Nettle Bay studio rental - Monte Cristo Studio
Monte Cristo Studio
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Nettle Bay Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 475 sq.ft / 44 sq.m, 1 full bathroom, ocean view terrace, sleeps 2

Our luxury beachfront Studio is located in Nettle Bay Beach Club, St. Martin, on the French side of the island, on a white sandy beach. Nettle Bay Beach Club is a resort condominium which offers 4 swimming pools, 3 tennis courts, 24-hour security, near restaurants and shops in the St. Martin area for your entertainment. The view on Nettle Bay is splendid, you see the neighboring island of Anguilla, Marigot Bay and its harbor to the north, and the ruins of La Belle Creole along the Pointe du Bluff to the south. Marigot, the French capital, is 1km away and has a marina and a waterfront where you'll find a colorful market, French bistros and restaurants and shops with famous French trade marks duty free. Each villa in Nettle Bay Beach is a two-storey creole style cottage. This studio is on the upper floor and is rented as a self-contained one-bedroom apartment, with kitchen and ocean view terrace. The Studio was newly renovated and is decorated in 'island style.'

The best vacation: The perfect Caribbean vacation rental - a holiday apartment at Nettle Bay Beach club. Enjoy a beach side holiday with lot of sun (29°c), sea (27°c) and sandy beaches of St Martin (St Maarten). Great eating at local French restaurants. Visit local markets (Marigot) or Maho beach resort for casinos, entertainment and shopping. Nearby boat rentals and fishing (Marigot), windsurf, kitesurf, jet skis, snorkeling, great diving and lot of other activities.

Excellent customer service: Dear Guests, we will arrange your airport transfer ( $ 35,- ) to your vacation home. If you are not familiar with St. Maarten, we will give you hints and directions to best beaches, restaurant, shopping, night clubs, etc. Anything to make your stay more pleasant, you need only to ask.

Rent a car: We offer for our clients to rent a car for the best price on the island. (35 - 45 USD per a day, all included)

More Details
Hide Details

32 Reviews of Property 230081 on Nettle Bay, St Maarten / Saint Martin

Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
average rating of 4.580645 based on 32 reviews
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Cozy home away from home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Mike made our entire experience wonderful from the very beginning. I asked a ton of questions before we ever arrived, which he answered promptly. He arranged for a rental car company to pick us up and then met us at there to show us the studio in person and answer any questions. He arranged a romantic dinner for our anniversary at a French restaurant on the beach.
The studio was clean and well stocked with towels, chairs, cooler, etc. Bed and bedding were very comfortable and we loved the private patio with comfy lounge chairs. They provided a strip plug that was already attached to a converter (which made charging our phones much easier) as well as a blow dryer that fit their outlets.
There's a great French bakery just down the road that serves the best quiche ever. We also went to Grand Case for what my husband calls "the best fish he has ever had" (a whole red snapper) at Sky's the Limit. We prefer a laid back atmosphere and Grand Case has a lot to offer.
Our all time favorite beach location was Palm Beach (recommended by Mike) at Orient Bay. The food and service were excellent and if you eat lunch there they throw in lounge chair rental (nice). This is another place we will return to!
We recommend renting a car. They are inexpensive and allow you to explore this wonderful island.
We didn't have time to charter a speed boat with Mike but plan to do that the next time we are there.
We highly recommend Monte Cristo for a couple who are looking for privacy on the quiet side of the island. If you want something larger, Mike can set that up as well.
At the end of our trip Mike returned to the studio to make sure we enjoyed our visit. Now that's what I call service!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
Chicago, Illinois
3

