Pemaquid Point cottage rental - Front of cottage overlooking ocean
Front of cottage overlooking ocean
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Pemaquid Point Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Oceanfront-1 bedroom and small loft with twin bed, One Full Bath, (Sleeps 3)

A secluded cottage on the beautiful Pemaquid Point Peninsula. Relax and enjoy a rare opportunity to experience both crashing surf and a white sandy beach steps from the cottage.

Relax in or outside on the deck overlooking both the ocean and several islands.

This a a true 'get away from it all' location yet close to all amenities and nearby New Harbor, Damariscotta, Christmas Cove, Boothbay Harbor and many more charming Maine villages.

Try to fit in a day visiting the magical Monhegan Island just across Muscongus Bay. Daily ferry service.

The famous Pemaquid Point Lighthouse is a part of our local history. A real treat also is right next door where you can enjoy blueberry pancakes and breathtaking views at the SeaGull Cafe. (Dinner too)

Fort William Henry and the Colonial Pemaquid State Historic Site are close by.

Enjoy relaxed dining at the many local restaurants.

Local lobster pounds minutes from cottage.

Golfing, boating, fishing, kayaking are all available.

Come to relax and leave refreshed!

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 411049 in Pemaquid Point, Maine

Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Private, amazing views, realxing and comfort!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I had never traveled to the east coast together as we spent most of our married lives living on the west coast and mid-west. Upon our arrival, I could tell we were going to love this cottage. My wife's face lit up as she saw the beach, rocks, and water...finally she had seen the Atlantic Ocean.
The views from the deck and beach are breath taking. Watching the boats, birds, and waves made sitting at the beach very relaxing. We walked the beach for shells and sea glass...both were to be had!
The cottage itself is very nice...with all of the comforts of home. It is secluded from the main road... a small cottage is nearby...but not too close. We enjoyed the privacy that the cottage had to offer.There is plenty of room to hang out in the living room, cook in the kitchen .. with every gadget you may need, and the view of the water from the bedroom is fabulous. The weather was nice the entire time we were there, so we could hear the waves at night...a great way to fall asleep. There was plenty of information about the area in the cottage and quite a few books and things to enjoy while sitting on the beach.There is a washer and dryer if needed in the basement.
Before ending our week at this cottage, we had already booked a week for 2014! We are excited to return to the cottage and all of the comfort and relaxation it has to offer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Great private cottage on the ocean with rocks and small sandy beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I couldn't wait to get away after a hot rainy summer in Pennsylvania. We picked Maine because we thought the weather might be just right in September, and it was perfect. Cool, dry and relaxing. Enjoyed the lovely, super clean and well-equipped cottage. The owner was extremely helpful and left lots of information for us to easily traverse the area. Enjoyed the Pemaquid Light House and wonderful art gallery on the premises. Visited the Botanical Gardens in Boothbay Harbor....a must see. Would recommend the River Grill in Damariscotta for dinner and the Cupboard Cafe in New Harbor for breakfast. Best Lobster Roll at Sarah's Restaurant in Wiscasset. Also, binoculars and telescope were a nice touch in the cottage along with the TV and WiFi. Only disappointment was my husband couldn't locate ESPN, which is probably available, but we are technologically challenged. He did manage to find every football game that was broadcast that week on the football network. Whew!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Watertown, NY
5

Downeast at its Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Upon arrival we drove up to the cottage and there was the ocean, right there crashing on the rocks. Once inside you can appreciate how the cottage is part of the seascape with magnificent views, sounds of waves and great ocean smell. The place is well outfitted with everything you need with a very good kitchen and good size bath. The bedroom offers a very good mattress and of course more inspiring views. If you love the Maine Coast you will definitely put this place high on the list. Best vacation we've had in 20 years.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I vacationed here with my 2.5 year old and my husband visited off and on during the week. This is the perfect size for a couple or a very small family. We had an amazing time exploring the rocky beachfront looking for seaglass (there is a lot!) and watching the lobster boats. I didn't really realize how quiet it was there until we got home and I missed the serenity of hearing the waves and the boats bumbling by. Pemaquid Beach is a very short drive away (and the ice cream stand!) and the lighthouse is close by too. We went to Shaw's Wharf one night and had a blast. One night I went out for a walk on the rocks at sunset and everything was pink; the sun, the sky, the hazy fog, the ocean. It was beautiful. I have missed being at this cottage every day that I have been back home. I highly recommend a stay here.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Shaker Hts., OH
5

Amazing views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This cottage is surrounded on 3 sides by woods with the fourth side facing the ocean. It has everything you need; just bring a toothbrush. The surrounding communities are absolutely pristine and charming. The views from this house are incredible.

