Ocean Beach cottage rental - Carribean Seahorse Cottage
Carribean Seahorse Cottage
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Ocean Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Our Ocean Beach Cottage is located one block from the beach and two blocks from the Ocean Beach Pier and the lively main street of Newport Avenue. Sit on the deck and watch the blue ocean - cannot get better than that! Fall asleep to the sound of the waves...

Lovingly restored cute and charming 1930's Beach Cottage was completely renovated in 2008, offers all the comforts of a 'home away from home'. Beautifully designed, true to the beach cottage style, bright and airy, with hardwood and tile floors, fully equipped kitchen, raised ceilings with fans, front and back private decks, & a lush garden. An on-site laundry facility and a place to safely store your surfboards are provided.

The Seahorse Cottage will accommodate either up to 3 adults, or 2 adults with 2 children.

Off-street reserved parking (a rare commodity in these parts) is provided.

17 Reviews of Property 232432 in Ocean Beach, California

A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Oslo
5

good for the price, I loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
The studio is clean and near the beach, downtown and good restaurants. I loved it. It was sunny and it's a calm area. The owners (Yasmin and Bill) will make you feel like home. I love San Diego, and studio in Ocean Beach. I will be back for a good time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

a comfortable cottage close to the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
From our first contact with the owner, Yasmin, when we were inquiring about the cottage, and throughout our stay at the cottage, our experience was pleasant and professional. The property was as described, and was clean and cheery, and the deck was a private retreat for our meals and/or an afternoon mojitos. The best thing for us was that it was just a short walk to the beach, which we enjoyed daily during our stay. It is also close driving distance to other beaches and attractions. We also enjoyed walking around the Ocean Beach neighborhood for shopping and eating at local establishments. We would definitely return to this cottage for future vacations and would heartily recommend it to our friends and relatives and anyone reading this review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

100% perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 4 days... it was our first time in Ocean Beach and our first experience renting a home through HomeAway. Nothing could have been better! The cottage was clean, on a quiet street, a 1-minute walk from the beach, and had everything we needed for a wonderful vacation! Yasmin was very fast and thorough with communications before we arrived, we received check-in instructions that were very easy to follow, and all the information listed was completely accurate. On check-in there is a binder and guestbook as well as several information pamphlets which are all very nice touches.

The cottage is very well appointed, just right for a couple away from home who doesn't want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown SD.. There was plenty of cookware in the kitchen, the dedicated parking spot was a HUGE plus, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the outdoor shower was ideal for when we walked back from the beach, and the cottage is behind the main house which afforded a great deal of privacy. The planes overhead (they started around 6:30/7a.m.) were actually a handy "alarm clock" that got us up and going each morning after lazing and listening to the green parrots for a few minutes and thinking about what we wanted to do each day. There is also a coin-op washer and dryer on the property, front loading and very clean, which came in handy during our stay.

The location is also wonderfully convenient: Plenty of businesses were well within walking distance (coffee, food co-op, drug store, restaurants) and it was also very easy to get on major thoroughfares for a jaunt to places like La Jolla and the Gaslamp District.

I would absolutely stay here again and have told several of my friends if they ever plan a trip to San Diego, this is the place to stay!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Charming cottage with a wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The cottage is clean, cozy, comfortable and is right in the heart of OB. If you are looking for a relaxing beach stay for a good price this is the right place for you. There can be noise from airplanes, but that cannot be avoided in OB. The person in charge of renting the cottage is sweet and very responsive to questions and booking, she makes the rental process very easy. My husband and I loved it.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
3

3 night stay at Seahorse Cottage, Ocean Beach

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The cottage is convenient for those without a car who want to take advantage of the local beach town, OB. It's only a couple blocks from the sand and a few from a great breakfast cafe, Shades Oceanfront Bistro, and bar, South Beach Bar and Grille. We had a car and found the available parking spot to be a great plus! The rental has a nice ambiance, beach-like. We don't try to find the negatives in any place we stay. The only thing to be aware of (if you're a light sleeper) is that you're in the flight path of airplanes coming in and out of SD International Airport. However, this disturbance is felt in many parts of San Diego city! We didn't get the opportunity to meet the owner, but they were very professional by correspondence. We enjoyed our stay!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
3

Great location and cute cottage

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a cute cottage, in a great location, perfect for a couple. Very walkable to the beach and into town/OB where the shops and restaurants are. Great that it includes a parking spot as parking can be difficult in OB and the grounds of the property are well kept with nice plants and outdoor seating areas. The rental is in a quiet part of town, but if you want to sleep in, know that OB is in the flight path for the San Diego airport, you get major plan noise starting at 6 AM. What would take this rental from good to great would be better linens and a higher quality bed. The bedding and bathroom towels were very cheap, thin and appeared to be old. The bed was fine for the few nights that we stayed, but this was not a high quality bed if that really matters to you. Also, if you are a larger person (my husband is 6’ 4”) you will barely fit into the tiny shower. He had a really difficult time showering as he literally filled up the entire space. I am an average sized woman and I even found the shower to be a very confined space to get clean.
Owner's Response: We thank Rachel for the important input and take into consideration the items that can be changed and improved upon. Housekeeping is responsible for taking worn out and old linen/towels out of circulation and we will ensure they do a better job in the future. The mattresses in all our rentals are Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, which are known for their good quality. Unfortunately, we cannot satisfy all guests when it comes to mattress firmness and comfort. One of the comments we do get from guests often is how comfortable our beds are. The Seahorse is a small cottage and due to space constraints the shower is small as well. This is a cottage for budget oriented guests and is priced & furnished accordingly.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Seahorse Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Stayed at the Seahorse Cottage last week with my girlfriend and had a blast! Just steps from the beach and close to a ton of bars, shops, and restaurants. Couldn't ask for a better location or a better time! Also, VERY reasonably priced compared to other properties in the area. Would definitely stay again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Washington, DC
5

The perfect OB getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I stayed at the Seahorse Cottage with my boyfriend for 3 days and it was an absolutely amazing experience. The cottage is in the perfect location - half a block to the beach and a 5 minute walk to Newport Ave where all OB shops and restaurants are. We felt like true locals during our stay here and will definitely stay again when we return to the area. The cottage itself is adorable and the perfect size for a nice romantic getaway. It is colorful and fun and even has a nice little deck outside the front door. Thank you for an amazing vacation!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
San Pedro
4

Very relaxing stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We spent a week at the Seahorse Cottage and had a very relaxing stay. The cottage is within 10 miles of all San Diego and La Jolla attractions with easy freeway access to everything. Definitely bring your bike to easily get around town. We had a great meal at the Pizza Port (check out their great selection of microbrews) and of course Hodad's to feel like your part of the local scene. If you are a light sleeper you might want to bring some earplugs because Ocean Beach is directly in the flight path to and from SD International airport. Also, definitely bring a few extra towels if your stay is over a few days long and you don't want to do laundry (one towel per person).

Overall the town is very laidback and relaxing and a wonderful little getaway!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A Walk To The Beach - Caribbean Seahorse Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232432
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Austin TX
5

Great vacation cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The place was clean and close to the beach & shops. Also it had a great deck (seperate for both units). The owners were very nice and accomodating. I will most likely stay in this exact one again, WAY better than a hotel. I am from SD and this is a great price and area, can't be beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3