Bass Harbor house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bass Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy the amazing sunsets from the deck of this beautiful house located on Bass Harbor.

This charming two bedroom cape cod style house is a wonderful, comfortable and very homey place to enjoy your Mt. Desert Island vacation. The dining area and living room have unrestricted views of the harbor. The large deck is complete with a dining table and grill as well as lounge chairs for sitting in the sun and enjoying the scenery.

There is a master bedroom and second bedroom with twin beds and a full bath. The first floor has a den/tv room with a futon for additional sleeping arrangements. A washer/dryer and full bath with a shower and full kitchen complete the first floor.

Launch your kayak right off the back lawn and paddle your way through the lobster boats moored in the harbor. Acadia National Park is just a short drive from the house as are wonderful restaurants, shopping and all the charm of the quiet side of the island.

Keywords: House

18 Reviews of Property 232979 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Awesome Vacation Home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just got back from a wonderful week in this house. The owner was prompt in answering any questions we had all throughout the rental process. The house is charming. It takes you back in time to simpler times and screams family vacation. It felt like we had just arrived at our own family vacation home. There are no modern or up to date fixtures but everything we saw was functional and adequate for what we needed. The house was clean and stocked for a family of four. We were able to make our own dinners (lobster-which we purchased down the road, fresh) and even bake a cake for my son's birthday. The beds were comfortable and even though there was no air conditioning we slept well! The stars at night were a real plus for us city folks. It is the quiet side of the island so if you're looking for action it's about a 30 minute drive to Bar Harbor. We hiked in Acadia, went sea kayaking, whale watching, had a great homemade blueberry pie bought from the pie lady, ate at fabulous restaurants-we LOVED Jordan House, rode our bikes on the carriage roads and walked around Bar Harbor. It was an excellent vacation and it was great to come home to this house every night to relax! We watched a movie from the owner's collection, listened to records, and even finished a puzzle of Acadia-a favorite activity for my 11 and 15 year old. I haven't even commented on the view from the house but I think the pictures here are enough. If we come back to hike the Beehive Trail someday, we will definitely book this house! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Burlington, CT
5

Relaxing, Charming & Comfortable!

Relaxing, Charming & Comfortable!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home is like a small treasure that transports you back in time. It is artfully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed paddle-boarding off the backyard in the harbor and the sunsets are beautiful. The view from the house is lovely and we plan on going back next year. Everything that is needed to enjoy the week is provided even a record player with some great old albums. Thanks for a wonderful stay that our family will always remember!
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Jersey
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
House is even nicer than shown in pics and description. Perfect location, perfectly clean, perfect space for a lovely vacation. The view is so beautiful and calming. Owner responsive and easy to work with. Our dog really liked it, too. If you have the chance, rent this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Mahwah, NJ 07430
5

Beautiful House on Bass Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was very comfortable (like Grandma's house).
Very clean
Well situated
Quiet (which is what we wanted)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Wonderful week on the quiet side of MDI!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very clean, well equipped and comfortable house for the two of us and our Frenchie. View from the deck is top notch. The pup had so much fun, he didnt want to leave. Location was very good to get around MDI. About 30 mins from Bar Harbor and the busier side. There was so much to do, we didnt turn on the TV once the whole week. We explored many different trails and diff parts of Acadia. Overall a wonderful trip! Thank you Paul.(Very responsive owner)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston, MA
5

Lovely cottage retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family just returned from a wonderful, quiet week at this little cottage. The house was very comfortable and immaculately clean. The housekeeper had even left a note and some fresh eggs from her chickens! The owner was wonderful to communicate with - very responsive, and very accommodating. We were given a list of local restaurants and activities which was very helpful. The sunsets from the deck were beautiful and our son loved watching the lobster boats going in and out of the harbor each day, and watching the activities of the lobsterman who lives next door. I highly recommend this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
East Hartford
5

Fantastic Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was my fourth trip to MDI but my first staying in Bass Harbor. I really loved this side of the island and I would definitely stay there and in this perfect house again. As soon as I walked in, I felt like I was home. This house has everything you need for your stay. And the surrounding areas offer so much to do that I am not even sorry I didn't bring my kayak.

