Moneta house rental - Your Future Vacation Spot
Your Future Vacation Spot
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 1 Sleep Area, Waterfront Home, Sleeps 8+

Brand new home for 2009 rental! 4 bedroom, 3 bath multilevel living area with universal design on lower level. All furnishings brand new and selected by interior designer. Open upstairs plan with 3 large bedrooms, 2 baths, living area with stone fireplace, spacious kitchen and dining room as well as laundry and pantry. 3 sets of patio doors exiting to large deck overlooking quiet cove. Sectional sofa with large screen TV in family area and TVs in all bedrooms except bunk room. Lower level has wet bar, refrigerator, large TV w/surround sound and game room. Downstairs bedroom has queen plus 2 singles, perfect for in-laws or separate family. Lower level has a covered deck and patio doors leading into bedroom and game room. A short concrete walk leads down to the beautiful deep water, no wake cove. Dock hosts Tiki bar, shaded deck, sun deck and floater dock. Home very close to bridge, shopping, and touring.

Relaxing yet Elegant: Large glass patio doors and windows add open feel to both upper and lower level. Outstanding views of lake from the comfort of couches or relaxing outside on the decks. Huge downstairs game room with pool table and ping pong for entertainment. Large screen TV in upstairs living area as well as large screen TV downstairs with surround sound and 3 comfortable, leather, lounge couches for family gathering. All furnishings brand new and top quality being selected by an intererior designer from Stedman House, Roanoke. Beautiful hard wood floors in upstairs along with granite countertops in kitchen and baths.

Secluded but Close to it All: The Frances is situated on a deep water, no wake cove with very few surrounding properties. It is perfect for a family, fun, get away with lots of water activities or soaking up the sun. Quiet setting is excellent for fishing and observing nature. However for those who are restless, there are plenty of close by activities. Hales Ford Bridge is just around the corner and offers boat and jet ski rentals as well as putt-putt, night-life, restaurants and shopping. The cities of Bedford, Lynchburg, and Roanoke are all within a short drive. The National World War II Memorial is in Bedford and the Peaks of Otter Mountains are on the outskirts. Several wineries and orchards are close by.

Lower Level Design: The lower level was finished based on a universal design. A private hallway leads from this bedroom to the bathroom so that occupants do not have to enter through the game room area. The lot gently slopes down to the lake and has a short concrete walkway leading to the dock area. Covered, shaded area allows for viewing activities while not being in the sun. Tiki bar with fridge keeps drinks and food in easy access.

More Details
Hide Details

Owned by Chuck Vailes & Family and Robert Vailes & Family

Vailes Brothers, Inc. purchased this house in 2009

Relaxing, vacation, home with easy access.

13 Reviews of Property 230843 In Moneta, Virginia

Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Charlottesville, VA
5

"Amazing Vacation!!"

"Amazing Vacation!!"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
What an amazing time we had at "The Frances" in July!! This beautiful house is equiped with everything needed for fun and relaxation! The sylish, comfortable Jamaican decoration gave us the feel of the beach, as did the georgeous view of the water out back. There was plenty of space for more than one family to spread out with loads of indoor and outdoor activities to keep everyone happy. We made use of the many televisions, VCRs, CD players, the great decks, the Wii, the pool table, air hockey, ping pong, the hot tub and kayaks. Since "The Frances" backs up to a "no wake" inlet our children had a great time jumping and swinmming both close to and farther away from the dock.
The spacious, open kitchen even made cooking a fun family activity! We were well pleased with every aspect of our vacation here and would love to spend time in "The Frances" again!! Many Thanks for the amazing vacation!!
Owner's Response: With all the extras this property offers, everyone will stayed entertained rain or shine. The no wake zone offers extra piece of mind for parents with young swimmers. This property allows you to just relax or "catch up" with old friends and distant family.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Wonderful Weekend at the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We're 2 "mature" couples up for a long fishing weekend, and even though the weather wouldn't cooperate, it was a wonderful few days. The house is lovely, nicely furnished and very, very comfortable, The kitchen is well-equipped and easy to work in, the entertainment centers are great...the downstairs flat-screen TV was perfect for watching movies. Nice hot tub, great view, great dock, great everything! We couldn't have asked for more. Many thanks to the owners, and we'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are very welcome!! I am happy you enjoyed the weekend despite the weather. We tried hard to furnish the house to be enjoyed in any weather and glad you were extremely comfortable. We would love to have you back anytime.
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Weaverville, North Carolina
5

