Holualoa cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Holualoa Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, studio with new Queen bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is located on the historic Mamalahoa Highway in the Kona Coffee Belt area.

The one-acre coffee orchard of four hundred trees surrounds two beautiful custom designed and built homes; the main house and a cottage.

The farm is 1200 feet above sea-level on the slopes of Hualalai Volcano (dormant) with breath-taking views of Kona and the vast Pacific Ocean. The Cottage has a spacious covered lanai and sliding glass doors that open completely to the out doors; bringing the “outside inside.”.

The property is terraced with lava rock, landscaped with a variety of tropical plants and very private. The Cottage has a gas-fired barbeque.

The homes were designed by renown Seattle architect, Chris Snell. The architecture mimics traditional Hawaiian hale (homes) and Japanese farm houses.

The building materials are unique to the Kona-area. He incorporated lava rock walls, hand milled Ohia trees for posts, framing and paneling. The homes are constructed by the best carpenters and craftsmen on island.

The doors and cabinet work are teak and the cottage has a copper roof that was formed to replicate the corrugated tin roofs seen on old coffee shacks. The homes are exquisite in every detail.

This a working farm and during coffee harvest from September to December, you can watch coffee picking and processing on the farm. The pickers will not disturbe your serentiy. It takes 2-4 hours to hand pick the coffee. They pick about every six weeks during harvest-time.

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is only a ten minute drive down the mountain to Kona Town for shopping, and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm.

The town is an artist-community and home to numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is a historic road, the High Road, and runs through the heart of Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

Cottage:

The Cottage is uphill from the main house and surrounded by coffee trees, palms, and avocado trees for added privacy.

The architecture includes lava rock walls, hand milled Ohia trees for posts and boards for paneling, and woven lauhala panels. The vaulted ceilings is open to the copper roof exposing Ohia wood rafters and purlins.

The floor plan is a studio with one bath and walk in closet. The west facing sliders open to a covered lanai. A teak table, four chairs and a gas barbeque provide for fine outdoor dining.

The cozy kitchen has a Subzero two drawer refrigerator, deep sink, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, range, tea kettle, cook ware and utensils.

The bathroom has a wonderful shower with lava rock walls.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

I enjoy swimming in the ocean and learning about Old Hawaii.

Motter Snell purchased this cottage in 1999

The cottage is a 10-minute drive down the mountain to Kailua-Kona for shopping and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm. It is an artists' community and features numerous galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is an historic road and runs through the heart of Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

The cottage is uphill from the main house and surrounded by coffee trees, palm trees, avocado and other fruit trees for privacy. The quiet beauty of the surrounding jungle; the tropical song birds and the verdant coffee orchard imbue health and serenity.

21 Reviews of Property 236336 in Holualoa, Hawaii

Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
4

Great Home...be prepared for noise!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at the cottage for 10 days and really enjoyed the home itself. The layout is great for two adults, and the house comes with everything you need for your stay. We really have no complaints on the home itself.
One thing we wish we knew was how close the main house is to the cottage, in reading the description and other reviews we thought there was some more space between homes. The Cottage has a great patio with chairs and table, but right in front of that is the main house, so I suggest introducing yourself to the others who are staying there.
Our only complaint is the noise of the chickens/roosters! We took care of that problem after the first night with buying some earplugs at the ABC store; these chickens/roosters are up 24/7! It was nice once you've woken up in the morning and sitting on the patio with our morning coffee...but at 2:30AM...it's not so nice.
I don't know if this was a rare occasion but the neighbor’s dogs were barking like crazy! They have two golden retrievers and they were barking and howling like crazy! Which our wonderful earplugs did not help with. We went outside to see if there was anything particular they were barking at and there was nothing. It was really bad, and this was at 4:30AM! Not the way I want to start my days while on vacation.

If you have the little extra money I would highly suggest staying in the main house! This place is beyond beautiful and the view you get is crazy amazing! If I would have known about it before booking the cottage I would have booked the main home.

All in all...we had a wonderful stay. We were on our honeymoon so we really didn't spend too much time at the cottage, really just to sleep...which wasn't always so peaceful, but that's not the home or the owners fault. Mother Nature takes over.


Beautiful property, and we really enjoyed being on the Big Island!
Aloha!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha,
The chickens are jungle fowl and wander around the farms on my lane.
Sounds like it's time for me to call the chicken trapper. I will be on the farm next week and will get this problem resolved. Regarding the dogs, I never had this complaint before. I will talk with my neighbor, dog owner, and ask him to manage them and respect my visitors' solitude.
Mahalo for the review.
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

A True Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our stay at the Snell cottage! The property exceeded our expectations: clean, well kept, and beautifully designed cottage and gorgeous gardens. We loved the natural materials of the building, the open floor plan, and the large glass walls that connected us to nature.

