6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres apartment rental - DRAGON Apt - Saint Germain - The Living room opens on the Courtyard
DRAGON Apt - Saint Germain - The Living room opens on the Courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

This extraordinary duplex offers a rare combination of advantages:

This unique 1 bedroom apartment (2 bedroom equivalent) sleeps 5. It is located on the ground floor & basement .

- A perfect location: rue du Dragon, in the middle on the 6th arrondissement (metro saint sulpice 1mn).

- 3 windows, tall and large, opening on a nice and calm courtyard

- An upper level organised has an “inside apt” for 2 (+1 extra bed)

- An incredible and huge stone vaulted room in the basement: together living room, reception room, friends room. Check the pictures.

- A delicate & coloured decoration, French style.

- Large and comfortable: Sleeps up to 5 guests

One enters by the upper level. At this level are the dining room with the 3 tall windows, the master bedroom connected to a dressing room, the kitchen (open by a bar to the dining room), and bathroom. One accesses the 450 ft2 vaulted room by a spiral staircase. The architect has perfectly mastered the transformation of the majestic ancient cellar of the stone building. As it does not receive natural light, this room is obviously a room for the night, reception or large bedroom.

As a bonus, Phone calls to land lines in France, and to US, Canada and australia are generaly free. It is also true for more than 50 countries. More over, calls to cell phones towards specific countries (often US & Canada) may also be free. Ask us for detail as it may vary with time and policies of operators.

Our agency is member of a professional furnished rental association. We have signed a 'peacefull cohabitation charter'. Our 'behaving like a Parisian' document will be sent to all guests .

As apartment opens on the courtyard, it should be mentioned that the courtyard is not private.

We trust guest to behave elegantly with other inhabitants and limit possible noise.

The Saint Germain area is very lively and full of restaurants, cafés, cinemas and trendy shops. The art Galleries of Rue de seine are very close. One reaches the Eglise Saint Sulpice, and Eglise de Saint Germain des Pres in 2 minutes. And there is even a supermarket to conveniently buy food, which is not always easy inside Paris.

Last but not least, if you have kids, the Luxembourg gardens is walking distance (5mn walk). This location is a perfect base to visit Paris. It is very central. There are 3 subway stations at walking distance. It stays 15 minute by subway to most interesting Paris places.

Keywords: saint germain, saint sulpice, family, design,cosy, 2 bedrooms, flat, apartment, paris, location, best, price, comfortable, perfect, light, calm, unique, charming, value for money, affordable, terrace, view, roofs, sky, restaurant, shopping, Old stones, beams, ceiling, Lutecia, Latin quarter, Mouffetard Contrescarpe, Jardin des plantes, Ile Saint Louis, Notre-Dame, Paradis Latin, Saint Germain,

More Details
Hide Details

This duplex is the owner vacation base when she comes to paris. Nice isn't it. Owner is herself managing vacation rental bed & breakfast is a castle in Chateau de la loire.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2000

Saint Germain is the best central location in Paris, and so typically Parisian.

32 Reviews of Property 235696 in 6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres, France

Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
average rating of 4.64 based on 32 reviews
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
USA
5

Thank you for your beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Thanks so much for allowing us to stay in your gorgeous apartment!

We had a fantastic time in Paris, walking more than we've probably walked in the entire past year combined... :-)

You have a truly lovely, inspiring city, and we were delighted to come home to "our apartment" every evening.

We could not have asked for more, and thank you once again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
US
4

A big thumbs up...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great stay in the apartment Dragon. We just loved it. The location was perfect... nice and quiet... plenty of wine glasses dishes/silverware.. We have quite a few meals there (mostly breakfast) and made 2 dinners and we had everything we needed.

We would all highly recommend the property again and I've actually saved the information in my travel folder for future reference.

