Grand Bend house rental - Beautiful sandy beach
Beautiful sandy beach
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Grand Bend House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

ONLY AUG 29 WEEK LEFT IN THE SUMMER - . PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDAR FOR AVAILABILITY IN THE FALL.

ONLY FULL WEEK BOOKING IN THE SUMMER COMMENCING ON FRIDAY.

Located on prestigious Lake Huron, our luxury waterfront vacation house features hundreds of feet of sandy beach and swimming in beautiful clear water. Some areas may have a few rocks/pebbles depending on what the weather brings in but these only add to the beauty of the beach. Come and experience the spectacular Lake Huron sunsets.

Sun worshipper or shade lover you will find them here.

Relax on the large deck, 2 patios or 2 balconies while watching the sun set over the lake. Enjoy each others company or dance and sing around the firepit.

This beach house is fully air conditioned and heated during the winter.

With 4 bedrooms and a much needed 3rd bathroom, you can enjoy the kind of magnificent space and layout that makes for a fabulous vacation that offers privacy to each person. The bedrooms have been comfortably designed to be away from the main activity areas. It's easy for anyone in the group to get away to relax or read when they want to, turn in before the rest of the group in the evening or to sleep late in the morning.

Beds are as follows:

Master Bedroom - 2 Queen size beds and 1 double Futon, ensuite bathroom, gas fireplace, balcony and beautiful view of lake.

Bedroom 2 - double bed

Bedroom 3 - double bed

Bedroom 4 - double bed

2 additional bathrooms located near Bedroom 2, 3 and 4

Double Sofa bed and movable single bed

Our kitchen is fully loaded with all appliances and service for 12. A separate dining area is surrounded by a superb view of Lake Huron. This is the perfect spot to entertain, and features an expandable table with seating for 12. Enjoy the beauty of this magnificent part of the world, while having a meal.

Our family room features a wood fireplace and a beautiful view of the lake. There is a TV, DVD/CD player and VCR, a small library and also a few board games.

Our games area features a convertible pool table, table tennis and air hockey tables suitable for young children.

The front of the property is enclosed by a treed fence and offers a wonderful secure playing area for children and also has a badminton/volleyball net. This area has a small patio and offers an alternative on windy days. The beach is easily accessible via the field next to our property that gently slopes down to only 30 steps. There is a small deck at the top of the stairs. Note that the steps provide a good barrier to the lake for younger children.

We are conveniently located in the St Joseph's community, a few minutes drive between Grand Bend and Bayfield.

Sun, rain or snow, there is always something to do. Enjoy the golfing, restaurants, antique shops, drag racing, nightlife, marinas and lots more fun at these popular summer vacation destinations or just stay at our beach house and enjoy the privacy.

Only full week bookings (Fri - Fri) in the Summer. Weekend/short stay bookings during the rest of the year.

We are proud to retain most of our annual renters. Please contact us if you have any other questions as we cannot detail everything in this description.

Thank You

Keywords: Waterfront , Beach, Cottage, Lakefront, all amenities

More Details
Hide Details

We are the owners and take great pride in our vacation home. We have had over 15 years of family reunions in this area .. . priceless wonderful memories which we build on each year.

This is our dream house on a beautiful sandy beach and lots of activities/attractions easily accessible all year round. As we relax by the lake, we find ourselves transported to a world far away from the stress of everyday life, especially when we experience the spectacular Lake Huron sunsets. The view from our property was highlighted in the Ontario West Coast feature in the Globe and Mail on May 17, 2012.

We enjoy relaxing at the beach house or just having fun on the beach. We take long walks on the beach early evening and the lakebreeze is exhilarating. Sometimes, we just laze around and relax and enjoy each others company around the firepit.

12 Reviews of Property 233724 in Grand Bend, Ontario

Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
5

Beautiful Sunsets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We cant wait to go back again next year. This cottage is fantastic, we traveled with a group of friends and there is nothing more than you can ask for. The cottage is very well equipped with anything you might need and large enough for our group of 8 to wonder easily throughout without banging into one another. The beds were comfortable, more than enough blankets and pillows for everyone, the kitchen had everything your kitchen at home would have. Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful home with us we all are looking forward to returning next year.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and we would love to rent to you again. You were a great group and took great care of our beach house.
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Birmingham, MI
5

Great cottage rental near Grand Bend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful week with our 2 families (four adults and four kids) in this cottage near Grand Bend. The cottage was clean and well taken care of. The kitchen was large and functional. There were multiple decks which overlooked Lake Huron. The kids had a great time with a number of the games in the garage (Foosball, Air Hockey) and the basketball net outside. The family room was a bit musty - but we didn't spend too much time there. The master bedroom was large and had 2 Queen beds (and another convertible bed). The other 3 rooms had double beds. The mattresses were all very comfortable.

