Boothbay Harbor house rental - End view of Paradise Cottage down the path from Paradise Studio in July
End view of Paradise Cottage down the path from Paradise Studio in July
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Boothbay Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4 private + 2 (total 5-6)

FOR 2014 AT PARADISE COTTAGE JUST TWO SUMMER WEEKS REMAIN AVAILABLE BEGINNING ON JULY 5 AND JULY 26 at $1590/week for up to 3 people.

Paradise Cottage is set in lush perennial gardens with woods behind and overlooking Linekin Bay on the ocean in Mid-Coast Maine with your own private beach on a small cove. We are just 3 miles from quaint Boothbay Harbor, yet our unique pastoral location makes us feel sequestered from the bustle of town. You can settle into the ebb and flow of tides, sunrise and sunset, and the harmony of wildlife. The twittering of birds and sloshing of waves are your surround sound. If you open your eyes early you can watch lobster boats slip out in the morning and then see the sunrise gradually work its way down the opposite shore. If the evening is still, listen for the distant tones of fog horns. March is for owls calling at night. April evenings are joyous with the return of laughing gulls and peepers singing from the pond. Yet live theater, antique shops, gourmet restaurants, boat excursions & art studios are close-by, plus golf, fishing, hiking, and relaxation! Kayak, swim or beach-comb right from our shore.

Rates at Paradise Cottage are per person:

September 7 - October 11, 2013, for 1 - 2 people $175/nt or $1190/week, and $1490/week for 4 - 6 people.

October 12, 2013 - May 23, 2014, is taken.

The month of June (actually May 24 - June 20, 2014) is $3000/month including utilities.

May 24 - June 20, 2014; $1190/week or $175/nt for 1 - 3 people; $1490/week for 4 - 6 people.

June 21 - July 4, 2014; $1390/week for 1 - 3 people, $1590/week for 4 - 6 people by the week only.

July 5 - August 22, 2014; $1590/week for 1 - 3 people, $1790/week for 4 - 6 people, by the week only.

August 23 - September 5, 2014; $1390/week for 1 - 3 people, $1590/week for 4 - 6 people, by the week only.

We do accept Visa and Master Card, but only if you are willing to pay an extra 2.75%. Check or cash is preferable. One half the total rent is payable in advance as a deposit to hold your time; the remainder is due on arrival. If you are unable to keep your reservation, we ask that you reschedule at another available time, or we can try to re-rent your dates less a $100 rebooking fee as long as you give us at least 30 days to do so.

Besides being mesmerized by the ripples on the water, during gardening seasons you will find calm in the blooms just outside the windows and off the porch. In summer read a book while you enjoy the dappled shade on the deck overlooking the water or on one of the benches in the colorful perennial garden. Watch seagulls, osprey, and an occasional eagle ride the updrafts. In winter you will observe a variety of ducks. Go beach-combing to discover varied creatures that abound along the shore of the Gulf of Maine. Borrow our kayak and paddle over the bay if it's calm. Writers will find Paradise Cottage a peaceful private spot where they can work on their manuscripts. Day hikes in one of the many land preserves are a favorite outdoor activity. Or, you can take a picnic to Ocean Point, and watch the waves roll in from the open sea, the lobster boats haul traps, and ships pass by. How about a romantic sail at sunset? Many boat excursions are offered in nearby Boothbay Harbor. You will also find lighthouse tours, museums, and art studios starting with ours next door! Some of the best eateries are right here in Boothbay!

In summer walk through the woods to the East Boothbay General Store for gourmet sandwiches, pizza, morning coffee and paper. The harbor is just three miles away, and offers many shops, boat excursions, and gourmet restaurants. Live theater has a dramatic presence with events nightly at the Opera House, and Family Night on Tuesdays. Afternoon tea is a yearly tradition with some of our long time renters. Visit the aquarium in summer, where children's programs and classes enhance the quality of the coastal experience. Take a short boat ride to Burnt Island (Mon or Thurs) where costumed guides re-enact life of a lighthouse keeper's family in the late '50's. Go antiquing, or gallery hopping starting with nearby Paradise Studio. L.L.Bean and other outlet stores are just an hour away in Freeport. Acadia National Park is a three to four hour drive down east, with miles of scenic coastline and quaint villages to explore in between. Perhaps you would like deep sea fishing or golf.

More Details
Hide Details

When I purchased the family property in 1997, it needed a complete overhaul. I alternated spending a month in Colorado and a month in Boothbay while Paradise Cottage (my Grandmother's summer house) was winterized and expanded, and Seanook (the vacation cottage of my childhood) was practically torn down and rebuilt. The early March morning after I arrived the final time to stay, I met Ron, who was working for my contractor on Seanook. Since then we have done all the work around the place ourselves. That winter we built a scale model of our future shop/studio on the diningroom table and broke ground in August 2000 on the third building.

