Jacksonville house rental - View from back of the house
View from back of the house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Jacksonville House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Located on one of Northeast Florida’s unique sea islands, Fanning Island, this gorgeous waterfront 5/4 home is the perfect getaway for family, friends and corporate retreats....

Included with the home rental is use of the deep water dock which includes your use of the boat lift and two jet ski lifts. There are a white sandy beach area and a large pool surrounded by lots of comfortable seating and dining areas. Perfect for bar-b-ques!

This 4250 square foot waterfront home has 5 bedrooms 4 baths and a gourmet kitchen perfect for entertaining. In addition to top of the line appliances, maple cabinets and granite counter tops, it includes THREE dishwashers.

The lower floor has a U shaped floor plan with a living room with large flat screen TV and fireplace on one side and game room, complete with pool table, large screen TV and Play Station 3, on the other side.

The Open floor plan, filled with floor to ceiling windows, offers views of pool, river, and landscaped yard while sliding doors offer quick access to pool and deck areas.

The 2,000 sq foot deck space has three levels. The first floor is covered, complete with ceiling fans and built-in speakers. A walk-out second floor deck is perfect for sunbathing, overlooks the pool, and has great views of the river. From the third level deck, you can see Huguenot beach and the ocean.

The Master Suite has its own fireplace, large seating area with 52' flat screen TV and home theater system. Watch the sun rise over the river from bed! The master bath has a travertine tile floor, jetted tub, spa shower and a granite double sink counter top.

Other bedrooms include:

Bunk room with a pull out full couch, two twin beds and another full size bed

Guest suite with a queen bed and sliding doors opening out to the second story deck with gorgeous water views

Twin bedroom with two twin beds which can be pushed together for a King bed

Queen bedroom with adjoining full bath

All bedrooms have flat screen TV's and cable included.

Fanning Island is unique in that it has the ocean on one side, inter-coastal water on two sides and the St John's river on the south side. With 7 state parks and miles of sandy beach, it is a water lover's paradise. If you click on the link to google maps, you can see all the wonderful parks and beaches which run from Fanning Island all the way up Heckscher Drive to Amelia Island! In addition, there are over 50 golf courses in the Jacksonville area. All this, and it's a convenient 20 minutes to the airport.

For more information, click on the link below which will take you to our website with many more pictures and information!

Keywords: House, Waterfront, Pool

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I live in Gainesville with our four children and love our weekends at our river house. We are happy to be able to let other families enjoy this wonderful home.

Rhett Lewis purchased this house in 2006

We absolutely love the beautiful untouched beaches. We love being able to jump in our boat and head to the Ocean as well as the intercoastal or up the river. The boys constantly fish off the dock and play in the sand while our daughter likes to hang out by the pool. There is enough space for all our family (several generations) to get together and we always have requests from friends to have pool parties and BBQ's!

Watching huge ships cruise by, big pool, great views from the decks, plents for everyone to do with the pool table, multiple family rooms, fabulous kitchen, great fishing, close to shopping and beaches...

22 Reviews of Property 229287 in Jacksonville, Florida

Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
average rating of 4.3809524 based on 22 reviews
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Glasgow
5

Film star luxury holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We booked this home for a family get together post our son's wedding. It was ideal for family entertaining, the pool, table football and pool table were very popular with all ages. We loved the covered verandahs for family lunches and evening barbeques.

Downside was we had to drive a considerable distance to the shops and it could have been a bit isolated for families with teenagers who like to be independent.

It is opposite a naval base which had training helicopters flying around most days of our 2 week holiday which got a bit much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Olrando, FL
5