The kitchen was very functional and well appointed with everything we needed to make meals. We appreciated the boogie board and snorkle gear and the washer/dryer. We could have easily stayed another week here - the setting was so relaxing and beautiful. Exactly what we were looking for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Victoria Canada
5

A perfect place to start our trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were very happy with our decision to spend a few days here at the beginning of our trip to Hawaii. It is a beautifully designed and furnished cottage – perfect for two. We loved the gardens, especially the bountiful orange and avocado trees. We appreciated the fins and other beach gear that was provided. Finding the cottage late in the evening (in our first hour on the Big Island) made for a fun little adventure, but Motter’s directions were very good. (If you arrive after dark, be sure to heed her advice about bringing a good flashlight). Sorry we missed you, Motter, but thanks to Kelly, who had the place looking good, and generously advised on places to eat and shared her knowledge of various things Kona.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Seattle, Washington
5

Casual Elegance in the Coffee Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property is exactly as described. The architecture and decor is a beautiful balance of mountain cabin and modern, excellently appointed home. The vaulted ceiling, hardwood floors, lava rock wall, floor-to-ceiling glass doors, lava rock patio, and charming bathroom / shower put us in a relaxed, vacation state of mind immediately. The landscaping was akin to a botany lesson each day! The jungle teems with every kind of life you can imagine right at your fingertips. Citrus and coffee trees, myna birds, papaya trees, hala trees, bamboo trees, and the ever-present wild chickens were our companions by day and the symphony of the jungle at night led by the mosquito-hunting geckos lulled us to sleep. Kailua-Kona is a few minutes drive away down the mountain, and all the wonders of the Big Island are within reach of an ambitious day trip. We saved so much money by making our breakfasts and a couple dinners at home that we were able to afford more of our favorite activities!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Brooklyn
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I concur with previous reviews that the photographs really don't do this place justice. The house is a gem, a little work of art, but not an ostentatious one, the kind of artwork you'd actually like to live in. Holualoa is a great little community, coffee farms everywhere, gorgeous views, laid back vibe. Can't recommend this place enough, especially given the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi, I will get some new photos posted after my next visit!
I'm happy you had a restful vacation. Thank you for reviewing.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Tampa, FL
5

Beautiful, well planned mountain cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The quality and workmanship of this cottage were beyond our expectations. It was so comfortable and excellently located. We loved the Kona area. We would highly recommend this to friends and family members and would stay again on a return to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Sedro Woolley
5

Restful hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The well designed simple layout and quality of material and craftsmanship made this cottage a very restful place. Unfortunately it rained almost everyday, and did not get to enjoy the lanai, and was very chilly at night. Though, liked the privacy and the quiet (except for the roosters) surrounding. Ideal for a single or a couple, and for a longer stay.The photos did not do justice to the place.
For the first timer, it would have ben helpful to know ahead of time that the parking space is for the farm house as well (a little marker will do).
Would love to return when it's not so wet and for a longer stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
North Powder, Oregon
5

Comfortable Hillside Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We enjoyed our stay in the beautiful cottage. The space was well-maintained and thoughtfully stocked with kitchen equipment for those who enjoy cooking. We were able to pick fresh fruit from trees on the property to add to our meals. The design of the cottage with sliding windows and doors allowed you to be a part of nature or cozy indoors when the rain was pouring. The property has lovely landscaping both for privacy and view. We would recommend this rental to friends and family that like to be a short drive to the beaches, but appreciate a slower pace at the end of the day. Truly, a reviving hillside getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Alamo, CA
5

A charming little cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This cottage in a remote hilltop location on a coffee farm is away from all the hustle and bustle in Kailua-Kona Town, and yet only about a 10 to 15 minute drive to shopping at Costco, Safeway, etc. Motter was a delightful host, and she gave us a number of good suggestions for restaurants and beaches. We used the cottage as a base for exploring the Kona coast, and always returned in the late PM to relax and have dinner on the Lanai.
The cottage, kitchen, etc. were generally well equipped including things like Wi-Fi; the main negative from our standpoint was the lack of a freezer or icemaker. Overall, the description and photos do give an accurate picture of this rental, and we would (and did) recommend it to a friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you reviewing!
business
Architect's Private Kona Coffee Farm Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236336vbi
+1 808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Canada
4

Kona Coffee Farm Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved our stay here. Sitting on the beautiful lanai, watching the birds in the morning, picking oranges from the tree just steps from the front door...it made for a very special vacation. Mo, the owner was helpful and great at giving suggestions for day trips. You have everything you need..a modestly equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, and even WiFi! The location might be a little remote for some, (a bit of a drive to the beach) but we loved the tranquility of it. The only suggestion would be to somehow make the directions a little clearer once you turn down the final road. In the dark this place is difficult to find. Other than that, a very magical place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Visitors,
Glad you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island.
Thank you for reviewing.
Aloha, Mo