Lancaster farmhouse rental - View from front porch in Spring
View from front porch in Spring
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8-9)

Beautiful country setting on 10 acres down a quarter mile lane with no visible neighbors! The property is surrounded by farm fields and forest. The house is a restored 200+ year old stone farmhouse with original random-width hardwood floors throughout. Master bedroom has a queen bed, second bedroom has a queen-size bed, third bedroom has a full/double-size bed and a full-size crib, and the fourth bedroom has twin-size bunk beds.

Perfect for a quiet romantic get away or a fun family vacation where the kids can run and play outside with no danger of passing cars. Enough space for a wedding or a family reunion out on the lawn!

Great location close to Lancaster County/Amish attractions, Dutch Wonderland, outlet shopping, 20+ museums, hot-air balloon rides, Strasburg Railroad and the list goes on.

Need a break from your busy life?: Find yourself listening to the birds and the crickets as you relax in a rocking chair on the front porch overlooking an expanse of green lawn and trees.

No neighbors, no buildings, no traffic - just peace and quiet for you to savor.

Lancaster County Amish Country: Perfect location to check out all the local Amish attractions and enjoy the drive through the rolling farmland to get there! The property is very private, yet is only 15 minutes from the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Shop local businesses selling quilts, antiques, hand-made furniture and countless farm stands to get all the fresh produce you can eat!

30 minutes to Dutch Wonderland, Lancaster Outlet Shopping, American Music Theatre, Sight & Sound Theatre, Strasburg Railroad, Reading Outlet Shopping and so much more.

1 hour, 15 minutes to Hershey Park and Chocolate World.

1 hour to Philadelphia.

Two parks within two minutes of the property: Historic Poole Forge is a township owned park with a great children's playground, pavilion and picnic benches for a cookout, and a 150 year old historic covered bridge that you can drive though and is great for photos with you and your family!

Just up the hill from our home is a county owned park called Money Rocks that has an easy 30-minute hike to the top of the mountain for a gorgeous view of the scenic countryside.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Lancaster County and in this house! I moved away after college and getting married, but returned to the area after having children and spent a year restoring the farmhouse. My husband and I like to restore old homes and we are currently working on a historic inn in Churchtown, PA.

Sharon Krock purchased this farmhouse in 2001

I grew up in this house and we bought it from my parents and restored it. We lived in it for a few years before deciding to rent it out as a vacation rental because we loved the property and house and didn't want to sell it. The only reason we moved out is because we bought another 200+ year old stone home just five minutes away that we are currently restoring.

The area is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet of the countryside, strolling through local parks, watching horse and buggies go by, visiting the numerous historic districts, museums and various Amish and Pennsylvania Dutch attractions in Lancaster County. The property itself is the perfect getaway from hectic lives - you might not want to leave!

26 Reviews of Property 230849 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 26 reviews
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This farmhouse was charming and accomodating. It had everything we needed for 4 adults and 3 small children. The kids had a blast on the HUGE swing swet and we all enjoyed roasting marshmallows by the campfire! It was close enough to the Strausburg railroad and Dutch Wonderland. Staying at this "hidden" house made us feel like we really escaped our everyday routines, and managed to relaxed even with the toddlers. We would highly recommend it and would definitely come again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Long Island, New York
5

Wonderful vacation home for ALL ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
After staying in this fabulous property last month, my only regret is that we could not stay longer. Our whole family,including 3 children under 8 and my parents, did not want to leave.
There was plenty of room inside the immaculate house for all of us and we enjoyed the rustic charm but also modern kitchen and bathroom. Linens were clean and comfortable and there were more than enough towels for all of us.
We were also happy to have air-conditioning throughout the whole house during 90* weather.
Sharon was very helpful and was always very quick to respond to any questions. She also provided us with a list of local shopping areas and attractions. The supermarket is nearby and had EVERYTHING. We had wonderful Bar-b-ques cooked on the grill and had so much fun lighting fires and toasting marshmallows.
We enjoyed the beautiful countryside and visiting Hersey and Amish farms & a trip on the Strasburg railroad, but we all would have been content just spending all our time enjoying the property. The children LOVED the wooden playground & sandbox underneath the tree, and just running around catching lightening bugs, while we relaxed on the porch, listening to the beautiful songs of the birds in nearby trees. We did not see or hear any cars on this enormous and well-kept property. No worrying about the children running into traffic was wonderful.
We loved the old stone house and have wonderful new memories of our visit and cannot wait to return!!!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Southern Maryland
5

