Avalon cottage rental - Cozy Living Room
Cozy Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Avalon Cottage Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 9 people, outside shower

Welcome to the Avalon home featured on the cover, and the first 14 pages, of American Country Home Store's national catalog! This charming cottage, in one of southern Jersey's most exclusive shore towns, has had a complete home makeover with new indoor and outdoor furniture, bedding collections, custom window treatments and accessories from the American Country Home Store. The design team selected the paint color, carpet, window coverings and furniture arrangements in each room. This immaculate designer 5-bedroom home is located across from the Avalon Recreation Complex, offering three relaxing decks with views of the Inland Waterway and evening sunsets. Located on the northern end of the island in a quiet residential neighborhood, with ample parking and close proximity to the town, marina and beach.

Weekend Rental Available in Spring and Fall: Want to jump-start your vacation in the Spring or extend your summer into the Fall? This property provides all the comforts of home to finish that book you're reading, write and address your holiday greetings, or curl up on the sofa while watching fall football games. Perfect for a group of professionals to get together and do strategic planning! Identify the days you want to visit and we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

A Couple of Couples: Why not take your card club, golf group and your appetite to the beach for a spring or fall getaway where there's something for everyone? While some play golf, others can enjoy pre or post season sales, or spend the afternoon walking on the beach. Reconnect for dinner and drinks on the back deck. Several couples will find this spacious home to be a wonderful way to experience the shore without the summer crowds.

More Details
Hide Details

When I was born my parents lived in an ocean-front property in Virginia Beach. I grew up with the sound of waves, views of the ocean, and sand under my feet. When we moved to Pennsylvania, summer vacations often included the Maryland, Delaware and Jersey beaches. The first time I visited Avalon as an adult, I knew that this was where I wanted to spend my summer vacations. This particular home needed a lot of attention and was referred to by others as a 'tear down.' However, my father believed that the house had good bones and that it merited attention, not destruction. Eaighteen years later I'm very pleased with the protection, joy and memories that this home has provided for our friends and guests.

Because this is our home, we pride ourselves in keeping the house as clean and safe for our guests as we would for ourselves. It's not 'just a beach rental,' rather a home that we provide for others to enjoy when we can't be here ourselves. Every renovation or addition to the house has been a labor of love.

11 Reviews of Property 230417 in Avalon, New Jersey

5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
5

The Best House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved this little house. It was just perfect. The house is adorable and well decorated. It is in a quiet area and so it was just peaceful. The porches were great. We liked that we were just a little away from the main town but yet walking distance from restaurants and shopping. You will not be sorry renting here. The owner is very nice and made our stay so nice. I am really picky and everything is so clean and quaint. Loved it! Loved it!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
5

Our favorite town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the best house we've ever stayed in during our visits to Avalon over the last 30 years! My family was very impressed with the decor as well as the size of the rooms. The three porches provided plenty of space to spread out. The back porch was our favorite place to enjoy meals. The fact that so many supplies (like toilet paper, paper towels, detergent and dryer sheets, dishwasher soap and cleaning supplies) were provided by the owner was also a bonus! We also enjoyed the fact that there was a park across the street and not houses. The neighborhood was quiet and family friendly. All in all we were delighted with our stay and would highly recommend it!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
5

Home Sweet Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I can not say enough about this home! The decor and cleanliness were above our expectations. The owner had taken the utmost care in preparing for our visit and made the rental process easy. We are already planning our return next year. Perfect girls getaway!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
5

Avalon cottage is blissful seashore retreat...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and I consider ourselves lucky to have rented the last week available in this lovely seashore cottage. The owner just happened to be there when we arrived. Her warm personality is reflected in this well decorated and bright Avalon retreat. It is unusual to find a cottage that is so well maintained yet has that relaxed seashore feel. The web pictures are accurate for the two story home. The decks are great giving a choice of privacy upstairs or family meals outback off the first floor kitchen. We had not been to Avalon since our children were toddlers. The area was blissfully quiet at the end of June and the beach was so relaxing. We were able to walk to town for dinner/drinks at the Princeton or ice cream at the many venues. Both of our children are adults now and we were able to have them stay a few days. This cottage was a great place to re-unite with them. We all enjoyed meeting at the Princeton or the Whitebriar in the evening for outdoor drinks/food. There is a supermarket in town but we preferred the Acme which was just a short hop over the bridge on the mainland. We look forward to returning to Avalon and especially this lovely cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
Iowa
5

Feels like home, only better.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My husband and I stay at this cottage every time we visit Avalon! It has become a home away from home for us, and we enjoy every moment when we are there. The home is cozy and beautifully decorated. It has everything we need and is the perfect place for a get-away.

