Westport Island house rental - Living room with fieldstone working fireplace
Living room with fieldstone working fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Westport Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 8 (1 bedroom/1 bath wheelchair accessible)

Vacation at this Westport Island deep waterfront Red Cedar Timberframe Home, built in 2004, on 6 acres of woods. Spectacular views of Sheepscot River and Upper Sheepscot Bay! Enjoy watching sunrises from the huge deck and screened-in porch, as low-flying osprey and eagles pass before you along the river. Home is just steps away from a private, deepwater dock with 2 moorings. Bring your own boat or kayak or rent one nearby and explore the local waters, islands and nearby Boothbay Harbor while seals surround you. These waters include some of the world's finest striped bass fishing! Explore the woods around you, or hike, bike, and enjoy nearby nature preserves, Reid State Park or Popham Beach. Watch the lobster boats hauling in their catch, while sailboats catch favorable winds along the riverfront. Enjoy bike rides on quiet dirt roads, and eat dinner outside on the deck under the stars or on the screened in Porch. Enjoy the nearby towns of Wiscasset, Bath, and Boothbay Harbor

Westport Island is a bridge-accessible island. Home is of timberframe construction with main level, deck and screened-in porch wheelchair-accessible. House and natural garden chosen to be one of only nine featured on 2008 Garden Club of Wiscasset tour of Westport Island gardens and homes. 'Green-friendly' home: grid-tied solar panels on roof provide supplemental power; super-insulated walls, roof and windows keep house cool in summer and warm in winter; floors and ceilings made from recycled wood; and property features native Maine plantings, including abundant wild Maine blueberry plants, with no pesticides used.

Hike or mountain bike (with mountain bikes on the property) on nearby trails and dirt roads and explore island interior. Sit on the dock and watch seals and harbor porpoises swim by. Ospreys and eagles fly by all summer, fishing in the river to feed their young on nearby nests.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 230228 in Westport Island, Maine

Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
average rating of 4.894737 based on 20 reviews
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
United States
5

Tree house along the water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property is like a tree house, as you feel like you’re tucked into the trees. The interior is beautiful, not fussy, warm and clean, with lots of wood. There is a long table for family dinners and card games. We spent most of our time on the deck or porch when it rained. There are lots of windows if you head inside and want to still see the view. Our family of five enjoyed every facet of the house. The upstairs, not in photographs, is a delightful retreat. The slate showers are fantastic with multiple shower heads. The landscaping is gorgeous with ferns and blueberries. The care in building the house is evident throughout in its design.
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Morehead, KY
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
From the moment we walked through the door, I knew we were in for a special treat. The house is absolutely beautiful with plenty of space, both inside and out, for our family to move around. The screened in porch overlooking the river was one of our favorite spots to gather. The bedrooms were large with comfortable beds and the three bathrooms allowed all of us to stay sane and out of each other’s hair; and, having three daughters that is a very important selling point! The kitchen was easy to use, with all the amenities you would expect. The location, in relation to surrounding towns and tourist spots, was very convenient. We ventured out almost every day to somewhere new. Overall, our vacation experience was excellent. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a warm and inviting home away from home.
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

An Amazing Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were thrilled in every way with this vacation! The owners were incredibly nice and helpful in helping us plan. The house is gorgeous, immaculate, comfortable and I could keep going on. We did not want to leave. The area was superb for all of us with an abundance of activities, sites, outdoor activities (great boating and bird watching), beaches (loved Reid and Popham) and amazing hidden gems everywhere. We also were thrilled to come back to this house and property at the end of our days and relax by grilling or sitting on the dock with our kids watching the sea life. We'll be back!
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Boston
5

Beautiful home, peaceful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a beautiful home in every aspect. It is clean, comfortable, has amazing bathrooms and amenities, is beautifully furnished and is very peaceful with great water views. We felt as if we were nestled in the treetops! We stayed for a week with two young children and loved every minute of it!
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
4

Nice location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a nice home and a great location. We liked it because it was out of town away from traffic and congestion, but yet close enough to some small towns. Perfect for the dogs without having to worry, they loved the dock and were swimming within the first fifteen minutes. The nearby towns were great to visit and I loved being only 45 minutes from Freeport. The house was clean and equipped with needed kitchen items such as a pot for lobsters. Also a nice big grill on the deck. Very peaceful. Love Maine.
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had such a wonderful time! The house is beautiful and was very comfortable for our family of 5. It also included a crib, highchair and baby gates which came in handy with our 1 year old. The house was clean, well maintained, and had everything to make a comfortable stay. We also enjoyed the back deck which included a grill and big table. In the mornings we would take a bagel down to the dock to enjoy the view and the quiet water.
We went on daily adventures to some nearby towns. Some highlights were Boothbay Harbor, Darmariscotta, and Wiscasset. We found some wonderful lobster shacks and did some great antiquing.
It was a relaxing, peaceful, fun vacation.
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our expectations were exceeded once we walked into the home! The website descriptions were spot on but you are not able to get a true sense of the tranquility of the house until you step through the door. The home is very tastefully decorated with spa like bathrooms. All of the ammenenities are provided for you, including some kid friendly items like a child gate on the stairs. The two porches (one is screened in, which is really nice) are a wonderful way to enjoy an early morning cup of coffee or an evening cocktail. The grounds are beautiful landscape complete with quintessental blueberry bushes. We had access to a boat which was great fun to explore the nearby islands, otherwise you can drive but expect to have about a 20 minute car ride. We had a great lunch at the Montsweag Roadhouse and ordered steamed lobsters from Simpsons.
We would highly recomend this home!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

As beautiful as the pictures and descriptions

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family vacationed here over the summer and we were happy to find that the house and descriptions were remarkably accurate! The house is beautiful and clean, a pleasure to call home for a week. We took daily excursions to surrounding towns and were never bored or without something to keep us busy. The area surrounding the house is beautiful for adventuring as well. As mentioned in another review, it is a 20 minute ride one way should you need anything-food, medications, beverages, etc., so plan accordingly. We would definitely be happy to vacation here again.

We enjoyed a delicious dinner our last night at the Squire Tarbox Inn and would recommend it.

I would NOT recommend fishing with Sweet Action Charters, a disappointing waste of a LOT of money!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

fabulous maine house with taste!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
this house was perfect for our vacation with our east coast friends. it had plenty of space, was well kept, and was close enough to nature and towns. the layout of the house is as pictures show and the deck space was added bonus to our time spent there. island has great scenery for nice walks/runs and the ocean is literally right there! my techie friends were a bit disappointed by the router and size of the tv, but that wasn't our main reason for being there. the views are spectacular and the house was very very comfortable. the kitchen has all the tools you will need to cook with...even if you want to make cookies. lastly, the bathrooms were amazing!
i would reccomend this house everyone!
Owner's Response: We took your comments seriously and have now added a large sized flat screen tv for those who appreciate a better screen for cable and movies.
business
Luxurious and Modern deep water Timberframe Home with Dock on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230228
+1 617 448-7490
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wow

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I went to this gorgeous home with our two kids aged 3 and 7 and had the best time. The house was even more beautiful than we expected and it was immaculate. The location is quiet and we were able to bird watch, see seals and go fishing. The location is great for biking and walking and also close to so many attractions that the kids loved including a railway for kids, beaches, mini-golf, boating excursions and fun towns within 40 minutes. We will be back.