Acadia National Park house rental - Ella's on Heather Cove, sand beach, balcony
Ella's on Heather Cove, sand beach, balcony
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Acadia National Park House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 baths sleeps 6-8

Ella's is a custom built, western style Salt Box with 4 bedrooms and 3 baths. She offers dramatic views facing West with fantastic sunsets.The home offers serenity and solitude, but is only minutes to anywhere in Acadia. Ella's is great for entertaining with a gourmet kitchen and ample dishware/cookware. The Great Room allows for family gathering. The gas grill on the deck has a side burner ready for the lobster kettle. Bedrooms have black out blinds for optimal sleep. Google TV in master bedroom, for your convenience.She also offers high speed internet and wireless internet connections. The walk out basement houses a ping pong and a foos ball table.The beach is a sand beach and great for swimming and shelling. Ella's provides two kayaks and a row boat for the adventurous. The balcony offers an external hot/cold shower to clean off the salt and sand before returning inside. From a working vacation to girlfriends, romance, family, adventure, leisure and get away from it all-Ella's is the place for you.

8 Reviews of Property 230793 in Acadia National Park, Maine

Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Washington, District of Columbia
5

Beautiful Home, Great for Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed here with our two children and had a great week in Maine! House is as advertised, beautiful place, everything you need in the kitchen, plus fun games, books, DVDs, and kayaks all right there. The ocean cove was a great spot for me to take my stand up paddleboard. We would definitely recommend this rental to a group or family!
Owner's Response: Marohn Family, thank you for the excellent review, and we are so happy that house worked for you and your family. Her location is ideal, and the Heather Cove is a special place for water activities-swimming, kayaking, row boating and paddle boating. Yes, the home is fully loaded from a gourmet kitchen and kitchen gadgets to books, board games and DVD. We look forward to your return visit.
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Terrific Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fabulous time at Ella's. The house is a great layout for vacationing and we had no trouble accommodating our group of 8. Ella's was very clean and contained everything we needed for our vacation aside from food or course. We enjoyed the unique beach very much. While it's not your standard smooth sand beach, (I'd recommend flip flops, aqua socks or some other water friendly footwear) it was actually the best Maine ocean swimming I've even experienced. The water was warm and there was no current or undertoe so kids can swim safely for hours. We made good use of the ping pong table and row boat, and also enjoyed the fire pit. It's an easy drive from Ella's to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and other surrounding attractions, and we never felt like we were in the car too long. The owners of the property were very nice and responsive to questions, etc. I'd highly recommend this house to anyone looking to enjoy a Maine vacation that's a bit off the beaten path but still within easy striking distance to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Owner's Response: Scott, thank you for the kind review with attention to our unique beach set up. Yes, we too love that there is sand, no clam flats for beach walking and water activities. We are glad you got to experience Heather Cove, and her "warm" Maine waters. Your kind and favorable review of it being "the best Maine ocean swimming" you have ever experienced; is especially kind, considering you reside in the state. We look forward to your return visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Ella's place is amazing

Ella's place is amazing
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband's family came to visit from Europe and wanted to see Bar Harbor. I went on homeaway.com at the last minute and was lucky enough to get in touch with Rebecca and rent this amazing home. It is truly as beautiful and amazing at it is described by others. I'd like to add that dealing with Rebecca was extremely pleasant and efficient. Her customer service was amazing and the house is equipped with anything and everything you could want for a relaxing Maine holiday. I can't say enough about the experience. One of the best rental experiences I've had.
Owner's Response: Cathy, thank you for the kind and flattering review. Yes, we are customer service oriented from the details and amenities of the home to communicating with our renters. We pride ourselves in making your Maine experience a positive one, and one where you can enjoy all the beauty of Acadia, hassle free. We are hopeful you will come back and stay with us again, or recommend us to your friends and family. Best Regards, Rebecca
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A great place for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family, including our three adult children and two of their spouses, spent a wonderful week at Ella's. The location is beautiful--right on the beach overlooking Union River Bay--and convenient--about a 15 minute drive to Bar Harbor. We're outdoorsy people and went swimming and kayaking from the beach by the house every day, and hiking and bicycling in Acadia Park. The house is comfortable and beautifully kept, and the layout provides tranquil views of the water from the dining room, living room, and master bedroom. We enjoyed foosball and pingpong tournaments many nights, and enjoyed music on the home's fine sound system. The water was clean, clear, and warm (in the high 60's) on the beach, and hiking the shorelines at low tide was lots of fun. The gravel/shell beaches are unlike the sand beaches we're used to in the south, and we wore water shoes while wading and swimming. Rebecca, Ella's owner, was a pleasure to work with, answering all email inquiries very quickly and sending us lists of recommended sights, activities, and restaurants. She went out of her way to make our stay at Ella's fantastic! We'd recommend whale-watching with the Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company; offshore about 25 miles we saw humpbacks swimming and breaching, 50-foot whales leaping out of the water. Amazing! Like BBQ ribs? Check out the Trenton Lobster Pound and BBQ on route 3 between Ellsworth and Trenton. Top quality ribs--how'd they get so far north? We whole-heartedly recommend Ella's. The stay there gave us memories for a lifetime.
Owner's Response: Awwww, Bill thank you for the exemplary and kind review. Ella's was built with a lot of love and attention to detail, as she was built to be our primary home.As dedicated hosts, we are determined to share our knowledge of the area to ensure that those who rent from us have memorable trip. We have teenage children, so the toys, games, books, sound-system, movies, kayaks and so on, offers something for everyone. It sounds like your family had an awesome trip, and that is wonderful. Best Regards, Rebecca
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Memorable Vacation at Ella's

