Captain Cook house rental - Welcome to paradise! Enjoy panoramic views of the ocean and our property...
Welcome to paradise! Enjoy panoramic views of the ocean and our property...
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bed, 3 Bath (Sleeps 10), 180 degree ocean view, private infinite pool

APRIL AND MAY - 10% discount!

PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDAR for availability and review the posted rates for cost estimates. The calendar and rates are kept current and will speed up response time!

Set on the slopes of Mauna Loa in the heart of the coffee district of Captain Cook, our 3800 sq ft home rests on 5 acres of manicured avocado and coffee orchards at 1800 ft elevation and boasts a 180 degree view of the ocean. Five bedrooms (including 2 master suites with ocean views) and 3 bathrooms comfortably sleeping 10 adults. Gourmet kitchen, 3 big screen TVs, stereo sound system throughout the house, and pocket door open the entire house to the outdoors! A beautiful stone patio with an infinite swimming pool and hot tub, outdoor barbeque and seating, and gas-powered tiki torches give you the perfect place to enjoy the tropical sun and colorful sunsets!

Master Suite - the main master suite is the only room located on the second floor. Private lanai wraps the bedroom for 240 degree views of the ocean, pool, orchard and mountain slopes. The suite contains a luxurious king size bed, sitting area, wood burning fireplace and big screen TV. The bathroom is exquisite with double lavatories, custom cabinets, and double-head shower for two!

Second Master Suite - this room contains a king size bed, walk in closet, sitting area and 50' TV. It is decorated in a tropical surf theme and has completely retractable glass doors leading to the pool. Private bath with shower is attached.

Three additional bedrooms - one bedroom contains two twin beds and is decorated in an Asian/Moroccan theme. Absolutely wonderful! The other two bedrooms contain queen beds and boast muted palm tree decor and hawaiian-themed bedding. Two of these room share an attached bathroom with shower and tub.

Living Area - the living areas are wonderful with comfortable seating, another big screen TV, stereo system throughout the house and pool, retractable glass doors that lead out to the pool, Asian influenced decor, and dining room seating for 14.

Kitchen - fully-stocked gourmet kitchen is large enough for multiple cooks with stainless steel appliances including sub-zero refrigerator/freezer, Electrolux dishwasher, Jennair grill, oven, microwave, stove, trash compactor; filtered water, breakfast nook, and island with seating. Laundry room contains top-end LG washer and dryer.

Grounds - one mile up from Hwy 11 through lush tropical scenery (paved road completely accessible in any vehicle), the house is gated and completely private. The acreage is beautifully manicured and boasts over 60 avocado tress, dozens of coffee trees and various fruit trees and is surrounded by foliage of every kind. The house rests inside yet another gate and encloses 1/2 acre with a lava rock wall. The infinite pool and hot tub look out to the ocean and are completely surrounded by a patio perfect for entertaining, lounging about and enjoying the tropical sun!

Surrounding area - Captain Cook is a small town just 15 minutes south of Kailua-Kona. There is a grocery store and restaurants near by. A few minutes down the mountain is Kealekakua Bay (Captain Cook's monument) and some of the best snorkeling and kayaking in the world; Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park better known as the City of Refuge; and Volcano National Park is just 90 miles south.

Climate - Due to our higher elevation, Pu'u Mahana is a perfect temperature of 75-80 during the day and 65-75 at night. In the morning as the sun rises, a breeze comes down from the mountain and in the evening a refreshing breeze blows up from the sea. Every room has ceiling fan to keep the air circulating and comfortable all throughout the year! No A/C necessary but bring a light jacket for cooler evenings.

Capacity - The house will comfortably sleep 10 adults (2 king size beds, 2 queen size beds, and 2 twins).

Beach access - Pu'u Mahana is located on the mauka (mountain) side of the highway and is just 15 minutes from City of Refuge and Kealakekua Bay (amazing snorkeling). In Kona visit Magic Sands and Kahalu'u, a short 20 minute drive from our property. The most pristine golden sand beaches on the island are located north of the airport and take just 45 minutes; Hapuna State Park, Kua Bay and Kekaha.

