asset if you just "want to get away from it all."

I hope you will think of us again if you return to the Big Bend area.

Sincerely yours,

Judy Balch
Managing Partner
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
Dallas, Texas
5

Great Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I, along with another couple, rented the Lajitas House for 3 nights in December 2012. The house could not have been better! It truly is a wonderful place to stay. The proximity to Big Bend National Park and Big Bend State Park is excellent. The views and scenery are unrivaled in Texas. We even saw javelina and deer from the front porch. The house is well-equipped (kitchen, linens, etc.) and is very clean and comfortable. We would love to return in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kevin,

Thank you for all the nice comments about your stay at Lajitas House and your visit to the Big Bend Area. We discover something new every time we go. Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend State Park (just to the west of Lajitas) are vast and magnificent.

Hope you will come again.

Judy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
San Antonio, Texas
5

Mrs.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
we had a great time, have spent last 3 years in Big Bend, We had 8 people and managed to work out places for everyone to sleep. Great views of Rio Grande and Mountains from porch. Weather was great and loved the hiking and biking. We biked in Big Bend State Park and by the airport. Rented bikes from Desert Sports and also took canoe tour with Desert Sports. We hiked several trails in Nat'l Park, some we had hiked before and some new ones. House was well equipped as was kitchen. Had new TV and worked great. Ate at Starlight and had coffee at La Jitas Resort. Had great time thanks for the memories.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Dear Cathy,

Thank you for such a positive review of Lajitas House and your visit to the Big Bend Country. We hope you will come back for another visit.

Judy Balch
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Lajitas House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is a wonderful place to stay. I have been to Lajita's many times and this is by far the best value. The house was extremely clean,well furnished and had some awesome paintings of some local attractions. We saw a fox and two javelina from the front porch while enjoying the fantastic views of the BIg Bend. I will definitely be a repeat customer!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Robert,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our house and the experiences you had there! We know it is a unique and beautiful place but it is always nice to hear that other people think so too. My husband was flattered that you complimented his paintings of the Big Bend area. We look forward to having you back soon!!

Judy Balch
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
Spring, TX
5

Our Stay at Lajitas House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Our family of 5 couldn't have enjoyed our vacation any more. The Lajitas House is well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect for visiting Big Bend National or State Park and the view is outstanding. The owner was helpful, informative and very caring about our experience during our stay. We would love to return sometime for an even longer time than the 3 nights we spent there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Dear Nancy,
We want you to know how much we appreciated your positive
comments about our house! We love the house and the Big Bend area and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it too. We hope you will come again soon!!
Judy Balch
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lajitas House (Big Bend River View)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236860
+1 979 966-0071
Lajitas Big Bend
Austin, TX
5

Lajitas House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lajitas House. The view from the front porch of Rio Grande and Mexico really is THAT fantastic, and we did some spectacular hikes in Big Bend National Park. The house was clean, customer service was excellent, and we have already highly recommended this place to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Ulla,
We are so pleased that you had a good time in the area and enjoyed our house! It is a very special place for us and it is gratifying to share it with guests. Thanks so much for your recommendation to others. Please come visit again!
Judy Balch
Helpful votes: 6/6