Lake Lure cabin rental - Redbird Retreat - secluded, with creek & waterfall
Redbird Retreat - secluded, with creek & waterfall
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Lure Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 13

Treat yourself to our secluded cabin (built in 2008)-no other homes are visible- with 3 Master bedrooms & 3 full bathrooms, boasting a private creek and Waterfall. Relax on one of the 2 large wrap around Decks in the Hot tub or floating bed. The Pet-Friendly cabin is perfect for small, large or multiple families or groups. Each floor has its own master bedroom and full bath.

Main floor has a master bedroom (king bed), full bath, kitchen, dining room and living room with 32' LCD TV with HDTV Satellite and DVD and Laundry room.

Second floor has a master bedroom (king bed), private access to bath, and Loft set up bunk house style with 4 twin beds + chair bed, TV & VCR.

Lower Level has a Master Bedroom (KING bed), full bathroom and Game Room-with a Queen sized sleeper sofa, TV, DVD, Nintendo Game Cube, Air Hockey, and Foosball.

The community offers access to a Private Lake, river access with Swimming Hole, tubing, fishing, picnic pavilion and hiking.

Home Features and Amenities/ GUEST BOOK: Redbird Retreat is a newly built Cabin (2008) filled with everything you need for a relaxing vacation. The cabin is secluded--no other homes are visible from its property--and boasts a private creek and waterfall. There are 2 wrap-around decks that provide quiet places to read and just enjoy nature-you can do this from the 8 rocking chairs, hot tub or floating bed. You will appreciated the cabin's layout-plenty of space to spread out or come together. Each floor has its own bedroom and bath, everyone can find their own space. At the same time, several common areas will provide enough room to eat meals, watch movies, and play games together.

Outside, you will find a fire pit to enjoy in the evenings and roast marshmallows or hot dogs. There are 2 hiking trails for the kids to discover the private creek and waterfall. We provide rubber boots in a variety of sizes for splashing around.

EXCELLENT REVIEWS @ (cut/paste link): http://www.homeawayconnect.com/guestbook.cfm?pid=34038

Community & Area Features: Redbird Retreat, located in the Riverbend community, is a gated community providing lots of amenities for the family to find adventure. Featuring two private lakes with beach, swimming dock and picnic area, waterfall, and river. Plus, we are just down river from the dam, you can place a tube in the river & float within the community. The lake is stocked & ready for fishing (license required). The river is perfect for fishing & floating your cares away-especially if you catch the dam release.

Lake Lure is just 10 minutes away with gorgeous views. You will find a beach/water park with lifeguards on duty in season. Many water activities are available--you can rent a boat, take an evening cruise to view Lake Lure's natural beauty, water ski, tube or knee board. Golfing is available at nearby courses.

Hickory Nut Gorge Olympiad -August 27-30, 2009-Family-friendly event- 5-Mile Dam Run, regionally-ranked triathlon sprint, dragon boat races, volley ball tournament, shag dance.

Perfect for all types of vacations!: Pet Friendly - dogs of all sizes welcome.

Kid Friendly: Streams on the property to splash around, rubber boots provided for most sizes; hiking paths, water fall, fire pit to roast marshmallows; Neighborhood amenities include private lake, access to river for tubing, and picnic pavilion.

Perfect for Large Families or Family Reunions - lots of space to come together and have fun!

Planning a Wedding in the local area? Our house is less than 10 minutes from the Lake Lure Inn and Spa. Perfectly located to prepare for the Wedding, host rehearsal dinner, or spend your honeymoon together.

Nearby Golfing: Rumbling Bald Resort, Bald Mountain, The Cliffs, Apple Valley, Town of Lake Lure Municipal Golf, Bright's Creek Golf Club, Cleghorn Plantation Golf Club, Old Fort, Rutherford Golf Club, Black Mountain Golf, Orchard Trace Golf Club, Meadowbrook Golf, Tryon Country Club, Red Fox Country Club, Highland Lake Golf Club, Blue Ridge Country Club, Kenmure Country Club

More Details
Hide Details

72 Reviews of Property 234765 in Lake Lure, North Carolina

Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 72 reviews
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Orange Park, FL
5

Scrapbooking, Relaxation, adventure, so much fun!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
What a wonderful time we had! I'm a passionate scrapbooker and decided that some friends and I should escape to do a scrapbooking retreat. I found this wonderful home and fell in love with it! It had plenty of space for us to have our own rooms. A huge table for us to scrap and additional table top for all our supplies... When I saw the great game room below I thought my teen girls would probably love their own mini vacation with some of their friends. There was a total of 4 ladies and 4 teens. We hardly heard a peep from the kids! They were too busy hanging out below, in the hot tub and exploring the grounds with it's winding creek and mini waterfall... The community also has a lake and private rapids which made for some fabulous pictures that I can't wait to scrapbook! The wrap around porch with it's many rocking chairs was a peaceful outing to watch all the hummingbirds fly around it. The kids also enjoyed the fire pit that allowed us to build a pretty nice size fire.... the smores were yummy!! They even provide boots in different sizes to go and explore the creek so you would not get dirty or wet! On our way home we decided to visit Chimney Rock which was only 15min away... it was a sight to see. I can't wait to come back! The next time, it will be for more then 3nights!! :)

Thanks for everything!

