Tucson house rental - Jasper Jack
Jasper Jack
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Tucson House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4

Rustic, quiet, beautiful, and private. This 2 bedroom, 2 bath guesthouse has charm, comfort and serenity! On our 1 1/2 acre property you will relax, recharge and connect with Mother Earth the moment you step through the gates in your own personal sanctuary.

The guest house shares the grounds with our other vacation rental, Hubbard's Hacienda, the larger house that accommodates larger groups.

Although Jasper and Quill, our Donkeys, no longer reside on the property, their spirit lives on at the Bed and Burro!

The guest house has a wood-burning fireplace, and access to a huge patio with gas grill. There is a private entrance with off street parking and your own washer and dryer.

Convenient to restaurants and shops as well as Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon, and Saguaro National Park East. Tucson is home to Kitt Peak National Observatory, San Xavier Mission, Pima Air and Space Museum, Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, University of Arizona, Tucson Botanical Gardens, and more. Perfect for visitors to the World's Largest Gem and Mineral show, La Fiesta de Los Vaqueros Rodeo, and the UofA Wildcats.

The perfect location for biking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching and golf (35 courses). For day trips try Nogales, Kartchner Caverns, Bisbee, Tombstone and Tubac.

Bicyclists!!: We are on the Northeast side of Tucson and have countless bike trails to all major attractions. We are on the route of El Tour de Tucson and the Bed and Burro Inn is perfect for your base.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I are school guidance counselors and local actors here in Tucson and in Hawaii. We split our time between Tucson and Makawoa, Hawaii on the island of Maui. We do local theater productions and commercials and film work here in Tucson and Phoenix and Hawaii. Bill was born and raised in Tucson, Vicki is from Tennessee and Florida. We have 2 sons...one is an actor in LA and the other is a music producer.

This home is a labor of love and we wish we could move it to the beach!!

William Hubbard purchased this house in 2000

This was the perfect property for us when we purchased it in 2000. It is on a little over an acre of land, and was just big enough to accommodate our 2 donkeys, 3 dogs and 2 cats. It is just outside the city limits...literally! The animals are now with us on Maui…well not the donkeys…they are living on a wonderful ranch north of Tucson.

We have a wide variety of wildlife here, and our guests like the seclusion and peacefulness that surrounds them.

We didn't know how to market the property, but Vicki came up with The Bed and Burro. We had 2 donkeys and at the time I don't believe there was another rental that has pet donkeys on the property!! Quill, is our rescue donkey from Nevada and Jasper is our newest. They no longer are on the property...they live on a beautiful ranch near Aravaipa Canyon, but there memory is still present.

Your stay here will be peaceful and relaxing. Your casita comes fully equipped with a full kitchen, laundry facilities, linens and towels. You have your own private driveway and parking area and the benefits of the entire grounds to rest and relax.

You might be lucky enough to see some of the wildlife here including many bird species, javelina, bobcats, coyotes, and lots of rabbits!

We are very close to outdoor activities including the Saguaro National Monument East, Mt. Lemmon and Sabino Canyon. Many guests use this as a base for day trips to Tombstone, Karchner Caverns and Mexico.

18 Reviews of Property 230280 in Tucson, Arizona

Special Rates Now in Effect!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Orchard Park, NY
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My stay at the Bed and Burro Inn was a dream come true for me and my guest. The rental was more than expected-clean, decorated, all the amenities you can imagine-plus in the most scenic area of our country-breathtaking! Will start planning for next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ronnie! You are always welcome here and I am so glad your stay was magical and more than you hoped for. Thanks you so much for the thoughtful gift. Please visit "God's Country" again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
5

Ron and Jan?Minnesota Travelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We enjoyed the Casita very much. The country setting with the stars and coyotes yipping occasionally was wonderful. We missed seeing the Burro however enjoyed having a visit from a little Geico!
Your recommended restaurant list was excellent as we enjoyed all that we visited. We think you should add (breakfast) Le Buzz to the list. Close and excellent.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Ron and Jan
Owner's Response: Dear Ron and Jan,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bed and Burro. Great idea about Le Buzz. My wife agrees!! Thanks again for staying with us!!

Bill
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Tennessee
5

An oasis in the desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The Bed & Burro is an incredible find! It is a beautiful home located in the magnificent sonoran desert. Bill & Vicki, the inn keepers, have created a relaxing spot and are genuinely happy to share the beauty. The house was clean, comfortable, and equipped with all the amenities you need on a vacation. The view of the Catalina mountains, the backyard pool, patio and bar-b-q--not to mention the burros!!--- make this a very special place. We loved it and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will return and we highly recommend this 'inn'!
Owner's Response: Jasper and Quill really enjoyed you guys!! We did too! Please come back anytime...you are always welcome!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Huntsville, AL
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The property was wonderful and fit our needs perfectly. We're a family of four, and the amenities were spot on. The kids loved saying "hi" to the burros and the provided plenty of amusement for them. The owners were also extremely accommodating to our arrival / departure times which turned out to be very helpful.

