Long Island cottage rental
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Long Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Visit us at www.TheBahamianVillage.com.

Located on Indian Hole Point, Thompson Bay lies one of Long Island's newest, most beautiful, secluded beachfront rentals. Enjoy the privacy of The Bahamian Village and explore one of the last unspoiled islands in the Caribbean. Fish, swim, take out one of our complimentary sea kayaks or simply idle away paradise.

Use our ideally situated resort as a base-camp, while you venture out to explore caves, snorkel or dive on a coral reef, or simply hunt down one of the hammocks hanging in the Village's palm groves.

Keywords: Beachfront Cottages

8 Reviews of Property 139324 in Long Island, Bahamas

The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
Fostoria, Ohio
1

Falsely advertised, dirty, black mold

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
These cottages were dumps. The air conditioning systems were full of black mold. There was no out door grill unless the shell of one counts as a grill. The interiors were filthy dirty. Our friends had to move due to the black mold. The refrigerator was a mess as were the pots, pans, silverware, plates and cups. We boiled water to clean utensils and cups for our drinks. The toaster and coffee pots were literally crusty. Yuck! Total rip off!! the outside of the cottages looked pretty good...just don't open the door to the filthy interior!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
North Carolina
5

Relaxation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This place provided what we were looking for: peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. The cottage was very clean with plush white towels and a comfortable bed. We had a beautiful view just outside our front door, and we were steps away from hopping into the new kayaks and paddling around the bay. There is snorkeling gear available to view the tropical fish swimming not far from the shore. You can walk far in either direction on the beach and explore, most likely not seeing another person. There is not very good swimming directly in front of the cottage, but if you kayak a little down the beach, you will find a better spot to swim.

We were only there for 4 days, and did not choose to rent a car. We were content with this decision for our short stay, but had our trip been longer, we would have like to have had a car so we could have explored the island more.

Hazel, the manager, was very helpful and informative. She stopped by often to see if we needed anything. We cooked our meals in the full kitchen. Hazel, the manager, had driven us to the grocery store to stock up on food items after she had picked us up from the airport. Groceries are expensive on the island. We advise bringing a lot of your dry items with you in your suitcase.

The owner was very helpful in helping us plan our travel. He contacted us often to see if we had any questions and was great help with selecting our airlines to get to Long Island.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. It was exactly what we needed to relax and unwind for a long weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
5

Paradise!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Paradise! If you want to get away from it all this is the place. Nice cottages. Great staff. This was my 3rd time there and I am ready to go back. Aaron did a great job on having a rental car at the airport for us and having staff at the cottage with the key when we arrived. Highly recommended!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
5

Wonderful winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We just returned from a week at the Bahamian Village. Absolutely loved the location, the privacy and the cottage. The charming cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. The bar/grill is no longer open which was fine with us as it made the stay even more private. The cottages are located in the center of this "Long" Island which made it wonderful to travel to both ends. We rented a car for the week which I would highly recommend and we found a place to rent a kayak at a very reasonable rate...$45/wk. Loved the locals, the food, both in the restaurants and the fresh seafood we were able to buy and cook ourselves. The owners plan to put log books in the cottages for visitors to make comments, suggestions on where to eat and how to find some of the hidden attractions such as the plantation ruins, the Columbus Monument and fresh seafood market. I highly recommend this spot if you are looking for a very relaxing, non-touristy type of vacation. Will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
Ramsey, indiana
5

Peace and Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This place was so much more than what we expected. Everything was clean and had everything we needed.
The cottages are right on the beach. Every morning watching the sun come up with your coffee, sitting on the front porch was such a great experience. We enjoyed the beaches being so secluded and having that time to our selves.

We explored the island’s beaches and tourist attractions. We loved the Columbus Monument and Dean’s Blue Hole the best. The people on the island are the friendliest people we’ve met in all our travels. The native foods and restaurants are great! The conch salad was my wife’s favorite, while mine was the grill lobster with the peas and rice!
We would recommend this place for those seeking peace and quiet while enjoying everything this place has to offer.
We loved it so much we are planning a return trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
Connecticut, USA
5

Truly Unique

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Perfect relaxing get-away. Truly secluded and private. The bungalow was ultra-clean and nicely appointed. The owners were wonderful, super sweet to deal with and there if you needed them. This is the perfect place to kick-back and relax. The bikes and the kayaks were a wonderful addition - a great way to get to know the island. There are gorgeous beach near when you tire of the one in front of you! WE cannot wait to go back. You will not be disappointed. The Bunglalow is also convenient to good restaurants and stunning beaches.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
Phoenix, AZ USA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We cannot say enough GREAT things about this property!! I work for an airline, so my husband and I travel frequently. This has become our number 2 top vacation we have ever taken! We stayed for eight (8) days October 2008. We would highly recommend this property for a romantic getaway, couples needing to reconnect, or a small family with a young child. We would not recommend this for youth, teenagers or young adults still into the "fast" pace of life and entertainment. The property was clean, and comfortable. Loved the towels and linens that were provided. In addition to the kitchen, there is an outdoor grill available for your use, as there is a laundry if you have need of one during your stay. Also provided were two bicylces and two kayaks for guest use. If you plan on staying in for quiet evenings bring reading material, and maybe some board games. This property is in a quiet location but you can still enjoy the locals and not be totally on your own as you are literally just steps from Parrots of the Caribbean Bar and Grille, of which we had a fun time at their Friday night party hosted with a DJ for your entertainment. We only rented a car for a day and would suggest to anybody else going to rent one for the week. It is a great opportunity to get out and see the island and meet the locals. We would suggest that if you fish to bring a pole to fish off the beach or use the kayak to get further out. If not strike a deal with one of the locals to take you out fishing in one of their boats. This should be done the first or second day so that you have your fresh seafood available to supplement any groceries you pick up from one of the local stores. Our trip was last minute and the reservation made the day we left. We really did not have time to research and were not prepared for the cost of the car rental and/or the cost of the food. When visiting the Bahama's or the Caribbean in the past we have done cruises so really were not prepared for the cost. Just remember that this is a small island and almost all of your dry goods and groceries are imported so it does tend to be much costlier than Phoenix, AZ. Do not let cost keep you from visiting. Again this is now one of our top ranked spots and if it were closer we would make several four day weekends throughout the year!!!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
The Bahamian Village: Luxury Beachfront Bungalows on Thompson Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139324vb
(570) 724-5575 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Long Island Bahamas
phoenix az.
5

very quiet, very nice stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
My wife works for a air line and we travel when ever we can. this place is one of the few we will return to. beautiful and remote. with bar and food close by. the only down is high car rentals and limited food types. the meals we tryed was great. bring bug juice ,water, snaks and you'll be happy.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9