Austin cottage rental - A bright open bungalow with vaulted ceilings.
A bright open bungalow with vaulted ceilings.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 1.5 BA, sleeps 5

PLEASE EMAIL OR CALL US BEFORE USING 'book it now'.

We respond quickly.

** Welcome to SoCo Spaces **

The red house (license # 100853) is nestled on a quiet, tree-lined street just 2 blocks off South Congress (SoCo) in charming Travis Heights. Stroll to fantastic restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and music venues. You can also easily catch a bus or walk downtown.

This light-filled, modernized 1926 bungalow is the ideal place to relax after a day or night of exploring vibrant Austin.

Enjoy an iced tea or margarita in the private back yard - under a majestic 350 year old oak tree.

Get a good night’s rest on the comfortable eco-bamboo memory foam mattresses. Both peaceful bedrooms feature queen beds and high quality linens. The master bedroom boasts a large walk-in closet. A loft with a double futon sleeps additional guests.

The main bathroom has a tub/shower combo and slate tile floors. A half bathroom and laundry area are conveniently located off the kitchen.

The kitchen, dining, and living room feature high vaulted ceilings. The fully equipped kitchen features a gas oven, dishwasher, disposal, microwave, coffee grinder, french press, toaster, and blender. The flat screen TV in the living room is equipped with premium cable, a dvr, and a dvd player. There’s also a digital radio with pandora and internet radio stations.

In case you need to work, you’ll find a roomy desk and wi-fi throughout. There’s a carport for one vehicle plus free street parking.

Beautiful Stacy Park is 3 blocks east and equipped with 3 acres of walking trails and a heated, spring-fed swimming pool. You'll also find a wading pool, playground, & friendly neighbors at Little Stacy Park - enough fun to entertain even the tiniest of travelers for hours.

We live in this neighborhood, we love this neighborhood. Once you've enjoyed a relaxing stay at the little Red House, we know you will too!

** We have sister properties in the same neighborhood. Visit Soco Spaces **

More Details
Hide Details

We've lived in Austin since 1999 and we love it. We enjoy traveling (as often as possible) and meeting the travelers that grace our vacation rentals. Our other passions include graphic design, film making, publishing, and wake-surfing on lake Austin.

Dani and Joel purchased this cottage in 2000

When we found it, the 'little red house' wasn't red. It was dirty grey and literally sinking into the ground. After a massive renovation effort we brought it back to life and restored it to better than original. Nearly 100 years old, this jewel of Texas history is the perfect place to call home as you explore Austin's most popular neighborhood.

RENT WITH CONFIDENCE

With 6 years of experience, Soco Spaces has always operated in compliance with the city of Austin legal requirements.

The City of Austin requires that Vacation rentals obtain a license for legal operation. Legal operations should have their license number on their listing.

36 Reviews of Property 235120 in Austin, Texas

Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 36 reviews
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
5

Fantastic in-city get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We were thrilled with the Red House. It enjoys an exceptional location, within a short walk (but not too short) from the SOCO shopping and dining area and a very short bus or car ride downtown. The house also has good access to I35 for those visiting San Antonio or other spots in Central Texas. The house has tons of charm and, although not large, is clean, very well appointed and comfortably accommodated our group of 4. During our relatively short stay, we met several neighbors, who were without exception very friendly and welcoming. Dani and Joel live in the neighborhood and respond very quickly to requests for info, etc.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
5

The Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We escaped the cold weather in DC to celebrate our 40th birthdays in Austin! The Red House was the perfect spot to explore and enjoy Austin. It had everything we needed...it was cozy, bright and a great home away from home! If we make it back to Austin, we'd love to call The Red House home again. We met Joel upon our arrival and he could not have been more welcoming!
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Oh my goodness…

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Perfection wrapped in a cute cottage surrounded by a beautiful, friendly city. I had never been in to Austin before and after this week it has come to the top of my favorites list. Your home is charming, the bed and the linens so comfortable, your furnishings mixing contemporary with the charm of the cottage… well, all I can keep thinking is the word perfection! Thank you for allowing this sweet space to be available.
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Oh my goodness…

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Perfection wrapped in a cute cottage surrounded by a beautiful, friendly city. I had never been in to Austin before and after this week it has come to the top of my favorites list. Your home is charming, the bed and the linens so comfortable, your furnishings mixing contemporary with the charm of the cottage… well, all I can keep thinking is the word perfection! Thank you for allowing this sweet space to be available.
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We LOVED the Red House!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
As an English artist who's the leading painter of country estates and gardens in Europe, this property really got my juices flowing!

We loved the way you've decorated. The interior and the exterior colors are such an inspiration. You've created the perfect atmosphere for a trip to Austin!
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
5

The Red House in SoCo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Thank you! We really enjoyed it. Having graduated from UT in the late 70's I have to say that you have captured the essence of the "true" spirit of the city in your wonderful red house. Rebecca and Riley
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
5

Beautiful place to stay and great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place has spoiled hotels for me forever - my home away from home! Beautiful! Perfect location. I would definitely recommend to friends and family that travel through Austin. I would love to come back most definitely. Thank you for this wonderful place and thanks for opening up to travelers. Love it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A wonderful place to stay during ACL

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
From our property guest book:

Thank you so much for a wonderful Austin City Limits weekend! The red house was a perfect retreat from the festival crowds. We love the place & really enjoyed sitting on the patio in the back yard. Next time we need a place to stay in Austin, we will call you. I only wish I knew about this home sooner!
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
5

Great Location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved the little red house… We loved Austin.. and we will be back! The little Red House and the whole neighborhood were so comfortable and inviting.
Thank you for all of your activity and food suggestions. We used them s a guide for the week and had a blast!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to it All! Adorably Hip Bungalow. Ideal SoCo Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235120
+1 (512) 348-8664
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Birthday Stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
From our property guest book:

Thank you so much for contributing to a wonderful 70th birthday celebration. My daughter and son-in-law planned this all & reserved your "red house".
Having grown up in an area of a lot of older homes, I am really impressed with what you have done with the home. I too own several vacation rentals and therefore really appreciate your attention to all the details.