Wilmington house rental - Wilmington Magnolia House
Wilmington Magnolia House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description
5 BR, 3.5 BA, sleeps 11-13

Former B & B in historic Carolina Heights neighborhood available nightly, weekly, monthly or longer term.

Built in 1921. 15 blocks to riverfront, downtown shops and restaurants. 15 minute drive to Wrightsville Beach.

Every room is bathed in sunlight with huge windows, many facing the large garden in the backyard with its old gracious magnolia tree, and pathway leading down three steps to a lower formal garden with a pond, fountain, Camelia trees and Azaleas.

There are 3 fireplaces (one working) with large 1920's decorative mantels. The house is filled with historic detailsi ncluding 10 foot ceilings,a wide brick path, the old (non functioning) call buttons. It was recently included in the Wilmington Historic Foundation Historic Home Tour.

The chef’s kitchen has stainless steel countertops and three sinks. There is seating for 6 around the kitchen island for informal meals. The dining room seats 8-10 people comfortably for special dinners. Catering can be arranged if neede

This is a luxurious and relaxing home. The bedrooms are large and private, with attached bathrooms. There are two staircases, making it ideal for more than one family to stay together and yet maintain privacy. It is perfect for wedding parties, graduations, family reunions, or relocation to the Wilmington area. It is also comfortable for smaller groups that just want some space to spread out. It is even ideal for a couple looking for a romantic home in Wilmington.

Children’s play equipment available including swing set and slide in backyard. Toys are available in the home to entertain the kids.

Pets considered on an individual basis.

More Details
Hide Details

52 Reviews of Property 233201 in Wilmington, North Carolina

4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
average rating of 4.75 based on 52 reviews
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
5

Perfect House for a Family Reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family came to stay in Wilmington for my wedding in March. The space was perfect and everyone was comfortable. The kids had their own room and games to play with all weekend. The eat-in kitchen was the place where everyone came together to talk and relax. There are many big spaces in the house for family to have space but also to spend time together. This was a great place for the wedding party to get ready as well. My family and I were very pleased with our stay.
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
3

Weekend visit for a wedding at the Wilmington convention center

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The house is beautiful! The children enjoyed the open large spaces. Since we only stayed 2 very short nights. We wished we could've stayed longer. The adults were a little uncomfortable. The kitchen was immaculate! It could've used a cleaning: dishwasher, refrigerator and coffee table there was food in the cracks and crevasses. Bathrooms were cleaned except The master bedrooms bathroom bathtub had a clogged drain, the furniture can use reupholstery, it was all stained. You can feel the wind and cold from bedroom windows. This kinds of things reduces the beauty and value. Overall pretty huge house.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
NC
5

Friends Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Magnolia was a perfect place for our group of friends to gather. This home is so cozy and there was plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The kitchen is amazing and had everything you could ever need. We are cooks! The backyard was also a great place with plenty of room to play games and gather. We will definitely be back. This place made you feel right at home! Thanks for a great experience...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
4

Perfect Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Magnolia House turned out to be a great space for a reunion of seven adults and a dog. The house itself is beautiful, if in need of a little maintenance here and there. The kitchen is enormous and was perfect for us all to relax and eat meals in. The bedrooms are large and comfortable.

The property manager was extremely welcoming and helpful and the house was clean and in good shape for us to begin our week. I will definitely keep this house in mind next year when scheduling our vacation.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Dear Daniel,
Thank you for staying at the Magnolia House for your reunion. It is great to hear that you found the house clean and in good condition for your stay. We enjoyed having your group stay with us, and I do hope you will consider reuniting at the Magnolia House again!
Best Regards,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Richmond, VA
5

Perfect for big groups!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My daughter got married on May 25th in Wilmington and we realized that renting a house would be far more economical than 5 hotel rooms for 3-5 days each, and it just seemed weird for us to be getting ready for a wedding in a hotel room... As soon as I saw the Magnolia House online I knew that it would be perfect for us to have for our family and the bridesmaids. There were 12 of us and we each had a bed in a bedroom upstairs; didn't need to use the fouton or pull-out sofa for sleeping. It was absolutely ideal for our purposes! The price is very fair for the area as well. We had several other family groups rent other houses downtown that slept 8 people and they paid more per night than we did, (nicely furnished and stocked kitchens),

Kelly was great and very accomodating, meeting us at the house upon arrival, bringing by a few replacement window shades in the bedrooms to replace ones that were missing, and dropping off a few extra towels. She was VERY responsive.

The bathrooms are old but quite functional and very roomy so they worked out fine too - there were 4 of us assigned to each bathroom and it worked out well!

My only small complaint would be that the "fully stocked kitchen" had hardly any glassware for a house that sleeps 12 people. There was a set of champagne glasses, and plenty of coffee mugs, about 4 wine glasses, and a few huge plastic glasses... Nothing to drink juice out of in the morning or an old fashioned sized bar glass... I also had to go to the store to buy some disposable 9x13 pans to be able to cook breakfast casseroles and coffee cake because there isn't any pyrex or other suitable bakeware that large. Compared to my overall satisfaction with the house that is a tiny complaint :)

Make a note if you rent this house that the coffee maker does not EVER turn off; you have to unplug the thing to get it to turn off :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Sally,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate all your feedback and your nice comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the house and that it suited your group so well. I am also happy to get the info about the items needed in the kitchen since we do find that we need to restock quite regularly. My only wish is that you would have mentioned this during your stay so that we could have provided you with what was missing right then! Well, our next guests will certainly benefit from the feedback. Please come back soon!
Best wishes,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
5