Memorable Vacation at Ella's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
From the photos to the description, Ella's was everything it said it would be! We stayed at Ella's for a week with 9 people ranging from ages 5-60 and everyone had enough room and plenty to do! We were quite pleased with the wireless internet and the children were very happy with the wonderful selection of dvd's and board games when down time was needed.

The beach makes this house outstanding! We all enjoyed both low and high tide swimming, kayaking and walking the beach in search of treasures!

The owner provided sincere service both before and during our stay. We would recommend this property to anyone and hope to stay again in the near future.

The house is conveniently located to grocery stores and other stores in Ellsworth and Trenton and was a quick drive to Acadia NP, Somesville, Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Northeast Harbor. We highly recommend a dinner at Thurston's Lobster Pound in Bernard followed by a sunset at the Bass Harbor Lighthouse.

We enthusiastically recommend this property!
Owner's Response: Kelly, We are pleased that the home made great memories for you and your family. There is nothing like being on the coast of Maine searching for sea treasure. Thank you for the kind review.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Maine 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We traveled from Western New York State for our second visit to Acadia NP.

We stayed at this new Western Saltbox home. The property is only a few years old. We were impressed since the house has wireless internet and TV-monitors with web access. We arrived and the house was clean and well maintained. We were impressed with the space we have for our week stay near Mount Desert Island. We are a family of 7 with children from 2 to 19. The house was very well stocked and the great room with views of Union Bay and evening sunsets across the Bay was all we were wishing for! The neighborhood is upscale with friendly neighbors.

The beach was the centerpiece of our stay and the children loved the low as well as the high tides! The house comes with a row boat which the children enjoyed. The ping pong table in the basement was also a good attraction. The house also has many board games which we all enjoyed.

The listing description was accurate. The owner provided sincere service. We would recommend this property to a friend, a relative and we hope to again stay at this place in the near future.

The house is on the eastside of Union River Bay which is large and on the North-Western side of Mount Desert Island. The house is close to grocery stores and other stores in Ellsworth and Trenton and to visit Acadia NP, Somesville, Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Northeast Harbor. Two years ago, during our first visit to Acadia NP, we stayed near Bass Harbor / Bernard but we were not on water so this location turned out to be an absolutely superior experience for all of us! We recommend Acadia NP visitors to visit Schoodic Head area of Acadia NP which is an hour drive around Frenchman Bay.

We enthusiastically recommend this property!!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Loved Ellas!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I and our 3 kids (aged 8, 6 and 2) stayed at Ella's with another family with 2 kids (aged 10 and 6). We all had an outstanding time. The house has 2 bedrooms down and 2 bedrooms up with a bathroom with tub/shower on each floor. This enabled each family to "take a level" for their sleeping & bathing quarters. Each night we'd put the kids to bed and enjoy cooking gourmet dinners of local seafood and catching up with friends in the open kitchen/living/dining area.

The kids absolutely loved the beach out back. We met some local "clammers" on our first day there and they taught our boys how to dig for live clams. This became the boys beach hobby and we did enjoy a nice clam dinner on night as a fruit of their efforts.

We also enjoyed the firepit out back. We were visiting in July and it is noteworthy that July is apparently mosquito season--- so come prepared with something to keep them away if you plan to be outside around dusk.

There is also a ping pong table in the basement which the boys enjoyed!

The house was an easy 10-15 minute drive to Bar Harbour/Acadia and there is so much to do there.

The owners were great to work with and everything was as they said it would be. We would highly recommend this property as a vacation rental for your family.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Luxury Home on the Ocean, sunsets, sand beach, 15 min. to Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230793
+1 3039814696
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Houston, Tx
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The house was beautiful. The location was perfect, quiet but close enough to Acadia .
I loved taking morning walks on the beach. Sunsets were breathtaking. I hope to return next year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/13