Union estate rental - Children love our horses!
Children love our horses!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps20
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Union Estate Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps up to 25, pond, ATVs, horses, near ski/rafting

Bring your family to a fun and relaxing retreat in the mountains of West Virginia. At Pyne Mountain Farm we serve as a Retreat Center and Vacation Rental.

We're located in the Southeast corner of West Virginia, close to the border with Virginia. Blacksburg, VA is a one hour drive away. We're also just minutes South of Lewisburg, WV, rated one of the top 100 small towns in the country for its art, theater, and culture.

There is so much to do at the estate. We have 500 acres, mountain views, streams with minnows and crayfish, stocked ponds, ATVs, trails, forest, and lots of animals: horses, dogs, cats, chipmunks, some times cows and more.

Near by there are caves, world class golf courses, mountain tops, lakes, a dam, a buffalo farm, an alpaca/lama farm (with ostriches), a farmer's market and much more.

Website: We have lots of information and pictures on our website. Go to google and search for Pyne Mountain Farm.

11 Reviews of Property 231722 in Union, West Virginia

Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Philadelphia PA
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We stayed here for a few days with my inlaws, 3 kids and 3 dogs. We arrived at dusk and missed the entrance and ended up at the top of the mountain! One quick call (thank you David and AT&T) and we got directions (which ARE on the website -- just look more carefully than we did!). One horse greeted us as soon as we turned onto the property and from a distance we could see the lights on in the house. It was chilly when we arrived but the house heat was cranked and every room was very warm, we had to turn the heat down to sleep. The owners met us as soon as we arrived and helped us get situated -- quick and friendly but not invasive -- "holler if you need us" kind of greeting. Just right. Woke in the morning to a friendly dog and some cats mulling about the front door and they would come in and out -- not the least bit phased by our dogs. The kids really loved it -- hiking, fishing, hanging out with the horses and turkeys. Stargazing off the porch at night -- it was really nice. Not luxurious but it's not advertised as the Four Seasons. The kitchen is fine for cooking meals but we did head into town for lunch and there is a cute little downtown; then we stopped at Lost World caverns on the way out of town. We'll certainly visit again. The owners were building a treehouse when we were there and I'd love to see it finished!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Kingsport, TN
4

Rustic is a little bit of an understatement

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Pyne Mountain Farm can sleep 11 folks (adults, teenagers and one eight year old). We were a little unprepared for the level of 'rustic' that the place provides. There are 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. However, both of the showers were not in the greatest repair. But, we were impressed that we never ran out of hot water. The sun porch is a little rickety and none of the furniture was all that comfortable. The beds are all double beds, tiny for a couple. I guess you could say we had to really love each other to sleep that close! That said, the place is clean. It is huge and we found that it was plenty big enough for all of us to chill out and do our thing. The animals outside were interesting. The folks are friendly and our family had a really good time hanging out together. I think we'd go back, but we'd bring our air mattresses ;)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Gaithersburg, Md
4

very unique

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a great ladies weekend there. There is plenty of room and we spent a lot of time on the sunporch. We liked the uniqueness of the house with the very old and the new. I would have liked to see the place a bit cleaner and maybe some newer towels. The owner was great to talk to and very helpful. I am looking forward to seeing his tree house that he is building on the property there.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
5

Third Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Another GREAT vacation spent here! We stayed from April 30 - May 8 and loved every minute of it.No one was ready to leave. We saw a bear, many beautiful birds, deer, a snake, and lots of turtles. The children heard some howling off in the woods a couple evenings so one evening they stayed out after dark and did some howling themselves trying to get a reply (Probably drove David and Theresa crazy with all the kids noise that night although they were much to kind to tell us if they minded!).
We walked trails,rode 4-wheelers,collected a few fossils,went wading in the creek,visited the horses, played with the dogs, rode the zipline and built forts in the woods.
After dark we ate snacks, watched movies and used the computer/internet.
Thanks for everything, David and Theresa! We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Michigan
4

Family Thanksgiving Trip

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My siblings and their families come together every 2 years for the Thanksgiving holiday. My sister found this rustic cabin built in the 1800's on 500 acres of farm land with hourses in W. Virginia. We traveled from Michigan, Kentucky, South Carolina and Florida for this family vacation. The weather was beautiful, the view was awesome, and the house was big. You could smell the wood burning throughout the air. All the kids went exploring, visiting the chicken coop, petting the horses, and the farm dogs and cats. It was a perfect spot to spend family time without alot of distractions. But we weren't too far from civilization - we had Wi-fi, Internet, and cable. We played card and board games, cousins got to hang out, and we ate until our guts were about to bust. This is a rustic, no frills place to enjoy family and the outdoors. My kids didn't want to leave they were having so much fun. I highly recommend this place for a quiet relaxing getaway to spend time with the family.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Beaufort, SC
4

Pyne Mountain Farm

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband and I recently enjoyed a vacation with our family to Pyne Mountain Farm in West Virginia. The location added to a peaceful and tranquil stay. Our 3-year-old enjoyed running around the open 500 acres and was thrilled with the wildlife, which included horses, chickens, and ducks. The rest of our family enjoyed the walking trails and the fire pit, where they roasted marshmallows and made smores. We were very pleased with the game selection, as it enabled us to spend quality family time together. The house also offered extra tables and chairs so that we were able to play games in different rooms. We stayed in the cowgirl room which slept 4 comfortably and came with an extra space heater. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
South Carolina
5

