Salem condo rental - Front Street cobblestones beckon
Front Street cobblestones beckon
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Salem Condo Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom, one and 1/2 baths, living/ kitchen

We chose to by this condo because it reminded us of romantic places we’ve stayed in Paris and Montreal. There is endless fascination in watching all the people walking on the street below on one of the most pedestrian streets in Salem. Picture granite cobblestones on a tree lined street situated next to the old Town Hall, site of the Farmer's Market and many cultural events.

This is a 2005 renovation of the old Distillery building, which left many fascinating architectural details, and installed top-flight appliances. Jacuzzi, full kitchen, gas fireplace, washer/dryer, central heat/air conditioning.

This is a second and third floor condominium loft. Sleep on a cushy Tempurpedic queen size mattress. The sofa is a new convertible bed as well- for a child or a second couple.

We are surrounded by restaurants serving world class selections of unique cultures. Eat American, Thai, Turkish, Irish, Indian, Mexican, or Italian without leaving sight of your home base.

This is an exciting time to live in Salem. Many restaurants host open mic evenings, or have regular bands playing jazz, blues, and soul each night. Folk and Irish music is also alive and well. We even have street performers in the Derby Square amphitheater next door on a regular basis. This is not your best location if you want to get an early night's sleep on the weekend!

Mature guests: This unit is amongst a building full of childless professionals, and so we look for couples with older children.

Health club: We provide passes to the local YMCA which is two blocks away. Come with your exercise gear- they are open from 5AM to 10 PM!

More Details
Hide Details

Robert and I bought this condo hoping that one of our adult children would want to live in Salem. As it turned out, they have settled on the west coast, and we have moved to Maine. The condo is managed by us with the help of a knowledgeable local property manager, so all questions will be handled quickly and professionally.

Ruth Wall purchased this condo in 2005

This is a classy repurposing of an old jazz club, which was once a distillery when the waterfront lay just outside the door. We loved the inclusion of antique details, like the huge gears that remain in our rafters, from the days when barrels of rum were lifted for storage.

All our guest comments will mention how handy the condo is to everything down town. You will see it all from the tall south facing windows that look over the graceful balcony to the street below.

23 Reviews of Property 233110 in Salem, Massachusetts

Window Seat on a Trendy Street
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Lake Oswego, Oregon
5

Comfortable and Clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I was so happy to find this condo. My husband and I traveled to Salem to visit family and wanted a place where we could unwind and relax. This condo fit the bill. The pictures do reflect the look however it is not easy to capture in a photo the comfortable feel. It is within walking distance of the the train station and many restaurants as well as being in the heart of historic Salem. I had read the parking might be tricky however the free parking is within 1 block and a short walk. There is meteored parking surrounding the entire area and never presented a problem. Ruth was wonderful to work with and we look forward to staying in this condo when we return to Salem.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is the perfect spot for a couple to use as home base while visiting the area. Thanks for giving us a try!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Location! Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This condo is as described, very clean, and has charming architectural elements. The owner responded quickly to all questions. I would recommend this to anyone who is able to climb a long flight of stairs to enter the condo on the second floor of the building, and 19 steps to the bedroom on the third floor. There is a sleep sofa in the living room. From this location you can explore Salem and take day trips to Maine, New Hampshire, Boston, Cape Cod and other New England locations. The Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, MA, is one of the best museums in the country. Salem has excellent restaurants within easy walking distance of the condo.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for coming! Thanks too for mentioning the stairs, which are considerable. But the view is too! Come again for the film festival next year!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

What an absolute find in Salem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a total delight this apartment was, right in the middle of the Salem hub, night life and pretty lights as close as you could possibly want. The neighbours in the apartment building were all very lovely as well. Ruth sent us lots of literature to help with our stay. Along with all of the mod cons you could wish for, a lovely fridge with ice and fresh water on hand. The only snag we had was the oven was unusable due to smoke filling the apartment when we turned it on. However, with restaurants and bars in abundance it did not ruin our holiday! Coffee house down the road every morning and the lovely little shop underneath the apartment were brilliant. Thursday Market was also excellent. Comfortable and tasteful furnishings completed our stay. I would recommend this apartment to anyone and Salem is a great place to be for visiting the surrounding New England area. We hope to stay again in the future. Thank you Ruth for letting us have free reign of your beautiful property. Jan and Rob Page Bristol UK
Owner's Response: How glad we are that the condo answered these guest's requirements, but how sad that they did not tell us about the oven when they were there, so it could have been cleaned immediately for them! The turnaround time between guests is often less than 24 hours, so cleanings, while thorough, may not include the oven each time. We are surprised at how few people take advantage of the fully equipped kitchen, opting to eat out at the many restaurants surrounding our building instead. Please do come again, and we'll be ready for you.
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Window Seat on a Trendy Street

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I traveled from Asia to stay in this condo in order to host Christmas holidays for my family and friends who live nearby. The owner provided me with a Christmas tree and ornaments and a lovely banner hanging inscribed with the words "Christmas in Salem."
The condo was very convenient to all restaurants and stores and the street itself was full of trees that had pretty white Christmas lights on them. The owner also provided me with a convenient underground parking garage which I used with a minimal parking fee and was convenient to walk to. This was essential as parking in the area was difficult. Much appreciated extra detail on her part.

The interior of the condo had many personal touches which were very important to me as the host of several gatherings and of course my need for personal space .
There were, in the bedroom upstairs, 5 reading lamps,a day bed and a desk, a bathroom and a lovely double bed. A great space to retreat and bookcases full of books-a home away from home to be sure.

The downstairs kitchen was open and looking out large windows to the street but appropriate see through screens to ensure privacy as well. The dining room table had a fold out necessary for a larger group in front of an electric fireplace.
She had candles and tablecloths and wineglasses -all necessary for a good host to have to entertain.

