Saugatuck / Douglas house rental - Deck
Deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom's 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

This cottage offers many options for your own private retreat. Enjoy the Large balcony and outstanding views of Kalamazoo Lake, the backyard garden complete with water fountain, or stroll to Downtown to enjoy fabulous shopping, restaurants, and art. Also, a Dock is available at an additional cost.

Perfect view of Saugatuck's fireworks over the Lake on the 4th of July, Venetian Festival, and New Year's Eve.

15 Reviews of Property 232681 in Saugatuck / Douglas, Michigan

Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Fantastic Michigan Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Do we have to leave?! Dana was so great to work with and we are so happy we booked this rental! The location to downtown Saugatuck, shopping, restaurants, bars and beaches is unbeatable. The deck has gorgeous views overlooking Kalamazoo River. The house had everything needed to grill, cook and bake. On top of that, the beds were extremely comfortable and had plenty of additional linens and towels. We did need a few extra blankets and Dana arranged to drop some off immediately. The home also included a welcome book highlighting many local hot spots and attractions - gave us some great ideas of things to do and places to see. We can't thank you enough for letting us rent your home! Fantastic stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Fall Trip

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The location is very good. Short walk to downtown, and short drive to Oval Beach. The house is also facing the lake where you can see sunrise and sunset. The only thing laking in the house are good beds. My husband has neck pain from sleeping on the bed after 3 nights. Other than that, the house condition is clean and has okay amenities.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the beds weren't right for you. The beds have Serta mattresses. I recently added 2.5 inch cool gel memory foam mattress toppers to the beds. We added one on our bed and really liked it so I thought they would be a nice addition. It is suppose to form to each body and provide individual support. But, perhaps it doesn't work for everyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
4

Charming Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This charming cottage was pretty much as advertised and provided comfortable accomodations for two (and, briefly, three of us) plus two small dogs. The two, one-car garages that will accommodate a 19-ft automobile were a plus because we brought a 1964 Cadillac that fit in the garage with several inches to spare. The location was very convenient to downtown Saugatuck (about a 10-minute walk), and the sunsets across Lake Kalamazoo were very nice. The Fall weather precluded much use of the deck, but we were able to use it a few times (the storage bin for the cushions was appreciated to keep them dry when it rained). The yard was in need of tending, but was finally mowed the day before we checked out. The outside lighting was difficult to figure out with the switches for various of the lights both unlabeled and in different parts of the house and basement -- it took a while to figure out what did what. It didn't help that some of the bulbs appeared to be burnt out, making it difficult to determine if a given switch actually controlled that fixture.

The beds were reasonably comfortable, although the king-sized bed creaked quite loudly from even the most modest movement (bad frame?). The two bathrooms were very useful when we had a weekend guest, and plenty of linens were present. While clean when we arrived, repeated outside excursions by ourselves and our dogs brought in the occasional dirt. The upright vacuuum is really optimized for carpeting or rugs and not the predominantly hardwood flooring in the house. A better vacuum for cleaning these floors would have been appreciated. Also, a swiffer was provided, but no pads were available --- these would have been useful, as well. The dishes in the kitchen were adequate, but were awkardly labeled in Chinglish as not microwave safe. So, some sort of microwaveable dishes/containers would have been useful because nothing in the kitchen (short of paper towels) could be used in the microwave. Some of the knives that were provided were absolutely unusable (the backside of the knives were nearly as sharp as the blade), and these should be discarded because they don't look worth the bother to sharpen. Some smaller glasses would also be useful (10/12 oz would be good).

The overall experience was good, and we'd definitely consider staying there again.
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Great location, average accomodations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Let me preface this review by saying that we were looking for a budget friendly option as we are buying a house in the next few months. So I with that said, I knew there would be some sacrifices we'd have to make.

Pro's
- Location! Short walk to downtown.
- View of Kalamazoo River -- there are homes between you and the river but still visible.
- I could bring my cat!
- Interior of house was very clean.

Con's
- No central AC. There are AC units in each bedroom which keep them nice and cool, but the center of the home (kitchen, family room, etc) got quite warm.
- The king bed mattress is quite old and soft - bring your own pillows (glad we did).
- Shower in master bath dripped the entire time we were there so had to keep bathroom door closed so we didn't hear it
- Deck was nice. Furniture was not. Cushions were wet most of the time and dirty! Deck could really benefit from some new furniture (wish there was a table as we would have liked to eat out there)
- Kitchen tools were quite old and used. Knives were very dull and the pans were in need of updating.
- Some basic accoutrements would have been nice (e.g., soap in the shower, dish soap for hand washing dishes, a sponge, etc). In all fairness there were paper towel, toilet paper and trash bags available.