Mary Ellen Serina purchased this house in 1997

Seanook was bought by my mother, a native Mainer, in 1947. At the time it was nothing more than a tiny three month bungalow, but as a child I loved the spot and everything about it. My life-long dream was to return here to live. Ron and I stay on the property year-round. Every season is our favorite! We are forever changing and improving wherever we can. In everything we do we try to maintain some of the rustic seaside character of the place, yet add to its charm.

To wake up every morning to the call of seabirds and songbirds and the lapping of little waves, to views of the head of the bay as the sun creeps down the opposite shore, and with the verdant Maine woods behind you is about as close to Paradise as one can get, and then to be bathed in fresh salt air all day long and to have that long view across the water right here for the looking any time gives you that relaxed 'aaah' feeling.

10 Reviews of Property 232537 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Enchanting place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my first time to Maine with my children age 8 and 9. The cottage was more than I expected. I wasn't sure if kids could be entertained on their own here and it turned out they were just as happy to explore, kayak , walk and relax. It truly was relaxing for us all and they never wanted to leave even to just go get dinner. Our favorite little trip was to the botanical gardens where we spent hours enjoying the beauty. I really do hope we can come back some year and Mary Ellen and Ron were very kind and helpful.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Charming setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The owners Ron and Maryellen could not be more accommodating. Before our arrival Ron had set up a mooring for the sailing dingy that we trailered up. The gardens are truly magical. Amazed at the amount of time that Maryellen tends to them. They had just finished working on a private sitting garden. So quiet and peaceful and the smell of all the lovely flowers was tranquilizing. The house was quaint. Windows in all directions that look out onto the bay. Don't forget to ask about the bonfires.If you want privacy from noise,traffic and crowds this is the place to be. Just a short drive to town and plenty of things to do. We will be back to this cottage again.
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Greensboro, NC
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I would be remiss if I didn't share our experience with anyone considering Paradise Cottage as a vacation destination in the Boothbay Harbor region of Maine. From the moment of first contact with Mary Ellen and Ron, every email promptly responded to about reservations and recommendations, to the point of arrival Ron greeting us with a flash light after dark helping us to settle in, serene and beautiful gardens, their artist studio that I could have spent hours in, to the comfortable and quaint vacation cottage overlooking the harbor....we could not have chosen a better place for my Mom and I to visit. I am thankful that we found this "slice of heaven" and would recommend without reservation anyone who appreciates simple beauty and gracious hospitality. Thank you Mary Ellen and Ron for welcoming us and offering your cottage for our enjoyment and relaxation - great memories were made that we will always treasure. Hope to visit again soon. Thanks again, Kim Hilton
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Our Vacation Could Not Have Been Better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a glorious time at this cottage...it really is a piece of paradise!
The garden is lovely - home immaculate - rooms spacious- kitchen well equipped - deck lovely - location perfect and peaceful and the hot tub was was enjoyed by all!
This is our 4th year staying in this area, but our 1st time staying in East Boothbay and I guarantee it won't be the last.
Highlights of our stay at paradise cottage were cooking seafood feasts at home, daily kayak adventures, an early-morning walk to the East Boothbay general store for delicious muffins, swimming on our private beach, hiking on local trails and several sunsets at Ocean Point which is a short drive.
While there is a kayak on the property available to use, we brought our own and our hosts created a tie up for us on the shore which made life so easy!

These hosts clearly have the gift of hospitality; they are gracious, helpful and even though they live near the home, they don't get in your space. We enjoyed a lovely bonfire together and even offered to provide perennials from her garden for me to take home!

A previous reviewer mentions that the home needs an update however, we found the linens and beds perfectly comfortable.

My only complaint is that I can't live at Paradise Cottage year round!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
3