Simply Amazing and one of the best vacations ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a wonderful hidden gem! Such a very special place shared for so many. We celebrated a 50th birthday week at the Frances. As the guests arrived they were all taken back by the beauty and spaciousness of the home. The home is extra clean and beautiful on the inside. The kitchen had all the necessary amenities with a large refrigerator and plenty of seating inside and out for everyone. Bedrooms were large and plenty of room to lounge.
Make your way downstairs and you have a large family room area with pool table, full size fridge, ping pong, large sofas and huge TV (bring the popcorn to truly enjoy!).
Breathtaking views can be seen off the deck of the home. The fire pit was a special treat for gatherings in the evening to enjoy sitting around the campfire. Not to mention two areas to tie off your boats, a hammock, and a tikki bar all available down at the dock.
Kayaks are at the home to travel to special coves to see the wildlife. You have a short paddle to Jake’s where you can enjoy dinner and drinks.
Will definitely be back…tomorrow if we could! It truly had everything we needed and more…
Virginia and Carolina Gals
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you had a great time. As my second home we are very particular and have an eye for detail. Cleanliness ans well maintain property are our top priority. Inside and out, many activities and events evolve from this " hidden gem" for all ages and likes. We certainly hope you will return again!
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

4th of July Regulars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
In two short days, my husband, three children and I will be joining my three sisters, spouses, children, and mother at The Frances for our 4th consecutive 4th of July. We have loved every minute of our time there. The kids count down the days every year.

The cove is perfect for small children in that we don't have to worry about excessive boat traffic. Very few boats other than kayaks, canoes and early morning fishing boats go passed the dock.

We are very excited about the Halesford Harbour being open just down the cove next to Jakes Place. We have reserved our boat from there for this trip and are thrilled to only have to kayak or canoe over to pick it up:)

The location is a perfect middle between our drive from Charlotte NC and other family in the DC area.

The owners have been wonderful. Whenever we have had a need or concern, they have been extremely helpful and responded immediately!

My sisters and I are thrilled to have found a vacation spot that everyone loves and where the kids/cousins can make memories they'll have for the rest of their lives.

We have and will continue to recommend this property to our other family and friends! Thank you to the owners for sharing this beautiful home with us!
Owner's Response: It is great to have you all year after year.
I am pleased to offer you our house to create your " memories of a lifetime" !!
I look forward to having you for many years to come.
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Shenandoah Valley Va
5

We Didn't Want to Leave

We Didn't Want to Leave
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a wonderful home with an incredible view on a peaceful and quiet cove. It is beautifully furnished and the beds are VERY comfortable.

The owners have spared no expense... if you can tear yourself away from relaxing and staring at the water, the jumping fish, Canadian geese, humming birds etc, there is a mulititude of entertainment options: kyaks, canoeing, floating on noodles, rafts.

If it happens to rain.. no worries, there is air hocky, a pool table, a huge TV in the downstairs 'game room' in addition to the other TVs in the LR and BRs.

And the perfect end to a perfect day is relaxing in the HUGE hot tub with a glass of .... whatever!

The kitchen appliances are top of the line and the floor plan is open and friendly, so those preparing meals are able to enjoy the party while they slave away..

There is a nice Foodlion within 10 minutes and the owners have provided a lot of helpful informative info in a binder on the LR coffee table.

