Ferryville house rental - The Master bedroom at Sugar Mountain Home.
The Master bedroom at Sugar Mountain Home.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ferryville House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This 2000 square feet log home features a quarter mile of first class trout stream, a town road with only two other residents and acres of solitude. Wildlife abounds. There are acres of yard and an organic garden you can raid any time you like. Minutes from a Christian day camp, there is lots for kids to do, including horseback riding. Or you can just relax. We do both.

Sugar Mountain Home has a spacious kitchen outfitted for cooking with friends. We keep a complete set of utensils and dishes enough to serve a gang. For those special evenings there are champagne flutes to help create an intimate setting for two. There are wood-burning fireplaces on both floors, so the home is always cozy. The master bedroom, with a magnificent view to the West, has a gas fireplace as well. We use Sugar Mountain Home as a family retreat. We hope you will too. Please take a few minutes to read some of our past visitors comments on our home's website sugarmtnhome. Welcome to Sugar Mountain Home.

Keywords: Spring special, Log Home, Trout fishing, getaway, stream, fall colors, cabin, log cabin, hunting, autumn, driftless area, driftless, fly fishing, Mississippi river, River, river town, Wisconsin

More Details
Hide Details

Nick, Margaret and our children enjoy having fun on the water, both in Sugar Creek (here's a picture of me leaning up against the spillway where Chellevold crosses the creek) and on the Mississippi. We've been hosting friends and visitors at Sugar Mountain Home for years. We love to garden so there's always something fresh and organic to sample out back.

Come and see us!

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

We bought Sugar Mountain Home because Margaret was working in Prairie du Chien and Nick was in La Crosse. Ferryville is halfway and a very nice, quiet, beautiful place to be. In 2005 we adopted our children and realized after of a year of commuting to school that we were just to far out in the country so we've moved to get the kids closer to school. We've kept Sugar Mountain Home because all of us enjoy it so much and we know you will too.

Sugar Mountain Home is peaceful and has a great kitchen. Its quiet and beautiful.

7 Reviews of Property 120659 in Ferryville, Wisconsin

Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
St. Louis
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Huge yard. Lots of boardgames and a telescope. No mosquitos or chiggers! Spacious. Gas grill and large picnic table on deck. Can fish from side yard. Short walk down road to bridge, then walk through a few weeds and a cow field is along the river for at least a half mile which makes for easy walking as you fish.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Walking upstream can be just as rewarding. There are more weeds and no cows, but there is an Indian mound, one of several in the area. Sugar Mountain Home is a great place to stay, and a great place to launch an exploration of the beautiful upper Mississippi valley and its surroundings.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
Chicago
5

Fourth of July Fun in Ferryville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My group of friends wanted to get out of Chicago for the holiday weekend and this was the perfect spot to get away! Margaret and Nick were extremely thoughtful and helpful hosts and made sure to answer all of our questions while also making themselves available throughout our stay as things came up. The house was beautiful, perfectly located in a valley of rolling hills with friendly neighbors. Driving through the country provided breathtaking view after breathtaking view - we stopped various times to photograph the sites. We also had so many activities available for us: grilling, making s'mores, going to visit the Mississippi River, watching the sunset, enjoying the views, enjoying the sauna, and ample board games. The interior was very comfortable and matched the picturesque exterior, we especially loved the Parisian sketches in the master bath. Of the six of us and three wireless providers, we did not have any cell phone reception, but it added to us being able to unplug and get away from it all.

If you're looking for a spot to enjoy your friends and family, while relaxing and getting in touch with nature - this is the place to do it! I recommend this spot to anyone who's looking for a true vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
North Carolina
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This year was our fourth or fifth time staying at Sugar Mt. and hope we can do the same again next year. It's a nice quiet place to relax or fish and near enough to many places worth visiting. This time we had a longer stay and we were able to visit the many beautiful places nearby in Wisconsin and Iowa. The house is comfortable with (LOTS) or reading material and the large deck provides a place to relax and read during the day or to star gaze at night. The owners Nick and Margaret are wonderful to work with and share the produce and flowers from their large garden. Trout fishing was good (and we did catch and relase so there is some left for the ones who come after us). Places that are worth visiting - especially in the fall - Pike's Peak State Park near McGregor, Iowa and also the town, Marquette and Lansing, Iowa (you must visit Horse Falls - a store in Lansing). Love the small towns. On the Wisconsin side of the river - Prairie du Chein and in LaCrosse, Myrick Park trail (biking, walking, etc.) and Grandad Bluff. I would recommend a calling card - the cell phone service is almost nil. You will love the place! Thanks again to Nick and Margaret for providing us a nice place to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
NY
5

Great get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We took my nephews here for a small fishing trip and it was great. Location is beautiful....lots of trees, great place to have a fire pit and so'mores outside under the stars, wonderful garden on the property to pick veggies to have with dinner, deck to picnic on, have a glass of wine, or just relax with a nice book, and near a stream and Mississippi river for fishing...just what we needed for a nice getaway! We were even able to rent a pontoon boat nearby for a wonderful afternoon on the Mississippi. The house was wonderful...fireplaces, great huge kitchen and living room, plenty of bathrooms, and lots of room to spread out. House is on two levels, with main bedroom on first floor and other bedrooms downstairs. Everything was very clean, well-kept, and well-stocked. Everything was there we needed. Internet and cell phone access can be spotty in the area, but owners provide a land line phone to use as needed. Owners were very helpful, friendly, and answered all our questions and were great to deal with. We'd definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
5

Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If your goal is relaxing, enjoying time outdoors, and building a lasting legacy with your closet friends or family, this is the place.

I was a first time user of Homeaway. After narrowing my search I decided to contact the property owner. They were exceptionally kind and answered my questions on the property, location and area activities. After booking, we were so excited to enjoy our time in the country. In arriving to the property, it’s clear home much love and attention is put into this home. It feels so warm and welcoming – our family immediately settled in and starting relaxing.

The home is beautifully constructed with exposed logs and vaulted ceilings. And the kitchen…whether experienced or novice, any cook will love all the amenities and accessories. The property is equally as wonderful as the home and combines open space with wooded landscape, and a bubbling trout stream. I can confidently say it feels like a little slice of heaven!

Thank you! This was just what our family needed. Our kids were outside every day, exploring the property and enjoying the stream. My wife and I loved the Adirondack chairs and were able to get caught up on some reading. We are all so excited to come back in October and can’t wait to make this an annual trip every summer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
Naperville IL
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My wife and I and another couple visited during the height of fall color. The home was wonderful with great room/kitchen combo that was exactly what we would want in our own home. We had a wonderful time. The owners could not have been more helpful. We'd go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sugar Mountain Home Spring Trout Fishing Special
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120659vb
(608) 784-3292
Ferryville Southern Wisconsin
St. Louis
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Huge yard. Lots of boardgames and a telescope. No mosquitos or chiggers! Spacious. Gas grill and large picnic table on deck. Can fish from side yard. Short walk down road to bridge, then walk through a few weeds and a cow field is along the river for at least a half mile which makes for easy walking as you fish.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2