It depends what you are lookin for...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We just got back from our stay at the Monte Cristo in NBBC. We have rented through sites like Homeaway and are well traveled. Pros: Great location. NBBC is five minutes to a half hour from all places on both sides of the island. On Nettle Bay Beach, there are three restaurants. Dreams will give you free beach chairs if you eat at the restaurant, wiithin walking distance of your rental. The studio is as pictured. The deck is much nicer in person and the view is remarkable. Excellent and close pool facilities. Electric blinds to keep the sunlight out in the AM. Great for sleeping in! Quiet and safe. Cons: The water pressure stinks. The shower barely pushes out water and once you flush the toliet, you have to wait several minutes to flush again. This comes with being on an island, but should be noted. There are huge cockroaches...everywhere. We found one in our room after returning one evening and all over the sewers on the property. Again, island life, but I found myself constantly looking around me and around the studio upon arrival for roaches...we were paranoid about the food we left behind, and frankly I just don't want to be bothered with this while away on vacation. The light above the bed constantly flickered on and off. The air conditioning needs to run all day for the room to be cold at night. We never met Michel who we had corresponded with before our arrival. The cars offered through their rental service are fine for getting around the island but forget getting up any of the hills in St. Martin. Although they do the job toting around the island, they are not great for getting over the bumps and cracks on the French side..there are a lot. Isabel, Michel's wife, met us at the car rental place and took us to the rental. She was very hasty in her description of the surroundings, however did email us soon after her departure with a lot of info. A major problem it is advertised that there is 24 hour concierge service, but there is no phone. You have to email Michel/ Isabel with q's. Sometimes it would take them over an hour to get back to us which made it hard to plan ahead. Michel did send someone over to look at the air conditioning, water and lights, but we were still in bed when she arrived. Nothing changed so not sure if she returned or simply could not do anything. The bed is not comfortable and there is no blanket. We were on a babymoon, and would not recommend for a romantic couples vacation. Too much hassel.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
4

Monte Cristo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Quaint little suite, with all you need for your stay. Room is exactly as shown. 1 large closet for your clothing & suit cases. Nice and clean. Deck with a perfect view for your morning coffee. Only thing missing was a toaster. But with the French bakery across the street its not really needed. If you are from the US or Canada there is a power bar with proper electrical plug to use so that was really nice. There was even a hair dryer in the bathroom which was perfect since I didn't have the electrical converters. After we were leaving they were bring in a contractor to fix the flooring on the deck - so they are maintaining the villas. 2 small things to note - there was only a sheet on the bed and me being a Canadian like my blankets and can't sleep without them, we purchased a blanket and left it there. The only other small note was that they dresser drawers didn't hold a lot of clothes but not a big deal since the closet is so large.

Michal and Isa were fantastic hosts from 7 services. If we go back to the island I will be contacting Michel direct and booking though him for sure. They were very informative & put us at ease as soon as we landed - I can't say enough good things about them. With this being the first time visiting the island Michel gave us a quick map tour of the island and the highlights to visit. They also arranged for the rental car to be at the villa when we arrived. The car is a must though them. I don't recall seeing lot's of Taxi's but they are there so the car rental is the way to go.

All in all - a fantastic holiday, the food on the island is wonderful, the beaches the best I have ever seen, and the people are friendly.

A huge THANK YOU to Michal & Isa from Seven Services.

Wanda & Brad from Canada
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

(-:

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hi Michael,
thank you for your mail. We'll stay in contact. Once again I have to mention your friendlyness, reliability and the excellent service you gave to us during our stay on this wonderful island of St.Martin.
The climax was the boat riding yesterday with all the exiting places you showed us, especially: Ilet Pinel.
Please take good care of yourself.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I stayed at the studio for a week at the end of November. We have stayed in Nettle Bay twice before. The studio is exactly as depicted in the photos. Michal was a very gracious and responsive host. He picked us up from the airport and quickly showed us around. During our stay we ran into a temporary emergency when the studio and a safe keys became separated from the key ring. We texted Michal about our situation and he showed up within twenty minutes to let us in the studio. Needless to say, we were thrilled when he arrived. We would highly recommend staying at his studio.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
Pennsylvania
4

Good Location, Nice Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I just returned from our stay at Monte Cristo. There are pluses and minuses about the unit, but overall we enjoyed our stay at Nettle Bay Beach Club (NBBC). On the positive side, the condo is in an ideal location for exploring the island. You are basically within a 30 minute drive of anywhere you would want to go on the island. I would recommend renting the car from Hanna/Michal, as you will need it to go just about everywhere, and you do not want to deal with the car rental agencies in St. Martin. There is a great French bakery within walking distance right outside of the gates of NBBC and a pizza place as well. Most other restaurants you will need to drive to. The unit itself is exactly as pictured. Keep in mind it is a studio apartment, so it is very small. You will not want to spend most of your time indoors on this island anway. There are many great beaches within a 5 to 30 minute drive that you can take advanatage of including Friar's Bay, Baie Rouge, Orient Bay, Anse Marcel, and many others. NBBC has four pools if you enjoy that instead, we did not use the pools so i cannot comment on their condition. The beach at NBBC was generally very rough for our entire stay and very rocky, so we did not use it either. This condo is ideal for a couple who wants a convenient location in St. Martin, are on a small budget, willing to rent a car, and want to explore the island and all that it has to offer rather than hanging out at a pool all day. If you enjoy laying by a fancy swimming pool, sipping Mai Tai's, I would recommend one of the many resorts on the island instead. Overall, as I mentioned before, our stay was good and Michal (Hanna was out of the country) was very hospitable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