Come and enjoy our home away from home. This is Pu'u Mahana, our place of refuge and peace. We extend Aloha to you and your ohana!

If you need more information feel free to call Jeni at (425)576-1408

Mahalo nui!

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We spent 2 years living in this beautiful home nestled in the slopes of Mauna Loa with our 3 kids. Business and education brought us back to the mainland recently but we have every intention of moving back to paradise some day soon. Enjoy our home in our absence! Aloha!

Jeni Herberger purchased this house in 2006

Kona has long been a favorite place of ours and when the opportunity presented itself for us to relocate, this was our first choice. We fell in love with the home, the land and the peace and beauty the property offers.

Our friends, guests and ohana tell us they don't want to leave the property once they arrive. Everything you could imagine is right there; a resort-style pool, acres of fruit trees, an open house with incredible decor! Simply ono!

19 Reviews of Property 211799 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 19 reviews
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
-
5

Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent a fabulous week at this lovely house in February, 2014. It was a perfect location and accommodations for 4 generations. There were ten of us, ages 4 to 84. Many things about the visit are memorable, but especially we found that the house offers a big group lots of spaces to be together, and also places to be alone. Large bedrooms and bathrooms distributed conveniently and each with some privacy. There were places to make puzzles together, play cards, eat shared meals, watch the Winter Olympics on big screens (several), and then outdoors to go swimming (luxurious pool!), and explore the surroundings amongst the avocado trees. The kitchen is spacious and modern so several people can work together on different things and come up with a wonderful spread.

An issue arose with the water supply, but vastly more important, we found that all it took was a quick phone call, and the owner leapt into action, and things were fixed. She has a well-established support crew that knows what to do when stuff happens.

This vacation house is conveniently located near some of the best ocean beaches on the Big Island, in the Captain Cook/City of Refuge area, and the owner’s detailed descriptions in the written information are very helpful. The house has enough altitude above the ocean that the view of the sky and sea is spectacular, and yet the temperatures/humidity are moderate 24/7.

When you visit this place, be sure to take the time to walk down to the main road and back at least once. Round trip it is about an hour’s walk, and if you take time to smell the flowers, and to take pictures of the plants, flowers, fruits, berries and animals along the way, you won’t soon forget it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Pasadena, CA
5

Incredible Home! One of the best vacation rentals on the island (if not THE best)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I've seen a decent chunk of the Hawaii, and this house is one of the nicer homes I've seen on any island, particularly Big Island.

Upon the drive up to the house, the road narrows and winds.
You turn onto the palmtree-lined driveway and ahead of you is this big, beautiful house. The house itself is a fenced complex within the larger avocado orchard (SO nice to be able to walk outside at any time and eat avocados)

There were only four of us on the trip, but I plan on going back with my entire family soon. The house is open, beautiful, clean, and the interior design was gorgeous (I am a designer).

Before we went on the trip, I was unsure of what to expect. The landlord was very helpful, the house sounded great, but when I read the other reviews I was a bit worried from what some people were saying. After staying at the house, I think I know why there are some bad reviews.
It seems other people had issues with the weather, not the house, so don't worry about this place if you want a fantastic Hawaiian experience. Sure, the clouds roll in during the afternoon, but every single morning was BEAUTIFUL. Around noon, clouds rolled in, and we trekked down to town to hang out on the beach. Then around dinner we went back up to the house, the clouds were usually all gone by then, and we were pleased to see a beautiful sunset. Every. Single. Night.

No utility problems (but I asked about it prior to renting. The landlord assured us she had people ready to help. We were staying in rural Kona, afterall, so I was just happy to hear there were plans if something broke. Not any different from a mechanic being on-hand at a hotel.)