Everything we could have ever hoped for!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our destination for our small family wedding ceremony and reception and we couldn't have been any happier that we chose this Jax House!! When I saw it online, I knew this was the one! I was crushed when we went to book it and someone had just booked our weekend, so what do we do????we move the weding date to the following weekend so we can book this house!! We booked 4 nights and it was perfect for the entire family...from hanging out in the pool and back deck and all catching up for a couple days before the wedding to the small quaint sunset ceremony out in the backyard with everyone standing around us as we said our vows.We were so sad to leave, but WILL be back!! The family wants to make it an annual family vacation (which we never really do). This house brought us so many amazing memories that we will treasure for the rest of our lives!! Thank you to Rhett and MIchelle for being so accomodating and awesome people and making our big day everything we hoped for!! Next year can't get here soon enough!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Lowell, Indiana
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of nine (ages 20-78) had a fantastic time. The house and the grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed fishing off the dock , swimming in the pool ,and being able to sit out and watch the sun rise and set on one of the three decks. We took the ferry across to Mayport to the fresh fish market and had the best grouper ever! Kayak Amelia had everyone paddleboarding. Some of us went bike riding at the state parks, and one night we made dinner and drove onto the beach to eat.Spent some time on Amelia Island too.
The house was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen was great plenty of room to cook in! We met the owner. Rhett and spoke with His wife Michelle on the phone. They are such nice people, and very accommodating. Our stay was wonderful- our only complaint was that it wasn't long enough! Thanks for opening the door to your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Little Rock, Arkansas
5

Annual Family get-together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of 14 stayed at the Jax River House for our annual 4th of July week. We were very pleased. The location and the house were perfect for us. The house is large and well appointed. The kids fished from the dock, played on the mini-beach, and we all swam in the pool. We enjoyed the viewing of dolphins, barges, and cruise ships going by on the river. There are many ocean beaches close by and we especially liked Huguenot Memorial Park. It was just a few minutes away and we could drive on the beach. The owners were very responsive to any problems. The groceries are not very convenient but it made us more organized and we took advantage of the good catering available in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
1

On the Website, this house looks great! SHOCKED AT ARRIVAL!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Upon arriving at this home, both the upstairs, and downstairs air conditioners not working. I spent some of my vacation time to work with the A/C guy, so my family re-union could get a little cooler. The kitchen utensils, pots, pans, dishes were disgusting. Not clean at all. We went out and bought plastic replacements, except for pots and pans which we scrubbed. I read all the rental instructions, including how I would be charged if I left more trash than the 4 outside trash cans would hold. I laugh now, as two cans were totally full when we got there. The condition of furnishings were in a worn out state. Hazardous cracked glass near entry door. I had to fill the empty outside fountain myself. When you pay top dollar for a rental, you should receive quality in return. That was not case with this rental. In business I have found that when you have honest, and valid concerns for lack of service, and or product, generally someone in charge makes things right. After, emailing the owner of this property, basically he thanked me for pointing out his home problems and deficeincies as it will make for a better stay for future guests. Hello, what about my families stay? His response was "come back again, and I will give you a discount". Really, that makes up for a lousy stay in YOUR HOME. Sorry, you only get to stick it to me once. I will never come back again, Period. I wouldn't come back if it was free! Matter of fact, even if you paid me to return, and it was free, I would not come back. I don't know who got paid for posting wonderful reviews, but a lot of what was said, did not equate to what was provided, and what I experienced FIRST HAND. It is a shame as this is a nice size home for a large gathering like a family reunion. It also is in a great location. But, as a business owner myself, I would have made good for the lack of service, and poor conditions. I guess the owner needs the money more than I do. Overall just a waste of my time, and hard earned money!
Owner's Response: While we disagree in part with this customer, he is correct that the house needed updating. In response to this review, my wife and I have spent $19,000 in the month of June and last 3 Saturday's at the property to address the concerns listed and much more. We have made dramatic improvements to the decor of the home. (Both a/c units were fixed on day of check-in.)

The June updates/replacements include:

All new dishware, cups, cookware and silverware
New linens for all beds
New towels for all 4 bathrooms
New lighting in kitchen
New fans on back deck
Added new bed in downstairs bedroom
Added/replaced lamps and end tables in bedrooms
New deck sun chaise lounges (delivery this week)
Had travertine and wood floors professionally cleaned
Had plumber check all sinks and tubs to verify draining properly
Had electrician replace lights, fans, motion detector lighting, etc.
Had painters touch up where needed
Increased ongoing pest control service
Replaced couch and seating in pool table room
Replaced cracked glass in window by front entry
Added instant hot water dispenser in kitchen
Added a welcome basket for guests
Changed out/added artwork in house
Added beach toys (boggie boards, skim board, floaties, sand toys, etc)

We have rented the house for the last 4 years and have many guests return annually. It is a beautiful home and we have well over a million dollars invested in the house. We hope our guests enjoy the improvements made over the course of this month. :)

Sincerely, Rhett & Michelle (owners of Jax River House)
Helpful votes: 17/19
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Pennsylvania
5

40th Birhtday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house had everything we need. Fishing off the dock was fun for the kids .Nice private beach and plenty of deck space and outdoor furniture for entertaining.The kitchen is perfect for large groups, eating and cooking. Plenty of space to stretch out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Long weekend getaway...