A week in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We recently stayed in the studio apartment at Nettle Bay. Before we arrived, it was a case of "what can go wrong, will go wrong", but once we got settled in, we had a wonderful time. For the price, you couldn't ask for much more. The location was great. We felt very safe and comfortable at the beach club. There were very few people around and we could just relax and do our own thing. The apartment is right on the beach and just steps from the pool. There is a beach bar within walking distance. The bartender (Tom) and waitress were very friendly and welcomed us each time we stopped by. I would recommend renting a car from Hana as you will need it to get around the island, and it was much more convenient than having to deal with a rental agency. All in all, the apartment was very nice. Most everything that you need, towels, dishes, cleaning supplies, toilet paper, beach chairs, etc is provided. Just bring your bathing suit, beach towel, and toiletries (and converter, if you're from the states) and you should be good to go. The terrace is large with an outdoor eating area and a spectacular view. We spent a lot of time out there. Hanna was very nice and even accomodated a last minute extension to our trip with no difficulties. She also arranged for us to be picked up and dropped off at the airport, even with missed flights, etc. My only suggestion would be to bring a light blanket for the bed. With the air conditioning on it gets too cool for just a sheet, and without the air it gets too warm for sleeping. The sun rises early and calls you out to one of the many beaches as soon as you awake, so don't plan on spending much of your day in the studio. We had perfect weather and hope to return VERY soon. Next time I hope to stay in the full apartment downstairs because a real kitchen would have been helpful as we discovered that we are not big fans of french cuisine (other than pastries and desserts). The studio has a small refrigerator, sink, and hotplate, which is perfect for cooking breakfast or a light snack. The pictures are representative of the space, though it is small. I would certainly stay in Nettle Bay again. There were many places on the island to stay, but this is exactly what we wanted. The charm of the island wasn't lost here as it can be in larger resorts. Thanks Hana for helping us to have a wonderful time. Your kindness was much appreciated!!!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

The Best...If you are going to St. Martin stay here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
First of all I would like to say that Hana is wonderful. I booked this after reading the reviews and I can only say that it is better than the pictures, The studio is so romantic at night and the terrace is so much bigger than it looks in the photo's. The view is gorgeous. We just got back and are ready to visit again. The side walks are not great....but who cares when you are in a paradise?? The location is great because you are close to Marigot and we much preferred it over the Dutch side where you encounter the hoards of visitors. The pizza place just outside was great and the little supermarket was awesome. Then you have the pattisserie right outside the gate where you can get baguette's every morning for your pinick. Also you can go to Long bay and Plum bay, even though they have a gate now the gate key from the apartment works to open the gate. Best beaches are Friars, Happy Bay(you have to take a little walk from the end of the beach), Anse Marcel and you have to visit Orient. Also a day trip to Anguilla is very nice. We will be back to one of the most romantic vacations. Oh and Bay Rouge...Hope this helps....I always like to see the reviews
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
Nashua, NH
4

Relaxing stay in Nettle Bay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Beautiful little place right on the ocean. Would and have recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Studio on the beach and tropical garden - newly renovated.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230081
+590 690 755988
Nettle Bay St Maarten / Saint Martin
New Orleans
4

Beach & Solitude

Beach & Solitude
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
If you prefer to be on the beach, near pools and tennis but without the noise and distractions often experienced on the Dutch side, then Nettle Bay Beach Resort may be for you. The resort itself is rather "rough on the edges" ( poor maintenance in common area like sidewalks) in many places, however, this is more than compensated for by having your own private deck with chaise lounges and outdoor dining area with table, chais and umbrella. GREAT VIEW of the ocean and Marigot and Anguilla in a peaceful setting.
Beach was narrow in most places but you are literally almost on it when you walk down the stairs! Snorkeling was also good along the rock jetty near the pool. Speaking of the pool, it was very well maintained and long enough for lap swimming.
Overall, a great vacation! You will need a rental car, however to drive into charming Marigot and check out the rest of the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3