Santa Ynez apartment rental - Sunset from Front Door of Apartment
Sunset from Front Door of Apartment
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Santa Ynez Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

Cozy two bedroom vacation rental within walking distance of the historic town of Santa Ynez. Embraced by a majestic California Oak, this second floor apartment has one bedroom with a queen-sized bed, one bedroom with a double bed, one bathroom, a living room with a convertible bed (double) and a full kitchen. The beautiful Santa Ynez Valley is the gateway to the Santa Barbara Wine Country, home to over 60 vineyards and wineries. The Santa Ynez Valley was the location for the filming of the Academy Award winning movie Sideways, and the wineries and restaurants featured in the movie make great destinations. Other sites of interest include the Danish Village of Solvang, the Chumash Casino, Cachuma Lake, historic landmarks, outdoor theatre, art galleries, lavender farms, fruit orchards, and miniature horse ranches. In addition, the lovely beach town of Santa Barbara is only a 35 minute drive (along the Pacific Coast or through Los Padres National Forest).

My wife Sue and I and our son Sajan have enjoyed living in the Santa Ynez Valley for the past 15 years. It is a very unique and calming environment in comparison to the city life in California. Come visit us and find out for yourself.

John Fowler purchased this apartment in 2005

We offer a unique blend of comfort, cleanliness and a price that will not break your wallet. Look at our reviews if you don't believe me. Give us a try and I think you will be happy you did.

We also offer our guests who visit us the unique opportunity to rent our 2001 BMW 330ci convertible for their stay. We arrange that through a service called Relay Rides. Please inquire with us further if you are interested in learning more about that service.

53 Reviews of Property 231183 in Santa Ynez, California

Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
average rating of 4.8490567 based on 53 reviews
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Portland, Oregon
4

Convenient and Relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We recently stayed at the apartment and found it to be comfortable and conveniently located to town. The hosts were gracious and helpful. Our beds were comfortable and it was nice to have the kitchen available for making food when we weren't eating out in town. We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
4

Shady Oak was spacious and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The location was great to do extra sightseeing in the surrounding area. The kitchen made it very convenient to prepare snacks rather than eating out every meal. Loved the t-shirts for sale and purchased one.for myself. Sofa sleeper was very comfortable as well.Air conditioner and fans that kept the temperatures cool. Owners very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
4

Sideways in Santa Ynez

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great accommodations, good people, fun wine tasting! I hope we can stay here again! The convertible couch was not as comfortable as expected but the bedrooms beds were very nice.

The Brothers Restaurant at 2375 Alamo Pintado Avenue has amazing food ($$$).

Cheers, Tom
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Seattle, WA
5

Excellent Apartment - Fantastic Location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our second year staying here. This was just as great as the first trip. The apartment's location to our event and to town is perfect. Solvang is just a bonus, with all those bakeries! Thanks John for such a nice apartment. Oh, and we did finally make it to the beach on our way to the airport. Stopped in at Refugio Beach and saw a group of Dolphins playing in the waves just off shore!! How cool is that?
Owner's Response: Russ/Dale,

Thank you for your kind words. That sounds like a great adventure to the beach and I always love seeing dolphins. Its a good omen! We are glad you had such a nice time and look forward to your next visit. Have a great summer.

John & Sue
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
5

Great wine country get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great location! This vacation home was perfectly appointed with all the amenities of home. Super clean with lots of helpful local guides. John the owner is incredibly helpful which is nice when you're not familiar with the area. They even have two adorable goats in the back yard! Definitely staying here again in the near future!
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
5

Fine time in Santa Ynez

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in John and Susan's cozy two bedroom apt. It's in a great location, and even my 88 year old dad and 83 year old mom were able to walk into town for dinner. The full kitchen was really nice, and the little outdoor patio area was great for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening. We would definitely stay there again.
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
4

great alternative to expensive hotels

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My son and I loved the 2 bedroom apartment- clean and with plenty of space and little amenities, like the coffee and tea. Gave us all the room we wanted with the great location to take advantage of all the area had to offer at a great price. And John was very laid back and a perfect host.
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
WI United States
5

Our return stay as good as the first!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We just finished a week's stay and it was just as good as our first time here a year ago! Very quiet, clean and comfortable location. Easy to access surrounding areas and the owners are more than wonderful!
We love being able to cook our own meals in the kitchen and the washer and dryer for our laundry is a huge plus!
This place sets the bar for any future rentals we will look into at VRBO. While in Santa Ynez, we won't stay anywhere else.
Owner's Response: Shelly and Forest, Thank you for your kind review. We so enjoyed your visit and hope that the remainder of your trip went well? Forest thank you for your work on my bike. I feel alot safer now out there on the trails. We will definitely keep you in mind if we travel to the midwest in the future. You are always welcome here at Shady Oak and hope we will see you both again soon. Oh thanks for the wonderful pasta salad as well. Healthy eats are important these days! John, Sue, and Sajan
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
5

Cozy, Clean & Comfortable

Cozy, Clean & Comfortable
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I stayed here with another couple and we found the apartment to have plenty of room. Originally when looking at the photos online we thought that the apartment was upstairs from another apartment, but we were happy to learn that it was actually over a detached garage. Also, we felt that the place was much more polished that what the photos showed (a nice surprise). Finally we were thankful that the kitchen was well stocked with basics like spices, flour, sugar, and olive oil. The only things missing that we could have used was a mixing bowl, cinnamon, and a casserole dish. We will defiantly be back.
Owner's Response: Suzanne thank you for your review. We are happy that you had such a nice stay. Thanks for the comments as we are always looking at ways to impove our rental. We hope to see you back for a visit in the not too distant future. Remember that next time you visit us you get a 10% discount. Regards, John & Sue
business
Shady Oak - Cozy Two Bedroom Upstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231183
+1 805 705-3631
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
4

Perfect for Holiday Get-Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I were kidless for the Thanksgiving weekend so we snuck away to Santa Ynez for wine-tasting, hiking, sleeping, and eating. Our stay at Shady Oak was perfect. We met John upon arriving and took care of some business. Then we enjoyed the quiet, clean apartment. Everything we needed was there, including a fully stocked kitchen for cooking. It also had a full washer and dryer, movies, books, and games for kids and adults.

It was perfectly situated in Santa Ynez, a quick walk into downtown. We also were only 10 minutes away from Los Olivos and Solvang, so it was easy to get to all of our destinations.

We would definitely stay again!
Owner's Response: Kevin thank your for your kind review. We are glad you had such a nice time over Thanksgiving weekend. We look forward to seeing you folks again and remind me when you reserve next time about our 10% repeat visitor discount. Have a great holiday season. John