Lake Huron and the beach were beautiful. There was a nice deck at the bottom of the stairs near the beach (shared with neighbors but mostly available). There are some rocks in the water - but there is a nice sandbar further down the beach. Overall, we had a great time and we were also lucky to have wonderful weather.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a wonderful time. We hope to rent to you again.

We will definitely look into and resolve the musty family room issue. ( has not been mentioned before as perhaps the windows/doors were kept open)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
London Ontario Canada
5

Great Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We held our annual girls weekend getaway at this cottage (more like a home!). Everything was exactly as described, very clean and comfortable. The deck off the kitchen was a great spot to have our morning coffee and watch the wildlife!
The beach area is large enough to play all your beach games. The terraine into the water is rocky (large rocks) so bring your water shoes and you'll have no problem.
The neighbours were very friendly and made us feel like the "quiet" ones for a change!
Thanks again for a great weekend away!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Oakland County, Michigan
5

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented this cottage for a group of five couples. The cottage was very, very clean and equipped with all the ammenties we could ever need ( dishes, glasses, pots and pans, gas grill, beach chairs,etc.) Although we didn't bring any children it was extremely well equipped for babies (baby dishes, high chair, gate) and for kids (garage with toys to play in on rainy days, beach toys, games) I would love to bring my grandchildren here for a week! The view was wonderful and the beach was sandy. The nearby town of Bayfield was quaint and had some nice shops and restaurants. I would definately rent it again, we had a wonderful time!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Toronto, ON Canada
4

Great time at Beach House near Grand Bend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Actually deserves 4 1/2 stars. House was very clean and comfortable and big enough for our group of 10, including 4 kids. Large and well-equipped kitchen. Owners left lots of stuff in the kitchen for us to use. Property well-maintained with lots of areas for relaxing and playing in the front and back yards. The beach and lake were great, even with the rocks. Beach shoes a must. You could really walk for miles on the beach. Friendly neighbours who pointed out the less rocky areas. Lots of stuff around for the kids- toys, DVDs etc. Spectacular sunsets - true!! Grand Bend convenient for shopping, restaurants etc. Went cycling in the Provincial Park about 20 mins. away and noticed there are also hiking trails there. We all had a great time.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review. We enjoyed renting to your group with ranged from seniors to young babies. Our neighbours commented that you were very friendly and polite. These renters left our home very clean and we would definitely love to rent to you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Toronto
2

Just Ok

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The cottage was comfortable, the grounds very nice with a big front and backyard, and large beautiful trees. There is almost nothing to want for – the cottage and kitchen are very well equipped, and there are lots of things and games for the kids. There were some good aspects to the place but overall it wasn’t as convenient or comfortable as we expected and definitely not worth the high-price compared to others in the marketplace. We found the place quite dirty when we arrived, especially the bathrooms. The walk up from beach was more like a trek. As the owner mentions, there are about 30 steps to take to get to the beach but there is also a very steep hill that’s somewhat difficult to negotiate. Using the bbq is awkward because you have to walk through the house and garage to get to it – it’s frustrating if you forget anything and have to go back to the kitchen. There really should be a staircase from the upper deck (shown in the pictures) to the lower deck. Also, the photos and captions are a little misleading. The view was great but you can’t see it from the cottage because of the trees and bushes at the top of the hill. Lastly, the beach (and it's not private) and water are beautiful but with ATVs continuously passing by, it's a little annoying (and frightening if you have kids).
Owner's Response: This is definitely one of our worst rental groups ever who considered themselves young, seasoned and professional renters with older children. We do not want to rent to such a disfunctional immature group again who believe they can do whatever they want with a threat of a review, irrespective of a contract they sign. Our neighbours also had a lot of negative comments about this group which has never happened before.

In our defence, we have never had a house cleanliness issue. These renters arrived earlier than their contracted time and did not allow the cleaner to do her job. They even stated that the house was just fine. Renter than left the house in an unclean state, with fecal matter in the bathrooms. Renters also went against the contract by having additional guests and their negligence caused major damage to outdoor furniture.

