Eastsound cottage rental - Big front porch
Big front porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Eastsound Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full and one half bath, sleeps 6

Walk to town from this new and charming Craftsman-style house. Located on the west edge of East Sound with a pretty southern view. Featured in the August 2008 Sunset Magazine for being a'Dream Town', East Sound is 5 minutes from Moran State park with hiking, fishing and swimming. Hike through old growth forests and enjoy the abundant wild life. Public beach access is very close too. Three bedrooms on different levels for privacy. Enjoy the adjacent wooded area with a covered fireplace for picnics and campfire use. A classy and comfortable cottage for your memorable Orcas vacation.

2011 UPDATE: New deck added to enhance your enjoyment. Pics to be added 5/11

8 Reviews of Property 230679 in Eastsound, Washington

Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
Ridgefield, Wa
5

great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family of 4 stayed at this cute house over labor day weekend. It was very nice and spacious. I loved the tall ceilings and high end appliances. The kitchen was well stocked and perfect for making meals after shopping at the local grocery store. It is not waterfront, but a short walk into the town of Eastsound and the water. The airport nearby was not a problem for the planes are small and only fly during the day. Garbage wasn't really an issue, we just left the bag there and had $12. Taken out of our deposit. The house was very comfortable and clean. There are two bedrooms and a bath upstairs and one bed and bath in the basement. The basement bedroom is great for adults because of privacy, but may be too scary for small children. Overall the house is lovely and we would come back. The ferry system is another story and review. Be prepared to spend hours waiting for the ferry because they fill up.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a wonderful vacation we had at this lovely home. It is right in town but very close to nature and great hikes.I went all the way to the top of mt. consitution on the last hike of the week.We were trying to save on expenses and the kitchen had everything we needed.We would walk to the coffee shop and than down to the water in the morning. We loved it and hope to return to East Sound soon.
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
5

Amazing Orcas Island Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
As soon as we walked in the door at this Orcas Island Rental home, we were impressed. It was actually even more lovely than the pictures on the web site. The home was decorated in a cozy, contemporary style - perfect for a beach house. We felt comfortable and "at home" immediately. The site is spacious, comfortably sleeps six easily and has a nice sense of indoor and outdoor living. The kitchen is great for any cook - you don't need to bring anything from home other than food. With the indoor and outdoor dining areas, you don't even feel the need to go out (although the restaurants in the area are impressive and all within walking distance.) It was just a few minutes walk to the beach, and we could see the bay from the front porch. This rental home is conveniently located for easy travel around the entire island. We did a lot of exploring, but always looked forward to coming back to our home away from home. We also loved getting to the Island. The Ferry to Orcas was a lot of fun, and it was easy to use. An added bonus was the Blue Grass band playing at the terminal and on the boat on our trip back. Orcas is really very close to Portland. We were up to the Ferry in just a few hours. The view of the sound was worth the trip to the island. Then we find we are staying in such a nice place. Our trip to Orcas couldn't have been better. We recommend the trip to anyone thinking about it.
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
1

Not waterfront--The true positives and negatives

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Time for a real review on this property. I'll start with the positives.
The house is very nice. Good layout and nicely decorated. It had everything you need in the kitchen with all the appropriate appliances. Orcas Island is wonderful. Very quaint, but had a lot to do. The house is within walking distance to Eastsound, which is a lovely town with great shops and nice restaurants.
Now to the negatives.
This is not waterfront property. You don't even have a view of the water due to a tree obstruction. It is in a newer subdivision, so the houses are very close together. Thankfully no one seemed to be staying in the other properties or it would have been very uncomfortable. The house is right next to the airport so you have heavy traffic times and it is very loud!!
We paid for the cleaning service at the end of stay, but still had to take off the sheets and do all dishes. Not that big of deal though. However, you must take all your trash with you when you leave and trash quickly accumulates when THEY DON'T HAVE A GARBAGE DISPOSAL, and unfortunately we needed to get on the road before the dump opened so we had to haul it in our car for 800 miles.
I know we could have found much better properties than this one.
Owner's Response: Thank you for identifying that Orcas Island is indeed a special place.
As is frequently true of islands, some resources are more limited, thus the limitation of a garbage disposal being part of the waste program. Guests do have 3 options: home pickup for a nominal fee, take to the dump the day before you leave ( a 5 min drive), or pack it out, as you chose.

There is no doubt that there are grander homes located right on the water, but these, as expected, come with a much higher price. Despite our home having a limited water view, it is a 3 min walk down our wide greenbelt to a lovely park . Our neighbors put their kayaks in there and enjoy picnics , enjoying an incredible view up the sound.

