Bar Harbor house rental - Acadia Village Walk Properties
Acadia Village Walk Properties
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 6

Located in town but just outside of all the hustle and bustle. We are within walking distance to hiking trails in Acadia National Park and all the downtown amenities. Our home offers 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths including a luxurious master suite with jacuzzi tub and custom walk-in double headed shower. The fenced in backyard with playground along with the back deck is perfect for that summer BBQ and outdoor activites. Or relax in a rocking chair on the front covered porch. In the evening take a stroll to town for an ice cream and some sightseeing along the shore path. Our location is perfect for all the things you want to do while in Bar Harbor.

Extra location details: We are located on a one-way street with residential houses all around. At the end of our street is a large ball field, small playground and tennis courts. We are also just steps away from our local YMCA. You can walk to all in town restaurants, shopping and free Island Explorer busses. The busses will take you anywhere (including your bike) in Acadia National park; hiking trails, beach, carriage roads, etc.

15 Reviews of Property 233709 in Bar Harbor, Maine

In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Jersey
5

Amazing time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures don't do this house justice. This was our 5th time in Bar Harbor, and this house was by far the nicest, most spacious house we have stayed in. Plenty of space for entertaining, which worked well with other family members staying in nearby homes. The home was well set up for small children with an entire cabinet devoted to plastic plates, cups and bowls and a great play set in the backyard, along with a few toys and games in the house. The location worked well for us. A few blocks further out of town, which meant nice and quiet, but still easily walkable to everything. And just a few short blocks to our favorite restaurant, Poor Boy's.
The kitchen was stocked with every spice you could think of, and plenty of pots and pans. The only issue was it took us a few minutes to figure out the surround sound TV in the living room!
We will absolutely try to stay at this house again when we come back to Bar Harbor.
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Location, convenience and comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Tapley Cottage is truly your home away from home. The owners take pride in providing every amenity possible to allow guests to simply "unpack" and then "play"!

The home is locate in a quiet residential area close to a small playground and park. Within a half mile you are in the " thick of things" amongst cruise ship passengers in shops or hop on the convenient buses and head into any of a hundred spots along the national park lands.

This was our second stay at Tapley, the first time nearly three years ago. Guests have been good stewards of this lovely home as evidenced by the excellent working order of appliances and condition of the furnishings.

Our first visit was in September, when cooler breezes are plentiful and a blanket on the bed is comfy. This visit was in July, and higher than normal temperatures made the home slightly uncomfortable during the hottest parts of the day. Owners provided ample fans to help keep air moving and we learned to take long, AC car rides to keep us cooled off!

The owners respond quickly to questions about local info or about how to operate things, when necessary. They are prompt in returning security deposits and are very much "customer oriented".

When guests arrive, the home is very clean and welcoming. The house is well maintained and organized. We appreciated them adding carpet to the stairs as they tended to be slippery in stocking feet...although we loved the wood floors "au natural"!

We love Bar Harbor - this was our eighth visit to the area, and we will be back again. We will plan early for our next visit to make sure that Tapley Cottage is available. Take our advice: don't hesitate to book this home NOW if you are even thinking of going to BH!
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect for our family of five

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved this home - it was as described and more. It was clean, comfortable, and a great location. We are a family of five adults. We were able to walk to town for our meals (Cafe This Way and McKay's Public House were two of our many favorites), sit on the front porch to read and relax, and go on hikes and come back to a lovely home. The owners are easy to work with and we would stay here again.
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Family Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our second year staying at the Tapley Cottage and I hope there are many more to follow. The house itself is spotless and comfortable - it includes a great fenced in backyard with a playset for children, a family room with plenty of comfortable seating for everyone, three bedrooms including a large master with a great soaking tub and double headed shower, a large office and a fully stocked gourmet kitchen with a large dining table. We cooked a few meals, but the house is so conveniently located to town that most nights we walked to town and ate out. The location was key for us because we liked the proximity to town, but the quiet side street made for an easy nights sleep for our little ones.

We felt completely at ease while vacationing here even though we were traveling with two small children. There were baby gates on the stairs, a portable crib, high chair, booster seat, toys, bed rails, potty seats and more all available to us. It made our travel and stay there amazingly easy. There were even maps, tour books, menu guides and tourist information all laid out to peruse.