I highly recommend this rental. Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Mercer Island Washington
5

Kona Jewel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved our stay. We were a bit skeptical upon first arriving and driving through the neighborhood above Captain Cook and through the trees, but upon first sight of the house we were hooked. My son's grin was a mile wide when he saw the pool and the orchards. We shared the home with another family and all tolled we had 4 boys between 7 and 12. They were in heaven with the pool and we were in heaven with two master suites. The home is tastefully decorated, well appointed, high end appliances and sound systems, and in good repair. The views are dynamic and breathtaking. We had some famous mountain rain storms and it was magnificent to watch the clouds come in and rain drive down, replaced shortly by gorgeous sun shine. We were visiting over Easter, so we had an Easter Egg hunt in the avocado orchard, followed by Easter Brunch by the poolside. Fresh squeezed lemonade from the tree behind the house, and fresh eggs with avocados and tomato. So memorable! We had friends with children come visit who were staying at the Four Seasons and entertained poolside while the kids swam in the infinity pool. Our guests were jealous of the space, privacy and ambiance that even the Four Seasons couldn't equal. We would go back in a heartbeat and only wished we had more than a week. It is a bit of a trek to a sandy beach, but you don't visit the Big Island for sandy beaches. We hiked on the volcano, spent an evening with a bottle of nice wine watching the glow of the lava in the crater. Unforgettable. This property is a gem. The house binder with directions on appliances, stereo and recommendations for local restaurants and sightseeing was very helpful and insightful. We have no complaints and only accolades for this wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Los Angeles
4

Paradise, plus and minus

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
It's a slight but actually charming chore to get to the house via a narrow and winding gravel road. The house per se is accurately described and quite wonderful. The pictures and listing do not exaggerate re. appearance and amenities: we found it both clean and lovely. We did have one quite annoying problem with maintenance (a dishwasher that did NOT work the whole time we were there, requiring repair with parts presumably from another island or the mainland that did not arrive in time for us). Other problems were minor but the house could use some additional tender loving inspection and care (door handles, window shades and handles, etc.). We left a more detailed note for the owner who always was cordial and generally responsive, although sometimes a bit hard to reach. The unfenced pool was not a problem, but did require apt caution for the 2+ year old. On the whole staying there was a quite good experience. We also felt quite appreciative when when the owner sent us a small refund as a nice gesture because of the malfunctioning dishwasher. The provisions of the contract were such that she didn't need to do that but it was both thoughtful and certainly good business on her part. Of course the Big Island itself is very special with lots to see, do, and enjoy... To sum up: we 6 adults (plus a 2+ year old baby) would readily recommend this property to relatives and others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The one mile road to the house leaves the highway going through a residential area for about ½ mile. It then veers off into the more rural coffee district. It becomes one lane but is paved the entire way to the gated entry of the house. You will feel as if you are in a rain forest with beautiful flora and fauna (watch out for chickens) on every side. There are no streetlights so getting up there for the very first time at night is indeed an adventure! Be assured 4-wheel drive is not necessary to reach the house.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
2

Nice home but there were many issues

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Overall this is a very nice property. Having said that I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to any friends or family.

First the good points. Pu'u Mahana is a beautiful home in the rural town of Captain Cook. The home was spacious decorated beautifully. Most of the living areas had built in speakers from the main stereo system. Outisde there is a lovely infinity pool with ample seating around it. There are 5 bedrooms in the property but 2 of them are only accessible by going outside. This worked well for us as it gave some of our party a bit of privacy but wouldn't work well if you have a large number of young kids.

Now to the negatives. We stayed for 10 days in June (summer) and saw very little sun at the property. When we travelled down to the waters edge (beach) it was warm and sunny. The town of Captain Cooks is at approx. 1800ft elevation and the temperature is significantly cooler. Because of this it was too cold to sit outside in the evenings nor was it warm enough to swim in the beautiful pool. We spoke with several locals who indicated this was normal, so keep this in mind. Another plus is the awesome pizza place in Captain Cook (Pats Pies aka Paparoni's).

The property had many issues. Each one was minor but when constantly being bombarded with them it became frustrating. We were constantly in touch with the owners dealing with some malfunction and while they were responsive, very few of the issues were fixed.

Examples:
1. Electronics gates would not auto open and required us to scale the fence several times.
2. Spa was stuck in OFF and could not be used. (when the pool guy came to maintain the pool he did fix it for us, only to have it get stuck again a few days)
3. wifi was not correctly configured and could only be accessed in the kitchen
4. The temp in the fridge kept changing to high and we threw food out when it spoilt
5. ants in one of the beds
6. Trash was not collected during our 10 days and began to smell
7. At the end of our stay we realized the front door lock was not working and we had had no security during our stay

As you can see, none of these are huge but combined they did not make for a pleasant stay. We found ourselves not wanting to spend much time in the home.