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Thanks so much! We really appreciate it! And we did so love the house and hope we will be able to stay in it again!! We could totally get used to that!! The neighbors were great, they are on my facebook now!! My guy fixed their boat; they got towed in while we were sitting there, so my guy to the rescue!! He does it a lot!! Thanks again, we will highly recommend your house! I have a ton of friends on Facebook that have made lots of comments & some questions, and have all been sent to the link! Hope you get some new people from me!! Thanks Bunches!!!

Have a great day!!! :0)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Mount Dora, FL
5

Can't wait to come back!

Can't wait to come back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This house is absolutely beautiful and immaculate! I have no idea what house Tracy from Michigan stayed in, but it couldn't have been this one. We did not see one bug, but did see the stylish decor and lots of amenities. My husband and I visited from Mount Dora and were excited to be so close to St. Augustine, Amelia Island and Fernandino Beach. We were overjoyed with the number of gourmet restaurants we had to choose from in the area and my husband became addicted to the fresh seafood market right across the river. We also enjoyed watching the Pelicans and the Cargo Ships go by. All four bathrooms are updated and in perfect condition. The spacious kitchen is gorgeous. The four L shaped couches, pool, beach, huge outside seating area and pool table make it a perfect house for big families and party animals. I have never seen so many flat screen TV's in one house. We love this house so much, we plan to come back with plenty of friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Michigan
1

disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
WOW! where to begin. On the VRBO site the house looks fantastic. Upon arrival the first thing we seen when walking into the house were dead cockroaches, palmetto bugs and millipedes. The cockroaches were found every where in the house including the cupboards. The downstairs bathroom had urine spots all over the toliet seat as it appeared not to be cleaned. The pool was dirty with dead millipedes all over the bottom of the pool, the grill was laying on the deck in pieces and the outdoor fridge was taken over by several species of insects. The owner was very kind and tried to rectify the cockroach situation by having the exterminators come out to the house. When we returned there were more cockroaches than before some dead some alive and no one had come to clean the house. I was very disappointed and actually made other arrangements for accommodations while in Florida. If I could give a single piece of advice to people renting houses it would be to always pay with a credit card so that you will be able to dispute charges if necessary. If the owner will not accept credit cards you should look elsewhere.
Owner's Response: I am devasted this group decided not to stay in the property for the time they had booked. They notified me 2 hours before their check-in time that they had been in the house and there were some dead bugs in a couple of rooms. I called our pest control service about the issue and they let me know they had completed their quarterly spraying the prior day but would go back over to spray again and clean up any pests that afternoon. The guests called back an hour after check-in to say they wanted the house re-cleaned given the circumstances. I agreed and had my cleaning company go back and do a full re-clean of the house on the day of check-in. I also had the pool company make an un-scheduled cleaning the same afternoon. I addressed each of the tenant's concerns on the check-in day but the guests had left within two hours of check-in.

I feel horrible and have not had any experience like this before. We have rented the house for 4 years and have positive reviews. For their inconvenience I offered a discounted stay, but they decided to find other accomodations as the house was re-cleaned.

To ensure our house is pest free moving forward, I had the pest company do a review of the house to see what could be improved. My handyman has implemented the suggestions- better weather stripping around the windows and doors.

Our property is a beautiful, clean place. We have had 3 guests stays after this group's departure and each has emailed they loved their stay.

We always have and will continue to accept credit cards for bookings.
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Waterfront Home with Pool and Boat/Jet-Ski Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229287vb
(352) 219 6690 (Florida, USA
Jacksonville Northeast Florida
Miami, Florida
5

Once Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My extended family and I (the grandma) just enjoyed another long weekend at this spacious island home, and--once again--we enjoyed its beauty, its peace and quiet, and all the amenities it has to offer. We noticed none of the problems mentioned by the previous reviewer, and we're planning to rent the house for a third time next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4