A tip I'll remember for next time.. bring septic friendly toilet paper.. We brought the 'regular'.. so, oh darn, we had to go shopping :).
Owner's Response: I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities.
Yes, this property is secluded but also close to all the action.
Hope you will consider a return visit soon!!
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Leesburg, VA
5

A perfect holiday weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family and I cannot say Thank you enough to the owner and his family for opening up their home to us. We had two families with a total of 5 children spend Memorial Weekend at this lovely home. We have rented a number of different homes over the years and this one by far was our best yet. The home is in excellent condition and you can see the pride of ownership in all aspects of this house. While there is an excellent game room/lower level, the real high light of the trip was the kayaking and canoeing that the kids enjoyed every morning and afternoon. The no wake cove that this home sits on is perfectly situated for young familes as you never have to worry about boats speeding by. I also had the opportunity to meet the owner and his daughter, who were wonderfully hospitable! We cannot wait to stay at this wonderful home again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am thrilled you all had a good time! It is much easier to relax as a parent with low/slow cove boat traffic.
The extras the house offers makes it an inclusive get away package.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and hope to have you back soon.
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Dunwoody, GA
5

Great fun on the lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our group of sisters / sisters-in-law and cousins had a great time fishing, kayaking, and cooking at this wonderful home away from home. The home provided everything you could need to keep busy, as well as a well-equipped kitchen and dock. The owner was very quick to respond and helpful with a minor issue we had. We had a great time kayaking to dinner at Jake's on the Lake one night! We would definitely recommend this home to others.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Columbia, MD United States
5

Fantastic Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
When looking for a spring break get away for 3 families we came upon Smith Mountain Lake which was equidistant from GA and MD. What a great find! The house was amazing - clean, extremely spacious, and filled with great amenities. The kids loved fishing off the large dock (several even caught their first fish!), lounging in the hot tub, tooling around the lake in the kayaks, and roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. The adults were very happy with the large rooms, quiet afternoons and dinner (with great lake views) on the deck. We all had fun playing on the ping pong/air hockey table and found none of us are very good at pool - though we had fun trying. One of the week's highlights was paddling to dinner at Jake's Place. The one minor issue we had was taken care of quickly and it was like talking on the phone with an old friend. I only hope our spring breaks all happen the same week in 2013 so we can repeat the great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is gratifying to know it lived up to your expectations. Cleanliness and the added convenience of the amenities are a top priority for our guests comfort and enjoyment. We pride ourselves on being available and remedying any concerns, no matter how small , that our guests have. We looked forward to your return visit!!
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Great Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Smith Mountain Lake is a wonderful place to get away from it all! Some friends of mine wanted to get together and do something different so we decide on SML. The house is amazing and was large enough to accommodate everyone. Me and the guys stayed downstairs most of the time challenging each other at pool or pingpong. The lake is full of striped bass and every day we saw many fishermen out on the lake. I know there are a few charter boats if you really want to land some big fish! I hope we get the chance to visit again and I would encourage anyone who considers a trip to SML to definitely stay at this home. Thanks for a great time!
Owner's Response: Something for everyone!! Remote setting but close to everything you need. Glad you were able to connect with your friends and create some memories. Hope you will consider staying with us again.
business
Family Friendly, Secluded, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230843
+1 540 942-9749
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

What a Blast!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My friends and I rented this cabin for a New Years Eve weekend gettaway and I can not begin to tell you how much fun we had at this awesome lake home!!! I can only imagine how much fun it would be in the summer months. While the guys fished all day catching the striped bass in abundance the women kicked back in the rocking chairs and chatted it up. There is a huge kitchen where we all took turns making dinners with a very nice grill I might add. The hot tub, big screen tv, wii, pool table, air hockey/ping pong table kept us occupied. The girls took the kayaks to see the surrounding scenery and the guys brought their yard games since we had nice weather. This house is very secluded so our "bringing in the new year" cheers weren't heard. The house and yard are very well maintained. I would definitely love to go back to "The Frances" and so would all my friends. If you have the opportunity to rent this home, I would say GO FOR IT!!!! It was the best New Years Eve I have had in a long time.
Owner's Response: Happy New Year!
There is always plenty to do together or as individuals.
With the great outdoors exploring and great indoor entertainment with the hot tub and basement game room, never a dull moment.
We hope you return to enjoy all the Frances has to offer.