Enjoying The Port City!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Absolutely thrilled with our time at Magnolia House! We flew into Wilmington during Hurricane Sandy which made all of us (7 adults & 1 baby) a little anxious. But we arrived safe and sound and Katie, the property manager, was there to greet us as promised.
We were in Wilmington to host a baby shower for my first grandchild. The Magnolia House was PERFECT! We all felt right at home and found ourselves spending most of our time gathering in the kitchen either preparing the food for the shower or just hanging around the table enjoying our visit. There were approximately 50-60 guests at the shower and there was plenty of room for everyone to move around and mingle comfortably. We did all of the food ourselves and the large kitchen made it easy for 4 or more to be working together.
I will definitely consider another stay at Magnolia House. It's got plenty of room for a large group and far more comfortable than staying in a hotel! Not to mention more economical. As I said there were 7 adults & 1 baby in our group. We all had more than enough privacy when we needed it as well as the space to gather together when we wanted to share a meal or just hangout.
Natalie (the owner) was great about answering emails & phone calls and never made me feel like I was a bother. And Katie (the property manager) was also there when we needed her.
Thank you to both of you for helping to make our visit to The Port City so wonderful!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Sandi,
Thanks for this wonderful review! It sounds like the shower was quite a success! I hope you are now enjoying the baby. :-) It was a pleasure having you at the house!
All the best,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Fairfax, Virginia
5

A real home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our extended family rented this wonderful home for Thanksgiving and to be "wedding central" for our daughter's wedding. It served us well on both counts. Although the house needs some attention physically we loved the homey character and the amazing amount of space. It was a dream to cook Thanksgiving dinner in that huge kitchen! The house just begs to be really "lived in" with lots of room for little ones to move and for us older folks to relax without getting in each other's way.
The house manager, Katie was very helpful as was the owner, Natalie. The fresh flowers and banana bread on arrival were a welcome touch.
Nearly every member of our family spoke of wanting to buy the house because it just has that kind of effect. The beds aren't the most comfortable, the plumbing is old, and the floors aren't level but not a bit of that matters because charm wins out. It was absolutely a wonderful week and we would not hesitate to return. If you are looking for a perfectly restored historical home to rent this is not for you. But if you are looking for a place to make unforgettable family memories do so without hesitation.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!! ....and Natalie, if you decide to sell let us know :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Mary,
I realized just today that I haven't responded to your wonderful review, and it is almost Thanksgiving again! We are so glad you enjoyed celebrating at our house. I agree, it DOES beg to be lived in. That is exactly why we enjoy sharing it with our guests! And, that feeling you describe of wanting to buy it is exactly how we came to own it after staying in it as a Bed and Breakfast years ago. It is not on the market yet, but you never know what the future brings. ;-)

I hope we will have another chance to accomodate you soon.
Best Wishes,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
5

JAG Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We recently rented this beautiful home to attend our daughter's wedding. The property was more than we expected. It was an absolute delight. There was plenty of room, it was very clean and well kept. The kitchen was outstanding. The spacious accommodated our needs as we had five families (12 people) who either drove or flew in for the special event and the home offered plenty of areas for relaxing and visiting. It was a short drive to the beach and only 8 blocks from the Brooklyn Arts Center where the wedding was held. It was easily accessible to the main travel routes. We would not hesitate booking this property again. Thanks for the special memories!
Owner's Response: Dear Julie,
Thank you for your review! I enjoyed helping you plan for your stay, and hope your daughter's wedding was magical. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We would love to welcome you and your family back again for another celebration!
All the best,
Natalie
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Southport, NC
5

Wilmington wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed here with a group of friends and hosted a rehearsal dinner. The backyard has a magnificent, huge old magnolia tree. We set up round tables under the tree for dining. The setting was very welcoming and was everything I had pictured it would be. Middle of the Island was the caterer and I highly recommend them. The house was perfect for our group of ten adults and two children, there is plenty of room in the house to fit a group this size comfortably. The beds are all very comfortable. The refrigerator is big and the freezer is a separate appliance so there is plenty of room for ice etc. the cupcakes waiting for us to arrive were a sweet surprise!
Libby and Natalie are helpful and easy to work with. This is a great choice for a large group planning a trip to Wilmington.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Patty,
Thank you for sharing your experience of hosting a rehearsal dinner at the house. I am so happy that it was all you hoped for. I agree that the house is a wonderful place for families to gather together, eat, drink and celebrate happy occasions. I hope that you will have many wonderful memories of your stay, and will consider returning again soon!
Best,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
5

Wonderful Historic Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had an adult cousin reunion is this beautiful home, which provided plenty of space for all. When we entered, it was like going back in time - reminded me of our grandparents' house which we all liked to visit, with staircase, glass doorknobs, high ceilings, etc. The house was tastefully and comfortably furnished, especially the "to-die-for" kitchen where we gathered for coffee and breakfast. The dining room with large table gave us a comfortable place to share a meal and memories. Everyone seemed comfortable with sleeping arrangements, and 3 bathrooms upstairs made it easy to share. With living room and den, we had space to gather in groups. Nice neighborhood with sidewalks encouraged walking. A tour of Wilmington gave us insight into the history of the area. We are thankful to the owner for sharing her home for an extended weekend for our reunion, the manager for making sure we had what we needed, and especially cousins living in the area who provided such gracious hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Ann,
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure accommodating the family of our neighbors, and made it extra special for us to know that you were able to enjoy being in the same neighborhood. A cousin's weekend is such a great tradition, and one I would love to start in my own family! Come back to the Magnolia House for another visit soon.
Best,
Natalie