Huddleston cottage rental - Dan Nelson's painting of our Lake House (2011)
Dan Nelson's painting of our Lake House (2011)
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Huddleston Cottage Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 1.5 baths

You will not find another house on the lake like this one! With a flat lot and over 100 feet of wide sandy beach, this house is perfect for adults and kids of all ages! Walk out onto your huge deck that is only a few steps away from the beach nestled on a quiet, private cove. Your kids will love playing in the sand, wading in the shallow water and swimming out to the floating raft. We guarantee you will want to rent this cottage year after year!

FISHERMAN: we are located next door to Saunders/Parkway marina - perfect location for fishing tournaments!

NEAR SAUNDERS/PARKWAY MARINA: Our home is right around the corner from Saunders/Parkway Marina on Rt. 626 - the home of all the major fishing tournaments, weddings, and 4th of July Fireworks! Put your boat in at the Marina and drive it 'home' to our dock. It couldn't be more convenient!

CHECK IN TIMES: CHECK IN TIME: 3:00 PM

CHECK OUT TIME: 10:00 AM (NO Exceptions)

ABSOLUTELY NO PETS!

7 Reviews of Property 230643 in Huddleston, Virginia

Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
average rating of based on reviews
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Strasburg, Virginia
5

Our Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The house was wonderful. Had everything we needed and the landscaping was nicely done. The beach area was wonderful for kids
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Family Memories Made

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We took our family vacation and our first time to SML. We loved it! This house was perfect for our parents, my husband and I with our two young kids and my sister. We loved the beach - my kids (2 & 4) were out there first thing every morning. We rented a boat from the state park, used the firepit, hammock, screened porch for every meal and swam in the lake every day. Thank you for sharing your house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
4

wonderful

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I stayed at the cottage for three nights. The first night was a "Girls Night
Out" with my best friend. We explored the State Park and took long walks. The
next two nights were with my father and his wife, my husband, our 15 year old
son and a friend of his. The cottage was wonderful for all ages; flat and
accessible, a gorgeous view, and plenty to do. The boys camped in a tent on the beach area both nights. They swam and played on the floating dock. They had a campfire. We brought a boat and were able to put in at the marina that was within a 5 minute drive. The house was well stocked and very inviting. It had
the true feel of a lake cottage. We enjoyed the screened porch the most. The
house felt like a home, well loved and has stood the test of time. We will
certainly return."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
4

vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was a great place for my grandkids, they really enjoyed the sand and being able to walk into the water. The owner was very informative anytime I needed her she was prompt to reply.
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
DEWITT,VA
4

#230643

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
EVERYTHING WAS AS DESCRIBED IN THE LISTING . THE HOUSE WAS VERY CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. THE VIEW TO THE LAKE IS VERY BEAUTIFUL AT SUNSET. THE ONLY DOWNFALL WAS PARKING FOR THE BOATS THERE WERE THREE OF US WITH TOW VEHICLES AND BOATS AND PARKING WAS VERY TIGHT AND HARD TO GET IN AND OUT. A ONE BOAT PARTY WILL HAVE NO PROBLEM. THE NEIGHBORS WERE GREAT TREATED US LIKE LIFE LONG FRIENDS.I WOULD NOT HESITATE TO STAY HERE AGAIN.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! I agree parking can be an issue with more than one boat. One thing we've done in the past is to launch boats and keep trailers at the marina around the corner. They have never had a problem with doing that!

We welcome fishermen and our house is the perfect location for any of the events hosted by Parkway Marina!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
northern Virginia
5

Wonderful family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family returned to this lovely property for a second year this year and had another wonderful experience. The owners are incredibly helpful and responsive and the setting couldn't be more perfect for our needs - the shady beach is great for sand castles and other engineering projects, and the gradual deepening of the water is perfect for our 5 year old son who is still developing his comfort-level in water. The dock is great for fishing (at our level, anyway) and my husband and son pulled in lots of small ones (which we threw back) and even one or two big guys (which we also threw back!). The house is lovely, extremely well-equipped and surface-clean. While the kitchen and bathrooms were both spotless, my one complaint is that the cleaning crew does not dust or sweep under the furniture, creating some sniffles for our dust-allergic family. The area itself is not hugely well supplied with alternative activities, although there are a few for rainy days, nor good reasonably priced restaurants that we've been able to find. But I'd highly recommend this property to a friend or family member.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Charming lake house with huge private beach. Perfect for families!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230643
+1 919 7400105
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Cary, NC
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Being there was better than the pictures online. It is great for kids and adults because of the sandy beach area. Great for adults for the screened in porch and huge deck to relax on. Used the grill every night to cook dinner. They have DirectTV with everything on it. Has horseshoes set up under shade. Lots of trees surrounding property so you can be out of the sun. View of the mountain is spectacular. It was everything and more for what my family likes. I also like the fact that it's a ranch home so no steps to climb to go to bedrooms. There is a boat ramp directly across the lake so it's easy to unload and load your boat. Not close to a reasonable grocery store (price wise) so when you go to one, get all you need or you'll be spending big bucks at general stores and marinas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3