North Hungary villa rental - Front of the villa and garage
Front of the villa and garage
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

North Hungary Villa Rental Photos and Description
Six Bedroom 4 Bath 4 kitchens villa(house) sleeps 15, about 2400 sft !!!

Rent the whole house or JUST A PART FOR LESS! :-)!!! This comfortable, fully stocked American style modern house is bright and clean and lovingly decorated by the American owners (linens, towels, tableware etc.) Located in picturesque town on a walk street to the tourist center, famous for the Thermal/Hot Water Cave Bath. Surrounded by a lush park, restaurants, entertainment and hiking trails. The property backs up to a giant forest. The fenced yard boasts fruit trees, 4 patios, decks, BBQ and 2 bicycles. The surrounding hiking trails, large Bobsled and playground in the park, lakes and historic Diosgyor Castle offer TONS of FUN! There are many Festivals held at the castle with frequent concerts. Tour the WINE CAVES, taste the Nectars! 2night minimum please. Friendly PETS ARE WELCOME! Only 1.5 hours drive from Budapest, and you arrive in a cozy, safe, serene setting for complete relaxation and refreshment!

8 Reviews of Property 233263 in North Hungary, Hungary

Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 8 reviews
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
5

We had a fabulous stay at the beautiful villa!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My boyfriend and I stayed in the lower apartment of Michele and Gabor's villa. It was beautiful, spacious, so comfortable and included all of the amenities listed in the description. We were there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The entire house surpassed our expectations in every way.

Michele and Gabor suggested an itinerary for us, which was so so helpful. It was the perfect itinerary for the amount of time we were there. They were amazing tour guides from afar. We went to the cave baths which were incredible, and then had a glass of wine at the restaurant with live music outside the baths. We also rode the bobsled over and over until we could make it to the bottom hardly using the breaks! The local restaurants are totally reasonable and had great food. The langos with garlic sauce was our favorite! The town also has a huge playground for kids and a lake with peddle boats.

Nearby is the castle which we really enjoyed. And of course the wine caves in Eger, a short drive away, which had excellent wine, is not to be missed. We can't believe more Hungarian wine isn't exported for sale in the U.S.

In Miskolc, there is a special bridge over a small river where lovers etch their names on a padlock, lock it on the fence of the bridge over the water, and throw away the key in the river, signifying your hearts are locked together forever. It was very romantic and we even found Michele and Gabor's lock!

The caretaker of the villa was such a help in so many ways and very easy to get along with. He was always there when we needed him, ready to lend a helping hand.

I would highly recommend staying in this beautiful and amazing home. We had an incredible experience and hope to go back again soon!

Julie and Ed
Owner's Response: Dear Julie and Ed,
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am sorry that we were not there to meet you. I truly hope that you do come back again and try one of the upstairs apartments next time. They are all different and have different amenities. I am also glad that you enjoyed Zoltan, our caretaker. He is really a gem.

Michele and Gabor
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
4

Great apartment in an interesting town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Although we didn't meet Michelle and Gabor in person (they were in the US) we found them to be very friendly and prompt in all email contact. They were also very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and directions on how to get to the apartment. The apartment was clean and well supplied with utensils etc for selfcatering. It was very spacious and comfortable. It was in a very quiet street backing onto a forest and we woke to the sound of birds each morning. The young caretaker who lived on site was also very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places to visit. We enjoyed our week in Miskolc very much and would recommend the apartment as a great place to stay - either for relaxing or as a base for sightseeing.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
5