Marcy, Andrea, Leila, Susan, Victoria, Travis, Tiffany and Keili from Orange Park Florida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

Better than imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The cabin was as described and even more fabulous than imagined. We had three couples, three children and two small dogs and still had plenty of room and never felt crowded. The waterfall, property, and cabin were so beautiful. The kitchen was fully stocked with the necessary items. The neighborhood was very safe and pretty remote without being too far from restaurants or Ingles. The welcome packet was very informative although it may need to be updated or maybe we missed the directions to the community lake. We just asked the security person at the gate and were directed. We enjoyed the lake, the paddle boat, and the provided tubes. I give this place five stars because I can't think of a single thing that would have made this location any better. Thanks again! Natalie & Family
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Ocala FL
4

Great house and property!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This house has everything for a large family with children. We had 10 people and we had enough kitchen items and towels. The game room was a lot of fun for little kids. 3 kinds of video game systems plus many games! Hot tub was like new-very clean! Fantastic fire pit! The king beds were all really comfortable! Bedrooms were great! This house has a lot to offer! The property is secluded yet easy to get to! Beautiful area! Sorry we had to leave!
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Columbus, OH
5

Great cabin for a large group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is lovely and has everything one could hope for in a cabin. It accommodated our multi-family group easily. We loved the sleeping arrangements (loft was great, so many beds!) The kids had their own tv and loved watching the VHS, even our 12 year old boys watched the Disney flicks!) The king-sized beds were very comfy. Loved the kitchen: good quality plates, cups, and silverware and plenty of it. The bathrooms were great, nice showers and lots of hot water. The hot tub is wonderful, we used it about 3 times and were happy to "shock" it after each use at the end of the day. The community was terrific with the lake and river, and grandparents spent many hours using the rockers on the porches and lake pavilion.

The few minor things that would improve the home: basement carpet is in bad shape--lots of snags and stains and just didn't feel "clean". My parents stayed down there for a few days (left on Thursday) and I felt bad that it was a little on the dingy side--mostly due to the carpet and old couches. (the downstairs bedroom had nice furniture though) Also, the house is in need of an overall "spring clean"-dusty corners, baseboards, mildew on the shower curtains and rods, and the deck around the grill is quite a mess. A few things that need some TLC that a weekly housekeeper can't do. Nothing that is a dealbreaker but I would have given it 4.5 stars for that if I could.

There are 5 tubes but 2 of them are little tire tubes for kids only (Not being large, I tried it but flipped right out!) and the 3rd larger one is flat and the air compressor didn't work--kept tripping the breaker it was plugged into. No big deal, didn't feel it was worth a phone call or a trip out to blow it up. Had a great time tubing in the river on the nature trail. Kids need life jackets!!

If you have a dog, bring a basin to wash paws. There is very little "lawn" and a lot of rocks/dirt--it is the side of mountain with streams and I had to wash paws every time we went out. It rained often=mud. We mostly walked along the road but it's still muddy. Beware of an inground hornets nest behind the songbird crossing sign where the poison ivy is--our dog got stung; lots of hornets there. Porches are nice b/c you can contain your pets.

Totally recommend Canopy Ridge Ziplining and Kayaking-we did both, with children. La Strada's is great (went twice), and Lake Lure Smokehouse was a good lunch. Chimney Rock worth a trip and dog friendly.

Fun area to visit, would recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Shelby, NC
5

Great cabin; very clean and spacious!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Cabin as described made for an excellent Mother's Day weekend. We loved the nature, creek and close by zip lines. Also, our kids loved bringing our 2 dogs. Thanks a bunch!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
WOW!! The pictures do not do the cabin justice. The house is perfect for a family vacation. The cabin was very clean & all of the beds where very comfortable. The owners supplied almost everything we needed for our stay. I think the only thing missing was food. LOL Both of our kids loved playing in the stream & making s'mores. My mother in law had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back. We will be staying at this cabin again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Huntersville, NC
5

Family Get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a great time and everything was as described on the website. The cabin was clean and spacious and close to a beautiful private lake and nature trails. The only issue we ran into was with the television in the lower level was not hooked up properly with the DVD and satellite cables and I could not get the loft TV to function right either. The volume on the TV in the upper bedroom didn't appear to work either (it was an order set). I know the purpose of the cabin is to get away from all of the electronics, but try to tell that to my kids. Otherwise we had a great time and couldn't recommend it more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback, we have replaced the TV in the upper bedroom and fixed all the wiring for the other TVs.
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

Can't wait to go back!!

Can't wait to go back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
WOW!! The pictures do not do the cabin justice. The house is perfect for a family vacation. The cabin was very clean & all of the beds where very comfortable. The owners supplied almost everything we needed for our stay. I think the only thing missing was food. LOL Both of our kids loved playing in the stream & making s'mores. My mother in law had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back. We will be staying at this cabin again.
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Charlotte, NC
5

Great weekend with Friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
What a great house!! We had 2 family (total of 10 people) and the configuration was excellent. 3 master bedrooms was perfect for the parents and a couple of teens. The yonger kids loved all the beds in the the loft and thought it was a treat to have a big sleep over. House was in a gret location, close to everything, and some nice hiking right out the back door. Lots to do for everyone....the house provided everything from spices, to rainboots, to cards and games (in addtion to the foosball and air hockey). We have stayed at many VBRO properties and this was very homey and welcoming. We were sad to leave and as we left, all agreed we would stay here again on our next trip to Lake Lure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cabin*3 Master Bedrooms*Hot Tub*WiFi*Game Room*Book Now For Summer
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234765
+1 678 575-0404
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Woodbridge, VA
5

Cozy Christmas Cabin Extraordinaire

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Delightful from the moment we glimpsed the festive Christmas lights from the road! Truly felt like home from the moment we walked in the door, and our yellow lab/shepherd mix felt exactly the same. Enjoyed staying in as much as (if not more than!) exploring nearby Chimney Rock and Asheville (wonderful sites, friendly folks all around!).

The owners have thought of everything to keep on hand - pyrex, snowflake dinnerware for the season, and (most importantly) wine glasses!

Thank you, Redbird! We hope to see you again someday!

-The Farleys
Helpful votes: 2/2