Thank you so much In Beau Paris for all of your prompt responses. You were a pleasure to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
3

Great Location, OK Apartment

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
First the positives:
The apartment is very will situated, close to the Metro, great shopping, loads of restaurants, and long walking distance to many of the sights. Additionally, because the apartment is behind another building and not directly on the street, it is also very quiet for being in the heart of the city. The place is also very spacious, we were a family with 3 adults and 2 teens, and there was plenty of space for everyone. The price can't be beat for a large group in Paris.
The negatives:
The beds were not made when we arrived. After a phone call we were able to locate sheets and make up the beds. Three of the beds were actually day-beds which were also meant to be used as couches, so we didn't have much seating. The TV did not work. Neither did the phone. We again called but the issue was never resolved during our stay. Not having a TV was very disappointing for the teens. Finally, while the teens liked sleeping in the cellar, the adults had a couple of issues. Chunks of plaster regularly fell from the cellar ceiling and landed on the beds and in the open suitcases. This made a bit of a mess. Also, the furnace was located behind a screen in the cellar, next to where the teens were sleeping. With no ventilation or windows in the cellar, and no obvious CO monitors, it was concerning.
Bottom line, really great location with some reservations about the apartment.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hi Mary,

Thanks you for your nice review. We appreciate your pointing out the positives of the apt. Location is exceptional right in the center of Saint Germain. As one can check from the 31 positive reviews, most of the guests really love the apt : most of reviews are 5 or 4 stars.

We are happy to mention that the owner did work on the location of the ceiling were plaster was getting off. It was a very limited area at the back of the living room. A leak was the reason, it had to fully dry before work. It can happen in a vaulted room. It is now fixed. Also we can confirm the furnace is set up in security standards.

On your arrival, we had a problem with the maintenance team who forgot to prepare the apt for 5 guest. It was prepared for 2 by mistake. We always keep extra sheets ready in the apt that you could use right away. Thus, issue was solved immediately. We are sorry about this, beds should all have been prepared. Concerning sitting in the living room, let us mention that a large sofa and 2 chairs with arms are offered additionally to the beds. One does not necessary have to do the beds. This was the first time we had this remark. One could replace a bed by a sofa, but, as you mentioned, the price cannot be beat for a large group in Paris.

TV works on DSL. In any apt worldwide, a TV problem can always happen, it is new technology fate: after checking the basic and rebooting the router, we called the operator immediately. They confirmed the problem was on their side. The wifi was working fine. We informed you as soon as we had the information. It took them a few days to solve. We unfortunately cannot control this. I does work now.

We always answer to the suggestions of improvement and do our best to act on it : as you can see have acted to improve our guests experience and hope next guest will appreciate. Thanks for your feed back.

Sincerely

Jnoel
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
5

Great Apartment, highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We really enjoyed staying at the apartment on Rue du Dragon. Everything was as shown in the pictures and very clean. The kitchen was very well equipped and apartment was very spacious. Similar priced hotel rooms in Paris are about one quarter the size from our experience.

Check in and out was very easy with detailed instructions and our deposit was refunded promptly. It was so quiet, we slept for 12 hours the first night due to jet lag, so you might want to bring an alarm with you if you have morning plans.

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the neighborhood. Everything was within walking distance. Be sure to check out the open air food market on Blvd. Raspail, about 3 blocks away on Tues., Friday and Sunday. Everything you can imagine from fresh vegetables and fruit to seafood, sausage, cheese and more.

This was our first apartment rental in Paris, and I don't think we will ever rent a hotel room there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
West Vancouver, BC, Canada
4

Pleasant Apartment in Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife , a friend and I stayed at the Apt. Dragon for one week from August 31 through September 7, 2013. We were quite happy with our stay there.
The location of the apartment on Rue Dragon is an excellent base for exploring Paris, being central to many of the most interesting places. It is close to a Metro station, which we used to arrive and depart the apartment.
The apartment is clean and pleasant, if just a little dated. The location is extremely quiet, with no traffic noise whatsoever, and just the occasional rumble of the Metro tube from deep underground. Being on the ground floor it is somewhat lacking in natural light, but not to the point of concern. Of course, as pointed out in the description, the cellar is without windows, but still remains pleasantly comfortable to relax in. The kitchen is equipped for basic dinner preparation should the many restaurants of Paris not beckon every night!
Finally, the communication through InBeauParis was prompt and professional, with our deposit returned shortly after our departure.
Jim and Diana W
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Wisconsin
5