Paradise cottage stay

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The cottage location and layout was accurate. Gardens are beautiful. Property owner helpful and friendly. The bedrooms need an upgrade. Mattresses were old and uncomfortable, linens which were additional cost were not the quality you would expect. The master bedroom has the washer and dryer in the middle of it. Unit has potential but is in need of an upgrade
Owner's Response: Paradise Cottage is a home not a hotel, and it has its quirks! There’s a tree growing through a hole in the deck. Hand painted sailboats float around the walls of the main bathroom. Interesting folded, pleated and scoured rocks serve as door stops. The lighthouse themed end bedroom, which we call the “Master,” has a lighthouse–shaped wall with one painted on it, and curvy custom counters in the master bathroom. Mullioned glass pocket doors between the middle bedroom and hall make the room bigger and bring in the woods from behind to be joined with the water view from the front. Besides the washer-dryer in the middle of the closet, there is also an extra vanity sink there.
So you won’t be surprised, be sure to check out our website before you come; all the pictures are there. We realize too that people have different preferences: four days of Maine rain might be relaxation heaven to one person, but spell boredom to the next; fishing under a blazing sun may be your cup of tea, but to see a fog bank approaching from two miles out all blue-black on top and white underneath is indeed awe inspiring; likewise, many New England people prefer bringing their own linens, but others find that wicked weird.
We always look forward to meeting new guests and welcoming back our numerous returns.
P.S. The mattress and foam topper were new In October 2011.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Cambridge, MA
5

Tranquility in all respects

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Beautifully located, this cottage is guaranteed to take the city-bustle off your mind in no time. Mary Allen and Ron, the owners, have been enormously helpful but discreet. Make sure you check out Boothbay`s botanical gardens and the lovely Ocean Point at the tip of the peninsula while you are here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Paradise Cottage immerses visitors in the natural beauty of our spot with woods behind, the bay expanding in front, and perennial gardens just off the deck all conspiring to give you that "aaahhh" feeling. Hiking, swimming, kayaking, and beachcombing are all possible right here. Yet if you want more activity, we are only three miles from bustling Boothbay Harbor and all it offers including boat tours, lighthouses, shops, gourmet restaurants, antiquing, art studios, quilting shops, and quaint harbors with lobster boats. We are open for relaxing rentals year-round with specials and short stays in the off season.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Winter Week in E. Boothbay Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We arrived late at night, and it was dark and a little difficult to find the right cottage. I expected this and had a flashlight available, and would have actually been a little disappointed if the area was too well lit. The cottage was clean and waiting for us when we arrived. Ron came out and greeted us with a quick tour and explanation of the heaters. The town was mostly closed-up since we chose to come in the off-season, but again we knew this and brought groceries with us. We took a quick walk from the cottage to the General Store at about 3 in the afternoon, but it had already closed (at 2p), so we wish we had known that little fact beforehand (still a pleasant walk). Mary Ellen gave some hiking suggestions and eating suggestions for Boothbay Harbor (McSeagull's was quite good), about a 15-20 minute drive down the road. The cottage was comfortable with nice views of the bay; although located across the small road from the water, the elevation was high enough to give a good view from the living/dining area. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and Ron and Mary Ellen were hospitable and kind with helpful suggestions. The heaters worked very well, and we would recommend staying here to anyone interested.
Owner's Response: The East Boothbay General Store has been experimenting with different hours this winter. At present they are open 7am to 7pm Monday through Friday. In summer they will be open every day providing a nice destination for a walk through the woods and over the dam, as they have great food! The Hannaford grocery store is just three miles away, but is open only 7- 9 daily in winter. The best restaurants stay open all year, so that there are always about three good choices.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Central Iowa, USA
5

Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This cottage is great. We felt right at home the minute we walked in. It's very homey and comfortable. Everything was clean and in working order. We spent every morning on the deck, drinking coffee and watching the lobster boats go out. Then spent every evening on the deck watching the sun set over the bay. There are so many huge windows, that even when you are inside, it feels like you are outside. There are so many things to do that are close by: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, Pemaquid Lighthouse, Maine Maritime Museum, Capn Fishes Whale Watching, and of course LL Bean. Mary Ellen and Ron are fabulous hosts and very knowledgeable of the area. It was nice to have them close by, so we could drop by with any questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Central Iowa, USA
5

Awesome Week Spent at Paradise Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
What a beautiful cottage! The photos do not do it justice. We felt right at home the minute we walked in. The cottage is clean and well appointed. We had everything we needed for a stress free week. The deck is great for coffee in the morning and watching the sunset in the evening. Mary Ellen and Ron are great hosts, and very knowledgeable about the area. We visited the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, the Maine Maritime Museum and took a whale watching cruise with Cap'n Fishes Whale Watching. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a private cottage getaway. Thank you Mary Ellen and Ron!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cottage with Bay Views in Perennial Gardens, Ocean Beach, near Boothbay Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232537
+1 207 633-6093
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Sanford, Michigan
5

Wonderful Honeymoon Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We loved our stay and hated to leave. The view is wonderful, and the location worked well for us. The cottage description was accurate, and was clean and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the cottage for a romantic getaway, or a family with children.

I recommend eating at McSeagulls; ordering a pizza from the General store; shop at Paradise Gallery; shop at Edgecomb Potters Gallery; take a day trip to Camden and Portland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2