Lake Burton cottage rental - Welcome to The House by the Side of the Lake!
Welcome to The House by the Side of the Lake!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Lake Burton Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

You’ll fall in love with our quaint and charming lakeside cottage located on Lake Burton’s beautiful Timpson Cove. This lovingly renovated home on the water's edge features a two story, two bedroom, two bath floor plan with spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

Enjoy the inviting great room’s native stone wood-burning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, and dining area for six. The cozy main level bedroom features one double bed with a connecting full bath. Downstairs, a large second bedroom includes one queen bed, a set of twin bunk beds, and a full bath.

Bead board pine tongue and groove walls and hardwood floors lend a warm, rustic elegance to the cottage. Amenities include central A/C and heat, ceiling fans, satellite TV, wireless internet, DVD and CD players, dishwasher, microwave, washer, dryer and charcoal grill.

As the day dawns, awake to the beauty of the mist rising off the lake as Charlie Mountain watches over from above. Sip a morning cup of coffee on the covered lower deck, or settle into a comfy Adirondack glider on the open upper deck.

When you’re ready to play on the lake, there's much to do! Your private dock and boathouse enticingly await in front of the cottage. Bring your own boat or rent one from nearby marinas. Ski, swim and splash in refreshing mountain waters. Cast a fishing line and catch your supper. Soak up some rays. Celebrate a sunset.

And, if you can ever tear yourself away from the lake, more adventures abound! Hike along the Appalachian, slip down Sliding Rock, explore beautiful state parks, go white-water rafting, enjoy shopping and antiquing, play a round of golf, or sample the delicious flavors of area restaurants.

Then, as twilight falls upon the Blue Ridge, be dazzled by the night sky. Fall asleep to the sounds of the mountains.

Come enjoy the simple pleasures of our House by the Side of the Lake. You may never want to leave!

Keywords: Mountain Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Sisters Charlotte and Martha Miller have been coming to Lake Burton since the late 1960's. As children, we fell in love with the lake on our first visit to the cabin of a dear family friend. It wasn't long before our parents found a lake home to call our own! Through the years, many happy memories have been created here with family and friends. And, with the family's very precious addition of Charlotte's daughter, Lily, a new generation of Millers is lovin' the lake! Spending time here is truly a cherished tradition and we invite you to come begin your own memories!

Charlotte and Martha Miller purchased this cottage in 1970

Waking up to the reflection of Charlie Mountain as morning mist rises off the lake, boating amidst the beauty of the Blue Ridge, sitting on the deck as dusk falls and the stars start to twinkle, and being in the most beautiful, peaceful place we know.

16 Reviews of Property 202159 in Lake Burton, Georgia

Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 16 reviews
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

We love this cottage!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a relaxing week here in late August. If you have any stress in your life (and who doesn't?), it will MELT AWAY here!! Everything about this place is wonderful - the beautiful lake/mountain view, the decor in the cottage, the two decks, the hammock, the canoe, proximity to Anchorage Marina for boat rental, swimming in the cool refreshing lake, hummingbirds and butterflies. The cottage is very clean and well equipped and had everything we could have wanted for our vacation. It was even better than it looked on this website. The owners have done a great job setting it up for a stress-free vacation. It's such a peaceful and lovely place, it was hard to leave!

We had never been to this part of N. GA before, so we took side trips to Black Rock Mountain State Park, Dillard House, and Tallulah Gorge. All were awesome & within a reasonable drive. Clayton is about 15 minutes away - there are shops and restaurants, and the Clayton Pharmacy has an old-fashioned soda fountain. The BBQ at the Lake Burton Grocery (5 minute away) is very good. But you may not want to leave the cottage once you get there, so stock up on groceries at the large Ingles supermarket in Clayton and the kitchen has everything you need to fix your own meals to enjoy on the deck. We can hardly wait to return here next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta
4

Nice Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Overall rating would have been excellent except for some temporary problems involving a plumber. Problem was fixed, and our stay was excellent thereafter. Owners gave us a credit for our trouble, which was very fair.