The only criticism I have was the couch,which was a pull out for more people, was a bit small and there were no other easy chairs to sit it which would be cozier for a group to sit and talk.

Other than that I would definitely rent this condo again in October when it is high season and for Christmas holidays.The owner has provided a lot of wonderful touches but I would not recommend this for anyone who has trouble walking as there are steep stairs to the bedroom.
Owner's Response: We enjoyed knowing that this far flung family were able to spend the holiday together in our condo. So sorry that the easy chair was missing- it was out at the upholstery shop! more comfy seating will be there when you return.
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Home Sweet Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed over Halloween and had the best time in this beautiful condo. It was central to everything....great restaurants, shops, scenic vistas and best of all, fabulous sites of American history. It was a quick trip from Logan airport via commuter rail and the Boston T. The condo is just about 4 blocks from the train station so getting into Boston was easy. We got a chance to "check in" early, thank you, Ruth! The whole condo was well appointed with a great kitchen and a comfortable bedroom. We did cook quite a bit and loved being able to do laundry so we could just bring carry on! The condo was clean, bright and lovely and we loved spending time in the condo when not running around Salem/Boston/Danvers. Ruth was very kind enough to provide free YMCA passes which were used just about every day. What a nice perk!


One of our favorite restaurants in Salem was the Lobster Shanty, which is right across the street. Our favorite market was Milk & Honey and the neighboring sweet shop was so great!

We would love to come back some day and recommend this beautiful condo to everyone!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Perfect condo and perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I would like to first thank Ruth for allowing us to stay at her beautiful condo. It was beyond comfortable with personal touches that made it feel like home to us. It was beautiful from the hardwood floors to the to the very comfortable bed in the loft and it was spotless. Salem is a beautiful town and this condo is situated right in the heart of it within easy walking distance to everything you would like to see and do. Ruth had a binder with all the information and tips needed to enjoy Salem, it came in very handy. No car is needed and the comute from Logan International airport was very easy on the subway and comuter train with just a short walk from the station to the condo. Ruth was fantastic to work with and because of her attention to detail, my first vacation is one I will never forget. We would like to come back in a few years and would consider it a privilege to stay at the condo again. Sincerely, Kim, Lynn and Karen
Owner's Response: It would be an honor to have you back on your next vacation! Thank you!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Great location with all the comforts of home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I (and our dog) were looking for a home base from which to explore the city, and we could not have chosen better! The condo has a wonderful layout, with separate sleeping and living areas, a contemporary, loft-like feel, and everything we could want: an open and very workable kitchen area with all-new applicances (stove, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, and even a coffee grinder), modern bathrooms (full on second floor, 1/2 on first), comfortable furnishings, good light, and plenty of room.

Loved the luxury of central air, since it was very hot when we visited. The system is very quiet and quickly responsive. There is also a washer and dryer, which we didn't use, but would certainly be handy for longer stays. We're looking forward to trying out the gas fireplace, hopefully during another stay which we're already planning.

Everything was extremely clean and organized, with a book of information and helpful hints that was a great bonus! Ruth was always helpful and solicitous of our comfort. Plus, we have to give extra points to someone who is willing to take a chance and accept pets. I think our standard poodle, Lola, loved Salem the most of all! She pranced around to her heart's content and soaked up attention from everyone we passed by. And that was a lot of people! It seems that Salem is a very dog-friendly town, and we didn't have any problems finding spots to take her to.

We walked everywhere and always found it convenient to return to drop off/pick up Lola or other stuff during the day. Don't miss breakfast at Red's, which is just around the corner, and has some of the best food in town! Be sure to order only one pancake; you'll see. :-) Lovers of vintage: walk up a few steps past Red's and stop in at Modern Millie - lots of cute stuff and bargains, too. Of course, there are all the well-known attractions of Salem, but little places like these are what keeps a place real and memorable.

We will very happily visit again! Thanks, Ruth!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

August Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The condo was the perfect location to never need the car (although I did drive to the Willows). This place was spotless, spacious and near everything I love to do in Salem. I have been coming to Salem every year for 5 years now, this is by far the best choice I could have made. Much cheaper than a hotel. Ruth was so helpful and accommodating of any requests we had. Laura (the cleaner) was also helpful and kind. My dog adored it here, there were so many places to walk her and enjoy Salem. HIGHLY recommend that people stay here. We had four people and it was a good fit if everyone is close to one another. Planning to rent your house next year Ruth! THANK YOU!!!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

August Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The condo was the perfect location to never need the car (although I did drive to the Willows). This place was spotless, spacious and near everything I love to do in Salem. I have been coming to Salem every year for 5 years now, this is by far the best choice I could have made. Much cheaper than a hotel. Ruth was so helpful and accommodating of any requests we had. Laura (the cleaner) was also helpful and kind. My dog adored it here, there were so many places to walk her and enjoy Salem. HIGHLY recommend that people stay here. We had four people and it was a good fit if everyone is close to one another. Planning to rent your house next year Ruth! THANK YOU!!!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

A Gem of a Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The condo was beautiful and location was perfect. It was a great refuge to return to after a busy day walking around, hiking a nearby beach, or celebrating the holiday with family. It was so nice to have such a lovely and efficiently laid out place--and pet-friendly too so we could bring our dog along! Also wonderful that we really could walk so much of the time and didn't have to keep jumping in the car every five minutes. Decor is charming--the condo has all the necessities and a great kitchen. Owner was warm and attentive. We couldn't have imagined a better spot! Are sure to return...
Owner's Response: Thanks to this family of four for their coming, enjoying, and being very considerate with the place, we hope they will return.
Helpful votes: 1/1