Although there are 2 small stairway windows that overlook our patio, covered porch and deck, we find that the greenbelt allows freedom to lay out, play soccer or yard games, or just enjoy the occasional deer that grazes in the woods that separate our group from the town of Eastsound. We find that it is nice to be so close to the towns offerings without having people walking right by our house. Over half of our 10 home group are part timers, and we have had similar experiences as you as to most neighbors not even being around.

The airport is a few miles away, but since the island is shaped as a horseshoe, the small planes do fly overhead. It is not a terribly busy airport since Orcas is small, and we have come to wish them safe landing , even including a piece of local found art called Flying Lessons in our home .

We are glad you found our home clean, comfortable and well appointed, and are truly sorry it did not meet all of your expectations.
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
5

A Delightful Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My first words upon arriving here were "It is even better than the pictures!" If you have a family, multiple couples or just want a little privacy you cannot beat staying here as opposed to a hotel. The home is clean with a private suite on the lower level providing privacy for multiple parties, a half bath on the main level for convenience and a shared bath upstairs for the additional two bedrooms that are both comfortable in size. The house is fully equipped, all you need to bring is clothes and you are moved in. There are books, games, movies and music for all ages and styles. We listened to birds and the ocean right from the house. Deer comfortably ate grass in the lawn. The bay is full of things to explore; shells, starfish and seabirds, driftwood and logs on which the kids love to practice "finding their balance". It is literally only a couple minute easy stroll into town with everything you need from grocery store and post office to bakery, restaurants and shops to explore. The scenic town of Eastsound looks like you've walked onto a movie set. Darvill's Bookstore is charming and friendly with a view that creates the perfect ambiance. Wildflour Bakery and Enzo's cafe are delicious. Medrona's serves up a good burger, fish n' chips and chowder with a fabulous view! But certainly if you enjoy a home cooked meal you are fully equipped right here in the home. The owners are so friendly and easy to work with; we felt warmly welcomed and at ease to enjoy our time here. It was lovely and calm here in the winter months, the weather mild. We took a boat tour with Outer Island Expeditions with a very welcoming and knowledgeable captain who gave us a generous experience observing the beautiful wildlife of the San Juan's, a privilege indeed. Just walk on board the ferry for a quick trip to Friday Harbor for an afternoon of shopping and more views. Sandpebble is a delightful shop, come hungry to Rocky Bay cafe that has huge and delicious breakfasts and The Bean Cafe for wonderful baked goods and a tea latte. Truly the San Juan Islands are charming and a delight to experience and we would definitely come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
Portland, Oregon
5

Amenities galore, centrally located

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
This stunning little Cape Cod is sparkling new, with old world Craftsman charm. Videos for the kids, sunset viewing from the patio(s) and located a moment's walk to shopping and dining in East Sound.
Orcas Island is just a few hours north of Seattle, but so far away in pace of life. While the natural setting and all the activities to accompany it abound, there’s more than just campfire cook outs and lunch bags in this remote haven. When the season allows there is ample natural vegetation and fruits to partake of, from foraged chanterelles to windfall apples, (great for cider making at Christina Orchid’s farm!) Orcas has a little bit of everything to suit a variety of tastes, whether it’s a burger and a cold pint of Ranier at the Lower Tavern ($), authentic Latin flavored cuisine at Chimayo ($-$$), or a fine meal at Chef Geddes Martin’s The Inn at Ship Bay ($$-$$$), you’re sure to make good memories.
We enjoyed a day at the golf course, and a drive to the top of Mount Constitution.
I'm well traveled and would recommend this well appointed home for all ages.

LeeAnn Gauthier
Portland, OR
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
Oregon
5

Beautiful, Cozy Home and Walk to Eastsound

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This home is very clean and well kept. The decor and furnishings are comfortable and new keeping with a beach and boating feel. We appreciated little things like the pack and play, the iPod dock and kids movies and games as well as movies and books for adults, the outdoor area has benches and chairs and is a relaxing place to have a view of the water and beach. We were able to keep up with work from our computers via wi-fi which the owners provide.
The kitchen has everything you'll look for, the stove and oven are gourmet quality.
A walk into downtown Eastsound and the beachfront is easy and takes less than 5 minutes.
Owners of the home are quick to respond to questions and have been friendly and accomodating in my experience.
I would rent this home again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cape Cod meets the Fjords on Orcas Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230679
+1 971 207-1047
Eastsound Orcas Island
Texas
5

Friday Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The house was clean and in good condition.

The view was beautiful.

My family and I enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1