This was the best supplied rental (towels, kitchen utensils, kitchen supplies, etc.) I've ever had. And the cleanest. Going back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lake cottage! We truly apologize for the unexpected plumbing issue and strived to make certain it was promptly resolved, since it is very important to us that our guests experience a stress-free vacation. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

Anniversary Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Absolutely charming, enchanting, quiet, beautiful, and feels like worlds away from the hustle and bustle. Directly on Lake Burton - - you can even hear the water lapping at the dock if you sleep on the downstairs level with the window open. An ample private deck, along with a canoe, make it a perfect spot in the summer (although we went in October, we canoed and enjoyed sunning on the dock).
The well-placed outdoor stair lights were just enough to guide our way at night to the deck and dock. And if you haven't seen a truly dark, night sky - then you can expect a heavenly treat. It was nice to discover extra toilet paper, toiletries, kitchen supplies like sandwich bags, hair dryers, etc. which we normally do not see in the beach home(s) we rent - it is usually bring your own "everything". This is a happy, peaceful place with fond memories everywhere you turn. If you are adventurous, Highland, NC is very close by with antiques, shops, and cafes. However, the town of Clayton (5 mins) has ample restaurants + shopping if you feel the need to step out. A truly beautiful location and the extreme hospitality of the owners make this rental a 5-star. Looking forward to going back in the summer. Thank you so much for opening and sharing your home to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had an excellent stay! I am hoping for us to return for a few days before autumn. The house is all that a lake house should be...a little rustic, timeless, and completely comfortable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We all had a great time and we understand why your family has such feelings for this place. Hopefully we can return next year. Our 3 year old granddaughter did not want to leave! Again, a wonderful place that felt like home the minute we walked in.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Carrollton, Ga, USA
5

Beautiful Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We spent our 50th wedding anniversary and husband's birthday at this lovely home by the side of the lake. It could not have been more perfect...more than we expected from the internet ad and pictures. We especially enjoyed the "community cupboard" containing necessary kitchen/cooking items easily forgotten when traveling (coffee filters, salt, pepper, oil, etc.), since we chose to eat all but one meal in the cozy kitchen/dining area. The home is a treasure trove of collectibles, but does not lack any of the modern conveniences. It is well maintained and comfortable, and the permanent neighbors we met were super friendly and informative about the area. We highly recommend this cottage and certainly will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Charlotte, Thanks for the prompt refund of our deposit. We had a great time with our kids and grandkids. Your house was the best rental experience that we have had. What a beautiful setting and home! We enjoyed meeting you and your daughter and hope to see you again when you are here at the lake.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

We'll be back!!!

We'll be back!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had an amazing time at the House By The Side of the Lake. The house is the perfect size for our family and has everything we could possibly need to be comfortable and content, including the neighbor's lovable white lab Buddy, who was not shy about joining us on the deck for breakfast, lunch or dinner. My daughter fell in love with him!! My husband and I were able to turn off the cell phones, email, computers, etc and just unwind. Thanks so much to the Millers for allowing us to create wonderful new memories in your lake home. We can't wait to get back!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
South Carolina
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
OH MY GOODNESS....HOW CAN I BEGIN TO DESCRIBE THIS PERFECT COTTAGE. IT IS SO QUAINT AND HAS THE SWEETEST DETAILS. YOU WILL TRUELY FEEL LIKE YOU ARE IN A "HOME" WHERE MANY LAKE MEMORIES HAVE BEEN MADE. WE LOVED BEING SO CLOSE TO THE WATER AND DID I MENTION NAPS IN THE HAMMOCK. THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR CHILDHOOD HOME WITH US. STAY WITH CHARLOTTE AND MARTHA AND WE PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. WE CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN TO THIS LITTLE PEACE OF HEAVEN. BLESSES TO YOU BOTH!
JACKIE AND TRACY LEMONS
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summertime's Calling at The House by the Side of the Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202159vb
(239) 691-1610 (Florida, USA)
Lake Burton North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our family had an amazing stay in The House by the Side of the Lake. It is a great house on the best cove on Lake Burton. Great owners. We look forward to going back again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1