Great Family Get-Away - Something for Everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
For a family & friend's holiday last summer we decided to explore the family roots by visiting the lovely and serene town of Miskolctapolca in northeastern Hungary. Miskolctapolca lies just a few miles from the city of Miskolc and about a 45-minute car journey from Budapest. My husband and I, along with our two girls (aged 5 and 10) stayed in two adjoining flats, which comprised the upstairs of a massive modern and beautifully decorated villa. This portion of the villa boasted two comfortable double bedrooms, two fitted kitchens, two full bathrooms with ample living space. There was also a lovely mature garden to the rear and multiple surrounding balconies. Our friends occupied the downstairs two adjoining flats and there was a surplus of space. We could have easily fit an entire further family. The location of this villa was a major bonus. Not only were there basic conveniences and restaurants within short walking distance, but right at the end of the road (10 minutes by foot) was the Cave Bath. I had never experienced such a thing previously and we were immediately won over. The baths became a popular bathing place only after the Ottoman occupation of Hungary (16th-17th century) and opened in its present form in 1959 – with many further expansions taken place since that time. There is something for everyone at the Cave Bath and definitely worth a visit. We were serial offenders - visiting three times in a 10-day period. However, if bathing is not your thing there is a large park and boat lake just in front of the Cave Bath. The lovely scenic paths in the park lead to several eateries and ice-cream stalls and even lead to a dry bobsled track that is open year round. While we found these activities ample for most days, we did plan a few days where we investigated farther a field. A short car journey can take you into the cities of Miskolc and Diósgy?r (part of Greater Miskolc). There is lots of site seeing to be done in Miskolc, and Diósgy?r is famous for its medieval castle. One of our favourite day's out was suggested to us by the landlords of the villa who were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and also helpful in assisting us with our plans. They recommended a trip to the wine caves in the Valley of the Beautiful Women in Eger. The experience of the caves themselves was fantastic coupled with great quality wine and fabulously low prices. Overall, this was a fantastic holiday with beautiful sites and comfortable accommodation (affordable too!). We are l
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
Sausalito, CA, USA
5

great food, wine, cave baths, castles .. and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and I just spent several days at Gabor Bunda's home in Miskolc Tapolca in Northern Hungary and loved every minute. I've read some of the other reviews and they describe Gabor's great home is, so I won't duplicate, I'll talk about the fabulous location and some of the fun things to do in the area.

One of the best things to do around Gabor's house, is to walk down to the end of the street, where you will see a bunch of food stands on your right. Go to the second from the last one (going downhill ) and tell the lady there that you want her famous “ LANGOS “ which is a fried wonderfully sinfully delicious treat, and ask for sour crème cheese and veggies on it and some good beer. After that, you walk through the park in front of you to the “ Barlangfurdo “ ( cave- bath ) and have a great day there! Check out www.barlangfurdo.com for more info! This is a phenomenal one-of-a-kind place, used since pre-roman times

Go both inside all the pools, and outside…lots of FUN!

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Pretty close to the house, on the other side of Miskolc is a 13th century ruin of a castle called “ Diosgyor “ which is a lot of fun. They usually have some medieval festival or another going on there on the weekends or some re-enactment of Attila –the-Hun’s exploits.

You can take a day trip to Tokaj, the quintessential capital of the thousand year old Hungarian wine country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
Sausalito
5

Country House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
Eric & I had a wonderful time at your well equipted apartment. The kitchen was more than adequate, and we also took advantage of the lovely balcony and garden! Very comfortable and we hope to return next summer. Also close to the spas and restaurants - recommendable. Owners always available, friendly and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy that we could be there at the lower apartment at the same time. You were fabulous guests and Thanks again for leaving the apartment so tiday when you left. I am glad that you walked to the baths often and had a chance to visit Diosgyor Castle and the wineries.
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
Cleveland Ohio
5

The Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We recently used this villa in Miskolc. It was located in a lovely neighborhood. It was spacious and we were fortunate to find it as we had a party of 9 and we used all 4 of the apartments. It had a good and functional kitchen and and a spacious court yard where we all ate breakfast and planned our days. Our experience there was positive and I would definitely rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
Belfast - Northern Ireland
5

Villa rental in North Hungary - Miskolc Tapolcai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Excellent accommodation (we were a large group and used all apartments) with good cooking facilities and plenty of space to relax, chat and drink a lot of local wine. Good access to local shops, restaurants - great pizza place at the bottom of the road + a range of places serving great local food Hungarian - all within a 15 minutes walk - and of course the bob sleigh and thermal baths used by some of our group and thoroughly enjoyed. Setting is superb with beautiful woods to the rear of the house - waking up to the sound of singing Golden Oriole is hard to beat. A 10 minute walk from the house takes you into the woods with a variety of wildlife - highlights for us were superb views of Red Squirrel, Black Woodpecker and a range of birds of prey. The owner was fantastically helpful as were his family living locally who welcomed us warmly. A great acommodation choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spa town, In Wine Country, with Cave Bath & Bob-sled Course.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233263
+1 415 798-0234
North Hungary Hungary
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Guest Review from joy144@hvc.rr.com - Mar 11, 2010
"Hungarian rhapsody in the country"
The apartment was spacious and clean. It was within walking distance to restaurants, a beautiful park, cave baths, bob sled, surry rides, swans, and more. The owner's nephew and wife (who live on the premises) couldn't have been more helpful, including loaning us a computer. Fortunately, the nephew spoke English. There was a lovely balcony on which to sit and enjoy drinks and a sunset.