The rental process was easy and professional. Not a problem. Enjoy this amazing property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
North Carolina
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and the house was perfect for our getaway. 20 yards from the water with a private beach - how much better can it be. My wife enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen. Great to watch sunsets and waking up looking at the water. Highly recommend this cottage!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Mount Vernon, NY
5

Peaceful, Beautiful, Unforgettable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Review #5544789 Peaceful and Without Blemish or Problem

My wife and I had wanted to go to Maine to relax, to hear the surf, to arrive at a cottage where everything would be "just so" - a haven from the usual lives we live. But nothing could have prepared us for this calming and blissful experience! Quiet lapping of John's Bay, sunlight through the windows that face out to the water, lobstermen gathering their haul after the night, gulls flying south every morning for their breakfast fishing, heavenly privacy. And the added practical bonus of not a thing - not a single thing - ignored or forgotten by the host of this amazingly lovely place. A totally equipped kitchen. Board games, TV, DVD, and Maine books on the shelves, a telescope to watch the starry sky, an office to do whatever bits of work that need a desk could be done, an extremely comfortable queen-sized bed, simple and straightforward decorations, along with comfy couches and chairs to lounge in. Do I need to go on? There is nothing to do but rest, feet up on the deck railing, book in hand, enjoying blissful moments of shameless napping in the middle of a novel as the sun heads to the western horizon. One can simply let everything tense or unsolved drain away. If one needs company, surrounding communities are about a mile away, either down the peninsula toward Pemaquid Lighthouse or up toward the mainland. But driving down the forested road that leads down from the main highway is perfect as a prelude to the cottage All that's left to say is, "Is this real?" and "Pinch me!" Complete peace... So much so that, at the end of our week my wife said, "You're going to need a bulldozer to get me out of here when we have to leave." Of course, we did leave, but we've already reserved two weeks next August!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Hummelstown, PA
5

Quiet and Scenic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cottage is out of the way if you are looking for a quiet restful vacation. The view is worth it all. In addition to watching the lobstermen pulling in their pots every morning we had several occasions to see dolphins running the bay.

If you are looking for sea glass it's on the beach to be found. The water is cold and that's what you expect. Climbing among the rocks at low tide can be a challenge if you're not too sure footed. There is plenty of beach (rocky) to walk and you will find washed up lobster pots and an occasional buoy.

The cottage is great and offers everything you could need. We used the optics available along with our own to view distant lighthouses. I believe you can see at least three lights at night. The kitchen is well stocked.

If you bike, and we do, once you get up the gravel/stone hill to the main road it's a short ride to Pemaquid Light and the loop or take a ride up to New Harbor.

All the amenities are offered and the property description is quite accurate. It was nice to have laundry facilities in the basement. The shed was great for storing our bikes out of the weather.

Take a short drive up to Riley's and grab some fresh lobster to bring back to the cottage for dinner. It's about 14 miles to the nearest Hanaford's and Riley's prices aren't bad. They have just about any food items you are looking for.

For the solitude and view, Pemaquid Cottage is worth every cent.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Spencer, Massachusetts
5

Relax by the Sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We returned! How could we not? The drive down the enchanted pine forest road beckons. The bright, airy, simple yet so comfortable cottage welcomes. And the view! The view pulls and draws you to take a deep breath, settle in a deck chair and watch ..watch the confused cormorants pop up in the water, watch the lobster boats from 'round the harbor haul "your lobster roll lunch", watch the sunshine spread diamonds on the water, and the moon's reflection a rival for any artists' brush. Watch the tides change, the rocks sparkle, the sun awaken and the sunset glow. Watch hummingbirds and dragonflies and eagles and gulls. watch sails on the horizon and the lighthouses on distant shores.
Close to the beloved Pemaquid lighthouse, close to the Center buzz of town, a short drive to the charming bustle of Damariscottia, hiking trails and harbors, good food, and delights.
A vacation for the senses, a rest for your soul. This cottage is well loved and maintained and respected. Comfort surrounds. The kitchen held just the right necessities. The furniture snuggly. The bedroom perfect for dreaming. The bathroom as it should be!
Perhaps the best description of this gem along the shore.....we pulled up in the car, opened the door, walked up on the deck, gazed out to sea. My husband asked "All better?" and my soul answered "yes!"
we will come back. How could we not?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cottage-Dramatic Crashing Surf-Walk to Lighthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411049vbi
+ 518-573-7838
Pemaquid Point Boothbay Harbor Area
Spencer, Massachusetts
5

Step into a FairyTale

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
A long time dream of mine has been to have a little house on the ocean. This cottage and surroundings could not have been any more perfect !
A cozy comfortable cottage, holding just the right furnishings to sit back and relax. Decor was simple, yet created an atmosphere of surrounding oneself in a warm cozy shawl of colors and whimsy. Kitchen was well stocked with just the necessities for burgers, clam bake or lobster rolls from down the road.
Sleeping was peaceful, and on my usual wake up at 3 am for no reason nights I was lulled back to a calm sleep by gazing at the chandelier of stars through the bedroom window.
The bathroom was roomy, with a funky octagon window to let in the sea-refreshing breeze.
Morning sunlight tickled slowly through the trees, illuminating the beach and treasures from the last tide. Brightness glinted on the water as the lobster boats hauled the days' catch. An afternoon trip around the cove road leads to Pemaquid Fishermans Co-op, with, and I dare to say it, better than Red's Lobster rolls!
Although not the most amicable of clerks, the small grocery store in the center of "town" a short drive from the cottage held all one could need, and more. Down the road the other way brings one to the Lighthouse and the adorable SeaGull Gift Shop and Cafe.
A tour in the area found us on the Ferry to Monhegan Island in the morning, and early evening dining in the most welcoming "feels like home" Dot's Bakery on Rt 32.
The cottage and lawn are well maintained, and although other discoveries beckoned we were drawn to just sit on the deck, toast the sunset and gaze at the distant beacons of safety.
Hummingbirds, dragonflies, wildflowers and pines, a touch of a fairy, woodland mosses, sea breezes and seagulls, secure privacy yet openness, views of distant shores. If you have ever had a heart ache dream of a cottage by the ocean, this place is that dream come true.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7