We enjoyed our stay but feel this house could stand for a little maintenance and sprucing up - it would go a long way in providing a more comfortable experience for guests.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we don't want that dripping either. I wish you would have let me know while you were staying so I could have had it fixed immediately. But, It has been fixed. The deck furniture is newer but, I agree, it is a problem if the cushions are left outside when it rains. We have added a deck box so it makes it easier for storing the cushions out of the elements when not in use. The beginning of this year, I added brand new pots, pans and knives. I did leave some of the older ones there so that there were mulitples of each size if someone was doing major cooking. I did have the new ones in the front but perhaps that got shifted around. There should be hand soap by each sink, dish soap and a kitchen dish cloth. I did check this after I got the reveiw and they were there but, perhaps it was an oversite by the cleaning crew on your stay. Typically, people like to leave the door to the deck open and the windows in the living room and the breeze off the lake keeps the house cool. This summer has been extremely hot so we have purchased an extra air conditioning unit to add to the central part of the house during hot weather. We have also added cool gel memory foam mattress topper to each of the beds and everyone seems to find them very comfortable. Thank you for your input. I hope you will stay with us again and enjoy the upgrades.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Perfect House for a Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time in Saugatuck and this house worked out just great for our group. We had a few couples all around 30 yrs old and 2 small dogs and we lived comfortably, well as comfortably as you can during a week of 100 degree heat lol. Great location a medium walk into downtown so we didn't have to pay for parking or get a cab. 2 garage spaces and plenty of driveway space for all our cars. The back porch worked out well for grilling a lot. Played cards around the big table, and liked the open living room/dinning room layout. The view of the water is nice but be aware it's not a waterfront property exactly. Not a big deal to us though. AC comes from 2 window units that did struggle to keep the house cool, l but like I said, 100 degrees during the 4th week so any other time I'm sure they do fine, lots of ceiling fans too. Plenty of linens and sheets provided. Beds and bathrooms good.
And overall Saugatuck is a great spot along Lake Michigan. Oval Beach is great and so is the State park on the north side. Dune rides are a must! Mermaids in town has amazing food for the price for dinner and Pumpernickel's for breakfast.
Overall I don't think you'll find a better house for in-town living at this price. Would definitely consider renting here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
4

Nice place but noisy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was very clean. Plenty of towels and storage space for a week. We could not get the bathroom door in the master bedroom to close all the way (sliding door), nor would the master bedroom door latch. The location near the lake is great, but the lawn care employees at the vacation rental office next door woke us up each morning with their lawnmowers and leaf blowers. They would blow any debris off their own driveway at the office every day before making the rounds to tend to their properties. They were usually on their way by 9 each day, so after that everything was fairly peaceful. Convenient location, as it is an easy 5-10 minute walk to town, but we will probably choose a spot that is a little more secluded and quiet next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Memorial Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a most wonderful time. 6 adults shared the cottage and had all the comforts we needed. There was plenty of room for all of us, the view was wonderful from the deck. There is no beach access. The kitchen was stocked with all needed utensils and pots and pans for us to cook our own meals. A gas grill was available which we used. Plenty of towels and linens. An ironing board but no iron. Oh well, we made do. We even were given a bottle of wine, which we enjoyed. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We would recommend staying here any time.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
we came for a wedding. It was a wonderful place. There were 6 adults. Enough room for all of us. Great views, and everything we needed to be combortable. The Kitchen had everything we needed, a great grill outside, a great deck to hang out on, and a washing machine and dryer. We had a great time. We would recommend staying here. We would stay here again!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Grand Rapids, MI
4

Nice house, great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We rented this house for my family for a three-day weekend and enjoyed it very much. The location is very nice as it's very near the lake and just a short walk to downtown. The bedrooms and living area were nice and spacious. The deck was a nice touch although we didn't get to use it as was previously mentioned, the cushions were wet and never dried from rain. The owner was very nice and accommodating.

There were a couple of things that the owner couldn't really control that were a bit of an inconvenience.

The biggest issue was the cleaning company didn't show up prior to our arrival. When we got there the beds were a mess, dirty towels in the shower, dishes in the sink, dirty carpet and sand all over the couches. We even had to scrub the refrigerator as something had been spilled in it from the prior renters. The owner did her best to get someone there but they never showed so we ended up purchasing our own cleaning supplies and doing the cleanup ourselves.

The other issue we had is somewhat minor and wouldn't affect everyone renting but we had problems getting our boat to and from the dock. I brought my 32' boat to the house and the lake (likely due to lake levels being low) was VERY shallow near the house. We were nearly touching bottom at the dock and had an extremely difficult time getting in and out of the slip as the boat was hitting bottom very often. It would have been great to know this could have been an issue ahead of time but I don't think there was any way the owner would have known. The dock itself was very nice and saved us some money not having to try to rent a slip downtown.

Overall, had the house been clean, I would have given this a 5 star rating even with the issues we had getting the boat in and out, but with the house being as dirty as it was and having to waste 3 or 4 hours cleaning it when we got there, I'm only giving it 4 stars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The cottage not being cleaned was embarrassing and unfortunate. When the renters let me know, I immediately called the cleaning company. The owner of the cleaning company apologized for their mistake and said she would get someone there immediately. I called her 2 hours later to confirm it had been completed and she assured me they had cleaned. I just found out they did not. Needless to say, I will NEVER use this cleaning company again.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
FARMINGTON HILLS,MI.,USA
5

DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!

DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
WE HAD SO MUCH FUN IN THIS SPACIOUS, COMFORTABLE, LOVELY COTTAGE. THE PEOPLE WHO OWN IT ARE VERY ACCOMODATING, AND OUR FAMILY LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR VISIT. THE OUTDOOR FURNITURE CUSHIONS WERE BROUGHT IN EACH EVENING, AND THUS WERE DRY FOR THE NEXT DAY.THEY BROUGHT US EXTRA WASHCLOTHS, AND ADJUSTED A COUPLE OF THINGS AS NEEDED. WONDERFUL, CONVENIENT HOME, WITH A LOVELY VIEW. (YOU MIGHT WANT TO BRING A PORTABLE BEACH UMBRELLA FOR THE DECK IN THE AFTERNOON).
THE MERMAID, THE GABLES, IDA REDS, AND PUMPERNICK"S IN SAUGATUCK ,AND THE BOWLING ALLEY IN DOUGLAS ALL HAD WONDERFUL FOOD.
KAYAKS ARE AVAILABLE IN DOUGLAS FOR A REASONABLE RATE, AND A QUIET SETTING.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4