Christmas Valley house rental - FRONT OF HOUSE
FRONT OF HOUSE
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Christmas Valley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Our home is DOG friendly.

Our Lake Tahoe vacation rental is the luxury main house of a private estate. This is the first time this South Lake Tahoe estate property is available for rent. The main house is a 4 BR home with a large hot tub located on two acres along a private stretch of the upper Truckee river in South Lake Tahoe This South Lake Tahoe vacation rental property is centrally located between Heavenly Valley Ski Resort, Sierra-at-Tahoe and Kirkwood. Located at the foot of echo summit, this South Lake Tahoe vacation rental property maintains the old Lake Tahoe experience with privacy and easy access.

The home sleeps up to 12 guests. The yard is beautifully landscaped and maintained in a natural park-like setting.

All linens, dish towels, bath towels are provided for your use. This home is professionally cleaned after each use to provide you the confidence that the home is clean upon arrival.

Check-in is at 4:00pm and check-out is at 12:00 noon to allow the cleaning crew access.

INTERIOR - sleeps 12 maximum - large hot tub

Four bedrooms:

Wi-Fi internet connection

Dish Network with all 33 premium pay channels in each bedroom and living room

Master bedroom - queen bed, dresser, double closet with shelves and mirror doors, two end nightstands, two lamps, exterior double doors to rear deck, wall mount TV, DVD, VCR with Dish Network

Second lower bedroom - one double bed, one closet with mirror doors, two end nightstands, one wall shelf system, television with Dish Network

Upper bedroom - one twin over double bunk bed, one dresser, wall mount television with Dish Network, nightstand with lamp, dresser with mirror

Front upper bedroom - one win over double bunk bed, one dresser, wall mount television with Dish Network, end table with lamp, closet with shelves and mirrored doors

Three bathrooms:

Main bathroom - tub/shower with two shower controls and shower heads, steam unit inside shower vanity with mirror, toilet

Lower floor bathroom - this bathroom is adjacent to the exterior hot tub located off the family room includes water sealed closets for clothing, a shower, toilet, steam unit and basin

Upper floor bathroom - this bathroom is located upstairs between the two bedrooms and includes a tub/shower unit, vanity, mirror, and toilet

Large central great room consist of:

Large kitchen - gas stove/oven, microwave, large refrigerator, Cherrywood cabinets with granite counters double sink with garbage disposal, filtered cold water system at the kitchen faucet, dishwasher, dishes, cups, glassware, silverware pots, pans, most common utensils and serving ware is available, toaster, blender, breakfast counter with four bar stools

Family room - thermostatic controlled gas fireplace, leather recliner couch, two leather rocker/recliners, television with Dish Network with all 33 movie channels, DVD, VCR, stereo with CD player, dining area, end tables, coffee table, one roll away single beds

Living room - sofa sleeper, dresser, piano

Laundry room - extra large washer, extra large dryer, large water heater, shelves and cupboard

EXTERIOR - TWO PRIVATE LANDSCAPE PARK-LIKE ACRES

This rental property is situated on two acres in Christmas Valley at the foot of Echo Summit with 140 feet of Upper Truckee River frontage. A large swimming hole is in the river with easy access.

Two free standing barbeques - one at river, one in rear of house, one gas BBQ on rear deck

Picnic tables located throughout the property

Elevated deck with slide for play

Two fire pits - available upon request and reservation - additional charge - weather and fire restricted

Large rear lawn area for play and yard games provided upon request

Private trails with four bridges to river

Small cabin at river with cots - available upon request - summer use only (pictured)

Landscaped circular driveway with plenty of parking

Snow removal provided

Cross county skiing, snowshoeing out back door

Large hot tub on rear redwood deck adjacent to a bathroom with steam unit

Custom boat charter

Our boat is a 27 foot Reinell Cabin Cruiser.

Six customers maximum

This boat is operated by a U.S. Coast Guard Licensed Marine Captain with a First Mate to provide you with a safe and fun Lake Tahoe experience.

We have over 27 years experience boating on the waters of Lake Tahoe. We are familiar with the best fishing spots and bait. We also know were the best lagoons are for private swimming, anchoring and drifting.

Enjoy fishing, cruising and custom excursions on beautiful Lake Tahoe.

Catering and custom food service is available on board. Please contact us for special custom cuisine.

We will customize your boat charter for your special needs. We offer catering and will customize the cruising route for you. Please contact us for availability and rates for your custom Lake Tahoe experience.

Keywords: House, waterfront, hot tub

More Details
Hide Details

As a general contractor, we professionally maintain our home.