We would stay here again in an instant. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay on the NE side of Tucson.
Owner's Response: Thanks Dan & Julie!!! The donkeys say "Hi" !!
Thank you so much for the nice words...
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Chicago Area
4

Bed and Burro Inn is unique

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The Bed and Burro Inn is very accurately presented on their web site. The guest house is cozy and comfortable; the owner is very friendly and accommodating; and the animals are sweet and add to the rustic "feel" of the place. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the patio each day. In the evening, we ended our day th same way, on the nicely lit patio taking in the peaceful surroundings. I would recommend the property to others who are seeking casual, comfortable lodging in Tucson. It was right for the two of us and young family members who visited us there could hardly believe we were lucky enough to have donkeys right outside our window.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the nice comments Joanne!! We feel lucky to be able to have donkeys right outside our windows too!! Thanks for being great guests!
Bill & Vicki
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
5

Best in the SW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We chose Bed & Burro after searching Tucson for a hotel with 2 private bedrooms/adjoining rooms and found them either non-existent or very expensive. This wonderful casita is just as described and pictured. Location is just around the corner from conveniences of the city but peaceful and quiet away from it all. The rooms were very clean and pleasant for our stay.

Even though our arrival was very late in the evening, we were greeted at the gate and given the grand tour--and were introduced to the burros and friendly dogs.

In just a few short days, the Bed & Burro Inn became our favorite place to stay when we visit family in AZ. Loved the split floorplan--each bedroom with it's own bath allows for privacy. A laundry unit is available for those longer stays.

Forgot to bring your favorite read? There is even a small library of books available to choose from. They have thought of everything to make your stay a pleasant one. With the owner on premises, customer service is only a step or phone call away.

All the comforts of home-away from home! Cannot wait to return again! Highly recommend.
Owner's Response: Thanks Denise!!! I hope your next stay can be longer!
Bill & Vicki
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Montreal, Quebec
4

A great place to stay in Tucson

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Bed and Burro Inn. Bill was a very accommodating host, putting special effort into allowing us to move in the day before he expected us (a mix-up on our part). The casita is very well located for hiking, golfing, horseback riding, visiting local sights in the Tucson area, and for just plain relaxing. The garden is lovely and peaceful, and the burros add color without being a bother. Good TV and wifi reception. The kitchen could be improved by adding a few good cutting knives, a large pot for boiling pasta, and better cutlery, but is quite functional as is. We would not hesitate to recommend the Bed and Burro to friends and family.
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Montreal, Quebec
4

A great place to stay in Tucson

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Bed and Burro Inn. Bill was a very accommodating host, putting special effort into allowing us to move in the day before he expected us (a mix-up on our part). The casita is very well located for hiking, golfing, horseback riding, visiting local sights in the Tucson area, and for just plain relaxing. The garden is lovely and peaceful, and the burros add color without being a bother. Good TV and wifi reception. The kitchen could be improved by adding a few good cutting knives, a large pot for boiling pasta, and better cutlery, but is quite functional as is. We would not hesitate to recommend the Bed and Burro to friends and family.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Evelyn! The suggestions were spot on and we will add those items immediately. Thanks again for staying with us.
Bill (Head Donkey Wrangler)
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
5

Feels like home while you're away from it all

Feels like home while you're away from it all
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
First time in Tucson for a little winter family vacation (with two young boys) the week before Xmas. The weather was great, by the way, although I suppose we didn't get to experience the legendary Tucson heat.

Loved Tucson, all the sights, and the (to us) exotic landscape. The Bed and Burro figured a lot in those nice memories. It was a perfect base to explore the region. Felt very much like home, conveniently located to the sights, and yet somehow remote enough to feel like you were getting away from it all. The private guest house was cozy, neat, clean. Lots of thoughtful little touches, and, with the kids, it was nice to have the kitchen.

The kids loved the animals. The dogs and donkey were so friendly and accommodating. They were, along with Bill, great holiday hosts. And Bill gave us all a very hearty, nice welcome. The kids loved him.

Wished we had more time. We would've liked to spend more time exploring/hiking the area directly around the B&B Inn. Would definitely stay here again and we all really want to come back!
Owner's Response: Thanks Alvin! We loved having your kids here! Thanks so much for the nice review and comments. You are always welcome at the Bed and Burro.

Bill
Head Donkey Wrangler
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Special Rates Now in Effect!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230280
+1 520 237-2344
Tucson Arizona
Hutchinson, MN
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We recently spent 2 weeks at The Bed and Burro Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased. Bill and Vicki were the most gracious hosts!! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we felt right at home and comfortable. We loved the walled yard for just sitting in the sunshine! And the burros added so much character :) We wish we could have stayed longer to see Bill's trees and gardens in bloom. Next time we hope to visit a couple of weeks later so it is closer to Spring.

We easily did day trips to many Southern Arizona attractions. Farmers markets and flea markets abound! The Gaslight Theater is awesome!!

If ever visiting in the Tucson area again, we would surely try to stay at The Bed and Burro Inn.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Gary and Fern! It was a pleasure to have you here in our little slice. You're always welcome..just give us a holler!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1