Magical Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed with friends of ours who have two children the same ages as our two children (5 and 3) to celebrate our sons' third birthdays. The house is wonderful and very clean, but the best part is the property. It is absolutely gorgeous, with butterflies and fireflies everywhere. The playground is amazing, and our kids adored it, but there's also a basketball court, a fire pit, and a back patio equipped with a little fireplace and a nice grill. We would definitely recommend this house to families with children, and we hope to stay here again in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Quiet & Lovely

Quiet & Lovely
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We brought my family together to celebrate my mom's 70th birthday here. The grounds were quiet & beautiful. My kids (7 & 11) played endlessly on the playscape. All in all, we had a lovely time. I would definitely recommend the farmhouse to others.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Home and Property are beautiful! Sharon was a pleasure to work with also. The home had everything we needed and very clean. My 3 children had a FANTASTIC time running and playing all through the large property all to themselves. They actually did not want to leave into town so we can sightsee! I especially loved sitting there relaxing watching them enjoy themselves! The play set and basketball court were a plus. Thank you Sharon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Roanoke, VA
4

Great, peaceful getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Beautiful old home. We had a wonderful time and the kids enjoyed the outdoor space!!! It was also very clean and well-stocked!!! I would have loved working fireplaces, but all in all it was wonderful. We will definitely be back!!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
NYC
5

Weekend in Lancester

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a fantastic weekend in June here. Goergeous weather, lots of things to do nearby and a great host, Sharon. Your emails get answerd faster than your broker and she is so helpful is suggesting things to do nearby. The home is rustic, but with all modern amenities. Bose player (plus in your iPhone Pandora and its a party), WiFi, cable TV, etc. Great BBQ machine at the back. Lots of towels and wonderful linens. The lawn was so well manicured. There are kids toys, tennis racquets, balls, in the shed. They have 2 picnic tables and a great play-area for kids. It is all good.
One suggestion is to add a washer/dryer so we can stay the whole week and pack less.
Will stay again for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Long Island, NY
5

Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family and I just recently returned from our 3 night stay at this house, and it exceeded our expectations. The house is at the end of a long country drive, tucked away out of view. A friend we have living just down the road for years didn't even know it was there! The house had beautiful rustic charm, yet all the creature comforts you'd expect.
It was clean, neat, and comfortable. The ample dining room is great for large families, and the living room was very comfortable. Old wide plank flooring is found throughout, and I really liked that all 4 bedrooms are in close proximity to one another, so the kids were always nearby. The house was plenty warm, and there were more than enough dishes, linens, housewares, etc, even for my large family. It would have been nice to have a washer/dryer, but all the old house character was more than a worthy trade-off. The owners were terrific to deal with and very accomadating. I received quick responses to all my emails. A very nice touch was the reading material and area information that the owners had at the house.
The land around the house was just breathtaking. If you have young children, it's a dream. There's a great playground set, as well as a huge open field that must be several acres. There's also an oversized basketball court to play on, and a very quaint area off to the side with a fire pit and rustic seating. We have T-mobile for our cell service and were not able to get any reception at all. Fortunately, the house has a wi-fi connection, so we were able to email our friends in the area to make plans.
I highly recommend this home for a getaway, and hope to be back soon myself! You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Falls Church, VA
5

A Fabulous Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My family stayed at the farmhouse recently and had an amazing time. It was so nice to be able to return to this incredible house in a beautiful peaceful setting after braving the crowds at Hershey Park and Dutch Wonderland. We all looked forwarding to coming back to the house at the end of the day.

The property is great for kids - the playset and the property in general are just perfect for getting the kids to burn some of their energy.

This is definitely the way to go if you visit Lancaster County --- especially with kids.

I look forward to returning here.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Circa 1790 Stone Farmhouse on 10 acres of your own Private Green Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230849
484 886-9769
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Brooklyn, NY
5

Wonderful, relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family enjoyed a nice week away from the city at the farmhouse. My boys (1 and 4) loved playing in the huge front yard, on the swing set, and in the sand box. My husband and I loved going out to shoot hoops on the basketball court at night. The house has beautiful historical details, but is very comfortable with all the modern conveniences. The location feels remote while you're there, but it's a short drive to lots of attractions around Lancaster County. Thanks for a lovely getaway!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3