We love starting our day by enjoying a quiet breakfast on the back patio. Slowly the island comes alive and before we know it, we're ready to get out there and enjoy our day. The beach is so close, we walk there a couple times a day to walk along the shore, collect sea shells or go for a swim!

The cottage is in such a great location that we find ourselves biking or walking everywhere we go. We enjoy eating at the local restaurants and browsing the shops, and in the evenings when we're ready to settle in, we open a bottle of wine, sit on the front porch swing and enjoy each other's company.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
New York, NY, USA
5

An absolute gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Everything you need to have a wonderful holiday. This charming cottage provided a quiet, cozy and comfortable experience. Plenty of space for couples and friends. Several generous outdoor spaces provide a different dining area for every meal and occasion. Great proximity to the beach and restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
New York, NY
5

Beautiful Beach getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This house was so perfect - from the decor, to the location to the quaint and cottage-like touches throughout! I've stayed in rental properties before, however you can feel the love in this one.

I've stayed in this particular home since 2007 - and it keeps getting better with each year. It's large, recently updated (as in the last year) and located across from a quiet park. You are walking distance to the beach and restaurants, and nicely located between the center of Avalon and Sea Isle city. I went initially with my family and then with a group of close friends - plenty of space for all.

There is great deck space for quiet dinners or just to lay in the sun. One room even has a private deck on the second floor.

I would recommend this whole-heartedly to anyone. Fabulous place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
New York
5

BEACH PERFECTION!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I stayed at this charming, well-equipped cottage over a holiday weekend this past summer and absolutely loved it! The owner was very accomodating, the place was very clean and was very close to the beach... though with 3 nicely furnished porches, I found myself enjoying much of my time in the privacy and comfort of the house!! If you've never been to Avalon it's an amazing place to visit -- the vibe is very relaxed and family-friendly, lots of great spots to eat and hangout. You can't ask for a better place to spend the summer months.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
Eden Prairie, MN
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My wife and I had a wonderful week's stay at the beach house. We traveled from MN a few weeks after Labor Day, so the town was nice and quiet. Getting to Avalon from the Phila airport was about a 1.5 hour drive. We felt right at home and loved the place. Full kitchen, laundry, comfortable furnishings, high-speed internet, and clean -- it had all we could want. Nice front and back porches too.

For food close by, Circle Pizza was good. (We cooked in most meals.)

For sight-seeing, we went to Cape May a couple days and did history tours, walked the main street, drove out to the landmarks, and saw avid bird watchers. The Cape May county zoo was a hit -- better than many large city zoos we've been too. And for Avalon itself and the beach house -- we enjoyed the close access down the street to the beach (about 3 blocks, with parking available). The beach has great sand and continues down about 7 miles to Stone Harbor. It makes for an excellent out-and-back run.

We highly recommend and would definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
5 BR Cape Cod newly decorated Home Makeover by 'American Country Home Store'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230417
+1 5154511888
Avalon South NJ Shore
Pennsylvania
5

We love this place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We have been staying at this beautiful beach cottage for about 10 years. It is like home away from home with all the comfortable furnishings. The decor is both relaxed and very welcoming. We love staying with the park nearby. It is quiet and peaceful. From the upper deck you can even catch a glimpse of the ocean. It's nice to sit there in the evenings for dinner or just to relax. The beach we go to is easy walking distance, a short stroll really.
The new additions to the beach house are great including a wonderful big deck out back for relaxing, grillling, dining, morning coffee or evening drinks. The furnishings are very nice and well taken care of. There is also a new outside shower for cleaning up after the beach. We really do love it and hope to come back for many years.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6