Acadia National Park is a quick drive away, with such a large variety of hiking trails and activities for everyone. I can't say enough good things about this house and our experience in Bar Harbor and the surrounding area. I only hope it's a tradition we can keep up for years.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Tapley Cottage is AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our first vacation in the Bar Harbor area and our first use of Homeaway.com. Great overall experience! Tapley is an beautiful vacation home. Newer, open and airy. Liked that the 3 bedrooms were upstairs with laundry. Master Bath is beautiful..great shower! Lots of TVs. Location is perfect. Quiet neighborhood. Park the car in the driveway and walk into downtown Bar Harbor..so convenient. Close drive to Acadia Park entrances or take the free shuttle service! Every evening we walked to great restaurants including This Way Cafe, Side Street Cafe, shopping and ice cream parlors. Our teens had a blast rock climbing with Atlantic School of Rock Climbing (thanks Dane!) ! Tapley was SO CLEAN and had every amenity we needed! The owners even provided us with camp chairs upon our request as we were trying to cut down on items we had to travel with during our drive from PA. Great customer service, no hassles and an awesome location and home.Thank you for sharing your home with us Robin Sue and Wyman. Also, we went to Ellsworth Walmart to do our grocery shopping...maybe 30 minute drive, but had everything. Really, you can't go wrong with Tapley!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We highly recommend this house for those that want to ability to enjoy Acadia but have the creature comforts of a home. We are a family of 6 and this house easily accomodated our needs. The kitchen was well stocked and the beds/bedrooms were all very comfortable. The house is immaculate and very well kept. While our children are older, this home is suited to handle small children, has a fenced in backyard and is within walking distance to the YMCA and a park.

The images on the site are accurate but I might suggest the house looks nicer in person which is not always what I find as a frequent vacation home renter.

The house is ideally situated far enough from downtown to miss the noise of the busy streets but within easy walking distance. We slept with the windows open and had no distrubances during the night.

There is no doubt that if we come to Bar Harbor again we will be renting this house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Massachusetts
5

A Beautiful Home in an Ideal Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful stay at Tapley Cottage. The location is ideal...walk to everything in town and a short drive to Acadia. Being within walking distance to downtown makes it so much easier to enjoy what Bar Harbor has to offer...no driving around and around for a parking space and watching the clock to be sure you don't go over the posted time limit! The neighborhood was nice and quiet; despite the closeness of the houses, it still felt very private. The house itself is beautiful, modern, and most importantly extremely clean. The furniture in the living room was so comfortable...a great place to unwind at the end of a busy day and start planning the next. The master bed was very comfortable and the shower in the master bath a fantastic way to warm up and relax after a chilly hike through Acadia! The kitchen was well stocked and the various little extras throughout the house from menus/guides and trail books to cotton balls and Q-tips were much appreciated. We definitely would stay here again!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Marietta, GA
5

The Tapley Cottage is perfect! Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our family loves Bar Harbor and this was our third visit. We were in the house during an unusually warm weather week for Bar Harbor. The house was perfect for us - we had 5 adults and 2 young children (3 year old and 3 month old). The house provides an excellent location and is just a short walk from town. It is also in close proximity to plenty of restaurants. Every single thing in the house is brand spankin' new, the kitchen is huge, there is a great yard with playset out back, the front porch is relaxing, etc.

The pictures on the website don't really do this place justice. It sounds cliche but it's true. I only had two minor issues - the master bath may or may not be totally private (one of the windows has no curtain - just some tiny shutters on the bottom and an open window on top). It made us a little paranoid - like the neighbors would think we were exhibitionists (ha ha!). Truthfully, we just had to let it go as there's probably no way the neighbors could see in. The other issue is that the grill is very pretty to look at but did not totally work - there were probably 12 burners total and only 2 worked so grilling took a lot longer than expected the one night we used it.

I would never expect perfection with any rental but this place is as close as it gets. The house is perfect for a family and has a ton of room. We hated to leave but will be back next year and will definitely stay at the Tapley Cottage if we don't have our own place up there by then!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Winnipesaukee NH
5

Beautiful House - Outstanding Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
First off the house is incredibly nice. My wife and I rent houses all the time and this is once of the more thoughtfully put together homes we have ever rented. The master suite is incredible and the two other bedrooms are both very nice and have their own bathroom. Laundry facilities are right near the bedrooms. The kitchen rocks and was great for cooking up meals (I'm the cook and I really appreciate that this wasn't a generic "rental kitchen"). At first the location seemed a bit of a negative. Its a "locals" neighborhood where many homes seem rented out to seasonal employees. After being there a day or so the location really became a huge positive. Its walking distance to EVERYTHING, its super quiet and there is a park for the kids less than a block away. You really can't ask for a better location (except maybe waterfront but thats a whole different price range!)

The house was incredibly cleaned and well kept. The owner was super responsive and helpful.

I plan on returning with the family next year!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
In town home within walking distance to hiking trails and Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233709
207 288-4670
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Mechanicsville, MD
5

Ideal location, ideal home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This home was located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of the Bar Harbor shops, restaurants, shore path, and the free Island Explorer shuttles. The home was just fantastic. The kitchen area was large and had all the modern conveniences. The bathrooms were like new and very clean. Having a computer on site with access to the internet was an added bonus. Although this home has a two-car garage, we did not have access to it; however, the off-street parking in the driveway was completely adequate. This home was an ideal place to dwell on that rainy day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2