We have had very senior renters (and most lane residents are seniors) with very severe illnesses from severe arthritis, heart conditions and cancer who use this common access path/stairs to the beach on a daily basis with no complaint. However, one has to assess their own fitness levels ... and I do not know what to say if walking approx 20 ft to the main deck where a BBQ is normally kept is considered tedious.

The beach in front of our house is private as it is for each of our neighbours. Lane residents have a common pathway (next to our property) for access to the beach. We do not however stop lane residents or vacationers from walking along the beach front as we also like to take long walks on the beach and feel free to use any part of the beach. This is part of country living and sharing.

Sometimes, there are ATV's further along the beach these are supposed to travel along the water-line. We have young toddlers who use the beach frequently and have not had any issues with these.

Future renters, please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Thank You
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Waterloo, ON
4

August 2011 renters

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Great place if 30 steps down to the beach does not bother you. (With very young children not convenient.) The yards are wonderful. Lots of shade in back yard with big trees and beautiful breeze from lake. If too windy front yard is nice to hangout as well. The house was spacious multiple level house. Well stocked kitchen for cooking with the pots and pans and kitchen gadgets. Nice tv room too. Will rent again when children are older. Nice and helpful owners.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review.

Your group was lovely and took great care of our property as though it was their own. Some of our rental groups have had very young children (under 2) and not had issues with the slope/stairs. However, some find it more difficult. We ask future renters to assess their individual capabilities and please ask us for more information before deciding to rent.
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
London On
5

Great family cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We LOVED IT! what a great cottage. All up to date and clean. Great for families. They had alot of the things we needed for our kids. Saved us from bring stuff. High chair, exersaucer baby gates etc. Great lot for playing and the beach was clean. A little rocky at times but just need a pair of water shoes. The soft sand was nice instead of the pebble sand you find at beaches. Overall great place, well maintained.We WILL be back! Thank you :) Oh- the neighbors were great too. VERY friendly and welcoming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Burlington
4

Good for large groups

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Pros
-------
large cottage for groups > 10 ppl
all amenities desired
relatively clean
awesome large property with firepit (had a fire every night)
great neighbours that don't mind music after 11
absolutely beautiful private beach, alittle rocky but good spots to swim
close to grand bend (not walking distance though)
very private
great local farms
great if you have young kids(works for teens too)
toys, umbrellas etc all up there
42"+ LCD and cable/sat for the rainy never, didn't watch and hour of TV outside the whole time

cons
-------
spiders, everywhere....
the walk up the stairs from the beach (good daily exercise though)
only 1 recycling box, and one garbage can, makes garbage mgmt tough with a lot of people
disappointed in the air hockey, pool table and ping pong are actually an all in one mini table
air was a little musty at first
internet was not operational but weather was so nice we were never inside
master bedroom retreat never cools down, A/C was not working in master at all with portable A/C unit
alittle expensive

All in all a great experience and would go back, weather helped, hot and sunny.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Most cottages in the country have bugs/mosquitos /spiders outside and unfortunately we cannot control this although we make every effort to spray the outside each year.

There are only 30 steps to the beach and fortunately we have never had any complaints from the more senior members of our family or rental groups. Note that while we are not within walking distance of the main Public Grand Bend Beach, our beach is Private, Sandy and Beautiful and less than a minute walk as it is adjoined to our property, .

We take our renters comments very seriously and have already installed a new A/C in 2011. The A/C in the master bedroom is controlled separately and now working properly (someone had mistakenly switched on the timer for the old one) Note however that when one opens the windows on both sides of the bedroom, the wonderful lakebreeze completely eliminates the need to use the A/C.

Plug in internet service is always available, WIFI is dependent on weather conditions. We have also purchased more recycling boxes to help in garbage management.

Other members of your group have already requested a week next year and we hope they find their stay comfortable. Once again, thank you for taking care of our cottage and keeping it as clean as you found it and hope to see you again soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Beach House - Sandy Beach - Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233724vbi
Grand Bend Ontario
Hamilton
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family booked the beach house for a week long vacation in June 2010. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The kitchen, laundry and bath amenties were up to date and well maintained. We enjoyed daily walks on the beautiful sandy beach. The location was very peaceful and private and locals were very friendly. We've had a great week and were sorry to have to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2