To add insult to injury we did not get our deposit back until 6.5 weeks after our stay as opposed to the 21 days.

With better maintenance and housekeeping this property could be a nice rental. Although there is still the weather to consider.
Owner's Response: With one of the nicest properties in the Kona area, we seldom hear negatives. We take every request very seriously from our guests and do the very best we can to insure everything is in working order. Unfortunately, things do break, bugs do exist in the tropics (particularly if any food, diapers or even toothpaste is left out), user error happens when it comes to WiFi and the automatic door lock system. We have the inside and outside sprayed for bugs 6 times per year, the pool is maintained each week, as are the grounds. The refrigerator is top of the line and less than a year old but the doors do need to be kept closed or it is over-worked and the temperature changes. Security deposits are returned in a timely manner although the mail is not always as dependable as one would hope. As far as the weather, well, Mother Nature is in charge of that one. The temperature almost never drops below 68 nor gets higher than 85. Its perfect up on the mountain! Often we do see clouds come in from the mountain top in the late afternoon but fortunately it is always sunny down at the beach just a short drive away. To all of our guests we hope for the best vacation possible and welcome compliments as well as complaints.
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Colorado Springs, Co
5

A Really Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
If you are lookig to really enjoy Hawaii then this is the house to do it in!

It is private, relaxing and imagine enjoying sunesets each night by the pool and each morning waking to an avairy setting.

Jeni is great to work with and this setting does not disappoint!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Gary,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! The sunsets and serene environment make it so relaxing. I, too, love the symphony of birds each morning as the sun rises over Mauna Loa!

Blessings to you and your ohana!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Family Vacation in October 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a fantastic property! I grew up in HI and was thrilled to be able to spend a week with family there. Six adults + 2 children <5yo with more than enough room to roam about. Enjoyed the pool and walking through the garden. One nice thing about being at this elevation is that it is noticeably cooler than at sea level (e.g. beachfront hotel). I've forgotten how humid it can be, particularly in September/October and the cool trade winds were a nice reprieve. Definitely recommended.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Romeoville, Illinois
5

A Peaceful and Tranquil Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed in this beautiful home from June 11 -18, 2011. It was a christmas gift to our grown children, and their significant others. There was a total of 10 adults there, and never once did we feel crowded, or out of space. The large and well equipped kitchen had everything we needed to take turns daily preparing a family meal, and coming together to share all our experiences on this beautiful island. It was not even necessary to leave the property to experience all the beauty and peacefulness of this island. The pool and hot tub were AMAZING!! The views were beautiful!! And the avocados growing everywhere on the property were THE BEST!! We did not want to leave. We would recommend this house to any size family! It was a week we will never forget! Thank-you for sharing it with us Jeni!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Juneau, Alaska/Santa Monica, California
5

A week in Eden.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Our stay was like a dream. We'd rented a car to explore the island and, though we did somewhat, we never wanted to leave the compound. It was everything we'd expected and more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous coffee district jewel! Oceanview, 5 acres of avocados, private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211799vb
+1 (425) 576-1408 (Washington, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
West Bath, Maine
5

Discovering Our Beautiful Villa, Swimming Pool & Fruit Trees in Paradise!

Discovering Our Beautiful Villa, Swimming Pool &amp; Fruit Trees in Paradise!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My family of 10 spent 10 wonderful days used this beautiful home as our base as we discovered paradise!!! Two grandchildren learned to swim in the kidney shaped pool! Our 10 year old taught our 9 year old cousin how to do standing dives. Our teen ager flirted with the local boys! Parents relaxed, collected avocados, fruits on the property, visited farmer's markets & cooked using the well equipped kitchen. We went to the beaches, restaurants and historical sites. And I, a 69 year old mother and grandmother, loved seeing/feeling our family enjoying being in paradise together!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4