Glad we rented

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Dragon apartment was our first rental outside the USA and we were extremely pleased with the process, the location, and the apartment itself. We took the advice and took a taxi from the airport -- not sure we could have found it the first time on our own! Self Check-in was very easy with the detailed instructions that are provided. We found the apartment to be so much better than trying to accommodate our family of 4 with 2 teens in a cramped hotel: just the right size, giving each of us space to relax after our days out. Clean, and just as pictured in the listing. On the first afternoon we realized our appreciation of the location -- just a short walk or walk + Batobus to nearly all the destinations on our list (Louvre, Champ-Elysees, Musee d'Orsay, Notre-Dame, Eiffel Tower, Saint Sulpice, etc). Our only need for a taxi was from the airport, and to Paris Nord to catch the Eurostar. Our 1 Metro ride was to the RER to Versailles. Boulevard St. Germain shopping a few steps away (it feels more 'Parisian' than Champs Elysses!), Rue de Buci a treat, too. Great to have wi-fi. We highly recommend the apartment to families visiting Paris!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Boston, MA, USA
5

A wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time in Paris and at the Rue du Dragon apartment. There were detailed directions for checking in and for all of the appliances (if you have a question there is probably very detailed information on the door - if not there is a phone and the landlords were available). The apartment was quiet, spacious and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with glasses and dishware. I was concerned that since one of the rooms was in the basement it might be damp, but there was no need - there is an air conditioner/heater down there that kept the room dry and the temperature comfortable.

The location couldn't have been better, we were on a small quiet street but only minutes away from a bunch of cafes and shopping - Egg & Co around the corner is delish!. And great bakery just across the street. There are also a couple of supermarkets (Franprix & Monoprix) nearby for anything you need at the apartment.

I would definitely recommend this apartment and would rent either this apartment or another one from In Beau Paris.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Malibu, California USA
5

Great location, very spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just completed our stay in the Rue du Dragon apartment. The location was perfect and the apartment was bigger than most Paris apartments. It has two levels which is perfect for a family, kids downstairs and adults upstairs. It was very quiet and was clean with all of the amenities you need. The best part is that it is on the first floor so you don't have to carry your luggage up any tiny staircase.
Thank you for our stay! Highly recommend it and hope to stay there again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Los Angeles, California
4

Joyously Unique, Great Location, Helpful Owner

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family spent out Spring Break at this flat and really enjoyed our stay. The rental was spacious and in a convenient location near sights, restaurants, and a grocery store. Additionally the management sent amazing instructions from how to get to the unit from the airport to getting the keys. Additionally my daughter left her iPod in our unit upon checkout and the cleaning staff found it and returned it to the owner whom mailed it to my in the states. I am very much appreciative of the amazing service as well as the fun we had at this rental. I'd stay here again and would recommend this flat to anyone.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible 1000' Sq Vaulted Stone Duplex - Delicate Decor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235696vb
+33 E-mail strongly preferred - Fast & Detailled answer - Click on 'Submit'
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Andover MA
5

Great location, tons of space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed here with our three children (ages 18, 14, and 10), and the apartment was great--we slept upstairs, and they all slept down in the cave--which they thought was totally cool. Easy walk to a supermarket, easy walk to great restaurants, central location for sightseeing but didn't feel too touristy. The light in the shower wasn't working, but we could make do with keeping the door open and using the light from the hall. Easy arrival and departure with good instructions on how to pick up and drop off the key, and quick turn-around with all our emailed questions. Only moment of panic was when we used up the roll of toilet paper and realized we didn't have another one, and the market was closed for the day (24 pharmacy had kleenex, so we made do...but at least one spare roll on hand would have been nice.)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1