The Owner purchased this house in 1981

BEAUTIFUL TWO ACRE RURAL PARCEL

PRIVACY, LUXURY, EASY ACCESS, CENTRAL LOCATION, RIVERFRONT, HOT TUB, PLENTY OF PARKING

20 Reviews of Property 236640 in Christmas Valley, California

Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 20 reviews
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Monterey ca
5

An ideal home base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The river house was the perfect choice for a carefree Easter vacation. The house was spacious with all the advertised amenities. Beautiful location and very private. Owner was great showed us around and was helpful in suggesting fun day trips. The house was very clean. They allow dogs and have a huge yard to let them romp around in. The location is great. It's a quick drive to the lake, casinos, and ski resorts. We are already booking our next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Prefect House to Experience Tahoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house has every amenity you could ever want. The house was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space. It has central heating and a gas fireplace in the family room giving the house a cozy luxury lodge feel to it, complete with spa amenities like the steam showers and hot tub. The house has a huge yard; it’s like renting a private park on the river. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The owner, Dave lives next door we saw him once upon arrival when he gave us a helpful tour of the home. We received our full deposit refund shortly after departure. We will definitely rent this home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our goal is to provide a clean home on a private 2 acre parcel on the Upper Truckee River in a small 4 private parcels neighborhood surrounded by USFS land. As a general contractor living at the opposite end on the property, we strive to maintain our home in great condition for our guests and are available to address any maintenance issues that may come up. We include cleaning in the rental fee to maintain our high standards of cleanliness for our guest.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
1

Avoid This Rental Property for a Good Time

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Please, please avoid this rental if you want to have a good time in Tahoe. I don't write many reviews but this weekend was an awful experience. The owner treats paying guests like they owe him for staying at this place. The weekend was more stressful then enjoyable.

First, the owner lives on the property (not next to it, on it) - so be prepared to feel immediately uncomfortable. Then, prepare yourself for a walkthrough with this guy where he notes the numerous instances when a guest did something wrong and he charged them for it. Like the hot tub cover hinge, where he said multiple guests had broken the exact same part which costs them (not him) +$100. To which one should wonder, why does he keep repairing the cover with the same fragile mechanism?? Wouldn't you try to make the house more durable?

And low and behold, he said we broke his bunk bed when we left and charged us $175 without discussion. My guests swear they did not break the bed and used the bed as any person would. To be fair, he did appropriately deduct from us for not picking up after my friends' two dogs. I'm sorry for that. Yet, when I protested the deductions, he then said he should have charged us for leaving a mud mark on the tile floor in the "mud room" (which he took pictures of). The house was just supposed to be vacuum ready- which would easily clean this up. He might as well just charge a cleaning fee, since he's just going to find something you did wrong and charge you for it.

Other issues: house very close to other neighbors, the river is actually a good walk away from house (you can't see it), you can hear the highway from the backyard, large drafts in house, and little character to house (like no board games, videos to make it a fun Tahoe experience).

The good (I'm actually a pretty reasonable person): nice kitchen, hot tub clean, house well-maintained, and a cool shower room to hot tub.
Owner's Response: This tenant abused our home and property. Our guests wonderful experience is our primary concern. We inform each guest upon making a reservation that we live next door on the opposite end of the property in our separate home on the other side of the garage and we are available to assiste in the needs of our guests. We do not use the property when the main house is rented. Our listing states that the rental unit is the main house of a private 2 acre estate. Our home is in a rural area with only four neighbors, two were vacant while this guest was at our home.
We provide all guest with a walk thru of our home to explain the use and location of all our many amenities. We specifically explain to each guest that the hot tub cover lift system has an automatic safety locking feature that locks the cover in the open position so that the cover will not accidently close on the occupants. It is necessary to manually release this lock to close the cover. The cover mechanism could be damaged if you force the closure of the cover without releasing the locking mechanism.
In my walk thru with this guest, I mentioned the broken microwave housing as this was broken by the previous guest and a replacement was on order and that he knows that he will not be responsible for the microwave damage
This tenant broke the upper bunk rail and separated the slats in our new cherrywood bunk bed. This damage was deducted from his deposit and a date stamped photo was supplied to this guest.
Included in our rental fee is professional normal cleaning of our home. Our entry has plastic bins and storage benches for skis and play equipment. This guest had mud all over our tile entry floor. Furthermore they left the kitchen a mess with spills on the counters, cabinets and all over the range. We did not charge any additional cleaning for this and other messes this guest left in our home. We did charge a minimal fee of $35.00 for picking up the feces throughout our property form his two dogs. We do not charge any extra fees for guests that bring their dogs but require them to clean up after them. We provide three lined buckets and shovels throughout our yard for our guest to use. We must provide all subsequent guests a clean yard and we picked up after their dogs.
We have many board game in the upper front bedroom closet for our guests.
This review is unreasonable and a vindictive action to force us to refund the legitimate deductions.
Helpful votes: 6/10
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Oakland
5

