Hill City cabin rental - Pine Top Hideaway
Pine Top Hideaway
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hill City Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sofa sleeper, sleeps 6

Escape into nature and the peace and quiet of the forest in this cozy cabin nestled within the pines . Enjoy the trees, rock outcroppings , and views from the 1000 sq ft of decking. This unique tri level cabin is within minutes of Pactola Lake where you can enjoy boating, fishing, and beaches. Edelweiss Mountain is conveniently located in the Central Black Hills. To the south15 miles is Hill City. A little further south, only 20 miles, to Mt Rushmore and Keystone. Just add 15 miles and you are at Crazy Horse Memorial & Custer State Park. Historic Deadwood and Lead are located north 35 miles, where you can enjoy Las Vegas style gambling and the Old West. The Sturgis Motorcycle Rally is just 15 miles more. Rapid City is only 25 miles away . You can't lose on our views, we are located at 5800 ft elevation .

Care of your rental cabin: This cabin is owned by residents of South Dakota who love the Black Hills. We expect that anyone renting our cabin will treat it with care as well as respect the furnishings in the home. We are very respectful members of the Edelweiss Mountain homeowners association. We only want renters who will also hold high regard for the beauty and serenity of our hidden little community.

Black Hills Vacation: We invite you to spend your next vacation at our cabin. Whether it's for a week or a few days . Our cabin offers some of the most breathtaking scenery and relaxing atmosphere found anywhere.

Edelweiss Mountain is a gated community assuring you of privacy . Licensed by the South Dakota Department of Health.

Cancellation Policy: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur no penalty except if deposits were made via credit card. All credit card cancellations are subject to a $50.00 cancellation fee. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay , that are made within 60 days of the arrival date , forfeit the full advance payment less the $200 damage deposit.

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 231780 in Hill City, South Dakota

Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 22 reviews
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Hill Top Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cabin stay was far more than we thought it would be; The 12 minute drive it takes to get to Hill City is part of the experience. The peaceful surroundings, the hill top views to the wild life that walks up to the front door. We would recommend this cabin to everyone. It is set up for a couple to a family of 6 comfortably. The spiral stair case is part of the homes charm.
The use of a full kitchen to the laundry area made this a very comfortable stay. The lower level appears to be set up great for kids. We did not get a chance to use it, but we would love to bring the family here to get the full use of the home.
The cabin is set center of all the attractions that one would enjoy during their visit to the Black Hills. We could not imagine staying anywhere else.
Clean, comfortable, convenient, charm, views and extremely inviting. The home looks just like the pictures posted on HomeAway.
Cherie Denn & Jeff Adelman
Hastings MN
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
4

Mountain top seclusion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This mountain top cabin was exactly as depicted in the pictures. It was very clean and cozy. The Cordell's were great and answered any questions we had prior to renting their home. We were visiting SD for Sturgis Bike Week and the drive up the mountain with a pickup and bike trailer was a little difficult. The first few trips on the bike were a bit frightening but did get easier each time. If you are looking for a place to stay and have the "Sturgis experience" this is quite a drive from Sturgis, The Buffalo Chip and Full Throttle Salon; but if you want peace and quiet this is a great place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
St. Louis, MO
5

A Wonderful Mountaintop Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Centrally located, well-stocked, and beautiful. Drive in is a challenge, as the final few miles are on gravel and many hairpin turns. Once there, you are in a pine forest paradise. Our teen boys loved the separate downstairs apartment. We at most of our meals in or brought picnic lunches. Restaurants in the area are expensie and were were not impressed with the food quality when we did eat out. The grocer in Custer is the best by far.We would visit again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Living on top of the world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From initial contact with the owner until the time of checkout, this was a five star experience. Exceptional customer service, promt responses and accurate descriptions of the property made this rental an easy choice. The property was extremely clean and well maintained. The view from the top of the mountain was incredible. If you are looking for peace and quiet, it doesn't get any better. If you are looking for adventure, this property is located in the middle of all the Black Hills has to offer. Two things were a bit of a downside: The spiral staircase between the living area and the bed/bath area. It is very narrow and difficult to negotiate for someone with ankle problems (and, i would assume, for some elderly). The other is the road up the mountain. We travelled on a large motorcycle and found it somewhat treacherous. A regular passenger vehicle should have no problem. Over all, I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a memorable vacation.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Excellent cabin, drive not for the faint of heart

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed 5 nights in this hidden gem with another couple for a Jeep excursion into the Black Hills. If you are up for the challenge of the drive to this cabin, your reward is stunning views, incredible accomodations, and a fully stocked comfortable nest amongst the Ponderosa Pines. We spent minimal time at the cabin as we traveled out each day on a new adventure, but upon our return we had a wonderful deck and grill to enjoy. Comfortable beds in which to sleep, with sliding glass doors and decks at the foot of the bed for a nice breeze. The 2 bathrooms were great for getting ready in the morning and a complete kitchen for morning breakfast. Did I mention coffee on the deck? Try it, you'll like it!

I will say the drive back to this cabin is an adventure in itself. Lots of switchbacks, hills, curves and free range cattle. Always something to see and talk about, but the end destination made it worthwhile.

We were out before and right at the start of the Sturgis Rally, people everywhere and even the cabins near us, but with the spacing and trees you never knew it. Awesome experience in the Black Hills made better by a great place to stay.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had such a nice time at this home and want to thank the owners for letting us rent their home. It was so nice after a day of sight seeing to just sit on the deck, grill out or play games as a family. With the full kitchen and the grill being available we ate most of our dinners there which saved a lot of $. The three levels give everyone enough space and the kids enjoyed playing the video games on the lower level. It had everything we needed and more. So much better than a hotel. Also, it's very close to Lake Pactola where there is a swimming beach and place that you can rent a pontoon (which we did). Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Great vacation spot for our family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We loved it. It was right in the middle of all the major sites. Eating out on the deck morning and night was amazing. Our 2 boys loved playing the video games at night after sightseeing all day. The walking sticks were a big hit with them as well. The wine was a nice surprise. We will definitely share with our friends info on this great home if they are taking a trip to the Black Hills.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
5

Vacation Bliss in the Black Hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This cabin provided the perfect setting to spend our evenings after sight-seeing during our family vacation. We are a family of four, two kids--13 and 10. They loved the cabin, especially the spiral staircase. My husband and I loved the large deck off the dining/living room area. We sat out every night watching the stars. The kitchen was perfectly stocked, even for a big cook like myself. One of the main reasons I like to find vacation rentals is for the convenience of cooking most of our own meals. The drive up the mountain felt a little perilious our first time, but became a breeze after that and was well worth the beautiful view. We had everything we could have needed, a cooler to bring along lunch, beach towels for a day trip to nearby Lake Sheridan, maps and brochures for local sights, games and toys, movies... Overall, the area was wonderful and we are all very thankful for our wonderful cabin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
Colorado Springs, CO
4

Great central location in the Black Hills

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Spent 6 nights at cabin as our family explored the Black Hills. It is a drive to get to the cabin, but it was so worth it. It was well stocked all around and very comfortable. Teenager loved the bottom floor sleeping area, giving all of us our privacy! It's location was very convenient to go out on day trips throughout the region and was close enough to Hill City to get groceries or dinner.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique mountain top home on beautiful Edelweiss mountain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231780
+1 605 361-6865
Hill City Black Hills
Lincoln NE
4

Nice, cozy and warm.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
See above
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1