And I'd like to recommend breakfast at Grumpy's in Southwest Harbor. There's nothing like eating outside right next to the water. The food was excellent and the staff was super friendly.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Cooper

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This will be our second stay!...God willing we will make another one to this amazing well kept n'fully stocked house on Beautiful Bass Harbor...once again Thank You to the owners ! The cottage was immaculate.Without a doubt a gem in the rough....WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE....!.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Washington, DC
5

Perfect vacation cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We are long-time visitors to MDI who had the good fortune to stay here the week prior to Labor Day. This house easily surpasses any others in which we have stayed. The other reviewers’ comments about this being “quintessential Maine” are dead-on! The views from the deck and living room/dining room are spectacular whether it’s clear or foggy, high or low tide. The house offers many amenities within walking/cycling distance and is a short drive to Southwest Harbor and many Acadia National Park trailheads. And it is a cozy, comfortable place to relax once you get home from your adventures – it’s full of natural light and brimming with charm. We definitely felt “on vacation” as soon as we walked through the front door.

This is not a cookie-cutter vacation rental. It is the owners’ personal vacation home, and their pride in ownership is evident. The house is extremely solid (circa 1920), well-maintained, and immaculately clean, with touches both practical (mudroom, full-size washer/dryer) and aesthetic (art, photographs) that make you feel immediately at home. Linens and dishes were more than adequate. The setting affords considerable privacy; the kitchen is well-equipped; and books, puzzles, and DVDs abound to entertain you during rainy days and evenings.

Because we were traveling north to Maine just ahead of Hurricane Irene, we had the chance to interact with the owner quite a bit. He could not have been nicer or more accommodating – he even checked in with us after the storm (which did not affect us much after all) to be sure everything was OK. He also was quite responsive during the reservation process, and had a ton of great suggestions for exploring the area.

In Southwest Harbor, we loved Red Sky, Sips, and Cafe 2 for dinner, and the fresh blueberry muffins at Sawyer's market are amazing. Sips also has great espresso as well as wines by the glass/half glass. Popovers at the Jordan Pond House are not to be missed. It was fun to discover the nearby Wonderland and Ship Harbor trails (easy, suitable for kids/dogs). Flying Mountain, one of our old favorites, is only a short drive away. For more strenuous hiking, we are fans of the Beehive (near Sand Beach) and the Cadillac North Ridge Trail. We were glad we rented bikes from Southwest Cycle to check out the carriage roads.

We hope to visit again soon – next time, we are bringing our kayaks (yes, you really can launch off the back lawn). Our only complaint about this house is that it’s not ours!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful House on Bass Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232979vbi
(914) 967-8488
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Glen Ellyn
5

The quintessential summer cottage on the water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
When we were planning our first trip to Maine, we were hoping to find the quintessential summer cottage on the water on the quiet side – and this adorable house surpassed all our expectations. The house is immaculate – very well-tended and extremely clean. It had everything we needed including comfortable beds and pillows, and a lovely family room that looked out onto the deck and the tide beyond. Our children enjoyed playing in the large yard and exploring the little beach for shells and rocks, and when they came inside, they put together jigsaw puzzles on the huge round coffee table in the middle of the family room. The enormous deck was the perfect place to relax and watch the ebbing tide. In fact, I think the deck offers the best and most comfortable vantage point to witness Maine’s amazing sunsets. It was incredible.

The owner is easy to work with, very responsive to all our questions via phone and email. We took a number of his suggestions for hiking, visiting and dining, and all were excellent. The caretaker welcomed us by leaving fresh eggs from her chickens in the refrigerator – it was such a thoughtful (not to mention, delicious!) gesture.

It was one of the most delightful vacations we’ve ever had. We did spend part of each day in Bar Harbor or Acadia National Park, and we found it so restful to return to the house each evening.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5