Excellent stay in a fantastic house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our group stayed at Dave's riverfront home for a holiday weekend. It was extremely clean and great for our group of 10. The kitchen is huge, has tons of counter space, and is incredibly well stocked - I would be hard pressed to come up with a cooking tool that wasn't available. The living room was also very large, with plenty of space and comfortable furniture for us all to hang out in the same room. The large hot tub was perfect after a day of skiing, and the walk through shower to the hot tub deck was a nice feature. The location is convenient to Kirkwood, Sierra at Tahoe, and Heavenly, as well as a ski shop just a few minutes away. Dave was great and lives nearby, so he can quickly address any issues that come up. We hope to back soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Lafayette, LA
5

Great Family Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spend Christmas in Tahoe every year, and this home was exactly as described. This house is probably the cleanest home we've ever rented. Dave, lives in the cottage next door and was great with blowing the snow and shoveling the back deck. The house is in a great location...well plowed during our stay, and easy to get to Sierra-at-Tahoe, Kirkwood and Heavenly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We include cleaning in our rental fee. This way we can maintain a clean and sanitized home for all our guests.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Portland, OR
5

Weekend stay in South Lake Tahoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I, along with another couple and 3 little dogs, stayed at this property for a quick weekend getaway which we booked at the very last minute. It was quite convenient for us to stay here because it was a short drive away from Lake Tahoe, casinos, restaurants, mini golf etc; however, you come home to a quiet house at the end of the day. The house itself is quite spacious and has a lovely yard. There is also a quiet, easy to hike trail that runs along a small waterfall nearby. Unfortunately, we did not get to use the hot tub since our trip was so short. I would recommend this property to anyone who wishes to stay in South Lake Tahoe, especially if you are apart of a group.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Great place for family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This is a great place for family gathering. We picked this property because it allows pets and it was in a secluded area away from the city, but we were surprised to find out how clean it was and not really that far from the main strip. The house is nicely furnished with a large living room and kitchen. All linens and towels were provided, and the kitchen had all the necessary utensils for cooking and dining (which we fully made use of since there was a chef in our group). We also enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi, and its easy access from one of the bathrooms. We also had wireless internet connection, but it was spotty around the house (better connection from the north end of the house). One bad thing (or it could be a good thing, depending on how you see it) is that there was no good cellular reception (both AT&T and Verizon) in the house; however, the house does have a land line phone. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and despite living next door, we only saw him when we arrived and when we left, so we really felt we had the entire property for ourselves during our stay. We all had a wonderful time at this Tahoe River House, and would fully recommend this as a great place for a family gathering.
Owner's Response: Our renters privacty is one of our main concerns. Our land line offers unlimited continental telephone service. We provide this service at no addition charge as the cellular reception is not good at the house. Reading this renters review, we have corrected the spotty wireless internet connection service.
Helpful votes: 12/13
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Reno
5

A little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This property is fabulous. It is so incredibly clean and well stocked. Nice furnishings and kitchen utensils, etc. The setting is perfect for hiking and biking or just sitting in the beautiful yard. The jacuzzi is perfect and under the starts and pine trees. What a great time we had. Will definitely return. Can't wait
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is gratifying to see our home enjoyed by so many people. We strive to provide a unique Tahoe experience.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Wonderful Vacation in Tahoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I want to share our wonderful Tahoe experience at the Leal property. I have multiple allergies and am always quite concerned about staying away from my home. The house is a “good housekeeping seal of approval” clean. The kitchen is a family gathering place. The house is well equipped to please all with games, TV and plenty of space for reading or quiet time. We most certainly took advantage of the location for outdoors activities. Our kids and their dogs enjoyed the expansive lawn on the Truckee River. A real winner for families which most certainly includes the pets!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxury Tahoe Riverfront Home with Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236640vb
+ 530-577-7898
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Wondrful Vacation Tahoe Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I want to share our wonderful Tahoe experience at the Leal property. I have multiple allergies and am always quite concerned about staying away from my home. The house is a “good housekeeping seal of approval” clean. The kitchen is a family gathering place. The house is well equipped to please all with games, TV and plenty of space for reading or quiet time. We most certainly took advantage of the location for outdoors activities. Our kids and their dogs enjoyed the expansive lawn on the Truckee River. A real winner for families which most certainly includes the pets!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10