Beware this house has ants, mice and fleas!!
For one thing this house is not in the greatest of areas. The house wasn't ready when we arrived. There was a flood in San Antonio and I was assured that there was a small roof leak but it was going to be taken care of on that Sunday. It came out later there was 10 inches of water that came from the rooftop deck down the stairs. We were told that we couldn't go out on the rooftop deck. The deck was squishy and I really worried it was going to cave in. They were there until after 3:00 trying to get this roof fixed, the ceilings, and cleaning. After they left we checked everything out and the counter tops was not clean neither was the bathtub. We would have left but unfortunately we were kind of stuck since we had already paid for the house and hadn't budgeted for anything more. No doubt the gourmet kitchen was awesome but when you have thousands of ants crawling all over the counters and mice ripping into your food it tends to lose its appeal. The downstairs bathroom shower caddie was caked with soap scum and the shower curtain doesn't go all the way around. It will be a cold shower. There is a trick to getting hot water too. My sons had a couple of cold showers. The back yard is a complete disaster with trash bags and broken clay all over the place not to mention the ants running all over the place.And if that wasn't bad enough then the fleas hatching out and biting my 5 year old daughter to where she had sores all over her. It was a horrible experience all the way around. They need to update this house to match the kitchen and exterminate the entire house.I do not recommend this place to anyone.
Owner's Response: These guests stayed the full 7 days they reserved and never contacted me about any of these allegations. She left a note at departure, ensuring I could not verify or address her concerns. The house was clean when they arrived at noon, 3.5 hrs early & well before check in. We were working in 1 bedroom. A ladder & cleaning supplies needed to be removed from the house. I did not turn them away. I showed her the 2 ceiling repairs (due to a roof leak after record rain) that were taped and floated but not painted. She was offered a full refund, which she declined. There are no mice or fleas. Per her claim, I left a cereal box and a loaf of bread on the counter overnight. I checked the next day & there were no holes in the box or plastic, no crumbs, no droppings. It’s improbable that a flea infestation, which lasts more than a week, is particular to just 1 person. We were in shorts & not attacked by fleas before or after they left. If only for the safety of her family, she should have called immediately if true and I would have taken all necessary steps to rid the house of them. No concerns about mice or fleas have been reported before or after she stayed. There were no ants present when we left or returned. At times, sugar ants come through the weep holes in the kitchen windows for which we have family-friendly ant spray under the kitchen sink. The on-demand hot water heater has endless hot water. No “trick” to pointing the small end of a faucet handle to the desired temperature. Upon arrival, 1 son took a shower that turned out cold, so I was able to explain this in-person. Her other son then confirmed the hot water. This also explains why the tubs & soap caddies were not clean– her sons used them. In that 1 tub, a full shower curtain is a trip hazard. The trash bags contained sheet rock & were left on a remote side of the backyard, far from the guest area. She could have called & I would have removed them. The backyard looked as pictured in HomeAway. The terrace has a membrane that is designed to be flexible. The decking is supported by large beams & will not cave in. Not only did her family speak to us from the terrace below while we worked on the rooftop, there was evidence that they enjoyed the terrace during their stay. We left at 3:30pm- check in time. In an e-mail, she said the area was nice; now it’s not? My wife & I have always strived to meet the needs of our guests & to ensure they have a wonderful experience at our home. Other reviews are testament.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?