Thanksgiving at Pyne Mountain Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
First of all, do you know how hard it is to find a place that can accommodate 18 people . . . . Pyne Mountain Farm is that hard to find place. My family of 3 sisters and 1 brother - together with spouses, children, pre-teens and teens probably had the best vacation together that we have ever had. The farm is very secluded, which means the kids were free to roam as they wished (and get lost in the woods to be saved by Nugget), play with and feed the animals (horses, roosters, chickens, ducks, cats and dogs), get loud laughing and yelling around the fire pit while burning marshmallows to make smores. The kitchen is large enough to have kids at the table doing crafts or playing spoons while the adults were on one of the many card tables available playing Canasta. The living room is large enough that you can place three card tables in it to play Yahtzee, Scrabble and checkers and still have room for people to sit on the couch and read a book or watch the small TV. I, of course, did not travel 7+ hours to watch TV - I traveled that many hours to watch my siblings, in-laws, neices, nephews, daughter, son-in-law and grandson finally meet each other. I drove that many hours to watch the kids and adults out by the shed trying to use the axe (for hours mind you), climb on a dirt pile and play forever, play spoons (until we made them quit) at the large kitchen table. I am not going to say that the farm is for everyone - again, it is a secluded rustic cabin on 500 acres. You won't have the amenities that you will find in a City. But, if you are looking for a place to spend time with a large family or group, and you don't mind if while in the shower the water pressure goes way down because your sister is washing dishes, or that it gets a little chilly at night and you might have to pull out the extra quilts in the closet, or that Nugget and Precious want to come visit with your many children (and that the kids want to steal them away when it is time to leave), or the horses and roosters come right up to the cabin (practically looking in the windows) trying to figure out where we went . . . . if you don't mind those things, then this is the place for you. It was the first time my son-in-law met my family and it was nice to know that he thought they were fun to be with. That would not have happened for the 4+ days 18 people spent together if we had not had those 500 acres (rumor has it it takes 5 hours to walk the perimeter but the kids wouldn't go verify it for me)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Independence, KY
4

Life is What You Make It

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Four sisters and a brother, along with their families, vacationed on this wonderful property for four days over Thanksgiving 2010 - a total of 18 kids and adults. Despite some minor setbacks and making some adjustments to accommodate each one of us, all but just a few of us enjoyed ourselves immensely.

The experience is what you make it. Rustic is the word that is used so be prepared to not be pampered when you are there. If you're looking forward to shopping malls, bubble baths and fine dining, stay home. Otherwise, I highly recommend a visit to this vast expanse of happiness.

The owner made himself available to those that were up for a chat and made sure we had what we needed without always being "up in our business." Not all of the "offerings" were available during our visit, but that just left us to fend for ourselves and enjoy everything else there was to do. Horses, dogs, cats, chickens and ducks wandering for the kids to enjoy (your kids won't get that in the city!) and plenty of room for hiking, running amok and just enjoying the nature that extends as far as the eye can see. There is no control over what nature will do. Sometimes you just gotta roll with it.

The time we as one huge family were able to spend together eating, playing cards, doing crafts, etc. was incredible. The kids were begging not to leave when it was time and, in my opinion, the experience of our family once again enjoying a special Thanksgiving together definitely outweighed the minor annoyances.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
5

Our Favorite Vacation Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We've been at Pyne Mountain Farm for two separate vacations and absolutely love it here! The children (ages 1-17) are begging to come back for our next vacation.We enjoyed roaming the 500 acres, a picnic by the creek, 4-wheeler riding,watching deer, fossil rock hunting, collecting nuts, walking out the front door and getting a pear from the pear tree to snack on,watching a movie to wind down in the evenings, and much more! The children really enjoyed the animals(horses, dogs, cats, ducks and chickens).
The owners are wonderful, kind-hearted people who go out of their way to make sure everything is ok.
We are definitely planning to be back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you!
business
Pyne Mtn Farm, Family vacation site, horses, ATVs,ponds etc, West Virginia (WV)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231722
+ 540 230 0187
Union West Virginia
Alexandria, VA
5

Awesome family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Two years ago, we vacationed in Luray at wonderful Amish farmhouse for spring break. Our family loved the trip and enjoyed having the privacy of 70 acres. This year, we wanted to try something similar, but with the ability to ride ATVs and dirt bikes. We found the perfect place -- Pyne Mountain Farm in Salt Sulphur Springs, West Virginia.

The beautiful and rustic log home built in the early 1800's is located on approximately 500 acres with an elevation of 2100 feet. Miles and miles of old logging trails through all types of terrain are available for hiking, ATVs, motorcycles or off-road vehicles.

Our four children especially loved the 500 foot "zipline" that provided a thrilling, but safe trip from the log home to the barn.

All the wood we could use was provided for the furnace, fireplaces and the nightly fire pit where the kids enjoyed sitting around the campfire and making smores.

Five bedrooms and three bathrooms provided plenty of space for our family while two dogs, multiple cats, chickens, ducks and four horses provided lots of entertainment.

Wireless internet was available, but everyone enjoyed the other amenities so much, we seldom used it.

The hosts, David and Theresa, were exceptionally friendly and thoughtful. The nearby town of Union, WV is very quaint and has several well restored log homes from the 1800's for those looking to explore some of the history of Monroe County.

Our kids told us this was our best vacation ever and we agree.

Jeff and Mary
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved hosting you guys as well! And we welcome more!
Helpful votes: 1/1